HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lovely apartment with pool and gardens.

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Lovely quiet location close to beautiful Headland

Privately Owned And Maintained locally.

Apartment, : Ses fontes 5 has been our holiday home since 1988. we have recently completely redecorated and refurbished it to a high standard it is now extremely comfortable and very well equipped Including air conditioning flat screen wall mounted television and cd/dvd player, bedrooms are equipped with memory foam mattresses.The apartment has an inner and outer terrace with views of the garden and pool plus a awning to provide shade to the outer patio.

John Aspley
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
9 December, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Es Mercadal in Àrea Metropolitana de Maó

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • floor 1
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • rural
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Parking
  • Sunbed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Bath with Shower , Refurbished
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed , Together
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • New memory foam mattresses in bedroom one joined on one headboard. ( extra large ) New memory foam mattresses in bedroom two single size.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Barbecue ...
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 2 deck chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Car Optional
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Ses Fontes 5 has been completely redecorated , Comfortable new lounge furniture has been installed together with a new 32' wall mounted TV. New pictures etc In the kitchen we have installed a new washing machine oven and hob. The bathroom was completely refurbished Oct 2010.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

76% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lovely apartment with pool and gardens.
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews

Splendid apartment in a quiet and charming location

  • 5 of 5

Having visited Son Parc several times we knew the area fairly well but we'd never stayed in an apartment - we were more than pleasantly surprised with Ses Fontes. Firstly, the pre-booking service by John was excellent - professional and helpful. Secondly, the apartment itself is a perfect blend of compact, functionality with charm and warmth. The apartment seems to lack nothing one might need and while we only stayed around the complex for one day the communal pool (which is a good size) and the gardens are a delight. The on-site staff keep the grounds impeccably clean and tidy.

The beds are comfortable, the kitchen well stocked and practical, the dining/living area relaxing and cool. The patio area is on a split level so you can enjoy the afternoon sun on the lower tier or retreat to the shadier upper part which also has a BBQ (though we didn't use it).

Huge thanks to John & Sheilagh for letting us use what is obviously a Menorcan home from home as well as a holiday destination...

  • Review Submitted: 25-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review we really appreciate guests who go to the trouble to rate our home from home. John and Sheilagh.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great compact apartment, good location and large pool & gardens.

  • 4 of 5

Loved the property and facilities, will go back!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sarah. Thank you for you review, hope to hear from you in the future. John and Sheilagh.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

This apartment has everything we needed and more.....

  • 5 of 5

Great apartment with everything we needed though it wasn't that easy to find in the dark as we arrived off a late flight. We should have asked for a few supplies to be left for us as we weren't organised and arrived at 11pm with no milk, coffee, tea, loo roll etc. Thankfully the Italian Restaurant on the complex stayed open to feed us and gave us milk for the morning. The next day in daylight we were wowed by everything. Perfect location, fabulous pool, table tennis table, brilliant and accessible beach. Would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this apartment. As we have no small children anymore, we appreciated the pool to ourselves and left just as the kids broke up. The weather was glorious if not a bit too hot at high 30s. Surprisingly the apartment DOESN'T HAVE A SMOKE DETECTOR and we mentioned this in the visitors book. Apart from that important factor it was pretty much perfect with a super sunny patio area too! Many thanks to the owners for the great holiday accommodation

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Lorna. Thank you for your superb review, I have now fitted a smoke detector. We regularly supply a pack of essentials if requested and any other goodies and drinks etc. We were disappointed that the ceramic hob appears to be damaged due to misuse by allowing plastic containers to come in contact with it. We have no idea what you tipped over the front terrace wall to cause the dreadful brown stain which I have now repainted. Kind Regards. John.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A very homely, well-equipped apartment on a very well-cared for complex.

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was plenty big enough for the three of us and well- equipped. The photo's do not really show the properties true charm. A quiet location but in easy reach to shops and bars if you want them. A lovely coastal walk to Arenal. Hiring the car meant that we could travel the full extent of the island and see many places easily. The pool was lovely and long so early morning swimming was great. Air con was very useful at night and stopped us from cooking. Highly recommended apartment.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mark and Nicola. Many thanks for your review, i will add to the many others we have received over the last few years at the top of our reviews. Kind Regards. John and Sheilagh Aspley.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Home from home

  • 4 of 5

Thanks John for allowing to use your lovely apartment in Son Parc Menorca.

The positioning and the extra home comforts really did make a difference and hiring your car was a fantastic move as a few days weren't to bright so we went for a drive to the other side of the island in search of dry weather!

Son Parc is pretty quiet so enables a nice relaxing holiday with a superb beach easily within walking distance.

Of the eating places we still have our favorite in Phils Bar, with Pinomar a close second, we also like the very very friendly Chinese.

We had a problem with the tv during our stay much to our 15 year olds horror but this was quickly put right after talking to Lynda.....thanks you saved our lives :)

But all in all a lovely apartment with plenty of extras, a super pool and most of all your allowed to R E L A X !!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Trevor, unfortunately the TV reception is beyond our control now, we hope you will pass on your positive comments to friends and family who may like to visit Menorca and our apartment I the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A lovely little apartment in a great location

  • 5 of 5

Myself and my two sons (8 & 6) stayed here for one week in high season and really enjoyed our stay at Ses Fonts 5.

The location is terrific for exploring the island. Son Parc itself has little to offer so with the wonderful option of renting the owner's car we took the opportunity venture all over the Menorca.

The apartment is compact, clean, well appointed, has excellent air conditioning and reliable Sky reception (bring your Sky card if you want to access the full range of channels).

The kitchen was reasonably well equipped but self-catering wasn't easy as we found the range of produce and groceries quite limited in Son Parc and were chose to drive 10 minutes to nearby Cave Noves to a larger Supermercardo to obtain a wider choice. Dining out is definitely the easiest albeit more expensive option.

The pool is lovely as it is bathed in the hot sun all day and in shade in the evening when the water is still warm. On the week that we stayed there were many Spanish families with children staying at the complex and although they were perfectly mannered they did tend to monopolise the pool from dawn to dusk (and sometimes late into the night) with noisy and boisterous play. It is possible to sit on the apartment terrace and keep a distant eye on your swimming children, but it's too far if you need to undertake a rescue so be prepared to sit poolside with your glass of Sangria.

The apartment itself is generally very quiet, however the natives' propensity to stay awake until late (2am) and then rise early (7.30am) wasn't conducive to the most peaceful night's rest I've ever had on holiday. If loud voices nearby and thumping and scraping on your ceiling from the tenants upstairs are an irritation then you may want to consider a less busy time of year to visit.

At night it was cool whenever there was a breeze and by opening the windows and patio doors and keeping the shutters closed air flows freely through the bedrooms and keeps the mosquitoes at bay.

The owner John was a joy to deal with and really made the usual nightmare of organising a holiday and absolute joy with helpful maps and of course use of his nippy Nissan Note.

Overall this is a terrific apartment and despite what the listing above says it is very suitable for children. It's not luxury accommodation, but if you're looking for home comfort and a great location in Menorca you really can't go wrong with Ses Fonts 5.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: August 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: T Thanks for the review, unfortunately August is mad month in Spain,, its their only long holiday.Try Ses Fontes in June July or September for a really peaceful time.John Owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
15 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
son parc golf club
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
son parc
Car: recommended

Golf: Son Parc golf is the only course in Menorca its only 5 minutes from Ses Fontes. .


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Es Mercadal, Balearic Islands

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

150uk pounds Deposit per week per booking any breakages or damage must be paid for or replaced, this to be the essence of the contract to be agreed when booking. Rental rates include cleaning and laundry following your holiday, if your stay is for multiple weeks bedding and towels are laundered weekly. Any further information required please telephone or email me. Kind Regards, John Aspley.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question