HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

4 Star Cottage Staithes Sleeps up to 6 Sleeps (2 beds & additional sofa bed)

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Luxury, self catering, 4 star, holiday cottage, staithes, Whitby, Scarborough

Brunswick Cottage, ideal for Romantic Breaks, family and friends.

BRUNSWICK is an 18th century fisherman’s cottage that provides all modern amenities combining the best modern standards within a traditional setting. We try to provide a relaxed environment for holidays and long weekends, to allow you and your family to recharge your batteries.

Brunswick is on three floors. The ground floor is a living area incorporating lounge, kitchen and entertainment. Brunswick has central heating, and has two double bedrooms with large comfortable double beds. The master bedroom includes a flat screen TV and large fitted wardrobes. There is a hairdryer, bed linen and towels provided. Each bedroom has its own bathroom. The first floor has a shower room, and the top bathroom includes a bath. The top landing is large, and we have placed a futon sofa bed there for two further guests making a potential total of 6.

The kitchen is well kitted out. We are keen cooks and have a large range of cook wear. Facilities include a dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer and microwave as well as conventional cooker. In the lounge there is television, and a DVD player, a small library of books, information on local attractions, and for rainy days there is a collection of games.

Wireless broadband is available in the cottage, DVDs and music CDs for entertainment. We are keen to try to provide everything necessary to give you a relaxing stay.

All this is under the eye of our housekeeper Gerald, formerly butler to the Farquarson-Devereux family.

More Details

Isobel Thompson
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 May, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wonderful to be back with the kids, felt excellent for the kidsw to wander to the beach.. They enjoyed the wild seas and fosil explorations. The weather was glorious. Fantastic in all seasons. I forgot how comfy the beds were... Finished the book "History and Geology of staithes" Oh how interesting my conversations hav been... NOT!!!!
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 9


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Staithes in Hinderwell

Property Type:
  • cottage (terraced)
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Baby Gate
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Shower Enclosure , 2
  • Two Bathrooms, one on each floor, roll top bath and a shower room.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Sleeps upto 6
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Sleeps upto 6
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Sleeps upto 6
  • 2 x double bedrooms with fabulous comfortable beds. One Futon in separate area to lounge
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • surfing
Returnable Deposit - we charge an additional £150.00 deposit which is returned upon inspection and receipt of the keys. PLEASE READ OUR TESTIMONIALS - THEY SPEAK VOLUMES Parking is limited in Staithes old town. If you're loading or unloading you can stop for a short while outside our property, but it is likely you will be blocking the narrow streets, so please do not leave your car there for a long period. There are some parking spaces, but these are private and for permanent residents only. Please be warned that wheel clamps are used in some places. If you are a day tripper, you are best leaving your car in the public car park at the top of the hill by the old station. There are over 100 spaces for cars and coaches. Charges vary from £1.20 for two hours to £5.00 for 24 hours all year round. If you do buy a long stay ticket, it is also valid for the other car parks in the Scarborough Borough area, including those at Whitby.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4 Star Cottage Staithes Sleeps up to 6 Sleeps (2 beds & additional sofa bed)
average rating of 4.733333 based on 24 reviews
United Kingdom

Amazing retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Better than a Spa - the moment you enter the front door an atmosphere of total relaxation takes over.

This cottage is a really really special find. The cottage is equiped like a home from home not like a rental cottage so you immediately feel like you are at home.

The fixtures & fittings are v high quality.

Walk down the cobbled street to the sea front to enjoy a crab sandwich and a latte or a pint of the real stuff in the traditional pubs.

Just a short hop from Whitby this cottage is HIGHLY RECOMMENED!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Mar-2009
  • Date of Stay: February 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Great location & proper sized mugs

  • 5 of 5

The owners were able to accommodate us with very little notice for a short weekend break. Great location and comfortable accommodation. Proper sized mugs, to make a fine cuppa, which I walked down the harbour front with to enjoy the sunrise.

Very much enjoyed, wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 12-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Sooooooo relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We were lucky enough to stay in the cottage for three nights in January and it was amazing. I can't praise it highly enough and really want to go again. We were a party of 7 (4 adults and 3 kids) and we all fit in the house comfortably (by having a blow up bed in the master bedroom for one of the kids). The kids loved the house as it had an enchanted air about it. The adults loved it as it was so comfortable. A short walk took us to two pubs, a gorgeous bistro and most importantly, the sea and beach. There is so much history in the area and the locals are so friendly. It is obvious that the owners really want to look after their guests and provide lots of home comforts on arrival. It is also handy that there is a short stay parking bay outside the house for unloading - not every cottage in Staithes has this luxury. A little tip - Asda do home delivery to the area so we got our supplies delivered when we arrived - it saved us having to take it with us in the car

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2014
  • Date of Stay: January 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

No log burner.

  • 3 of 5

Brunswick cottage is a beautifully presented and comfortable house in a charming location. The biggest disappointment was the fact that there is no log burner although this is advertised. (and continues to be advertised over a month later). Upon arrival and contacting the owner we were told it had been removed 18 months previously and that if we weren't happy we could leave and have a full refund, not what we wanted after a four hour drive. Not the response we were expecting and remain baffled as to why the descriptions and photograph of a log burner remain on the advert.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: March 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to have disappointed this client. We offered a full refund, and even offered a one night stay and full refund, but the client chose to stay, and pay for the holiday. We do not now have a woodburner as clients preferred to be warm on arrival and not an hour later.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Yet another great stay in Staithes!

  • 5 of 5

Very clean pretty cottage which is tastfully decorated, with a great deal of thought gone into what is provided for your stay.

That welcome cup of tea/coffee (milk provided) and everything you could want in a lovely well equipped fitted kitchen with high quality fixtures & fittings throughout.

Add that to the lovely quaint feeling of Staithes with friendly locals and good food from the Cod & Lobster pub, what more do you need for a relaxing break away from the moden world! Ok, maybe good weather, which we had which was just a plus to the whole package!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jun-2011
  • Date of Stay: June 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
East Yorks

A little piece of heaven.

  • 5 of 5

The booking of the cottage was very straightforward and all correspondance was answered very swiftly and professionally.

The cottage is beautiful, exactly as seen in the photographs on it's advert. The appliances are all very good quality and are easy to operate. Going in October with a 7yr old we really needed a dryer and this one was great. it was also excellent to have the dishwasher. The kitchen is very well equipped and had everything we needed. I really enjoy cooking and this kitchen was perfect for entertaining. Full size fridge and freezer and an excellent oven.

The bedrooms are large with plenty of storage space and the beds are very comfortable.

The bathrooms are lovely and it was great to have the two. My grandson had the top bedroom and was very happy up there.

The sitting room was very cosy and the seating very comfortable.

Although the cottage is along the main street, once inside it did feel very private and was well insulated with very little noise to be heard. The position of the cottage is perfect for nipping in and out. The heating system is easy to operate and made the place feel really snug.

And now for Staithes itself: this was the first time we had been and we all fell in love with the place. It's so peaceful, just like stepping back in time. It is fairly small which all added to the charm. We loved just walking around, fishing and crabbing. I particularly just liked sitting by the harbour and thinking. It was so peaceful and tranquil.

The pubs are lovely and full of character and the staff are excellent. The food, beer and wine are all good and very competativley priced. My grandson loved the little bistro on the corner and enjoyed going in each afternoon for an ice-cream and milkshake. Again the owners were very nice.

I would recommend Staithes and this cottage. We have stayed in many different holiday lets over the years and this one is by far the best. We normally go to France for our summer holidays but next year we will return to Staithes and this beautiful cottage for 2 weeks and are looking forward to it already. Another good thing is that all the major supermarkets deliver there so it's great to set it up before you leave home and not worry about carting provisions or trailing out to the supermarket.

Lots of tourist info in the property.

We pre-booked our car into the car park at the top of the hill and this worked out very well.

If you are thinking about booking, go ahead, I can guarantee you won't regret it.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Nov-2010
  • Date of Stay: October 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Teeside International Airport
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

Staithes, East Coast Yorkshire, Near Whitby

Other Activities: Life Boat


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Staithes, North Yorkshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Mid Summer
16 May 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
High Season
14 Jul 2018 - 13 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Mid Season
14 Sep 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Low season
1 Nov 2018 - 14 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Xmas & New Year
15 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Low season
3 Jan 2019 - 10 Mar 2019
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

We charge a £150.00 returnable deposit. Premium weekends are bank holidays school holidays and summer holidays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals