HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Oceanfront, 2 BR Villa Sleeps 5 available after June 1st

Bedrooms 2
Separate WC's1
Space sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

GREAT RATES FOR THIS TWO BEDROOM UNIT! All Holiday rates are a little higher.

On private, 1400 acre Harbor Island, the living slows way down. E-211 at Cedar Reef Villas has a fabulous view of St. Helena's Sound and the Atlantic Ocean. So sit on the deck and relax a while; let your artistic spirit be rejuvenated.

Or, doesn't a long walk along a white pristine beach sound great? Go down the few steps off our deck, make your way across the adjacent boardwalk, over the natural lowland habitat, and at certain times of the year - you will practically have the beach to yourself. This is a photographer's or artist's paradise. Nature lovers will not be disappointed!

The kitchen is equipped for the gourmet chef-wannabe in your family. Be sure to stop at Publix on your way out of Beaufort. It is on the left after you cross Lady's Island bridge over the intracoastal waterway after you go through downtown Beaufort on Route 21. Or, stop at Gay's Seafood on the right before you cross the Harbor River Bridge across from the famous (featured in Coastal Living) Shrimp Shack.

A five minute walk takes you to the community pool at the other end of D building. Another five-minute walk takes you to the exercise center in the lower level of the Beach Cabana Club. There is a large kidney-shaped pool, clay tennis courts, a putting green, a community center with a kitchen and tables to seat over 60 people that can be rented for weddings and family reunions.


Harbor Island is part of the 350,000-acre ACE Basin National Estuarine Research Reserve (ACE Basin NERR), created and managed by the Marine Resources Division of South Carolina. The private island sits on the edge of the biologically rich Saint Helena's Sound.

The ACE Basin Refuge lies along the Atlantic Flyway - the bird highway in the sky.' Numerous waterfowl, shore birds, neo-tropical songbirds and birds of prey migrate from their nesting grounds to wintering areas throughout eastern North America via Harbor Island.

The painted bunting, egrets and herons are in abundance here. Our community supports an Osprey nest. Many endangered species such as the peregrine falcon, Canby's dropwort, chaffseed, hawksbill turtle, leatherback turtle, red-cockaded woodpecker, shortnose sturgeon, West Indian manatee, and wood stork live in the ACE Basin. Six, federally-threatened species (i.e. bald eagle, Eastern indigo snake, green turtle, American alligator, loggerhead turtle, and piping plover) have also been observed in the area.

The ocean is teeming with wildlife - American oysters, blue crabs, fiddler crabs, grass shrimps, hard clams, white shrimps, living sand dollars, horseshoe crabs, and porpoise. (This information was extracted from the website for the National Estuarine Research Reserve.)

At certain times of the year, you will share the ocean water with glowing green phosphorescent plankton or loggerhead sea turtles. (Don't forget to Help Save Our Turtles - lights off on the beach at night between May 1 and September 1) A sighting of a leatherback turtle, the largest living turtle species, occurred last year on Hunting Island, the next island over.

If you are interested in fishing - the 1120-foot, former Paradise Pier is now part of Hunting Island State Park, the last island boundary in the ACE Basin chain. Fishermen have tried their luck and caught Atlantic croaker, bay anchovy, black drum, largemouth bass, red drum, shortnose sturgeon, Southern flounder, spot, spotted seatrout, striped bass, and striped mullet.

Speaking of Hunting Island, we would be remiss if we did not mention the historic Hunting Island lighthouse that was in operation until 1933. Originally constructed in 1859 and rebuilt in 1875 after the Civil War, 167 steps and 50 cents will take you to the top for a fabulous view. It is only two miles away.

Time to go out on the town? Beaufort provides a delightful backdrop, hosting a thriving artists community and is only 14 miles away! A hour or so drive will take you to Savannah or Charleston, beautiful southern cities that make great day trips.


We know you will enjoy your stay on Harbor Island. Call Renee for more information or check our reservation calendar and send us an e-mail. We work really hard at keeping our rental calendar current.

Note: A gate pass for guests is a required purchase by our condominium association. See our website for current fees. South Carolina Hotel taxes & handling fees of 11% do apply, and there is a required $75 cleaning fee (2 BR).

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Renee Garcia
Member since: 2004
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
10 March, 2017

About Renee Garcia

We love harbor island!,,but we live in asheville,so we want to share this fabulous island with you.we try to provide all the ammenities you will need,but sometimes renters dont treat it "like home" so if you dont have anything u need,someone probably took it!!!always contact Renee or Barbara with problems! Thanksand have a great time! (New furniturei 2015)

Renee Garcia purchased this villa in 2005

Why Renee Garcia chose Beaufort area

U have a great view of the ocean,even though its a side unit! And less expensive than ocean front.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Housekeeping reported that the glasstop table was intact prior to the arrival of the Ramirez family and broken when they left. There was no other way to do the math. Someone in their party broke the glass. We contacted them and told them that for the first time since 1997 we had to collect the $150 damage deposit. Obviously they were not happy, but there were too many witnesses to the situation.as far as the linens and other cleanliness, that was completly fabricated...dont need renters like this
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Saint Helena Island in Beaufort County

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 2 Large Double Bed
  • King size beds (1) Sleeps 2, Queen bed sleeps 2, more in a convertible bed.* Sleeps a total of 5 in a queen/king/convertible bed.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Player
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Holiday periods require a 4 night minimum, rates are a little higher. Sales tax, cleaning fees and 1 gate pass is now included in the rate. Extra gate passes are $10.00 per night


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(34 traveller reviews)

Oceanfront, 2 BR Villa Sleeps 5 available after June 1st
average rating of 4.7941175 based on 36 reviews
central Ohio

great escape for Spring Break

  • 5 of 5

We look forward to coming to Harbor Island every year for Spring Break --- driving down from a cold Ohio winter, we always feel as though we've stepped into summer when we get there. The island is peaceful, the beach is practically deserted, the huge deck is most relaxing, the condo is cheerful and sparkling clean --- it's a great place, and we always appreciate our time spent at Harbor Island. We have met with blue skies and sunshine every year. We visit the Shrimp Shack, The Johnson Creek Tavern, and Steamers for seafood, and most of the time, we just hang out on the deck, pool, or beach... watching the waves and listening to the surf. This is a wonderful getaway!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2006
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Peaceful, comfortable, beautiful getaway!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at this villa for our 10 year anniversary, and we couldn't have been happier that we chose this place! Harbor Island by itself is a gorgeous place to visit, and it is so private and quiet compared to Myrtle Beach or Hilton Head. I was worried that there might be too much noise from our neighbors or people in the pool, but I was amazed at how quiet and peaceful everything was! We sat out on the porch both evenings, and it was so serene! The villa itself was beautifully decorated, and it was super clean! The couches and the king bed were very comfortable, and the towels were super plush and soft! I know a fellow traveler mentioned that they didn't appreciate all of the "warnings" posted around the villa, but I found the "warnings" to be quite helpful. I didn't really see them as warnings but rather ways to make your stay more enjoyable and keep the villa from having any maintenance issues. The only problem I had with the villa was that the two beach walks closest to our villa were closed, so we had to walk a little further to get on the beach. (I assume they were both closed for maintenance reasons.) But it wasn't that much further to walk! (And it's not the owner's fault that the community closed the beach walks.) Be sure you borrow their park pass and go to Hunting Island to climb up the lighthouse! We enjoyed it thoroughly! We are taking our children to Hilton Head in August, and I really wish I had waited to book a place because I would love to bring them to this villa instead! We will hopefully book it next year and bring our kids!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place...very clean...beautiful weather...could probably use a new microwave...

  • 5 of 5

Would stay there again...

  • Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Always the perfect week on the most gorgeous beach!

  • 5 of 5

We've been vacationing at Harbor Island, SC for over 10 years now, and we have rented this unit multiple times. While the entire complex is dated, the owners of this particular property attempt to keep things updated. The unit is pet free and non-smoking, which is very important for my asthmatic child. This last week, we only had one day of rain, due to Tropical Storm Colin, but we were still kept busy by nearby Beaufort. The rest of the week was fantastic. Crabbing was particularly good this year, and we were able to see some of the fisherman land some rather large black tip shark. The kids were able to see a stingray this time, and the diamondback terrapin were beautiful. We had a special treat this year. In the dunes, one of the mama gators had babies. You could hear them at night. We did not see a sea turtle this year, but the wildlife, the beach and the tranquility were exceptional.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place that aimed to make guests comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

This place was fantastic! We have been places where there were so many rules, that I couldn't be completely comfortable! Not here! We were able to relax and didn't have to worry about breaking any rules! The Hunting Island pass was hanging on the wall. There were plenty of beach chairs that were available to borrow. The bedrooms were comfortable. We were able to enjoy hanging out in the living room with plenty of room for everyone to relax. And, the kitchen was well stocked. Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charleston, SC

Great location, average accommodations

  • 3 of 5

The condo is located in a nice community and only a two minute walk from the ocean. The unit was clean and the space great for two adults and two kids. However, it is an older unit and there were too many "warning cards" distributed throughout - reminding us of numerous things to/not to do, else face penalties. It was excessive. The hot water in the second bath did not work reliably, and the restriction to two rolls of toilet paper (we only had one, for three bathrooms, upon arrival) just felt cheap. Given limited options in this area, this is still probably a reasonable choice for families wanting to be close to the beach and Hunting Island State Park.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: the warning signs are posted so there wont be any inconvienience for the renter,such as ,what the airconditioner should be set on,because if it sets too low it can freeze up,and the hunting island pass, has been taken before, and cost 50.00 to replace.the shower curtain has to be in tub ,or it will leak on floor and cause damage downstairs..as for the laundry penalty, its to deter guest from putting heavy spreads and blankets in washer,because they have to go to a heavy duty dryer, that the housekeeper doesnt have time to do between cleanings. we supply a starter toilet paper,which should be a roll in every bath. but we do appreciate your response and any inconvienience..
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Saint Helena Island, South Carolina

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Spring 2017
1 Apr 2017 - 12 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
13 May 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
9 Sep 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
4 Nov 2017 - 2 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Early Spring 2018
3 Mar 2018 - 30 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £60
Tax Rate 12.5%

This is a non-smoking unit. Our condo association does not allow pets.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now



Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot