HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Barbados,Holetown. Stylish One-Bed Apartment, 5 Minutes Walk to Beach and Shops.

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Sandy Lane - 'STARFISH'

Free air-conditioning, WiFi and use of private member's pool.

Barbados 'Starfish' is a one bedroom beach retreat which has been carefully renovated to incorporate everything guests would want from a self-catering apartment. This traditional Caribbean dwelling brings modern elements of the beach into it's interior design. It is located in a quiet residential avenue on the prestigious west coast of Barbados in the quaint town of Holetown, St James.The turquoise Caribbean waters and white sands are just minutes walk from the accommodation, as are Holetown's many shops,bars and restaurants. Guests at 'Starfish' also benefit from Free Membership, for the duration of their stay, at The Beach House, where you may use the beach side swimming pool and free sun loungers.

Free WiFi is also available at 'Starfish' and The Beach House private member's pool, which is less than a 5 minute walk from the apartment.

There is a dedicated parking space provided with the property, should you wish to rent a car.

Holetown further information.: Located on the calm West Coast of Barbados, Holetown offers numerous facilities, a plethora of restaurants bars and shops to suit all tastes and budgets are all within a few minutes walk of ' Starfish' apartment.

The newly opened Lime Grove Lifestyle Centre is a fabulous oasis in the centre of Holetown and showcases many designer boutiques including Ralph Lauren, Armani Exchange and Breitling to name but a few, stylish coffee shops, bars and restaurants allow for relaxation whilst browsing, The centre also incorporates a gym and beauty salon to rejuvenate even the weariest shopper.

The Folkestone Marine Centre, ten minutes walk from Holetown is an amazing place to try snorkelling or scuba diving, the clear turquoise waters ensure optimum viewing for the many different species of marine life, there is also a visitor centre and a picnic area, making it the perfect place for a swim followed by lunch.

Barbados Sightseeing: Barbados has a rich history, visible in many of the old plantation houses and sugar mills which are well worth visiting.

Spend a day in Bridgetown, stop for a drink and some people watching on the waterside, see the statue of Lord Nelson ( older than the one in London) visit Broad Street for designer and duty free shopping or try a market and get a feel of the local vibe.

The diversity of Barbados will both fascinate and amaze, a visit to the dramatic East Coast with the wild Atlantic waves crashing against the coast at Bathsheba is a must and in stark contrast to the calm of the West Coast beaches, spend time watching the surfers brave the waves at Soup Bowl and while on the east side visit Flower Forest or Welchman's Gully and appreciate the nature and history of this beautiful island.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Mrs Lynn Ting
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
6 December, 2016
Call Owner

Why Mrs Lynn Ting chose St. James

Our holiday in 2008 led us to look at properties around the Holetown area.

Holetown offers the perfect combination of rest and relaxation combined with a good selection of shops and restaurants, everything needed for a wonderful stay in Barbados.

What makes this apartment unique

The location of our property is fabulous, very close to the beach, shops and restaurants but in a peaceful avenue which enables a good nights sleep and lots of relaxation. The best of both worlds.

Use of the private member's pool at The Beach House is also a big plus.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Lynn

We arrived home this afternoon. Thank you for renting us your fantastic apartment. There were no problems.

Please confirm your address for me to post the keys back to you.

Kind regards

Jon





Sent from Samsung Mobile
Apr 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(31 traveller reviews)

Barbados,Holetown. Stylish One-Bed Apartment, 5 Minutes Walk to Beach and Shops.
average rating of 4.935484 based on 32 reviews
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

Starfish a Five Star apartment

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay in the Starfish apartment. It is very comfortable and everything is fresh, clean and new, as it has been recently renovated. The apartment is well appointed with great attention to detail. We didn't have a car and really didn't need one as everything is close at hand in Holetown; an excellent supermarket, a mall and souvenir shopping in the Chattel Village, while the Beach House with it's pool and restaurant is truly only a 5 minute walk away (There is a 10% discount off the great food there with your Sunset Crest visitor card). There is also good swimming (no rocks!) just south of the Beach House. If you like to snorkel, the Folkestone Marine Reserve is about a 15 minute walk just north of Holetown.

We love to eat fresh fish when we are in Barbados and the local fish market is at Payne's Bay about a 10 minute bus ride away (sale of fish is after 11 a.m). In fact both the blue and yellow local buses are really convenient as Highway 1 is so close. (The blue buses are a little more sedate, the yellow ones tend to be a bit of a fast, white knuckle ride!!)

Sunset Crest is a fun area to explore if you like walking as we do. It is also possible at low tide to walk along the beach south to Paynes' Bay. We love to take the Hike Barbados Sunday hikes when we are visiting. It's a great way to exercise, meet people and discover off the beaten track parts of the island.

We were fortunate enough to be in Holetown during the Festival week (Feb 17th to 22) so we had many activities to enjoy such as free concerts, parades and the craft fair.

If you are football supporters, the Surfside Bar (by the Police Station!)

is a fun place to watch a game.

We would definitely recommend this apartment to our friends for its comfort, great value, its super location and an owner who is absolutely delightful to deal with. Thank you Lynn for everything and good luck with renting your lovely property

  • Review Submitted: Mar 8, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
22 2
Burlington, Ontario
5

Quaint, quiet condo in a spectacular location!

  • 5 of 5

This place is great! It is even nicer than the pictures and it could not be in a better location. You can walk to everything! There are numerous great restaurants and bars, shopping, etc. The nearby beaches are fantastic - our favourite was Paynes Beach. You can walk for kms along the beaches because they are all public. We spent 2 full days just walking the beach to see what was around the next corner. The condo is super clean and has everything you need for your vacation. I highly recommend Lynn's condo for your Barbados vacation! Thank you Lynn! We hope to be back!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jill, Thank you so much for the lovely review of 'Starfish'. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that in spite of the late arrival you were able to appreciate it once you got there. It means a lot to me that my guests have a lovely holiday and I try my best to ensure that everything goes as smoothly as possible. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post this review. Kind regards, Lynn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

Apartment was wonderful. For us the location was perfect. We love snorkeling and the reef near the apartment was amazing. The beach and pool is a 5 minute walk. The pool area was nicer than I imagined. The only downside was the Wi-Fi had a weak signal. Basically we could only connect when sitting in the bedroom. But, we were on vacation so it wasn't that big of a deal. Would go back and rent this place in a heartbeat.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sheffield
5

Amazing As Always

  • 5 of 5

I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed at Starfish....it never fails to deliver the most perfect of holidays. This year was no exception. The high standard of accommodation and the service delivered by both Judy and the owner are second to none. Only one question as always - how quickly can I return to paradise. Thank you so much for sharing your home with me.....

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Helen, for the wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to 'Starfish' and I am so pleased that once again you have had a fabulous holiday. My aim, as always, is to make sure that high standards are maintained and guests have everything they need for a perfect stay. Once again, many thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review 'Starfish'.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Quite suitable

  • 4 of 5

This review will be short but precise based on our experience. On arrival at the airport we called the manager and had no response. Panic mode! Leaving the terminal, she was outside with a sign displaying our name. Instant relief. She gave us the key (Only ONE) and hailed us a taxi. Driving into lane I felt disappointment as wasn't what expected. Manager wasn't present during the 3 weeks of our stay but responded to our phone calls. Wifi was an issue and it was finally resolved when an "expert" showed up and corrected the situation. Quite suitable for a vacation away from home. There is no coffee maker ....only a coffee press. Great value.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for booking 'Starfish' and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I really appreciate feedback from guests as it helps me to make sure that everything runs smoothly and any issues are addressed. Before your arrival, I did answer numerous emails and explained that Judy would be meeting you at the airport with keys once you had cleared customs. Airports can be a bit confusing and I am sorry if you had any difficulty on your arrival. Judy is a very experienced manager and has run her own company for many years, her job is to organise the cleaning and be on call to sort out any problems should they occur. Judy respects the privacy of guests and would only visit the apartment if a guest contacted her. Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review 'Starfish'.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Exce;;ent

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely apartment with everything you could ever want. We are regular visitors to Barbados and if you are thinking of a place to stay look no further.

The kitchen is compact but has everything including a washing machine. The bedroom has a large comfortable bed and the air conditioner works great. The living room has cable TV with the full range of channels. We eat breakfast every morning on the patio in the glorious sunshine. One morning a group of 4 monkeys even passed us in the garden.A car parking space is provided outside with a light that comes on at dusk and goes off in the morning, so it is always well lit when you return to the apartment. We had a car for the whole stay, but you don't really need one for this location.

The beach and the pool are only 5 minutes walk away. Massey's supermarket and loads of restaurant are also only a short walk away.

We would definitely use this property again.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Paul, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at 'Starfish' and had a wonderful holiday in Barbados. Reviews are so important to help future guests get a genuine impression of what to expect when choosing accommodation for their stay. I do hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Lynn
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Grantley Adams International
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Surfside,The Beach House.
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
Sandy Lane
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
The Beach House, Tides and Zaccios
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Holetown
Car: not necessary

The stunning west coast of Barbados has long been synonymous with the rich and famous and it's easy to see why when the friendly locals and laid back attitude mean you are guaranteed a tranquil break in a tropical setting. Starfish's enviable location in Holetown aims to provide guests with affordable luxury on the west coast which allows for easy access to the rest of the island. Holetown, five minutes walk from the apartment, boasts restaurants, cafes, beach bars, a large supermarket ,banks, petrol station and a 24hr medical centre. Chattel Village in Holetown offers quintessentially Caribbean coloured houses where visitors can shop for gifts, clothes, art,there is even a gourmet food shop and a lovely little open air cafe. The newly opened Lime Grove lifestyle centre is an added attraction, less than ten minutes stroll from the apartment, it offers designer boutiques, restaurants, bars plus a cinema. If pure Caribbean glamour is for you then the famous Sandy Lane beach is a 10 minute walk and for special occasions the world renowned Cliff restaurant is a 10 minute drive. Buses leave Holetown regularly and are a very reasonable way of exploring the island.

Other Activities: scuba diving, snorkelling, fishing, swimming with turtles, boat trips.

Golf: The famous Sandy Lane Golf Course is five minutes drive from Sunset Crest, both The Country Club and Old Nine courses are open to the public.

Royal Westmoreland is approximately 10 minutes drive and has limited public access with pre- booking essential.

There are several other courses in the south of the island easily accessible by car, taxi or bus.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Sandy Lane, St. James

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
17 Sep 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£465
for 7 nights
£465
 
 
Christmas/New Year
17 Dec 2016 - 20 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£580
for 7 nights
£580
 
 
High
21 Jan 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£495
for 7 nights
£495
 
 
Summer
17 Jun 2017 - 16 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
Winter
17 Sep 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
Christmas?New Year
16 Dec 2017 - 19 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
High
20 Jan 2018 - 16 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£499
for 7 nights
£499
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Please Scroll Down To Read All Terms And Conditions.

You are welcome to call me to confirm all details before making a payment.

Deposit £100.00 per week.

*DEPOSITS ARE NON REFUNDABLE*

Full Payment required 12 weeks in advance of stay.

Cancellation Policy: 8 weeks or more 50% refund. Cancellations 0-8 weeks before the arrival date no refund.

Last Minute Bookings, full payment.

If you are looking at 'Last Minute' dates, please contact me as I may sometimes be able to offer special rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Sandy Lane, Barbados

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 500 m²
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • town
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Luxury
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 1 bathroom Toilet, basin, shower enclosure with shower, all newly tiled, large mirror and storage shelves.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • The double bedroom has a cool white and turquoise decor with new air conditioning, a ceiling fan and a radio for chilled out late night listening. There is ample storage with a built -in wardrobe and separate cupboard, bedside tables and lamps plus full length mirror and powerful hairdryer (especially for the ladies!). The en-suite bathroom has a huge mirror and pebble- tiled shower, a cupboard under the basin is provided for storage. There is also an iron and ironing board supplied for your convenience. NB .THERE IS NO EXTRA CHARGE FOR AIR-CON. (Air-Con brand new, August 2012) A SMALL SAFE IS PROVIDED FREE OF CHARGE.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Terrace
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The apartment is ideal for a couple (or two friends who don't mind sharing a double bed!) All furniture and accessories are modern. The kitchenette is well equipped and includes a full sized cooker with large oven, fridge-freezer, washing machine, microwave,electric kettle, toaster and all necessary cooking utensils, plates and cutlery. The lounge is furnished with a comfortable wicker sofa,armchair and coffee table, large bookcase and has cable TV,DVD player and a radio/CD player with mp3 connection, ipod dock, an overhead fan plus a portable fan which can be moved to the location of your choice. The double doors from the lounge open up onto the covered patio which has a dining table and four chairs, ceiling fan and outside blinds; This is a lovely place to sit and have breakfast in the mornings or sundowners at night or just chill and read a book during the day watching the hummingbirds in the tropical garden.There is also a bbq please use in the garden and bring in after use.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties