HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Art Deco Apartment Right on Krakow's Central Square

18 Reviews
People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Stare Miasto - MARKET SQUARE WITH WIFI

Spacious, comfortable apartment right on the doorstep of the central square

This spacious, newly furnished apartment sits right above Europe’s most stunning central square. Whether it’s a trot around Market Square or a visit to the City’s celebrated, Medieval Cathedral, everything is no more than a hundred metres from our front door! But, situated on the fourth floor within an historic bank building, facing away from the Square, the apartment offers amazingly peaceful accommodation - with the best of Krakow’s attractions and nightlife just a lift-ride away. The apartment provides free wireless internet throughout, and has been recently renovated to a high standard - a mixture of modern design with classic charm, provided by traditional art deco furniture, perfectly in keeping with the apartment’s early 20th century origins. Its spacious rooms, two bathrooms and fully equipped kitchen make it well adapted to parties of up to six. The main bedroom has a huge and dazzling bay-window that catches the morning sunshine, and also offers its own en-suite toilet and shower.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Ed and Anna Butler (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Polish

About Ed and Anna Butler

Anna and Ed are two journalists who work for the BBC in London. We have three children and regularly visit Krakow, one of our favourite cities.

Ed and Anna Butler purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Ed and Anna Butler chose Krakow

Born and raised in Poland, Anna treats our base in Krakow as our Polish home-from-home.

What makes this apartment unique

The bay window, the first thing you see as you enter the master bedroom, with its view over the rooftops of the Old Town.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Greately enjoyed your comfortable apartment and its fantastic location! Your restaurant recommen
Sep 2009
  • 1 of 7

Reviews

4.9
based on 18 holidaymaker reviews

Art Deco Apartment Right on Krakow's Central Square
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 25 reviews
Alexandria, VA
5

A PERFECT POLISH PROPERTY

  • 5 of 5

We usually stay in HomeAway properties when traveling, and this apartment is clearly among the best we've experienced. The owner and local agent were wonderfully responsive and helpful in both the reservation process and check-in. The property description is completely accurate, and our group of four had no surprises whatsoever. In addition to the basic information provided here, once you make a reservation the owner provides you very thorough and detailed additional information about the arrival process, apartment amenities, and local resources (markets, ground transportation, money exchange, etc).

As others have said, the unit's location can't be beat, which puts virtually all of Krakow's main tourist attractions within an easy walk. We had no reason at all to use public transportation at any time during our four day visit. The highlights of our trip are too numerous to recount, but there are two that deserve special mention.

First, during a walking tour of Warsaw the day before our arrival in Krakow, the tour guide recommended Pierogarnia Krakowiacy on ul. Szewska in Krakow as the best restaurant for pierogies. She was absolutely right. They were awesome.

Secondly, if you want to line up a private car and driver for a tour of Auschwitz and Birkenau, I strongly suggest reserving through krakowtrip.com. They provided door-to-door service at a reasonable price with a very professional driver.

And, as a point of general interest, if you tour the Schindler Factory Museum you'll find a display of old black & white photo albums in one of the first rooms. One of those albums has a couple of 1940's vintage photos of the art deco apartment building in which this apartment is located. Seeing this gave us the feeling that we were really experiencing a piece of history by staying there.

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What kind words and also what brilliantly helpful suggestions for eateries and Auschwitz transport. Great to have you. Do come again! Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Krakow Central Square Apartment

  • 5 of 5

We spent 6 days in Krakow and had a great time. Very nice apartment which made our stay even more fantastic. The location could not have been better for a tourist in Krakow. The apartment entrance is within a few yards of the Central Square (Rynek Glowny) but because of the orientation of the apartment, it was very quiet, both from street noise and from neighbors. From the apartment, nearly all tourist sights were within walking distance. We never had to use public transportation or taxi except to the train station when we left. We could have walked but it was raining so we took a cab.

The apartment itself was on the 4th floor and there was a good elevator. Security was very good, in fact, too good as it took 3 locks to open before we can get into the apartment. We never felt any danger in Krakow in any case so that was not a concern. Furnishing was fine. We did not use the kitchen much since the food options was so great and so close but the kitchen looks serviceable. If you plan to cook a lot, this kitchen may not work. There was a flat panel television though we never watched it. There was two bathrooms which was great for us since there was just the two of us. One bathroom had a tub and the other had a great walk in shower. Both bathrooms were very clean and well appointed. The master bedroom was huge. The bedroom windows had "vintage" Venetian blinds (which meant they hardly worked). Our only complaint but not a problem really. We did not use the other bedroom but it looked very cozy and private as it was closed off from the main living area. The apartment looks like it would be ideal for two couples.

Highly recommend this apartment and Krakow. Come before Krakow becomes inundated with tourists! Given how great the city has become, it will definitely become much more popular and prices will invariably go up as well.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. It was great to have you. Come again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Magical stay in a magical place

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this special city in this really special property.

We were not sure of what to expect, going to Poland as we had never been, and also travelling there in December, but the beautiful city, the charming and friendly people, the delicious food and drink, exceeded our expectations.

The location is so convenient, yet quiet and private.

The apartment is spacious, immaculate, and with every comfort.

We were welcomed at the apt, and given a very thorough explanation of the home and also a very helpful orientation of the areas' features and activities. We were fortunate to have timed our December visit with the Christmas Market in the old sqare.

The entire rental process and communication were excellent and much appreciated.

We would heartily recommend this property to anyone, couple, family, group and really

hope to return soon!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words. Remember we do offer discounts to retruning guests, so let us know when you're coming back. We'd love to see you, Ed.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

What a gem of a find - right off the market square

  • 5 of 5

In a perfect location. The building has lost none of its art deco character but still has all the mod cons oyu would need for a break. We were met outside by Andy and given a tour of the apartment. First impressions were good and they lasted trhoughout, Got to admit we never used the kitchen much but it had everything oyu would need if you were inclined to cook - but with so many great places to eat to suit all tastes and great prices we never found the need to bother. Its great to see proper wooden floors made a refreshing change from the noisey tiles you normally get. It was a great base to explore the area and with the tourist information office downstairs it was easy to explore further afield. We managed to save around £80 by using public transport to go to the salt mines despite being worried about knowing where to get off the 20 foot high lettering on the side of the building in English and Polish just before the stop we needed to get off at saying salt mines was a relief. Everyone was really friendly and the language barrier was on our side, most people spoke a lot more English than we spoke Polish I am ashamed to say.

A lovely place we really relaxed and enjoyed it. Do take DVDs though if you have chilldren and you don't plan on staying out all night. There are English channels on the system but its the same as most European countries most are either news or music channels - don't let this detract you from staying here though.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Apartment in Krakow

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here with my husband and my mum for a 3 day visit to Krakow, somewhere we had wanted to go for ages.

The apartment is fantastic with everything you need for a comfortable stay, and the location is perfect - literally a minutes walk from the main Square. The kitchen is fully equipped, although I have to say we went out to eat everynight - and I would definately recomment Guliwers for food. The beds are comfortable, bathrooms are very modern. Only bit of advice I would give is, is to take some DVD's with you if you want to watch the T.V., as there are only a couple of English speaking channels .

Ed was really helpful before our trip, and arranged the taxi's from and to the airport for us, and we were met by Andrew at the apartment who showed us everything, and set up our wi-fi for us.

We went on a couple of trips to Auschwitz and the Salt Mines, both very good in their own way. We booked these trips through Krakow Shuttles who I would definately recommend, good prices and good service.

Other than that we spent the rest of the time exploring Krakow, wandering around the side streets and the markets - really lovely city. Take comfortable shoes, as there is so much to see and the best way is by foot.

Would definately recommend this apartment to anyone, and would love to go back there myself sometime.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a glowing review. We will definitely check the availability of English TV channels - there should be more than two! We're really glad you had such a great time. Ed and Anna
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Unbeatable Location

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at this apartment for 10 days to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. The owners were very helpful in making the reservations as well as setting up tansportation for us to and from the airport. Their agent met us at the apartment with the keys and walked us through all the features of the apartment and even pointed us in the direction of the kantor with the best rates in the area. The apartment is very well equipped and everything (appliances, lights, etc) was in good working order. It was also beautifully decorated with art deco furniture and the beds were very comfortable. Even with all the great things the apartment has to offer, the best thing about it by far was the location. You are only a lift ride away from being in the main square of the city, the perfect jumping off point to anything you would want to do in Krakow. Everything is within easy walking distance of the apartment. We went to Zakopane for the day by bus and the main bus/train station is only a 15 or so minute walk. The apartment also faces away from the square so you don't get much of the noise from the square at night. There were several nights we were there when we had the windows of the main bedroom open and slept very well. Without question I will be recommending this rental to anyone I know going to Krakow and will definitely be staying here again on our next trip.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Date of Stay: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a fantastic review. What we've always wanted is for our guests to feel at home in our apartment. It doesn't happen every time. But when they do, it really makes our day! It would be great to have you back for your 10th anniversary. But don't wait that long - come again soon. Thanks again, Anna & Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Krakow Balice
Nearest Ferry
500 Kilometres
Gdansk
Nearest Train
5 Kilometres
Krakow Central
Nearest Motorway
10 Kilometres
n/a
Car: not necessary

You simply can't be better placed to explore the charm and romance of this fantastic city. Just a few metres from the central square, the apartment is likewise less than ten minutes' walk from most of Krakow's finest restaurants (we can send guests our personal recommendations). The landmark Cathedral is about 100 metres from our front door, as is the market with all its flower stalls, shops, boutiques and horse-drawn carriages. The city's famous castle and former Royal Palace, Wawel, five minutes to the south, and just beyond it lies Kazimierz, the famous, atmospheric, former Jewish district where Stephen Spielberg filmed parts of 'Schindler's List'. All of the city's other galleries and main monuments are equally close, as well as the bus and rail station. For those wishing to visit the other World Heritage Sites at Auschwitz and the Wieliczka Salt Mines, it's an hour or so by taxi or bus.

Golf: Krakow Valley Golf Club approx 45 min drive from the apartment has an 18-hole golf course, riding stables and its own shooting range.

Ski: Zakopane - Poland's leading ski resort in the Tatra Mountains - is only 100km away. Excellent skiing facilities during the winter months and great walking in the summer.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Stare Miasto, Malopolskie & Carpathian Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer
2 Aug 2016 - 30 Sep 2016
2 night minimum stay
£220
for 2 nights
From
£110
£693
 
 
October
1 Oct 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
2 night minimum stay
£190
for 2 nights
From
£95
£598
 
 
Winter
1 Nov 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£85
£535
 
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2016 - 3 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£693
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£85
£535
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Confirmation by email is required followed by a non-refundable 25% deposit. 10% discount on longer stays (7 nights and over). If payment has to be made internationally via Paypal, we do impose a 4% surcharge to cover costs.
Refundable deposit of 200 zlotys (40GBP) payable in cash to our agent on arrival at the apartment.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Stare Miasto in Malopolskie & Carpathian Mountains

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 86 m²
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • town
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Lift ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Both bathrooms have a clean and modern look with white tiles on the walls and smoke grey floors. They both have showers, basins and toilets.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Cot
  • The very large master bedroom has a huge double bed and offers a stunning view of the city's rooftops. It has been beautifully furnished with an Art Deco bedroom set which apart from the double bed includes a big wardrobe, a period bed-linen cabinet and a charming round table with two upholstered stools. It has an en-suite bathroom with a shower, a basin and a toilet. It also has a big comfy armchair which can be turned into a single fold-out bed for an extra guest. The main living room area has a large sofa which folds out into a double sofa bed. And the second bedroom which also overlooks the rooftops of the Old Market Square has a double bed, a bedside table and a chest of drawers. We also offer a working washing machine, for laundry. We do have a cot but please let us know you'd like to reserve it because we have only one, serving both our Krakow apartments.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • ice skating
  • roller blading
  • swimming
Notes:
It's a spacious, newly furnished apartment sitting right above Europe’s most stunning central square. Whether it is a trot by horse-cart around Market Square or a visit to the City’s celebrated, Medieval Cathedral, everything is no more than a hundred metres from our front door! The apartment has been recently renovated to a high standard - a mixture of modern design with classic charm, with a range of traditional Art Deco furniture. Its spacious rooms and two bathrooms make it well adapted to groups of up to seven people. It also has its own balcony with great views over Old Square rooftops.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties