Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Sunny Apartment 3 Minutes Walking from St. Mark's Square

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

This recently renovated apartment is located in the heart of the historic center of Venice, halfway between the Rialto bridge (a six minute walk) and St. Mark’s Square (a three minute walk). It is very calm because it looks on to a private courtyard and it is accessible only through another quiet venetian private yard.

In the bedroom there is a french bed (47 inches wide) with a cabinet drawers, an access to a small balcony overlooking a quiet space; the bathroom is decorated in fine pink marble from Portugal, complete with a shower and a hairdryer. The living room has a dining table for four, a cabinet-style bars , two sigle beds, and the nice kitchen has black African granite counters with walls in red marble from Verona. It is equipped with a refrigerator and freezer-cell, a four-burner gas stove, an oven and a microwave. With the exposed wooden beam ceiling and hardwood/brick flooring this apartment captures the beauty of historical Venice.

Independent heating system; everything renewed on May 2004.

Within a radius of fifty meters (really!) you will find: a supermarket, a fruit and vegetable store, a bakery, a dairy, a butcher, a pizza take-away, a wine shop, an electrical appliance store, an internet café, various restaurants, pizzerias and bars, as well as many different kinds of stores. Moreover, in just five minutes by foot you will find two banks, the postal-office and many others typical places where you can eat wonderful fish or just drink a typical cocktail. With everything just at your doorstep you will think you are in the comforts of your own home. As the apartment is located right in the center of the city near the most beautiful monuments, quite a lively area, you can easily reach every other interesting point in the city in just thirty minutes by foot. In addition, it is situated only six minutes away from the two most important vaporetto (water bus) stops in the city (Rialto and San Zaccaria). However, remember that in Venice it is best to travel by foot or with the Venetians on the vaporetto, because the water taxis are very expensive.

If you arrive from the bus station or the car parks (Piazzale Roma stop), or from the train station of Venice “Santa Lucia” (Ferrovia stop), take the vaporetto number 2 (which costs 6,50 Euro per person) for about fifteen minutes until you reach the Rialto stop. Then it is just six minutes by foot to reach the apartment. You can also take a water taxi which costs about 50-60 Euro per trip.

If you arrive from the airport, take the bus to Venice (a twenty minute ride). Once you arrive in Piazzale Roma, take the vaporetto number 2 as mentioned above. You can also take a water taxi direct from the airport which costs about 80-90 Euro per trip.

If you arrive by car you must leave it in the car park. In Venice it costs between 24 to 30 Euro per day (if there is space). In Mestre it costs 8 Euro per day at the car park in front of the train station; then you just take the train to “Venezia Santa Lucia” (which costs 1,50 Euro) and take the vaporetto number 2 as mentioned above.

If you are already in Venice you can easily reach the apartment by foot.

Keywords: Apartments, flat, flats, home, studio, mansard

More Details

Francesco and Nina
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, Italian, slovene
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
9 July, 2018

About Francesco and Nina

I was born in Venice, and I spent all of my life here in this beautiful city.

Francesco and Nina purchased this apartment in 1950

Why Francesco and Nina chose Castello

My Granfather bought it a lot of years ago because Venice is Venice... !

What makes this apartment unique

You will feel at home... Venice is a little big city, you'll find anything you need in few minutes walking.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Castello in Venice-Murano-Burano

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Late Check-in, always to be agreed in advance to the reservation, if accepted: after 20.00 extra fee of 30 Euro; after 23.00 extra fee of 50 Euro.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Double Beds (1) Best quality, highly comfortable, 51x79 inches (i.e. 130x200 cm), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Twin beds, each 32x75 inches (i.e. 80x190 cm)
  • Television
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
22% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sunny Apartment 3 Minutes Walking from St. Mark's Square
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews
Vancouver Island. Canada

Basic apartment in a good location

  • 3 of 5

It took me some time to find the apartment even though I had excellent instructions from the owner. It's is tucked away between Rialto and st marks square. Venice is a maize of small street, and arriving after a long haul flight didn't help.!

The apartment is equipped ok, but basic. No wine glasses, 3 juice glasses only. And this is Italy. ! Small coffee maker that makes one cup at a time. There were a few (left over) basic supplies, but no welcome basket as is fairly normal in most vrbo properties. Wasn't able to enjoy fresh air at night due to mosquitos.

The photos on the vrbo sight were accurate.

Bed was hard, linens not very nice. This all sounds negative, and I have to say that I was disappointed. I have stayed in many vrbo apartments and this was probably the most disappointing. But, location was great for many of the attractions.

There was a supermarket very closely, and a great take away fresh pasta place. 5 Euros for a beautiful fresh pasta. Why cook!!

  • Review Submitted: 01-May-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Janet usually we don't answer to reviews with some critics because we know our limits and we will never be able to make anyone totally happy, but unfortunately this time we have to disagree with most of your statements. You did not find the apartment at your arrival because you did not print the detailed instruction that we sent you and we asked you to print. You have showed to us that you just wrote down a summary of our instructions that consist in a couple of lines on a paper.Venice could be really difficult, so for a your fault we had to come to pick you up because you could not find your way. Do you remember? In this review we are feeling some kind of devious revenge for something incomprehensible to us, perhaps because you missed around the city, fault of your own. If you think that“basic equipped”means to have microwave,toster, kettle,moka and of course cookware, dishes and everything you need to cook probably family managed apartments are not a good choice for you,better for you is a b&b or an hotel. There are several wine glasses in the apartment (maybe you did not find then in a 30 MQ ap)and for the coffe maker,is an original Italian Moka for 3/4 person,we are in Italy and we have a different cofee. About “basic supplies”, just to let you know again,that here in Italy we have a lot of rules,only hotels and b&b can provide any kind of facilities, but apartment absolutely not.We absolutely can't provide any kind of welcome basket,if a guest write that we gave it and someone read it the police can forbid to rent the apartment again! You can find any kind of commodity in the supermarket near the apartment. About mosquitos,we're sorry for them, but we have not yet reached an agreement with them to let her stay out of the apartment with windows open. But inside there is a killing-mosquito lamp. About the bed,this mattress has been made by the best high level producer here in Italy, 10 inches tall, not 7 as the normal ones. But the incredible thing of this situation is that we have a very nice mail where you wrote us: "I have had a wonderful few days in Venice. Thankyou again Nina for your help when I arrived. Your instructions were perfect!" Why you did not wrote us about your problems and why you wrote some not correct statements.Is it right to penalize us simply because you would not listen to our advice,you would not ask for any explanation during your stay and you're not comfortable with a culture different from your own?We really think NO...
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great location and hosts, comfortable place to stay

  • 4 of 5

I probably should give this place 5 stars as this is, after all, Venice, where everything is a bit cramped. The good points first. The location is great, right in the middle of things, yet quiet being on a narrow side street with the units facing a courtyard. It's a short walk both to San Marcos and to the Rialto bridge. So for a first or second time visitor, the location was perfect. Secondly, the hosts are very accommodating. When I had trouble with a malfunctioning moka pot, the owner was over in just an hour after I emailed him. He fixed the pot with a new part immediately. Thirdly, the internet works well. The reason for the lack of one star was because of the kitchen, which is mainly a shelve area in the living room along with a gas stove. There is a small refrigerator. There is really no counter space or food prep area. The silverware, plates, glasses and utensils are spread out in various parts of the living room, in chest of drawers and such. One really can't cook dinners here without a lot of inconvenience. And some utensils are missing. However, it was fine for a simple breakfast and lunch. With so many restaurants and eateries around, we had our main meal out every day. One word of caution - if you plan on preparing coffee in the morning, make sure you know how to use a moka pot as there is no American type coffeemaker. The coffee from the pot is excellent and the hosts provided the coffee, but watch a video online to learn how to use it.

All in all we loved our stay in Venice, and would stay here again when we return.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I enjoyed very much staying in this centrelly located flat. Everything was very comfortable and convenient. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location but dark interior

  • 4 of 5

The booking process and communication with our hosts, Francesco and Nina, was very good, with clear directions provided to guide us to the apartment upon our arrival (which is certainly needed to negotiate the narrow winding streets of Venice). The apartment's close proximity to the Rialto Bridge and to St Mark's square was a real bonus for accessing tourist attractions and having landmarks to navigate by.

The apartment was very small for three adults and the lighting was very subdued (to the point of being quite dark). However, it was warm and cosy during our stay in Winter.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jan-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Quiet and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Well-equipped and comfortable, good location. Comfortable beds: one full bed in the bedroom where the bathroom and balcony is, two twins (converted from couch) in the living room/kitchen area. Good location, close to grocery store. Very quiet, good a/c, washing machine, and wi-fi.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Lovely, quiet, comfortable

  • 5 of 5

We spent six nights at Casseleria 2. We thought we would be getting Casseleria 1, the smaller studio apartment on the ground floor, but instead we got this one-bedroom flat on the first floor up. It was lovely and charming, as was Nina our host. The apartment was plenty big for the two of us. Because it is enclosed between two courtyards, it is extremely quiet considering how close it is to the busiest tourist area in Venice -- San Marco. We did hear church bells ringing from time to time, but they were charming rather than annoying. Nina gave excellent instructions on getting to the place and was there to meet us right on time. The last two days of our visit the weather became very hot. The apartment has air conditioning that works well, thankfully! There is a washing machine that guests can use (no charge) and lots of space in the courtyard to hang the clothes to dry. The apartment is very close to a well-stocked Co-op grocery store and a short walk to vaporettos, many restaurants and bars, and of course the top tourist attractions. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Venice Marco Polo (VCE)
Nearest Barpub
Same street of the apartment, open up to midnight
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Venice Tronchetto 'Isola Nuova'
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Venice Golf Club 'Circolo Golf Venezia'
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Venice Santa Lucia main train station
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
A57 Mestre
Nearest Restaurant
Same street of the apartment, open up to midnight
Nearest Ski
95 Miles
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Lido of Venice
Nearest Point of Interest
Rialto Bridge
Nearest Point of Interest
St.Mark's Square
Nearest Point of Interest
Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Castello, Venice

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
24 Jun 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
1 Aug 2018 - 29 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Standard Cleaning Fee £35.7
Refundable Damage Deposit £178.5

Few days before your arrival the rest of the total amount will be charged to your credit card, and a
guarantee deposit of 200 Euro for any kind of damage will be pre charged.
Also, when you will arrive you will pay the turistic tax in cash: at this moment it's of 1,50 euro per day per person for the first 5 days, but it can be modified by the autorities at the date of your arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question