HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Secluded Home on Pristine Tropical Island is Paradise Found

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 7-9)

This secluded island home, offers comfort in a tropical wilderness environment, on the unbridged 2,000 acre Cayo Costa Island State Park. The home is 1,500 sq.ft. with 1,000 sq.ft. of decks. The home is off the power grid and is powered by solar/inverter and propane. The first floor of this elevated home has 2 bedrooms and 1 bath with two outside showers. There is a large deck connecting the two bedrooms that have king size beds. All of the first floor has Gulf views above the palm trees and the island. The second story sleeping room and upper deck has the best 360 views on the island of the Gulf, Pine Island Sound, Charlotte Harbor and the entire island. You have quick access to the beach 300 yard in front of house by walking or taking one of two all terrain vehicles to the healing waters of the Gulf of Mexico and 9 miles of deserted sandy beach where there is world class fishing, shelling, birding and dolphin watching. Manatees can also be observed around the island from land or kayak. Or you can just slow down and listen to the natural sounds of the island sitting 50 feet above sea level on the upper deck. House comes with dock on the bayside see map Marker B. Owner can provide round trip transport from the airport and to the island (boat fee $175). Rates are for 6 people, and $25 extra/night for each person over 6 staying at the house.

Keywords: Home

More Details

Owner
Daniel Trescott
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
19 November, 2017

About Daniel Trescott

I am a native Floridian from Miami. I starting boating and fishing at 8 years old in the canals near my house. So boating to Cayo Costa is a perfect fit and is always an adventure. I am an urban and regional planner and had been working for the Southwest Florida Regional Planning Council in Fort Myers for the last 28 years and the State of Florida in prior years. Now I semi-retired from the state and work part time for Trescott Planning Solutions my consulting firm and Cayo Costa Island Adventures. I have raised my son and daughter in Fort Myers and Cayo Costa. Island life has changed our lives. Being in the natural environment of this tropical island removes the stress in one's life.

Daniel Trescott purchased this house in 1997

Why Daniel Trescott chose Captiva

I have been all over coastal Florida with my jobs and Cayo Costa by far is the largest undeveloped barrier island in the State. This island is remote in that it is six mile from the nearest mainland connection on rural Pine Island. The island is 50 minutes from my house in Fort Myers and 30 minutes to the nearest grocery store. Being the only person on the beach for miles was one of the main reasons I built the house.

What makes this house unique

The house has been called a luxury wilderness beach house. It has most of the modern conveniences in a home in a very remote location. You will be staying on a real island with no connections to the mainland. You will have quick access to 9 miles of natural beach (300 yards in front of house) where shelling, beach-combing and swimming are some of the best in the world. There is easy access to catch snook, redfish, trout, whiting, pompano, mullet, cobia, snapper, flounder and grouper. World class fishing for tarpon off the beach or in Boca Grande Pass at the north end of the island. An uncrowded life with peace and quiet might be the best benefit of all.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Captiva in Lee County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 13:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 13:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • rural ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Hot/cold shower with large antique clawfoot tub, plus a hot/cold outside shower on deck next to the bathroom door entrance on deck. There is another shower on the ground floor deck that is cold and particularly good during the warm months.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    loft - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Bed (1), Double Bed (1), Twin or Single Beds (1). There is an additional double and single mattress. The beds in the loft are the highest sleeping beds on the island.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Being an off the power grid home quite power (sun) is almost unlimited. If necessary during extended cloudy days a generator can be run for 2 hours to recharge the batteries. The home does not have central air conditioning due to high power demand. The home is designed to either remove or retain heat by opening or closing the second story windows. Kitchen has electric coffee maker, microwave and toaster. Transportation is by ATVs with trailer on existing sand trails. Moon/planet/star gazing is excellent and a telescope is available for use. Various types of beach chairs, bring your our fishing rods if traveling by car or if flying bring your own reals for rods at the house, sand stakes and buckets are available. Instructions for using everything at the house are provided along with island maps and chart for good fishing stops around the island. Boat access to and from the island and from airport can be provided by the owner.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(62 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Secluded Home on Pristine Tropical Island is Paradise Found
average rating of 4.83871 based on 62 reviews
5

Quiet solitude in the jungle with beautiful beach

  • 5 of 5

Property manager was friendly, nice ,and responsive to questions beforehand. Did not need to contact him during our stay because there were no problems, but he was easily reachable by text. House was much too spacious for 2 people and 2 small dogs (not a bad thing). It was clean with the expected bug here and there as it is the middle of the jungle. We only saw 1 other person during our stay so pretty much had a 7 mile beach to ourselves. Fishing was fun. ATVs were well maintained and easy to move them through puddles (there were a few because of a recent hurricane). Although I wanted to, I did not see an alligator. The number of eagles flying around the house all day long was astounding. One of the bald eagles perched on the top deck when we weren't using it. Not really negatives that I can think of. I would love to come back some day when we have children. This place would be a dream come true for a family who likes the outdoors with comfortable secure living at night.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Excellent review and eagle report thank you very much.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place. We went in July and our biggest worry before arriving was the temp. Not a problem at all. Stayed plenty cool in the house even in the middle of the day. Slept great too. Plenty of things to do and see and the house has everything you need. My only tip would be to take plenty plenty of Off and maybe a thermacell. We typically do not do return trips since there are so many places in the world to go but we would consider this place for another visit. Tropical atmosphere without a passport. Owner was great too!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very nice review and the “tropical atmosphere without a passport” comment. People say it's like leaving the country. I have never tried a thermacell but I will soon. Bugs vary depending on where you are on the island and time of day during the summer. Since the first floor of house is up so high at tree top level, normally no bugs on the porch during the day or most nights. I hope you visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great family vacation place!

  • 4 of 5

Our family has been coming to Cayo Costa for many years, but this time we brought my brother's family along for their first visit. Even those new to the island had a fantastic time and want to come back. We even had a friendly manatee swim right up to swim with us, a first for me!

Numerous pros: the views from the top deck are absolutely gorgeous, as are the views from the upstairs sleeping room. It works well with a large group; we had 4 adults and 5 kids but didn't feel crowded. It's well-designed for natural ventilation, so we were comfortable even on the hottest days. The views from the deck were lovely and we all enjoyed sitting out there. The two ATVs were especially great with a large group -- we loved being able to send one group ahead to the beach and the other following when ready, or letting one group come back earlier than the other. The fact that the transportation provided was ATVs rather than the golf carts we've sometimes had in other rentals was also an advantage given how rainy it was -- there was a lot of standing water over the trails during our entire trip, deep and extensive enough that golf carts would have had a hard time making it through. The carts for the backs of the ATVs were roomy and did a great job of hauling all of the kids and beach gear.

The cons were minor. The biggest was the extra person fee, which we've not run into before and made this house more expensive than the others, though the owner Dan was kind enough to waive the fee for the 2 year old, which we greatly appreciated. I also missed having a washing machine and tasty-from-the-tap drinking water, both of which our favorite rental on the island has, but since we knew to expect that we were able to plan ahead. (I highly recommend picking up a Pur Water Filtration Pitcher -- it did a great job of taking out the sulfur and iron flavors so we didn't have to rely on bottled water.) We also had several minor maintenance issues -- a toilet seat that kept falling off, aged hammock ropes that kept breaking, screens and window cranks wearing out, and a difficult to start generator -- but Dan was out of the country and said he usually keeps a handle on those things better. He was super helpful by phone and text (clear from Australia!) with the generator issues and helped us get a backup generator connected. After our trip he was also kind enough to mail us a Kindle one of the kids accidentally left behind, without even accepting money for postage.

Thanks, Dan!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate the detailed review. The hammock ropes, toilet seat and primary generator have been repaired. I keep the windows working and replace screens when necessary frequently. I was on vacation during your stay and had a relative manage the home but he can’t manage it like I do so I am sorry for anything that was not up to my standards. During your stay, it was cloudier than normal so battery charging was necessary more than usual. I have two generators in case one fails, so there was no loss of power. I am just used to drinking bottled water in 5-gallon jugs at both my homes. Don’t like the chlorine taste in treated water so I usually provide at least 5 gallons of water at the Cayo house. Bringing a Pur Water Filtration Pitcher is a great idea. A washer/dryer is to power intensive for my off-grid home. Hand washing is recommended. I wash all the sheets, towels, and rugs at my home in town, thus people get a break from washing cloths which maybe be plus while on vacation. The extra charge of $25 per night for each person over 6 people staying at the house is consistent with other hotels and rentals in the area and is stated in the VRBO home description. Since your stay I have bought an additional ATV trailer. Now there is a trailer for both ATVs for larger groups of people staying at the house. Thank you for staying at my house and hope to see you again on your next stay on Cayo and I likely will not be out of the town.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything you need for a relaxing getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was our third visit and we will definitely be back for many more. We sail our small boat over from Bokeelia on Pine Island and use the property as a base to enjoy Pine Island Sound and Cayo Costa. It was very hot for early May but with the house elevated and the clever design of the house ventilation we were very comfortable both in the house and enjoying the breeze on the expansive wraparound deck with amazing Gulf views. Dan met us at the dock with the 4 wheeler and wagon so we were settled into the house within minutes of landing. The sea life in the area is still amazing, just in the canal leading to the dock we saw 1 gator, lots of fish and 1 manatee. We encountered many dolphins as we sailed around the Sound and always enjoy (and never miss) lunch on Cabbage Key.

Thanks again For allowing us to enjoy your home, we will be back!

Steve and Kathy

  • Review Submitted: 12-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the excellent review on house design and reports of your sailing adventures in Pine Island Sound. You all really know how to enjoy the island and waters. There is nothing like sailing around quietly to see all the wildlife in this incredible estuary. I look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible experience

  • 5 of 5

The reviews for this place were spot on. House is everything you could ask for, and Dan was wonderful. I brought my dog, and he absolutely loved it. Riding the 4 wheelers, and exploring the island, to enjoying the wonderful sunsets on the beach, to hearing the wildlife rustling in the jungle underneath you as you sleep. No complaints here regarding the rental, but I will say if you are a food connoisseur and enjoy a nice rare burger, do not go to cabbage key, as they will only serve you medium or medium well burgers. Eeeww! That was my only drawback to the whole experience, but that has nothing to do with Dan, the house, or the island of cayo costa!! Dan, and the house were both great. Hope to be back soon!!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad your stay was an incredible experience. The full moon in February was perfect weather day and night. I hope to see you all again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Very Satisfied

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying here... just wish it was longer. You do need to be a little on the adventurous side and bring plenty of food and booze. Everything worked great and Dan was a very nice man.

If you're looking for seclusion and peace, this is a great place. It's not 5 star accommodations and you need to be conscious of energy use around the house, but that's what makes it fun.. at least for us. Has what you need, just make sure you're with people you like :).

Will certainly stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate and thank you for your nice review. It is likely that if there were 5 star accommodations available on Cayo Costa it would no longer be secluded or extremely expensive and probably more that the Ritz in Naples with charges starting at $879 per night for one room in a 400 room hotel on a beach with many other high density developments lining the shore. I like to think that the house offer luxury wilderness accommodations on a 2,000 acre unbridged undeveloped pristine barrier island state park with access points by ATVs to 9 miles of beach with no development on it. I look forward to your return stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
37 Miles
Southwest Florida International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Cabbage Key
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Tropic Star
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Alden Pines
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Waterfront Drive
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Cabbage Key
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
In front of the house on Cayo Costa Island

Park headquarters has small gift shop with ice and other basic items. Bikes and kayaks can also be rented. Nearby Cabbage Key also has small gift shop and restaurant. Useppa Island also nearby has a historical museum on life of Caloosa Indians. North Captive has small store. Pine Island is 6 miles away by boat and is connected to the mainland where everything is available within 15 minutes to an hour including the International Airport. Visitors coming by airplane owner can provide transport from airport to grocery store and then marina for water taxi provided by owner to Cayo Costa home.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Captiva, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
1 night minimum stay
£273
for 1 night
From
£273
£1,766
£6,307
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2018
1 Jan 2018 - 10 Jan 2018
1 night minimum stay
£294
for 1 night
From
£294
£1,913
£6,727
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
11 Jan 2018 - 11 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,177
for 4 nights
From
£294
£1,913
£6,727
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2018
12 Jan 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
1 night minimum stay
£294
for 1 night
From
£294
£1,913
£6,727
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
1 May 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
1 night minimum stay
£273
for 1 night
From
£273
£1,766
£6,307
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2018
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Dec 2018
1 night minimum stay
£273
for 1 night
From
£273
£1,766
£6,307
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 2019
1 Jan 2019 - 30 Apr 2019
1 night minimum stay
£294
for 1 night
From
£294
£1,913
£6,727
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£273
for 1 night
From
£273
£1,766
£6,307
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £378.8
Tax Rate 11.0%

Until confirmed, rates are subject to change.
$300-$325/night - $1,925-$2,100/wk (7 nights) for 6 people
$25/night extra for each person over 6 staying at home
Renter can buy $2,500 of property damage protection for $59 nonrefundable or pay a refundable $500 damage deposit

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals