HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Stunning 3 BR Sea-View Penthouse (Free Concierge, Games Room, Beach 4 mins)

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday apartment in São Martinho do Porto - Sunset Retreat

Brand new luxury penthouse accommodation with views to die for!

Portugal has the lot – it’s an exceptionally beautiful country, with a great climate and warm hospitable people… Everybody has heard about the Algarve, but to find the real Portugal, we urge you to discover the Silver Coast!

One hour to the north of Lisbon, the Silver Coast offers you a taste of the real Portugal, away from all the other British tourists! Our sea-view apartment is in a quiet bay in the tranquil town of Sao Martinho do Porto. Please take a look at all our breathtaking apartment has to offer by browsing the photos which speak for themselves!

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Owner
Philip Chantry
Member since: 2006
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
1 December, 2016
Call Owner

About Philip Chantry

My name's Philip Chantry and I originally bought the apartment as I wanted somewhere for our family of five to go back to again and again. I since thought it would be nice to allow others to enjoy it as we have done since 2007!

Philip Chantry purchased this apartment in 2007

Why Philip Chantry chose Alcobaca

We chose this apartment as it had a great sea-view and it was large enough for our family. Also, the town and beach are both very child-friendly and safe.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a lovely holiday. The afternoons were surprisingly hot for this time of year and I liked that it was so quiet around the bay. And I have to say my favourite restaurant was Portabello's – We loved it. It was very reasonable at all the places we visited, so it so didn’t hurt the pocket too much!
May 2012
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

Stunning 3 BR Sea-View Penthouse (Free Concierge, Games Room, Beach 4 mins)
average rating of 4.787879 based on 38 reviews
5

Super

  • 5 of 5

Super schönes appartement, sehr sauber und ein freundlicher empfang. Wir hatten einen schönen urlaub. Phil hat uns gute info zukommen lassen. Welche restaurants gut sind, wo mann am besten ein auto mieten kann usw... Wirklich toll.wir würden dieses appartement sofort wieder mieten...

  • Review Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks Pia! For our English-speaking readers, here's a translation: "Really nice apartment, very clean with a friendly welcome. We had a nice holiday. Phil left some good information for us. Which restaurants are good, the best place to rent a car etc. Really great. We would rent this apartment immediately again."
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Never again !!

  • 1 of 5

This was our second time at the apartment (2015 our first), however, our experience this year was in stark contrast to last year’s. The apartment had many issues:

•Problem with the gas boiler, making strange grinding noises all day long,very concerning.

•The bed in the master bedroom collapsed on us in the middle of the night, very scary, dangerous and inconvenient. What makes this more annoying is that I had notified the owner the previous year as to issues with the bed.

•The underground parking door was also unavailable for the first week, electrical issue (had street park, which can be quite a challenge, especially at the weekend).

•Shower in master bedroom was not working

•The doorbell was broken during the first week this time.

The sofas could do with replacing, perfectly comfortable but heavily stained, the bathroom could have been cleaned to a higher standard. One other observation…. in comparison to last year, the train station appeared to be much busier, trains arriving /departing more frequently and more people hanging around the railway line late at night, drinking, skate boarding and making noise, a little intimidating.

Most shockingly, the owner withheld our the security deposit, we were absolutely flabbergasted and utterly shocked. we have stayed in over 20 apartments and have never once had a security deposit withheld. The owner informed me that we had done damage to the upstairs games room, left chewing gum under the pool table (my kids don’t chew gum), left red chalk marks on the wall (the walls are covered in red chalk marks from floor to ceiling, as they were last year) and allegedly made holes in the wall with the cue (impossible).

Also, it was alleged that the apartment was left in a complete mess (a disaster is how it was described). despite having cleaned it for three hours. The apartment was absolutely spotless, no rubbish, all floors swept and all surfaces wiped. It was also interesting that housekeeper was not able to produce any photographic evidence.

The owner informed me that the cost for the repair work would be the full security deposit (incl. phone calls he had made!). Please note, he was not able to produce any receipts for the works that needed to be carried out.

My theory is that the house keeper was annoyed with having to fix the many issues with the apartment and that she was merely wanting to be compensated.

We feel absolutely conned and angry (and very disappointed).

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. I hope that the people who read it will compare it with the other mostly five star reviews below. This is the first time I’ve had the need to keep a security deposit due to willful damage in 7 years, so I suppose I should have expected a 1 star review in this case! I’m really surprised that the issues you raised were not highlighted in the email your husband sent me when you returned from the apartment, which said, “we had another great holiday, thanks for that. We will definitely book again, probably in 2018, as wife has new job.”! The above review you left though, after your security deposit was withheld, paints a very different picture which is somewhat surprising but maybe understandable. I will go over each of your points though: Firstly the security deposit – I did send you photos of the damage to the ceiling which one of your party did with a pool cue. You chose to omit that point. Next, the mess. I was charged an extra €40 clean fee last year when you stayed, but as you seemed like nice people, I swallowed that extra cost. Maybe I shouldn’t have, as it happened again this year! The apartment was left like a “bomb site” according to Teresa. Your security deposit only covered the repair to the ceiling in the games room, so again I have to pay for the extra cleaning. The point about me taking money from my phone calls is interesting as I didn‘t call you. Disappointing. I’m happy to send you receipts for the damage when I get the work done at the end of the season, as I mentioned to you. My other points: Boiler – Fixed during your visit! Skateboarders near the station – First I’ve heard of it from you or others - see reviews below. More trains than usual – This is not true and can be checked with the Portugal Rail website. Plus all trains are silent electric trains – same as last year. Broken bed and shower – These were not an issue according to Teresa. Not sure where this complaint came from! Poor cleaning – I find this VERY hard to believe – I have never had one complaint on this as the readers can see from the reviews below. “Heavily stained sofa” – One of our sofas does have a sun cream mark on it, but “heavily stained” was maybe an exaggeration as you were upset at me keeping the security deposit? Electrical issues – All fixed as you pointed out. I hope this helps present a more balanced view, as do the many positive reviews below. If anybody wants to see a current video of the apartment, please email or call me. Thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 2
5

Spacious, quiet, comfort beside the beach

  • 5 of 5

We have three children of 17,15 and 12. So we were looking for accommodation that would give us enough room to enjoy our holiday at a price we could afford. This apartment ticked all the boxes. Philip was polite, pleasant and prompt to deal with. The wifi kept the teenagers in touch with their friends and the pool table amused the 12 year old. The town was safe yet had enough going on to keep all ages amused. The welcome pack in the apartment guided us to good places to eat and visit. We were close to the beach do we could come and go easily as we don't like lying out all day. Perfect apartment,

Within walking distance of everything you need for a relaxing or active holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best holiday apartment we have stayed in

  • 5 of 5

Always apprehensive when booking an unknown, however, 1st contact with Philip put us totally at ease, very helpful informative & friendly attitude put us in a good mood before the holiday started. very comprehensive info pack gave us lots of food for thought & directions made finding the apartment very simple.

Absolutely loved the apartment, very spacious, very well equipped, more like a home than a holiday apartment, 5 minutes walk from a lovely beach, lots of restaurants within a very short walk and lots of places worth a visit close at hand, will definitely return.

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review! Really pleased to know your be coming back again at some point! I think the common theme amongst the feedback we've had about our apartment, is how simple it is to find your way around, and to get from A to B while you're there. Everything is on the doorstep too, which means you don't necessarily need to hire a car. All in all, a really stress-free holiday!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Norwich
5

Fantastic large apartment

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 3 had a brilliant 2 weeks staying at Phil's apartment. The apartment is very well equipped and had everything we needed. It is in a superb location on the edge of town but minutes away from the beach and all the restaurants.

The town of Sao Martinho do Porto is a very pretty place with enough amenities to satisfy a 2 week stay. There are plenty of different restaurants to choose from although we did end up visiting our favourite, Portobello, on 3 separate occasions.

The weather was not wall-to-wall sunshine for our first few days but this enabled us to visit a few nearby places, all of which I would re-visit again. Highlights were Nazare, Obidos, Lisbon and Buddha Eden.

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to stay in the area. We would stay there again without hesitation.

Thanks Phil,

Mark + family

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Modern holiday house .

  • 5 of 5

Komfertabel apartment with everything you need. Swimming pool and bilijardbord. Great for spark-year-old children.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Lisbon
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Lisbon
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Sao Martinho do Porto
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Sao Martinho do Porto
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Sao Martinho do Porto
Car: recommended

Wide stretches of sand and deep blue sea. An enchanted island with an ancient fortress. Fragrant orchards and fruitful vineyards. A lagoon bordered by pine trees. Gentle rolling hills. City walls enclosing the white houses of the medieval town of Obidos. Historical monuments and museums. A rich gastronomy with numerous fish and shell-fish dishes. The Silver Coast has a lot to offer for children and adults alike!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in São Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Christmas / New Year 2017
23 Dec 2016 - 3 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£254
for 3 nights
From
£85
 
 
Early Summer
20 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£376
for 7 nights
£376
 
 
Pre-School Holidays
1 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£672
for 7 nights
£672
 
 
Summr Holidays
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£925
for 7 nights
£925
 
 
Late Summer
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£587
for 7 nights
£587
 
 
October 2017
30 Sep 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£418
for 7 nights
£418
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£248
for 3 nights
From
£83
£249
£587
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £211

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in São Martinho do Porto in Silver Coast - Leiria Region

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 4
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 120 m²
  • 4 stories
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Lift
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , Ensuite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • All bedrooms have built-in wardrobes. The largest bedroom is ensuite.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Towels
  • Child's Swing
  • Golf
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is also a safe children's play area within the grounds of the apartment complex.

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties