HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Old Sims Manor In the heart of New Port Richey & Cotee River

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,250 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Cottage By The Cotee Cottage

(2 BR)

UPDATE: Flat Screens TVs in bedrooms and sunroom 9 camera surveillance around property.

Scenic cottage next to large and improved Sims park with river views. Beautiful "Old Florida" 2BR/1BA cottage has sun filled Florida room, Dade County pine floors, tropical furnishings and a covered porch with wicker chairs. Short walk along the seawall and across the river into town. Great local restaurants and a modern library are all close by. A short walk to library where every Saturday there is an organic farmers co-op where fresh vegetables can found with just a donation. A health food market is right around the corner as well. Area beaches are approximately 20 minutes away by car.

This lovely home was built in the 1920's when this small Florida town was close to becoming the original "Hollywood". Film stars flocked here to build stately homes along the beautiful Cotee River. Our house was built by a banker and investor named George Sims who used to entertain film stars visiting and re-locating to the area. Ed Wynn, Shirley Temple, George Gershwin, Joseph and Rose Kennedy among others used to arrive in town to fish, socialize, golf and take in some sunshine. Gloria Swanson built a lovely home along the river and her "family crest" still adorns the stucco walls of that house today. Gene Sarazin, the "Tiger Woods" of his day, designed and built a sumptuous Golf Course Country Club that stretched along the river to Babe Ruths' house.

Ed Wynn officially opened the Hacienda Hotel which used to cater to the arriving stars, investors and other notables. The city now owns this historic property and plans on converting it into a high end hotel and shopping is directly across the park from Sims House. Numerous murals located throughout the town celebrate Mr. Sims and those long ago Film Stars who were household names in their day. Sim's House has honey colored, Dade County heart pine wood floors and a covered porch. It has just been re-painted inside and out and refurnished for your pleasure and enjoyment. It is "Old Florida" with AC/Heat and Internet service.

Some restaurants nearby: Johnny Grits, Cornerstone Pizza, Rose's Bistro, Boulevard Beef and Ale, Fitzgeralds, these are all within walking distance.

The Reef offers live music for fun and dancing every weekend. Canoe rentals are available nearby as well. Windsong Charters offers pontoon rentals as well as charters out to the nearby sandbar by boat and island bbq's. They also have fishing charters available too.

More Details

Property Manager
Alexander E Frazier
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
19 May, 2018

About Alexander E Frazier

We are New Port Richey local people and want to promote the positive potential all that new port richey has to offer.

Alexander E Frazier purchased this apartment in 2015

Why Alexander E Frazier chose New Port Richey

It has a lotta Character and the location.......

What makes this apartment unique

Next to the Cotee River Where Kayaks May Be Rented right around the corner. Also It is Located in the Heart of New Port Richey. Location location location. Within walking distance to many bars shops and restaurants steps away from the Cotee River.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in New Port Richey in Pasco County

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation centre
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • walking

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

38% Complete
38% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Old Sims Manor In the heart of New Port Richey & Cotee River
average rating of 4.0 based on 13 reviews
5

Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

Clean and comfortable accommodations. Linens were all clean and fresh. Kitchen was well stocked with necessary equipment.

I can not say enough about Alex! He was very understanding to our particular situation and a pleasure to deal with. Could not be happier with our stay here!

  • Review Submitted: 07-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Gem in the rough

  • 1 of 5

We stayed in this cute cottage for 5 weeks. It is in a quiet neighborhood and has a great view of the Cotee River and the adjacent park. The sunroom is wonderful and has large windows and a nice view. The beds were very comfortable. Check in time is 3:00. We arrived at 5:30 but Alex was still cleaning the floors. Unfortunately other parts of the place have not been cleaned in years. All of the windows in the place were filthy - not just dirty - especially the bathroom window, which is just above the towel rack. A previous reviewer was correct when she noted that it had not been cleaned since it was installed years and years ago. Another problem was that dishes are stored out in the open on the bottom shelf of the coffee bar just inches from the feet of anyone sitting there. We had to wash all the silverware and the top of the stove was sticky with grease. I cleaned it and my partner washed the kitchen windows. With a little elbow grease this place could be a gem. It has wonderful potential, it just needs someone to love it. Unfortunately the biggest problem was that Alex accessed the apartment without making any attempt to notify us before he entered or afterward. I called him when we realized someone had been in there. He was very apologetic but it made the remaining days of our stay very uncomfortable.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Appreciate your visit. Am going to address windows . Sorry for any incovenience for showing the contractor the floors to be refinished we did not mean to cause any grief.....Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Not For Everyone

  • 3 of 5

There have been many positive reviews, so one must assume that there are people who thought it was great. There are many great things to say about the location itself that are conducive to a great vacation. Plus the sun room in the cottage is really special, with that beautiful view of the river. But let me caution you that this property is not for everyone. Although the wood floors throughout the cottage are beautiful and well maintained, they are about the only thing that is. The linoleum floors in the kitchen and bathroom are worn, ripped and not properly cleaned. The windows and windowsills are NEVER cleaned. I opened a window in the bedroom to get some air and the sill was horrifying. It was crusted with so much dirt that it’s obvious the last time it was cleaned was when the cottage was built, 60 years ago. The clean towels in the bathroom sit within inches of a filthy inside windowsill and shade. They were extremely soft though. The kitchen could not be more rustic. No dishwasher, washer dryer. They tell me it’s part of the charm. There are not even cabinets, wooden or otherwise, for the plates and glasses. They’re on outside shelving which is open to dust and dirt, most directly underfoot at a bar area where you sit with your feet mere inches from the dishes you’re about to eat on. The area around the kitchen faucet hadn’t been washed in years and the sink is so old, it can never really get clean. I just used paper and plastic the whole time. So if you aren’t that picky about cleanliness, you should do fine because the place is good sized, the spot very picturesque, well located to the river and the beds comfortable. The bathroom shower is very old and looks it, but it works adequately. BTW, the refrigerator, microwave and toaster oven were immaculate. That was very welcome.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay here. The owners are very welcoming. They even decorated for Christmas. It was such a nice touch. Everything we needed was there. We look forward to renting again!

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the kind remarks! We love having you and your family at our cottage. Thank you for choosing us for the second year. And would love to have everyone again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Well positioned

  • 3 of 5

Some confusion over meeting us at the property and we only had a British phone which was quite worrying for two ladies in the dark. However the property was very well situated for public transport and restaurants. Cleaning needs improvement.

Alexander was very quick to respond to any queries or problems we had as he lives just accross the river.

The pantry is wasted space and could easily be a space for a washing machine and dryer which would improve the facilities greatly.

We enjoyed the boat parade but it was too cold to go out and watch the street parade.

The deposit was very quickly returned to us thank you Alexander but we feel some attention to the property is now timely.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the wait when checking in. But, since you were fourty five minutes early without any notification to us that you were going to be early we did not get there until the agreed 9pm time. For future reference, if you are going to be early we would like prior notice. We take pride in our cleanliness in our 75 yr old house. And have had great reviews on our cleanliness. I am sorry it did not meet your standards. We hope you enjoyed your trip to the United States. Thank You for picking us for your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place to stay in NPR!

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed our stay here and would love to return here again in 2018. Nice neighborhood and really enjoyed the sun room and river/park right next door.

Would highly recommend this property as a great alternative to the old standby one room hotel.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much! We strive to make it the best possible stay for our guests! Probably right about the hotel room..We would love to have you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Some places around town that are on the Cotee river: Whisky River, GillDawg, Hooters, Catches, & the Crab Shack featuring live music on the weekend.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £25.99
Additional Guest Fee £3.71
Damage Deposit £259.91

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals