Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Private 1500 Sqr Ft Swimming Pond

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,800 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Aloha and Welcome to Nanea Kai. We are very proud to share our 1,800 sqr. ft. island style home with you. As you drive past your wooden sun carved gates, you will enter into your own private sanctuary.Our family living room is made up of Hawaii's prized Koa wood. Many windows let the cool breeze through as well as EACH room has its own ceiling fan. Our large kitchen is a great gathering spot and has a granite counter island that everyone can gather around. As you walk out onto the wrap around entertainment deck, you will look into the 1,500 sqr. ft. thermal heated swimming pond. Our pond ranges from 2ft.- 10 f. at the deepest spot. This pond is fed from under ground springs from the ocean so it rises and falls with the tide.This is also a great filtering system that keeps the water very clean and clear and with a temperature that is normally in the 80's. This makes snorkeling in the pond a pleasure. We do supply some snorkeling equipment as well as a hot/cold out side shower. If you take a right outside our drive way, you will see a tunnel of trees which leads to tide pools as well as the breathtaking view of the ocean. Walk another 6 minutes and your will be at the Wai' Ope Fish Reserve. See so many colorful fish as well as the different colored corals. This is Not a place you will find packed with people. A 5 minute drive will take you to Ahalanui warm springs park . Pahoa is a 15 minute drive with quaint restaurants and to do your marketing. Hilo Town is 30 minutes away where you can visit the farmers market with all its exotic fruits for sale as well as souvenirs, surf shops, restaurants, diving rentals , ect.. Across the street is a black sand beach were you can watch the canoe teams practice or walk and look for beach glass. Then theres the Volcano National Park you want to visit. Walk through lava tubes and see the steam vents. The Volcano Golf course is right above the park as well as the Volcano Winery. If its night time lava cascading down the volcano you want to see, thats about a 20 minute drive from our home. Viewing is free and it opens to the public at 5 p.m. Bring a jacket, flashlight (theres some at the house) and water. Park rangers are there to make sure everyone is safe. My favorite thing to do is just lay by the pond , feed the fish and enjoy the sound of the ocean. Hope you'll visit us soon.


Keywords: beach house,family friendly,island style home, gated home,kopoho,big island, Wai 'Opae. private pond

More Details

kim rodrigues
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 May, 2018

Why kim rodrigues chose Kapoho

My husband and I always rented a home in Kopoho to get away. We love it so much we decided to buy one. Its like stepping back in time.

What makes this house unique

The constant sound of the ocean.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Kapoho in the Kapoho

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Please keep noise level to a considerate level. This is a residential area.
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed
  • King size beds (1) in master bdrm, Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) In Hawaii we call it a pune'. an extra place to strech out. this is in the living room, Twin or Single Beds (1) turndel bed in kids room
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
House keeping fee is $150.00 per week stay


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(98 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
15% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Private 1500 Sqr Ft Swimming Pond
average rating of 4.744898 based on 98 reviews
Merritt/ BC /Canada

Comfortable house perfectly located for terrific snorkelling.

  • 5 of 5

5 adults were perfectly comfortable in this house. We had all the needed amenities. Kim, the host, was always very helpful and responded very quickly with any questions or concerns. Wai Opae tidal pools have amazing snorkeling and are a 5 minute walk away. We saw an amazing number of fish as well as turtles, and an octopus. There are places to snorkel for everyone. Highly recommend this spot.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for all your kind words. We feel Kapoho is so untouched and it always has had a special place in our hearts. may the memories always make you smile. Mahalo, Kim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs a good cleaning

  • 3 of 5

I struggle with this review because the owner was great and this neighborhood is hit or miss. There are many properties that are run down and even boarded up (like the one next door.) This house is one of the nicer ones! However the pictures are much nicer than the real thing. Paint was chipping, curtains were moldy, towels and bed sheets stunk like mildew. I understand that it is extremely humid but if that’s the cost of the weather than they should be switched out for new ones regularly. We did not feel safe swimming in the tidepool bc the bottom was green with algie and there were reports of sewage problems causing unsafe bacteria in them. That didn’t ruin our trip because the ocean tidepools were just steps away and very beautiful. The description said there was snorkeling gear but I could only find one toddler size one. Stove didn’t light without the help of a lighter. The pots and pans were old and falling apart and the knives were broken, dull and incomplete. It very much felt like camping inside a house.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: OOOO my... Not sure if you gave such a bad review because I couldn't refund you your last night because it was raining and you felt stuck in our home. Our pond might have been green at the bottom due to this is called algae which is a natural balance. In fact, my family stayed right after you and water was clear . We have an aerobic septic system that cost 20,000 to make sure our pond stays clean. Sorry the silver ware did not match and a gas stove. As for snorkeling gear... there is a table filllllled with all types of gear and floaters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Magical Spot

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely wonderful vacation. Can't say enough good things about Kim, the location, and the place. Plenty of space for the 5 of us and quick walk to the tidepools, which are absolutely amazing. Saw schools of tangs, moorish idols, butterfly fish, huge parrotfish, turtles, eels, and even a couple of octopus. Also loved going down to Uncle Robert's on Wednesday for food and music. Can't be beat! Mahalo!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I love to hear when our guest fall in love with Kapoho. It truly is old Hawaii. May the memories always make you smile. Mahalo, Kim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

nice house

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the tide pools

  • Review Submitted: 11-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for staying at Hale Nanaea. May the memories always bring a smile.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Helena, MT

Quiet and relaxing

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for my family and I. If you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle and just relax this is the place. Far enough away from the hustle and bustle but close enough that everything was within easy driving distances. The tide pool in the backyard was awesome for the kids and when we wanted it was just a short walk to the ocean and the big tide pools. Would recommend the big island and this house to anyone. If we make it back to the big island i would definitely look at renting this house again.


Rhett Buckland

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for all your kind words. Wishing you much joy and prosperity in the New year...Aloha, Kim
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Nevada City

Great coastal location!

  • 5 of 5

Large home - perfect for our party of 6. Alarm system is a bit cumbersome. Great location for snorkeling.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Car: necessary

private pond you can snorkel in


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £112.06
Damage Insurance £44.08


Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.