HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Newly Renovated Downtown 1 Bedroom Apartment

36 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights


Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Northwest Washington - Hydeaway Apartment

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

***Inauguration note: While the calendar may show the property is available, we will not accept a reservation until the morning after the election, and only by phone to our office. (You will need to contact us ahead of time for our office numbers as VRBO will not permit us to list it here). Rates will be considerably higher than the normal winter rate listed on VRBO, but will not be determined until the night of the election. ***


Just 1.5 blocks to the Green/Yellow Line Metro at U St./Cardozo you can easily traverse the city for sightseeing and business meetings alike. The Convention Center is just two stops from this lovely home. The National Mall is less than a 10 minute ride from the U St./Cardozo stop. Walking about this safe Neighborhood (with in 10 minutes) you will find a Whole Foods Market for groceries, Starbucks on the corner, Rite Aid Pharmacy, Lincoln Theater, Studio Theater, and some of the hottest clubs in DC with plenty of great restaurants including Ben's Famous Chili Bowl, The Islander Restaurant, Logan Circle Tavern, and Right Next Door just to name a few.

This bright, newly renovated English garden basement level apartment features, all new appliances, furniture, hardwood floors, central heat and window unit air conditioners. The bedroom offers a queen sized bed, reading lamps on either side, dresser and plenty of closet space. All bed and bath linens are provided.. The Living room features a queen sized sleeper sofa with memory foam topper available for extra guests.The single Jacuzzi tub in the private bathroom gives you the chance to soak away a long hard day of sightseeing or business meetings before you head out for dinner to one of the many great restaurants with in easy walking distance of this lovely home. The eat-in kitchen includes all appliances, pots, pans, dishes and utensils.The walk out rear patio is a perfect spot to relax and sip wine or enjoy a pizza. Sorry the pool is Not for guest use. Just 1 and a half blocks to the Green/Yellow Line Metro at U St./Cardozo, free Direct TV and Wi-Fi included makes this home away from home perfect for both tourists and business travelers alike.

Keywords: apartment, Vacation Rental, Furnished Apartment

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Alan, Paul, or Steve for reservations
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
30 August, 2016
Call Manager

About Alan, Paul, or Steve for reservations

Don't be scammed!! Work with an agency you can trust! Bed and Breakfast DC is a family owned reservation service that has been operating in the city for over 30 years. Representing many of Washington's best B&B's and Vacation rentals throughout the city. Give us a call and let us help plan a vacation you will never forget in the Nation's capitol.

Why Alan, Paul, or Steve for reservations chose Washington DC

This is my private home with a separate rental apartment.

What makes this apartment unique

Safe Neighborhood, 8 minutes to the Convention Center, 10 Minutes to the Smithsonian. Whole Foods Grocery 10 minute walk. U Street/Jazz Corridor 1 block away. Quiet comfortable home away from home apartment.


based on 36 holidaymaker reviews

Newly Renovated Downtown 1 Bedroom Apartment
average rating of 4.611111 based on 36 reviews

Comfortable and well located one bedroom apartment.

  • 4 of 5

Great location....one block from 14th street which has lots of shops, restaurants and a Trader Joes. Apt. is nice, clean and comfortable with very well equipped with everything you would need. Lovely back yard and parking space available for extra fee. Street parking is also available.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Depressing dark basement so noisy

  • 1 of 5

Old house. It s a dark terrible basement.. it s depressing. I was all august 2016 such a great summer but the apartment is depressing and dark... using electricity light at 3pm. The owner who lives 1 floor above wakes up at 5am.. walking and the old house floor is made of wood... and making noisies and waking me up at 5am every single morning and when he comes back around 4pm is exactly the same.... the heating instruments are just beside the bathroom making terrible noisies all day long. Such a bad experience for that huge price; i pay the same in a hotel where i have a maid everyday changing towels and sheets. But it s really depressing because it s so dark and noisy

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is a very interesting review, though perhaps not so surprising from this guest. During his month long stay, there was never a mention of any of the issues stated here. Every conversation was cordial and positive. We believe the review has its roots with his departure. We do not normally charge a cleaning fee for our guests, however we do ask that the apartment is left picked up & tidy, with trash in containers, perishable food discarded, wet towels placed in the bathtub, dirty dishes placed in the dishwasher & started. Guests are not required or asked to perform formal or extensive cleaning. This guest left the apartment completely opposite of “picked up & tidy”, with a sink full of dishes (almost every dish provided), perishable foods (& dishes) in the refrigerator, trash & dirty dishes throughout the apartment; even a used male contraceptive on the nightstand. We provided pictures to the guest, showing how the apartment was left, along with a copy of our rental agreement & charged him a cleaning fee. He did not believe that a cleaning fee was fair, & that all of these services are provided with a hotel. Our conversation did not improve, ending with each of us holding to our opinions. We have never received a complaint regarding the light. There are 5 windows & 2 doors with glass inserts. In comparison to similar English basement units; this apartment has a lot of natural light. The owner of the house does live in the main house, & there are wood floors. We have not had other guests comment on noise, but it is certainly something that can be looked into. This guest stayed the month of August. No heat was not operating during this time. The AC unit is mounted in the window across from the bathroom, perhaps this is what he is referencing? Again, we can look into this to see if the unit is making excessive noise. We do not know of any hotels in Washington that would provide the same amenities that this apartment offers at the rate extended to this guest. He paid $73.33 per day for a one-bedroom apartment with private bath (with jetted tub), a full kitchen, satellite TV in the living & bedroom, a large living room & laundry facilities. It is located 2 blocks from the Metro (U Street/Cardozo) station just north of the White House. Daily housekeeping, is not provided an amenity common to a hotel, but not a vacation rental. We believe the Hydeaway apartment offers a lot of value, convenience & a much different experience than this review suggests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Confortable apartment, good amenities, very convenient to the metro and shops

  • 4 of 5

Unit 2 basement apartment is situated in an very interesting historical neighborhood. It is very confortable with lots of amenities. We enjoyed our stay.

- the apartment is very spacious, very quiet and very confortable.

- convenient for access to Metro.as it is only a block and a half away, (U-Street / Cardozo on the Yellow and Green Lines)

- close to a lot of of nice shops and nice restaurants : Trader Joe's, Ben's Chili Bowl, Starbucks and Whole foods market, Safeway.

- All amenities : All dining and cooking utensils are provided. Well equipped kitchen. Dishwasher, access to laundry facilities, shared with 1 other apartment on the same floor. TV with satellite is provided in both the living room and bedroom. Wireless internet is also provided.

The bedroom is furnished with a queen bed. The mattress is new and very confortable

The living room sofa opens to a queen bed.

The bath includes a single Jacuzzi tub and shower

The host Gary was friendly, helpful and discreet.

He provides every guest with a lot of phone numbers and ideas for travellers.

the few downsides

- it is situated in the basement

- the access to the flat (stairs and threshold) is not welcoming as it is old.

- the door in the main bedroom leads to an unkempt part of the garden

- there is no housekeeping provided for a 3 night stay (garbage not emptied)

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely apartment - great location!

  • 5 of 5

Pretty, comfortable, updated apartment with a peaceful adjacent outdoor space on a quiet street that's also close to restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Although we walked almost everywhere (the Metro is a block and a half away), the off-street parking option was also very convenient. We stopped in at local coffee shops, stocked the fridge at Trader Joe's, ate at the original Ben's Chili Bowl, and got a great sense of this cool DC neighborhood. Very pleased with the quality and value!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Mexico


  • 4 of 5

Excellent location for access to Metro. Well equipped kitchen. All the amenities needed for an extended stay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, AZ

Wonderful DC getaway

  • 5 of 5

The unit was exceptionally clean, nicely furnished and in a great neighborhood. The bed was refreshingly comfortable. The host was always available but never intrusive and kept fresh flowers in the apartment! Definitely recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Smithsonian Museums, Washington Convention Center, White House, Library of Congress, Air and Space Museum, Georgetown University, George Washington University.

1.5 Blocks to the U Street/ Cardozo Metro station (Green/Yellow lines). Whole Foods Grocery and Safeway 10 minute walk. Less than 10 minutes to the Convention Center, 12 minutes to the National Mall.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Northwest Washington, Washington DC

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
9 Sep 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £24 per night, per additional guest
1 Nov 2016 - 28 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £24 per night, per additional guest
Spring 17
1 Mar 2017 - 6 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £24 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £24 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Tax Rate 14.5%

Rates and minimum stay requirements are subject to change and may not be accurate for special events such as the Presidential Inauguration in 2017.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Northwest Washington, USA

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Self-catering
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full bath with Jacuzzi tub
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed in the Bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen sleeper sofa in the Living Room
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • horse riding
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis
ceiling fans hair dryer soaps basic towels provided central heating shampoo toilet paper paper towels jacuzzi coffee maker oven 4 ring stove toaster iron & board

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties