HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

4 Star Cottage Staithes Sleeps up to 6 Sleeps

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Staithes - Brunswick Cottage

Luxury, self catering, 4 star, holiday cottage, staithes, Whitby, Scarborough

****Refurbished MARCH 2014*****

Brunswick Cottage, ideal for Romantic Breaks, family breaks and friends.

BRUNSWICK is an 18th century fisherman’s cottage that has been refurbished to a very high standard to provide all modern amenities. Brunswick provides a relaxed environment for holidays and long weekends, to allow you to recharge your batteries.

Brunswick is on three floors. The ground floor is a fabulous sociable area incorporating lounge, kitchen and entertainment section. Brunswick includes central heating, and has two double bedrooms with large comfortable double beds. The master bedroom includes a flat screen TV and large fitted wardrobes. There are hairdryers, bed linen and towels provided at the cottage. Each bedroom has its own bathroom. The first floor master bedroom includes a shower room, and the top bathroom includes a bath with shower attachment over. The top landing is large, and we have a sofa bed for additional guests. Perfect for Romantic getaways and time with the family.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Isobel Thompson
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
28 November, 2016
Call Owner

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wonderful to be back with the kids, felt excellent for the kidsw to wander to the beach.. They enjoyed the wild seas and fosil explorations. The weather was glorious. Fantastic in all seasons. I forgot how comfy the beds were... Finished the book "History and Geology of staithes" Oh how interesting my conversations hav been... NOT!!!!
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 9

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

4 Star Cottage Staithes Sleeps up to 6 Sleeps
average rating of 4.714286 based on 23 reviews
United Kingdom
5

Amazing retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Better than a Spa - the moment you enter the front door an atmosphere of total relaxation takes over.

This cottage is a really really special find. The cottage is equiped like a home from home not like a rental cottage so you immediately feel like you are at home.

The fixtures & fittings are v high quality.

Walk down the cobbled street to the sea front to enjoy a crab sandwich and a latte or a pint of the real stuff in the traditional pubs.

Just a short hop from Whitby this cottage is HIGHLY RECOMMENED!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 15, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
5

Sooooooo relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We were lucky enough to stay in the cottage for three nights in January and it was amazing. I can't praise it highly enough and really want to go again. We were a party of 7 (4 adults and 3 kids) and we all fit in the house comfortably (by having a blow up bed in the master bedroom for one of the kids). The kids loved the house as it had an enchanted air about it. The adults loved it as it was so comfortable. A short walk took us to two pubs, a gorgeous bistro and most importantly, the sea and beach. There is so much history in the area and the locals are so friendly. It is obvious that the owners really want to look after their guests and provide lots of home comforts on arrival. It is also handy that there is a short stay parking bay outside the house for unloading - not every cottage in Staithes has this luxury. A little tip - Asda do home delivery to the area so we got our supplies delivered when we arrived - it saved us having to take it with us in the car

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

No log burner.

  • 3 of 5

Brunswick cottage is a beautifully presented and comfortable house in a charming location. The biggest disappointment was the fact that there is no log burner although this is advertised. (and continues to be advertised over a month later). Upon arrival and contacting the owner we were told it had been removed 18 months previously and that if we weren't happy we could leave and have a full refund, not what we wanted after a four hour drive. Not the response we were expecting and remain baffled as to why the descriptions and photograph of a log burner remain on the advert.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to have disappointed this client. We offered a full refund, and even offered a one night stay and full refund, but the client chose to stay, and pay for the holiday. We do not now have a woodburner as clients preferred to be warm on arrival and not an hour later.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Yet another great stay in Staithes!

  • 5 of 5

Very clean pretty cottage which is tastfully decorated, with a great deal of thought gone into what is provided for your stay.

That welcome cup of tea/coffee (milk provided) and everything you could want in a lovely well equipped fitted kitchen with high quality fixtures & fittings throughout.

Add that to the lovely quaint feeling of Staithes with friendly locals and good food from the Cod & Lobster pub, what more do you need for a relaxing break away from the moden world! Ok, maybe good weather, which we had which was just a plus to the whole package!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
East Yorks
5

A little piece of heaven.

  • 5 of 5

The booking of the cottage was very straightforward and all correspondance was answered very swiftly and professionally.

The cottage is beautiful, exactly as seen in the photographs on it's advert. The appliances are all very good quality and are easy to operate. Going in October with a 7yr old we really needed a dryer and this one was great. it was also excellent to have the dishwasher. The kitchen is very well equipped and had everything we needed. I really enjoy cooking and this kitchen was perfect for entertaining. Full size fridge and freezer and an excellent oven.

The bedrooms are large with plenty of storage space and the beds are very comfortable.

The bathrooms are lovely and it was great to have the two. My grandson had the top bedroom and was very happy up there.

The sitting room was very cosy and the seating very comfortable.

Although the cottage is along the main street, once inside it did feel very private and was well insulated with very little noise to be heard. The position of the cottage is perfect for nipping in and out. The heating system is easy to operate and made the place feel really snug.

And now for Staithes itself: this was the first time we had been and we all fell in love with the place. It's so peaceful, just like stepping back in time. It is fairly small which all added to the charm. We loved just walking around, fishing and crabbing. I particularly just liked sitting by the harbour and thinking. It was so peaceful and tranquil.

The pubs are lovely and full of character and the staff are excellent. The food, beer and wine are all good and very competativley priced. My grandson loved the little bistro on the corner and enjoyed going in each afternoon for an ice-cream and milkshake. Again the owners were very nice.

I would recommend Staithes and this cottage. We have stayed in many different holiday lets over the years and this one is by far the best. We normally go to France for our summer holidays but next year we will return to Staithes and this beautiful cottage for 2 weeks and are looking forward to it already. Another good thing is that all the major supermarkets deliver there so it's great to set it up before you leave home and not worry about carting provisions or trailing out to the supermarket.

Lots of tourist info in the property.

We pre-booked our car into the car park at the top of the hill and this worked out very well.

If you are thinking about booking, go ahead, I can guarantee you won't regret it.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 16, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Halifax
4

Getaway from it all Cottage!

  • 4 of 5

Stayed for a weekend with 4 other adults. A delightful, cosy and warm cottage with good modern facilities. Plenty of towels and beds very comfortable. I was so impressed I wished I could live there, its just like stepping into your own cosy home. Staithes is a delightful, quiet seaside village with a few good shops and pubs, especially the Cod & Lobster which serves delicious food. We drove to Sandsend and shortly after high tide walked along the beach to Whitby which was about 2 miles and then got the bus back to Sandsend. Very enjoyable walk. Would definitely visit again and will certainly be recommending the cottage to friends and family.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 10, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Teeside International Airport
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
Whitby
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Car: not necessary

Staithes, East Coast Yorkshire, Near Whitby

Other Activities: Life Boat

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Staithes, Yorkshire Moors and Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£160
for 2 nights
From
£80
£400
£1,500
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

We charge a £150.00 returnable deposit. Premium weekends are bank holidays school holidays and summer holidays.

We ask you to pay a deposit when you book (150) and the balance before you arrive.
We return your deposit within 48 hours of your stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Staithes in North Yorkshire

Property Type:
  • cottage (terraced)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Baby Gate
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Shower Enclosure , 2
  • Two Bathrooms, one on each floor, roll top bath and a shower room.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Sleeps upto 6
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Sleeps upto 6
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Sleeps upto 6
  • 2 x double bedrooms with fabulous comfortable beds. One Futon in separate area to lounge
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • surfing
Notes:
Returnable Deposit - we charge an additional £150.00 deposit which is returned upon inspection and receipt of the keys. PLEASE READ OUR TESTIMONIALS - THEY SPEAK VOLUMES Parking is limited in Staithes old town. If you're loading or unloading you can stop for a short while outside our property, but it is likely you will be blocking the narrow streets, so please do not leave your car there for a long period. There are some parking spaces, but these are private and for permanent residents only. Please be warned that wheel clamps are used in some places. If you are a day tripper, you are best leaving your car in the public car park at the top of the hill by the old station. There are over 100 spaces for cars and coaches. Charges vary from £1.20 for two hours to £5.00 for 24 hours all year round. If you do buy a long stay ticket, it is also valid for the other car parks in the Scarborough Borough area, including those at Whitby.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties