HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lake Michigan No Bluff Vacation Beach Home Between Silver & Stony Lakes

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,126 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Lake Michigan 4 Bedroom, 2 Bath, No Bluff, Sandy, Walkable Beach

Beautiful Lake Michigan beach home with no stairs to beach. Sleeps up to 12. 4 bedrooms, game table, 2 fireplaces, large deck, no steps to beach, beautiful scenery around with farm markets, fish boils, dune buggy rides, sand dunes, beaches, fishing, antiquing, wineries, resort towns with much to explore.

On the upper level, a large kitchen opens up into a beautiful open-floor plan dining and living area with incredible views of the lake. Just outside the sliding glass doors, a large deck area with a gas grill leads all the way through the dune grass-lined walkway to the sandy beach of Lake Michigan.

with king-sized beds, and two more in lower level walkout. Stony Lake and Silver lake nearby. Address for GPS - 4155 S Ottawa Trail, Shelby, MI 49455.

More Details

Property Manager
Andrea Crossman
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 May, 2018

About Andrea Crossman

Andrea Crossman is a licensed REALTOR that specializes in Lake Michigan and Waterfront Property Sales along the Lake Michigan shoreline

Andrea Crossman purchased this cottage in 1995

Why Andrea Crossman chose Shelby

No bluff, quiet area to enjoy a family vacation for up to 12 people

What makes this cottage unique

Great Lake Michigan classic cottage.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Shelby in Benona

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2126 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • We ask that you please do not make noise outside (including in the hot tub) after 10:00pm as we have year-round neighbors to the north and south.
  • Please see Cobmoosa Shores website regarding beach/fire pit usage ----------------
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • village
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1- Upper level - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2- Upper level - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3- Lower level - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom/living area- Lower level - 4 Single Bed , Two twin beds and one full/twin bunk in family/game room
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Located north of Stony Lake and south of the beautiful Silver Lake Sand Dunes with beautiful beaches and parks and dune buggy rides, antiquing, wineries, resort towns of Pentwater, Mears, Whitehall and Montague all nearby.


3.8/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

40% Complete
0% Complete
60% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Michigan No Bluff Vacation Beach Home Between Silver & Stony Lakes
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
Westland mi

I WILL own property in Cobmoosa Shores someday...

  • 5 of 5

There were a few minor details of the house that could stand to be improved upon. But let's start off by stating that we absolutely loved the location of the house. I honestly believe we had the best beach area within the entire association. The views from the house were amazing. Waking up to a view like this gave the whole family such a sense of peace and serenity we haven't felt for some time. As stated in previous reviews, make sure to catch as many sunsets while you are here. The bench by the beach bluff is perfect! The weather was phenomenal during our stay. There were only a few minor details that could stand improvement on. First the grill should be upgraded. The grate has seen better days. Maybe add a few more pots and pans in the kitchen. Cooking for a group took awhile but we did not mind as we were on vacation time. And the upstairs toilet seat was also broken and on its way out. Just needs replacing. That being said, those minor issues did not hinder us in any way with enjoying the house and beach. We'd buy the house if we could! We loved every minute of our stay here. We will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yeojoon, thanks for the wonderful review! If you are ever seriously interested in owning a property in Cobmoosa, please contact me. We just sold a house and a lot right on the lake and currently have two other listings on the lake as well. I would love to help you find your dream location :) I'm glad you had a great stay. We did switch out the toilet seat. You were totally right, it was on it's way out. Best regards, -Samuel R. Greenstein Andrea Crossman Group Coldwell Banker Woodland Schmidt (616)377-8312
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful location, Roomy house, Lacks Upkeep

  • 3 of 5

Just returned home from our stay here. LOVE LOVE LOVE the location both on the beach of Lake Michigan and with close proximity to Silver Lake and many other fun things to do. We enjoyed breathtaking sunsets every evening and exploring both the Stoney and Silver Lake areas. This house was a great size for our group of 11 (3 couples and 5 kids) and the main living area was actually bigger than the photos make it seem. Yes, the small sandy hill was a tad difficult for a few in our group (I know other reviewers had mentioned this) but compared to other homes in the area, it was the best beach access we saw. This home could use some clean up (i.e. throw out old broken toys and worn down beach chairs left behind by other guests most likely), the bottom level smelled a bit musty, and it seems obvious that this home and the dune walkway has been "let go" a bit over the years. However, our only serious complaint was the lack of bath towels. We did not even have 1 towel per person and the towels in the lower level bathroom were similar to those I use when washing my car (very thin and old). Luckily someone from our group came a day late so they brought along bath towels from home for everyone to use. If you stay here....don't miss a sunset and be sure to get an ice cream cone from the little corner store (outside walk up window) in Stoney Lake. We had no problems with Wifi, but did not have cell service (which we expected and didn't mind one bit:))

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rose, thanks for the review. We have taken your comments into consideration and we have overstocked towels. Unfortunately they seem to run off throughout the season. We have also thrown out the older toys and restocked with a few newer ones. The dune grass along the pathway is a protected plant species as it holds the dunes in place and keeps them from shifting so there's not too much we can do about that. If you are interested in renting again, we would love to have you. -Samuel R. Greenstein Andrea Crossman Group Coldwell Banker Woodland Schmidt (616)377-8312
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house & fantastic location; poor maintenance.

  • 3 of 5

The house was in a great location with awesome views and a comfortable size for a family of 13. The cleaning and maintenance left a lot to be desired. The wifi didn't work, and with no land line or cell phone service, it could have been an issue if we had an emergency, even though it was nice to be disconnected from the outside. We had to buy supplies that are normally provided - hot tub chemicals, dish soap, garbage bags, etc. Linens were pretty old and worn, and one bed cover had period stains. Also, not enough pots & pans and many items are pretty old and worn. With better maintenance and cleaning, it would be a 5 star.

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The internet provider told us we only needed to replace the router. After purchasing three new routers and making two trips up there installing and testing them, we discovered that was not the case. It was a holiday weekend and we couldn't get back in touch with the service provider until Tuesday morning at which point they came out the same day. They had to replace two items and even reboot and rename our network to get it working. Additionally, I sent a text explaining the situation, apologizing and asking what we can do to make up for the issue and make it right but I never heard anything back. We had planned on reimbursing them for not having internet. The hot tub is maintained weekly by a reputable service and no additional chemicals are needed. Trash bags, dish soap, etc. are located in the cabinets in the kitchen. We have so many pots and pans that we need to spread them out into multiple cabinets as well. We also have other properties nearby where we have tons of extra items stored in the garage and would have been happy to drop some off if we had been notified during the stay. As for the "period stains" we will look into that and if that's the case we will get rid of the bed spread and talk to our cleaners about keeping a better eye out for things like that, however this is the first I'm hearing of this so maybe it's a recent development...
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful Beach Home

  • 5 of 5

Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Pros: Plenty of sleeping space (beds sleep 13)

Beds were comfy. The view was amazing

Large, clean hot tub. Huge family room.

Plenty of seating for meals, indoor and outdoor.

Pretty private. Clean bathrooms. Laundry in home

Dishwasher. Large fridge. Lots of parking. Gas grill.

Natural light and beach decor.

Close to wineries, Farmer's markets, and silver Lake.

Games and reading material were there.


Confusing light switches, lights not working, not alot of over head lighting.

No cell signal (maybe consider a network extender).

Some locks are not working, including master bedroom.

No DVD player down stairs. TV's are old and could not hook up an HDMI (even though there was a roku stick there?)

There was no remote for DVD player.

Listing says there's no beach bluff, but there is a steep decline to beach, hard for older individuals.

In app it says there can be fires, but this is not true when you get there.

Kitchen could use some more items, like pots and pans.

The air hockey game was missing it's puck.

The cons did not outway the pros for us. We would go back in a heartbeat! Thanks for having us!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We'll work on taking care of all the cons or as many as possible and welcome you back. Andrea Crossman, owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Grafton, Ohio

Location is incedible but the house is much to be desired

  • 3 of 5

The location of this house was incredible as we could walk right outside to an awesome beach with crystal clear water on Lake Michigan. The ad said no bluff and there wasn't a bluff but the hill down to the beach was steep. We had to tie a rope to help pull ourselves up and down the hill. The kids thought it was fun they were ages 5-11 so we made the best of it. The house itself seemed barely cleaned upon our arrival. Crumbs and fingerprints on the stainless steel. Stained carpeting. My only thought was "at least we can't ruin anything by accident." I may seem like a bit of a hotel snob but the first floor bathroom is off the kitchen so if you took a shower you had to walk through the kitchen and the living room. More important there was a hole in the fiberglass tub and a soft spot on the floor outside. I just kept wondering where all that water was going from the whole. It was about the size of a dime. The second bath in the basement also seemed to have mildew in it where there was apparent leaking over the years. The bedding didn't match and had its fair share of use over the years. Not even a fitted sheet so at night I would wake up and be touching the mattress pad because Id kick the sheets around. We had 8 in our party and were glad we brought our own towels as they weren't enough for everyone to shower. I am glad there was a washer and dryer.

Overall our trip was awesome but the house not so much. We loved the area and will go back. I think with some improvements the house could be great. I also think having a vacuum at the house would have been nice so that we could have done a better job taking care of the floors while we were there.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jennifer, thanks for the review. We have taken your comments into consideration and we now provide a vacuum in the home, we redid the carpets prior to the 2017 season and both bathrooms have been renovated. We also have new linens and even bought some new beds. Lastly, we have had years of turmoil trying to find good cleaners. By the end of the 2017 season, we believe we have found very good cleaners who will continue working with us moving forward. Best regards, -Samuel R. Greenstein Andrea Crossman Group Coldwell Banker Woodland Schmidt (616)377-8312
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Stony Lake Inn
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Muskegon or Ludington
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Benona Shores Golf Course
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
US 31
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Stony Lake Inn
Nearest Ski
45 Miles
Crystal Mountain
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Cobmoosa Shores
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £372.25
Damage Deposit £372.25

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals