HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spring Special thru 6/28! Rent 2 nights get 3rd free! Email for more details

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Awesome 4 bedroom house with a "Man Cave!"

The Tiernan House is located in The Alpine Haven Community which is a collection of about 90 chalets peppered into the west side of Jay Mountain. Guests of the house have access to the community pool and tennis courts. The Jay Peak Ski, Golf and Indoor Water Park is just a 5 mile drive away.

The main floor has a large living area with a huge flat screen TV, a dining area with seating for 10, a full kitchen, a full bathroom and two bedrooms each with a full size bed.

The upstairs has a bathroom and two bedrooms each with a queen bed and one of the bedrooms has a private deck.

The finished basement has another huge flat screen TV, leather couches, a fuse ball table and a full size pullout couch.

The Tiernan House is part of the RockLake Rentals family of Great Vacation Rental Properties in The Jay Peak Area. At RockLake Rentals we continually strive to help our guests have the best vacation possible. We have seasonal rentals too.

More Details

Property Manager
Mike Pratt
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
25 July, 2017

About Mike Pratt

RockLake Rentals specializes in "Great Vacation Rental Properties in The Jay Peak Area." At RockLake Rentals we continually strive to help our guests have the best vacation possible.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We are very happy to add The Tiernan House to our inventory of great vacation rentals in the Jay Peak area. The house is fully furnished with high end furniture like leather couches and huge flat screen TVs. The cable package includes tons of sports channels. The "man cave" in the basement is especially nice and has lots of room for for everyone in your party to sit and watch the game. The house will be available for rent starting Christmas week 2015.
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Montgomery Center in Montgomery

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , There is a full bathroom on the main floor.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , There is a bathroom upstairs.
  • There are two full bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2nd upstairs bedroom has a queen bed.
    Upstairs bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1st upstairs bedroom has a private balcony + queen size bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , Main floor bedroom 2 has a full size bed.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , Main floor bedroom 1 has a full size bed.
    Basement - 1 Double Bed , The basment living area has a full size pullout couch.
  • The chalet has four bedrooms and a full size pullout couch in the finished basement.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • ski lift pass
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spring Special thru 6/28! Rent 2 nights get 3rd free! Email for more details
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

This house was great. Nice furniture, comfy beds, lots of space, two big TV's, good wi-fi. The drive to the mountain only took a couple minutes. Rental process and manager were very easy to deal with. Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your business and the review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice house, will be back for sure...

  • 5 of 5

This house was very nice and worked out perfect for us. We had actually reserved a different property but the owners canceled our reservation at the last minute and recommended we call Mike at RockLake Rentals. Mike was able to get the house ready for us with only a couple hours notice.

We have two black labs so one of the most important things for us was that we could bring our dogs. We were very happy to find out that there wasn't any extra charge for our pups.

Unfortunately it rained all 3 days of our vacation so we spent most of our time indoors. Having two big televisions ended up being pretty important. The kids really liked the fuse ball table in the basement.

The upstairs bathroom and shower were especially nice. The only thing we didn't like was that all the bedroom closets were locked. I like to hang up my cloths so they are wrinkle free.

The manager was very easy to deal with and the entire rental process was very easy.

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm really glad we were able to help you out in a pinch. Thanks again for your business and the review. Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable House- 5 Min from Jay Peak

  • 5 of 5

We had a very accommodating stay at the Tiernan house for our two families. Perfect amount of space for 4 adults and 4 kids. Very close to the slopes. Mike Pratt was super in responding to our needs.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you guys enjoyed the house and your stay. Thanks again for your business and the great review. Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Happy, lots of room, amazing area...

  • 5 of 5

My family and I plus a few friends rented this property for our accommodations while attending a wedding. We all loved the house. It was big, warm, clean and perfectly located for our needs. The two large televisions (main floor and man cave) helped separate the football fans from the rest of us during the down time. We were all pretty surprised to wake up Sunday morning to a foot of snow but were really grateful for the plow guy who showed up just in time to get us on the road. I guess that's just late October in Jay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am really glad that yo all enjoyed your vacation and your stay at the house. As for the snow.... It's still here and hopefully that means we are going to have an incredible winter. Thanks again for your business and the great review! Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house with room for all your friends

  • 5 of 5

This was my first time up at Jay Peak. 10 us stayed at the Tiernan House for a week. The house is a bit cozy when filled to capacity but there were plenty of seats at the dinner table and ample room down in the finished basement. All the appliances were there (including futuristic pot-less coffee brewer) and the furniture was comfortable.

I was a big fan of the master bedroom which was recently renovated with hardwood floors, lambskin rug, and private deck with a view of the backyard.

There was a big collection of sleds in the shed which were fun to play around with in the neighborhood.

Three minor qualms with the house were:

1) 3 of 4 bedroom closets were locked. Not a huge issue as there were dressers in the rooms but it would have been nice to spread out a bit more.

2) There weren't any curtains on any of the windows. The house is far away from the neighbors that it wasn't a privacy concern, it was just very bright in the morning.

3) Sound travels through the heating vents.The vents are basically holes to other rooms.

Not huge issues though, I could come back in the future. Some other things about the house:

- Good cell phone signal throughout

- Wireless was fast but it did drop from time to time.

We spent a lot of time at the mountain where we skied, ate dinner, watched NYE fireworks, snowshoed on the mountain, XC skied, and did the waterpark. We also ate at the Big Jay Tavern just past the entrance to Alpine Haven which was really good.

Finally if you haven't been to Jay before, it snows a lot in the winter. The neighborhood is a bunch of dirt roads on steep hills. Yes they plow but it can still be slippery. If coming up in the winter I highly recommend coming in an all-wheel drive vehicle.

Mike was great and was quick to respond to my questions.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very glad you guys enjoyed the house and your vacation. I'll put window shades on the list of things to purchase as soon as possible. The closets that are locked contain the homeowners personal belongings and the supplies for the cleaning people. All of the bedrooms do have dressers for guests to use. It's true that Jay gets a lot of snow. We have a great snow removal team in the neighborhood but strongly recommend that guests have "Good Snow Tires." Thanks you again for your business and the great review, Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Thanks for the great holiday!

  • 5 of 5

The Tiernan House was a great place to stay and our vacation was pretty amazing, considering there was no snow:( I wouldn't normally be so grateful for two giant TVs and what my husband described as a "sick sports package" but it was 60 degrees on Christmas Eve and the TVs kept everybody entertained. We ate at a couple good local restaurants. The Belfry (just down the hill from the house) was especially nice because the food was good and they were able to seat all 10 of us at a single table. It should be noted that the oven at the house was a little bit smaller than a standard oven. It didn't matter for us but I don't think it would fit a large turkey. Mike the property manager was available to answer the couple questions we had during our stay as well as make good recommendations for things to do in the area that didn't require snow. A word to the wise, if you are going to the water park order your tickets online.

The Tiernan House was clean and exactly as advertised. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm very glad you guys enjoyed your stay and the house. Thanks again for the review and your business. Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Burlington VT or Montreal
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Big Jay Tavern
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Jay Peak Ski, Golf and Indoor Water Park
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Big Jay Tavern
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Jay Peak Ski, Golf and Indoor Water Park
Car: necessary

The Jay Peak area has lots of activities for visitors including but not limited to: skiing/snowboarding, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating, golfing, hiking, camping, site seeing, dinning, swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, hunting and most importantly relaxing. The Jay Peak resort is the home to: a brand new championship golf course designed by renowned golf architect Graham Cooke & Associates as well as four chair lifts, an aerial tram, 77 ski trails and a cross country ski center. Plus coming soon... an indoor water park and an Olympic size ice skating rink. Like I said ' Lets To Do!!!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Montgomery Center, Lake Champlain Valley

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer/Fall 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 9 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£585
for 2 nights
From
£254
£1,134
£3,036
 
 
Off Season
10 Oct 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£500
for 2 nights
From
£211
£923
£2,613
 
 
Early December
1 Dec 2017 - 14 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£500
for 2 nights
From
£211
£1,134
 
 
X-mas and New Years
15 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,444
for 7 nights
£2,444
 
 
Winter 2018
5 Jan 2018 - 15 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£838
for 3 nights
From
£254
From
£275
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,345
£5,149
 
 
Presidents Week
16 Feb 2018 - 25 Feb 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,937
for 7 nights
£1,937
 
 
Winter 2018
26 Feb 2018 - 1 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£838
for 3 nights
From
£254
From
£275
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,345
£5,149
 
 
April (late winter)
2 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
2 night minimum stay
£500
for 2 nights
From
£211
£923
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£500
for 2 nights
From
£211
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £77.55
Damage Deposit £387.75

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals