HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Sand Castle on the Beach! Ocean and Sand

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Picture perfect windows showcase sunsets all year long. There are magnificent views of 12 miles of beach, dunes and waterways. Everything that you could want in a beach experience is right there.

12 person hot tub with sliding gate giving the feel that it is right on the beach. Gourmet Kitchen with Viking Stove.

Large great room. Views from every room of the ocean.

Keywords: Picture perfect windows showcase sunsets all year long. There are magnificent views of 12 miles of beach, dunes and waterways. Everything that you could want in a beach experience is right there

More Details

Trish Carballar
Member since: 2003
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 March, 2018

Why Trish Carballar chose Oceano

We custom built and designed the home so we; and every room could enjoy the sunsets and the ocean and never have anyone build in front or to the side of the Sand Castle.

What makes this house unique

Panoramic Glass octagon shape puts you on the Beach.

Guestbook comments from the owner

as we expected, everything has been wonderful during our stay at the sand castle. Now we’re in Italy but we remember our trip with great satisfaction. The house has been better than we thought and we enjoyed it very much.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011 1:44 PM
Oct 2011
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Oceano in San Luis Obispo County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , soaker tub/shower combo
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , extra large walk in shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
  • 3
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , balcony, attached bath w/ soaker bath shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , pier room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , captains room
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , queen futon
    Loft - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , queen futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (4), Baby Cribs (1) porta crib
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • cinemas
  • library
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

53% Complete
23% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
15% Complete
Sand Castle on the Beach! Ocean and Sand
average rating of 4.0 based on 14 reviews

Worst quality vacation house I have ever lived in

  • 1 of 5

Inadequate facilities:

They claim that the house sleeps 12 adults. But they have only 1 king and 4 full mattresses. 2 people on one full mattress gets really crowded.

For cold weather, the house just doesn't have enough comforters or everyone.

House has no AC. During afternoon, due to all glass walls, the house traps all the sun heat and the living room gets extremely hot. The ceiling fan or tower fan are just not enough .

Very less space to move around. The owner has hoarded all kinds of things in the house and hence the house is too much full of really old things.

Only a 7-8 towels were provided.

So called 12 person hot tub gets crowded even with 5-6 adults.

Unsafe for kids:

Patio threshold was broken.

Rusty nails pocking out of many places.

Bedroom had a very thin glass object broken on the floor.

Bugs and spiders found in many places. Spider webs were found all over the house, showing the owner's disregard for overall cleaning.

Extremely bad condition of the house:

The grill had 1 week old rotting bacon and fish bones stuck all over. Even the BBQ pits in public parks are in better condition.

The hot tub couldn't heat the water enough even after running it for one hour.

Living room sink was clogged with 2 inch water in it from the moment we stepped in.

Internet speed was 15kbps. Yes 15kbps. Due to very limited cellular reception, wifi was very crucial.

All the glass mugs/cups/wineglasses were extremely stained. We had to wash each cup/glass before using.

The oven trays were soiled with oozed meat juices and smelly oil.

Outside wooden walls of the house are extremely deteriorated.

Oven was not working well. After setting at 375F it took more than 1.5hr for chicken to cook.

The problems were piling up on us but we were trying to accommodate. But when we found out horrible condition of the gas grill, our dinner was ruined. We could not take it any more and we called the owner - Trish. But after listening to the issues she started laughing at us. When questioned, she asked us why were we calling her now at night. On listening to our complains, instead of trying to pacify us she asked us to checkout before 10am, disregarding our earlier agreement of 12pm.

The only great thing about the house however was the beach. We enjoyed the beach and cool sand. Due to the bad condition of the house, all of us preferred to spend most of our time out on the beach.

I will not stay in this house again even if the owner pays me rent for using their house.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest was in our home for two whole days before calling me at 9:30pm the night before he left yelling and cursing me out and not even allowing me to address his concerns and then passing the phone to a friend to do the same. If he had called me anytime prior in his stay I could have addressed his concerns if they existed and taken care of anything for him. If I had walked into a house and a sink was backed up I would have called immediately which was not what happened here but his way of covering up the fact that they had stopped up the sink. I can guarantee that there are 3 queen beds in bedrooms and 2 full size futons and a king in master bedroom, but when you have 12 adults plus 6 children in the house things will see smaller. These guest lied about how many people they had at house. The WiFi just needed to be reset but I was never given the chance to help them and the problem was caused by a child probaly playing with router. If they would have given me the chance I could have trouble shooted it and rebooted it for them. I did ask them to leave at 10am instead of noon because they were in breach of contract, they lied about how many people they had in the home. The contract allows 12 people including children max and they had 12 adults plus children. They left the house a mess with food, crumb and sand everywhere from unsupervised children, broke a dvd player, stopped up sink, broke a chair, tons of trash, furniture all moved, and extra like new used. The owner and his family have many small children and the house is completely safe if they are being supervised and not allowed to run a muck. The only true concern was that the cleaner forgot to clean grill and has been spoken to so that it doesn't happen again. This is a retaliation for being caught in a lie and obviously waited till after I gave him his full deposit refund due to barbecue condtions even though I could have kept the whole thing for the breach of contract, sink, DVD player. I can promise I never laughed at him and was asking what he wanted me to do and was just blown away that when caught in lie about how many people in home he kept changing his story.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0

Great Beach Find

  • 4 of 5

A common theme in all reviews is this place is very dated, and I can't understand why no effort is put into doing some modest upgrades, but put that aside for a moment, and this place as incredible for a family reunion following a wedding in SLO. The main floor makes this house very special as it has a wide open floor plan, a pretty decent cook's kitchen and 200+ degrees of panoramic. One problem with central California is that the beach front can be so cold and the 5 days we were there was no exception. But with our larger than life IMAX view made us feel like we weren't missing too much by not actually sitting on the beach. When it did warm up the wrap around deck was nice for hanging too. You need to know that the beach in front of the house is highway running down to the incredible Oceano Dunes Natural Reserve. Don't worry, the traffic noise is not noticeable and we were there during 4th of July. You just need to be prepared and ready to embrace a different experience and look both ways when heading for the ocean. It made for great people watching as police chased down violators of the 15 mph speed limit and watching the gracious 4x4 trucks helping the foolish Camaro dig out of the sand. 4th of July fireworks were some of the best we have ever experienced and I'm not talking about the Pismo Pier professional fire works as they are a little far away. We were ground zero around our bond fire as the local beach campers must have spent two months pay on some amazing areal fire works, not just one camper, but all of them. Yea, I'd say we had a great time at the Sand Castle, just gotta get over the lime green and orange carpet.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Everything was lovely

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here multiple times for get-togethers with friends from out of town or special occasions. Always a blast!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Sand Castle

  • 4 of 5

The Sand Castle in Oceano is a big, funky, old beach house with a very nautical theme. We had an awesome time staying there. The living room was big enough to accommodate the 10 of us comfortably. And the view was fantastic. We had more fun watching the parade of cars passing by on the sand by the surf. It was sort of memorizing. We also saw surfers, paddleboarders, dolphins leaping out beyond the surf and a sea otter playing in the surf. The cars were mostly gone by 10 p.m. Not that we heard them anyway. They were far enough away that we heard only the occasional rumble of a truck. We kept our sliding glass door in our bedroom open, and our sleep was never disturbed. The children could play out on the sand with out an adult accompanying them because we could see them through the living room windows. Yes, there was sand in the spa, but what do expect at the beach. The children had a lot of fun using it.

The house itself was clean on our arrival. The bedrooms were all comfortable. The refrig. in the kitchen was fantastic. It had a door that keep our wine at just the right temperature. We had two problems: the front door knob was sticking (the owner had that repaired by the next evening), and the wifi kept going out. The owner said the reason for the bad wifi was because we were the last house on the block. I wasn't happy that we had to call the owner, but Trish was very nice. I was happy that there were no issues on getting our deposit back.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

This rental came up short.

  • 3 of 5

This property has a lot of potential but missed the mark in several important respects. Most significant was the lack of hospitality or welcome. For example, after we requested additional supplies due to the house being under-stocked (in paper towels, toilet paper and trash bags), we were accused of exceeding the number of guests allowed and were told they would be "keeping an eye on us." After choosing this rental for our small family reunion and spending thousands of dollars on it, such remarks were insulting and left a bad taste in our mouths for the duration of the stay. Another significant limitation with the house was the lack of wifi. While there is a wireless modem, it is not strong enough to actually allow internet access. In addition, there were many burnt out light bulbs throughout the house and broken, unworking lamps in two of the bedrooms. While the house is otherwise nicely appointed, very comfortable and has a great view of the beach (although the beach is unusable because cars and trucks use the beach in front of the house to get to the sand dunes), the lack of hospitality and other limitations lead to this less than favorable review.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest was there for 4 days and on day one they requested for more Toilet paper and paper towels. We always leave extra supplies 1 roll of toilet paper on the roll and depending on length of stay how many under sink. For 4 nights you are left 12 rolls of tp and 2 rolls of paper towels. We always try to accommodate our guest so we delivered more . However additional people were seen at the home and they were unhappy being questioned about it. The WiFi provider AT&T we have gone round and round with them and they are claiming they have fixed it again and if not we have researched a satellite provider that We will be switching to . Pismo beach is famous for being one of the few beaches where cars are allowed to drive. There is an expansive beach before and after where cars allowed to drive as they have a limited area they are allowed so you can play comfortably on the beach away from cars.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Could be great, but definetly not as advertised

  • 1 of 5

Yes, this is a beach home, yes, it is at the edge of a beautiful state park, and yes, there are ocean views...the photos make it look great...but sadly, it isn't. This is a home that has not been taken care of in years. The last time it was decorated was in the late 1970's and the decor is dreadful. There is not one space that does not have some ornament on it. Nautical is the theme with huge plastic swordfish on the walls, and lots of dolphin statuary, shells, thatched wall hangings, all of which gets old very quickly. Decor isn't everything - I get that people have different tastes, but there is grungy shag carpeting in every room except the living room area, none of which hasn't been cleaned, the kitchen is large, but mostly full of non-essential items (there was no tin-foil, plastic wrap, or oil). The "clean" dishes were all dirty when we arrived - and the dishes in the dishwasher were dirty as well. The oven door is broken and doesn't close all the way. Best of all, the rusty grill on the patio still had the remains of other users meal...a steak I think! Everything is coated in a fine layer of sand and nothing in the main part of the house was cleaned and made ready for us (although the bedrooms had clean sheets and decent beds and the bathrooms were cleaned.) - at one point we had to actually walk out onto the ledge of the living room and clean the windows ourselves - just so we could see the ocean. You can't use the patio furniture since it is coated with sand and there is no real place to sit anyway. The hot tub is full of sand, and the small covered patio where the hot tub is, has old trash under the stairs. But, this isn't the worst part of the Sandcastle. Nowhere is it advertised that there will be 4 Wheel Drive Trucks, RV's and Dune Buggies driving out in front of the house, ON THE BEACH. It basically makes the beach into a freeway and there is no way you can swim, sun or stroll without the fear of being run over. Plus, the beach highway runs 24 hours a day - there is no let up of traffic, even at 2 o'clock in the morning, there are headlights shining in the windows as the trucks go cruising by...at one point the police cruisers went screaming down the beach to arrest someone who was speeding down the beach at 60mph. Yes, it was Memorial Day Weekend, so I am sure there were more people than usual, but it certainly wasn't the relaxing beach weekend my family was hoping for. Try Avila Beach - much more inviting.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
16 2


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Oceano County Airport 1/8 mi, San Louis Obisbo
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Old Juan's Cantina
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Pismo Muni
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Grover Beach
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Burger Barn
Car: recommended

ATV RENTALS, Last house before the famous oceano dunes, Horseback riding close by. Biplane Rides right behind us great fishing, Clamming, and all surf sports, including great Paddle boarding


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Oceano, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Nightly Rate
1 Mar 2018 - 24 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Nightly Rate
2 Jul 2018 - 2 Jul 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Nightly Rate
3 Jul 2018 - 3 Jul 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Nightly Rate
4 Jul 2018 - 4 Jul 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Nightly Rate
5 Jul 2018 - 5 Jul 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Nightly Rate
6 Jul 2018 - 6 Jul 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Nightly Rate
7 Jul 2018 - 7 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Nightly Rate
8 Jul 2018 - 8 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £541.57
Cleaning fee £140.81
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates range from $750.00 to $850.00
subject to change
Call for Personalized Quote

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals