Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin
Evolve Vacation Rental
- English, French, German, Spanish
The chirping old house
We arrived to find a nice bottle of wine welcoming us - but no wine opener - so never had a chance to taste the wine. The house is an old home with no working smoke detectors Our first night of attempting to sleep - we heard a chirping - like a smoke detector that needed a battery- chirping every 30 seconds ALL NIGHT! It never stopped The beds were old and uncomfortable- the bedding was frayed and old; there was one electrical plug jn the bedroom with a cheap extension cord running from behind the bed - which made you wonder how safe the wiring was. We tried to get in touch with the property manager or owner and eventually got an email back from a guy that said he was the owners friend but lived 300 miles away and couldn’t help us with the chirping. The owner never got back to us and we eventually had to leave a night early because we just couldn’t sleep with the chirping going all night. Overall not a great experience. The location is excellent and that’s about it. He place needs a working tv and a washer dryer at the very least also and didn’t have either one. I would not recommend this place until the owner becomes more engaged in his or her property. The house cleaner did call us one night at 11 pm and left a message that the owner was out of town and she didn’t know anything about a smoke detector or chirping. Very frustrating to say the least and not relaxing.
Run down house with great location
The house had not been cleaned or supplied. There were not towels or sheets when we arrived. The soaps and toilet paper were not stocked. The person that cleans the house showed up in the middle of the second day. Poor communication from the owner to the cleaning lady.
Kendra, thank you for your feedback! This homeowner has asked us to pass along the following response:
"Thanks so much for taking the time to review the property. We are so sorry you had a bad experience and have since established a better system with our cleaning service so that this will not happen again.
Your feedback is extremely helpful and we will use it to ensure future guests enjoy a clean, fully stocked home."
Best, the Evolve Team
Adorable house and great location!
Super cute house and right by Victorian Village! It was perfect for our needs - we had several couples stay there for our wedding. While we were there, one of the bathroom sink drains had a leak and the owner was great to work with! We called and let him know right away and he really appreciated that. He was super apologetic. We would definitely stay there again!