HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Tropical Waterfront Getaway, Between Panama City & Colon

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Our home is a Quaint riverfront home with tennis court, centrally located between Colon and Panama City in Santa Rosa. Santa Rosa is a very small rurral community along the Chagres River. Minimum stay of 3 nights, Maximum stay of 14 nights.

With your rental, we provide a 2 person plus small child and a 1 person kayak. Our home features 3 bedrooms for guests, one is located on the main floor just off the living area and the others are upstairs. The master bedroom balcony faces the river where you can enjoy the sunrises and river activities. Each floor has a shared bathroom, each with a shower.

The main floor has an entry/mud room, living room with television and DVD player, dining area, kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and sitting area that overlooks the river.

Our kitchen has a refrigerator/freezer, coffee maker, blender, mixer, microwave, toaster oven and 5 burner gas stove top, cookware, utensils, plates, glasses, mugs and flatware are included.

Enjoy views of the river from one of the three patios (two accessed directly from the kitchen) or relax in the hammocks, while sipping a cocktail, in the patio adjacent to the rustic sports court. You will thoroughly enjoy over 700 square feet of covered patio / balcony area!

Our property is fenced on 3 sides and has banana, mango, mamei, cashew, guava, coconut trees with fruit when in season.

Water is from the public system well that is community owned or the 500 gallon reserve tank, we own. Water is supplied to the house automatically from the tank if the public water system is off or through our extensive filter system. Even with multiple water source options, we can't guarantee water or high pressure water service 24-7.

The community park borders our property upriver and has a small kiosk store where you can buy essentials and refreshments. Our driveway passes between the park and the Catholic Church. About 50 feet from the church is the baseball park, and just up the hill from the ball park is one of the town bars which can be lively on Friday night through Sunday night and on special occasions. This town is especially loud and lively on National Holidays and Baseball game days. Feel free to join in on the festivities! When in Rome...

One of our neighbors, Panta, sells fish, so get your order in the night before and hope for a good catch for dinner. Our favorite is peacock bass (sargento).

Several days a week, the bakery van. Great Cinnamon rolls, etc), fruit / vegetable trucks and egg truck drive through town selling their wonderful fresh products. The pineapples usually are 3 for a dollar, and are grapefruit sized, juicy and sweet. We have fresh coconuts on our trees. Pina Colada's made with fresh from the nut milk, these delicious pineapples and Carta Vieja Rum will spoil you!! Enjoy

The roads to the community are paved and in better condition than most of the roads in Seattle, Washington.

We have enjoyed our visits to Panama as have our friends who have traveled with us.

We hope you enjoy our home as much as we do and that you have great adventures in Panama.

Keywords: casita, waterfront, kayaks included, riverfront, small village, tennis court, rural, 3 bedroom, 2 bath,

More Details

Property Manager
Ed Richards
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
16 March, 2018

About Ed Richards

We live and work in the Puget Sound area of Washington State, USA. One of us was born in Panama. After many visits to family in Panama, we decided to purchase this oasis by the Chagres River.

Ed Richards purchased this villa in 2008

Why Ed Richards chose Corregimiento de Cristóbal

We love the hurricane free tropical climate, relatively low cost of living, the US dollar based currency and easy access via the international airport. Panama uses 120 volt / 60 hz, same as a typical home in the USA. Driving is on the right side of the road, same as in the USA. We love taking our 13.5 foot, 2 person plus small child kayak and/ or our 10 foot 1 person kayak out for excursions on the river.

What makes this villa unique

Day trips, from this centrally located village, to the Caribbean, Pacific Ocean, Panama City, mountain areas, antiquities, shopping, indigenous villages, islands, etc. while enjoying a true rural Panamanian lifestyle along a beautiful river. Check out our suggested day trips on this VRBO site and the Paddle Panama tours webpage on the internet.

Interested in a Chagres River / Canal boat ride from our home? Try out our 13.5 foot 2 person Kayak and/or our 10 foot 1 person kayak included in the rental. Our home is only 5 miles by boat from the Panama Canal. Another alternative is to ask our caretaker to arrange a trip through a local boat owner. Life preservers are provided. Remember your sun hat, sunscreen and beverages. Prices are negotiable depending on your desires. For a 4 hour excursion, we suggest $50.00 for the boat and operator, plus fuel costs. Need a river guide or extra kayaks for your party, contact Paddle Panama 011-507-6780-3346 or 011-503-6618-7761


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Corregimiento de Cristóbal in Colon

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , sink
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , sink
  • 2, one on each floor, each with a shower, toilet and sink
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Each bedroom has a Queen size Bed, ceiling fan, etc
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • churches
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Our home has a rustic sports court for tennis. Swimming in the river. Take our Kayaks out for a spin. Boat trips or horseback riding can be arranged through our caretaker. Want to read a book or just veg. while others in your party watch a movie without feeling isolated? Our home has two inside sitting areas on the main floor, one with excellent views of the river, and one where the television is located and 4 outdoor covered areas that are perfect for relaxing. For longer stays, light housekeeping is provided once per week which includes cleaning the floors. Hammocks are provided for use in the Gazebo (Rancho). Minimum stay 3 nights. Maximum stay 14 nights.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Tropical Waterfront Getaway, Between Panama City & Colon
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews

Very happy about this wonderful palce

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful clean house overlooking a river. For our travels it was a great location as it was in the middle of the places we wanted to visit so location suited our needs just fine. The house had everything we needed and kayaks were great to relax on the river. Thank you Ed for allowing us to stay at your place.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Daniel, you are welcome. I'm pleased you enjoyed staying in our home along the Chagres River. We too enjoy time in our home, walking in the town of Santa Rosa as well as spending quality time in the kayaks touring the large estuary upstream of the house. Best wishes for your future travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The worst!

  • 1 of 5

This property is not fit to be listed on VRBO.

The owner was not truthful or helpful.

1.There were frequent power outages.

2. Low to no water pressure.

3. No hot water.

4. Unbelievable loud music from the neighbors across the street and the park next to the house all day long and late into the night..

5. The exterior of the house and supposeded "sports court" was filthy. Unpainted walls debris, bottles, cans, piles of leaves and dog crap.

6. The property was listed "no pets allowed" yet the owners care takers dogs spent most of the nights on our patio barking and fighting with other neighborhood dogs.

7. Due to a medical emergency (my wife broke her hip) we had to leave early. The owner did not refund the proper amount. I contacted him and he basically said tough luck.

9. He had mentioned that he was having some construction being done at the property, but would have it halted during our visit. However there were open ditches leading to the front entrance making it very difficult for us as my wife was required to use a walker due to her surgery.

10. The side doors latch did not work, locking you out even though you had not locked it. 3 times it happened and I had to pick the lock with a pocket knife in order to gain entrance, as my wife could not come to the door due to her medical condition.

11. The owner said the property was rural.... Well I know rural, it is generally peaceful and pleasant. This was FAR from that with loud music day and night that actually vibrated the large dining area window to the point that I expected it to shatter.

This property should not be listed on you're any site and the owner should not be trusted.

12. Poorly lit unsafe uneven stairs to the second floor.

I have many more photos.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What an amazing review. Picture this, you rent a house in New Orleans during Mardi Gras and expect the home owner to be able to make the neighborhood peaceful and quiet. He rented during a national holiday. I told Chuck before he booked that it would be noisy, I could not guarantee high enough water pressure 24-7 to run the main floor shower water heater but the kitchen water heater works even if there is low pressure. He said he was used to the loud Hispanic culture and the water, not a problem due to them living in Mexico. Chuck, you did have hot showers during your stay! They traveled to Panama the day after his wife broke her femur and hip while in Mexico. She had surgery 6 days later in Panama. After a week staying in our home, this couple went from "We love your home" to "Lori hurting. The embassy doesn't open until Tuesday due to holidays here in Panama. My lesson is DOT NOT GO TO PANAMA. And on top of that I'm running out of minutes on my cell phone" What you just read is the end of an email to me after theft from his rental car at Gamboa Resort. They lost their passports, credit cards, ... Life for him is tough, and unfortunately he is taking it out on everyone he can. Our home is not listed as ADA compatible. My offer to him to shorten his stay included: Chuck: We have received complaints that you have been rude to the neighbors, in particular the gentleman whose family assisted in getting your wife into your car to get her to the hospital. We hope to continue good relations with our neighbors in Santa Rosa, however, your reported behavior jeopardizes that. Please treat them with respect. You will find it goes a long way... As for the refund issue, my email response: "Chuck: The refund you received was in compliance with the offer I extended to you. Keep in mind that I was under no obligation to refund any monies you had paid per the original VRBO booking agreement. Prior to processing the refund, emails for your booking were reviewed by 2 VRBO / HomeAway representatives. I pay fees when I receive your money and once again when I give it back. You were well aware that your refund was less the appropriate fees involved in the transaction of money. After receiving my response, VRBO closed Chucks complaint against us. The lock was fixed with a squirt of spray lubricant. Stairs are well lit with 4, 50 watt spots if turned on with the switches at the bottom or top of the stairs. There's much more but I'm out of allowed characters.Regards,Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Great rental property.

  • 5 of 5

We loved it! Beautiful house, river and people.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Michelle: I'm glad you liked our Chagres River home and got to enjoy the friendliness of our neighbors! We too love going out on the river in our kayaks, relaxing at our home and visiting with our neighbors in Santa Rosa. Thanks for the great review. Ed, Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Relaxing Time in Santa Rosa

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed our time staying in this small community on the Chagres River. Everyone was very friendly and our group felt that they became part of the town. Beautiful view from the many outdoor seating areas on the property. The house was very well equipped and comfortable. It was great to be able to take a dip in the river when it got hot.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Al: Thanks for the great review. I am pleased you experienced the true beauty of this small town in Panama as well as the river front location! Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Very disappointed, stayed one night only

  • 1 of 5

First off I have to say The owner, Bob, is fabulous but the property is in a very, very small community. This community is totally non-English speaking. We had a terrible time finding the property in Santa Rosa, and the people we asked along the way we're unable to help us with directions therefore I used my cell phone to contact Bob (at a dollar per minute) several times to guide us in.

Sadly the river we were so excited about exploring was way down and we were told not to launch them from the property but from the boat dock, which of course we had no idea where it was and really no way to ask.

My main concern and advice for travelers

Is to NOT rent this property unless you are fluent in Spanish. A few words and a Spanish cheat sheet did not work here.

I am extremely saddened that it turned out this way we were looking forward to this river adventure.

My advice to owners is not to rent your properties to non Spanish speaking tourist especially without a warning.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Feb-2016
  • Date of Stay: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Juliann: Thanks for your positive comment about me, but my name is not Bob, it is Ed. I am surprised at your disappointment with your rental choice. My listing states it is rural and shows exactly where the house is located yet you rented it anyway. I sent you attachments with details on how to drive to the house well in advance. You admitted to me over the phone while you were driving to the house that you only printed one of the attachments. I am pleased that I was able to talk you through the rest of the directions over the phone and that your arrived there safely. The Chagres River is a beautiful river whether in high water or low water conditions. I was very clear in our communication that the safest boat launch area due to the low river water level was through the small park that borders our property. We have never had guests over the years that were not able to communicate basic needs with our caretaker. We spoke on the phone several times before your trip and in an attachment I sent I was very clear that the caretaker only speaks Spanish. Ed Richards, Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

If you're in love with nature, this is for you.

  • 5 of 5

Jungle spares no sun or humidity. If you're in love with mother nature then you are in for a treat. Just getting there is an adventure drive. Lots of mangos, bananas, palm trees, ect. Once off the main road your in a completely different world than Panama city its self. Some locals have been there for generations. Small towns filled with life. People crossing the street as there is no tomorrow. Small stores filled with necessities. The idea of you in the middle of no where is everywhere. The road continues to get narrow. The last two left turns you make and the lonely road is all yours driving along side the mountains. Exotic birds fly before you as you look left and right grasping all greenery. Once there you will see a small baseball field type field and small houses wondering how in the world can you live in such secluded place where only birds and the bees care to roam. Once in the house, very nice well taken care of place. Everything you need except hot water. Pay no mind to no hot water. No need. It's hot and humid. Bats will fly around. A little larger than we are use to. Pay no mind there either. They are the masters of the night sky. The local parrots will sure to wake you around 530am. You will see fairly large lizards and iguanas from tree to tree. Take a camera. Memory sometimes forgets the that you see so much nature in every way. I counted 10 moth speices...one gecko with a chuncky tail, kinda beige. Countless birds. Butterflies so beautiful, you would want to become one. I can't thank Ed (host) for the opportunity like this. Yadira the care taker introduced me to her family and I'm speachless for her and their generosity. The river in which it is on is abundance of life. My 3 day stay does not give me the right to opinion on how this one small town in the middle of nowhere got me to see the bigger picture in a smaller world. Im going back for more asap!!!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review. I am glad you too experienced the beauty of our home along the Chagres River, the local flora and fauna as well as the friendliness of our caretaker and neighbors. We agree with you about the lack of hot water and are taking action to correct that, hopefully by early August. We look forward to your next visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Nearest Airport
37 Miles
Tocumen International Airport or Allbrook National
Nearest Golf
23 Miles
Radisson Summit Hotel & Golf
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Just a short swim or boat ride across the river
Nearest Point of Interest
Park Entrance
Nearest Point of Interest
Fort San Lorenzo
Nearest Point of Interest
Isla Grande
Nearest Point of Interest
International Airport
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Madden Dam
Nearest Point of Interest
Los Lagartos Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Summit park and zoo
Nearest Point of Interest
Miraflores Locks Visitor Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Hotel Melia
Car: recommended

Santa Rosa Amenities: Santa Rosa is a very small community along the Chagres River. Our upriver property line borders the community park. The building in the park has a small mini-mart type store where you can buy essentials and refreshments. Our driveway passes between the park and the Catholic Church. About 50 feet from the church is the baseball park, and just up the hill from the ball park is one of the town bars.

We provide a 2 person plus small child kayak and a 1 person kayak for our guests use. The easiest launch point during low water times is from the public park next door.

One of our caretakers brothers, Panta, sells fish, so get your order in the night before and hope for a good catch for dinner. Our favorite is peacock bass (sargento).

Several days a week, the bakery van (Great Cinnamon rolls, etc), fruit / vegetable trucks and egg truck drive through town selling their wonderful fresh products. The pineapples usually are 3 for a dollar, and are grapefruit sized, juicy and sweet. We always have fresh coconuts on our trees. Pina Colada's made with fresh from the nut milk, these delicious pineapples and Carta Vieja Rum will spoil you!! Enjoy


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Corregimiento de Cristóbal, Central & South America

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £11 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £505.47

Refunds: Will be handled as follows if cancellation notice is given in writing to the owner through the VRBO email system.
Traveler provides notice 31 or more days prior to arrival date, a full refund minus $40.00 processing fee, 6% transaction fee and any applicable foreign transaction fee that the home owner has incurred in the processing of the travelers booking.
Traveler provides notice 30 or less days prior to arrival date, no refund will be provide.

Storms: If there is a storm, no refunds will be given unless the local authorities order mandatory evacuation of this home.
• We will refund any unused portion of rent from a guest currently registered, including the day that the authorities order a mandatory evacuation.
• We will refund any unused portion of rent from a guest that is scheduled to arrive, and wants to shorten the stay due to a mandatory evacuation.

We recommend obtaining traveler protection insurance through VRBO or your preferred source. We do not provide any insurance.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals