HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Upscale Cottage, Located Just Steps from Queen Street.

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Historic Old Town - Summerhill House

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Located in the very heart of old town, steps from Queen Street with its shops, restaurants and theatres, Summerhill House is a post-beam style house - circa 1827. The house has been lovingly decorated and furnished to offer guests a comfortable and relaxing stay in historic Niagara on the Lake.

Each of the 3 bedrooms feature luxurious bed linens and each has its own en-suite bathroom. The spacious lounge has a generous dining area and leads into a large, sun-filled eat-in kitchen with plenty of space to prepare meals with family & friends.

To relax outside choose from the private rear garden with patio, the covered front porch or the comfortable verandah above, overlooking bustling King Street with its horse-drawn carriages.

Keywords: Cottage, Luxury cottage rental, Near Shaw Theatre,

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Janet Trogdon
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 November, 2016
Call Owner

About Janet Trogdon

We are a husband and wife furniture retail and interior design team who moved to beautiful Niagara on the Lake two years ago and fell in love with the town. We love to restore properties and felt that Summerhill House, with it's enviable location, was the perfect place to enjoy a visit to our town and so decided to open it as a holiday cottage rental. We have tried to make it a comfortable 'home from home' and exactly the kind of place we would choose for our own family getaway.

Janet Trogdon purchased this cottage in 2011

Why Janet Trogdon chose Niagara-on-the-Lake

We chose our location because there is so much for people to do in the area. We are very close to all the Shaw theatres, which offer excellent entertainment from April to October. We also love the fact that the horse-drawn carriages pass by our front door all year round. Niagara on the Lake is also famous for the quality of it's many wineries and we are well-positioned near to the companies offering tours and bicycle rentals. We feel it is a great area for everyone to have something to do during the whole lengh of their trip.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Janet

My girlfriends and I loved our stay at the Summerhill House! We were very happy with everything. All of us would rate all of your criteria with a 10: value, location, staff and property. The property was as described on the website and very easy to book.The house was very clean, we loved the location being right in the middle of town, parking space was perfect, anywhere we wanted to go was either walking distance or a 15 minute drive. I can't say enough how happy we were with this house. We spent a lot of time on the balcony off the front bedroom, loved it! Between 6 women we had two suggestions: would have liked more towels (had to do a load of towels) and the bathrooms were missing counter space or some sort of cabinet to accommodate our toiletries. Other than that it was Perfect!!

Jacqueline
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

Upscale Cottage, Located Just Steps from Queen Street.
average rating of 4.904762 based on 22 reviews
5

Great house! Amazing location!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent a weekend in Niagara-on-the-Lake at the stunning Summerhill home. The house was perfect for my husband and me plus two other couples! Bedrooms were spacious and they each had their own bathrooms which I find to be an incredible bonus when traveling with friends. The house was clean and the location was amazing - within walking distance to all of the shops, restaurants, and sights NOTL has to offer! We will definitely be renting this house again in the future!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review! We love hearing from our guests. We are currently revamping our on line guide book that will help you plan your next stay. Keep in touch and we'll get you a link to a copy! take care, Janet, Eric and the hard working crew at Niagara Holiday Rentals!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent location for a stay in NOTL ~

  • 4 of 5

My friend & I recently rented the Summerhill House for an five day stay at Niagara-on-the-Lake.

The location was excellent ~ right in the middle of the Historic District .... easily capable of walking to Lake Ontario, Fort George and all the darling shops, restaurants & cafes on Queen Street. We were however somewhat disappointed in the cleanliness of the house. And also, some of the furniture in the photos on VRBO are not what is actually in the house. (?) We were surprised by that as we have rented from VRBO in the past and have never come across this before. Again, the location is highly desirable and cannot be beat. Would stay here again, but doesn't in my opinion, deserve a five-star rating.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In Niagara-on-the-Lake we have a number of 5 star hotels, Inns and spa's, to me as the owner of Niagara Holiday Rentals, its really important that we maintain the same standards. If anything wasn't up to this standard, then this falls on my shoulders because I made a mistake during my pre inspection of the house before a guest arrival. My apologies to our guest. I live in town and we encourage all our guests to notify us of anything so that we have a chance to rectify and make it right. If we aren't given the opportunity to correct something during your stay, then we can't make it better. Nor can we learn from our mistakes! I have also looked at our pictures and compared them to the contents of the house. Tables, beds, couches , chairs, lamps, TV's etc are all in the house. We have rearranged the furniture a little. In addition we rotate the bedding between guests so it may be that different bedding gives a different feel to the room? We have had to replace decorative pillows as they tend to receive a lot of wear and get stained (especially the out door ones on the upper balcony). We also have slip covers for the furniture that rotate as well (both are cream coloured). I have reached out to the guest to learn more about her concerns, but have not received a response. We hope that you will return to one of our houses so that you can see we took your comments to heart! Janet, Eric and our hard working crew at Niagara Holiday Rentals!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Summerville house

  • 4 of 5

Lovely comfortable house with all amenities. Located right in the tourist hub, close to the theatre, and restaurants.

Main bedroom has a beautiful balcony veranda overlooking the bustling street. Great entertaining space on main floor. But master bedroom has a beautiful "double" bed, just a little small.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! I just would like to clarify the bed configuration. The Master bedroom is at the back of the house and has King bed. The middle bedroom is a queen bed and the front bedroom with the balcony is a queen bed. Both the master and front bedroom are very spacious bedrooms with lots of natural light. All the bedrooms have bathrooms and there is an addition 2 piece bathroom on the main floor. We are always happy to hear from our guests and we hope that you will come back and see us soon! Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Saugatuck, MI
5

Charming, Comfortable, Clean, Convenient

  • 5 of 5

Summer Hill has the convenience and comfort of "home", very clean, comfortable beds and plush linens. Perfect accommodations for 3 couples. The ladies walked downtown to shop and the guys walked to the Pub. Great coffee shop across the street and the food was wonderful at the Irish Harp Pub, also directly across the street. Highly recommend this house.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 1, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Summerhill House! Hope you come back and stay with us again soon! Every year, there is something new and exciting. The big new outlet mall has a Bass Pro Shop the is packed to the gills with outdoor stuff! take care, Janet Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful home with A+ amenities

  • 5 of 5

Not only is this home located in an excellent location in NOTL, but it has the look of a luxury hotel. The kitchen is well equipped and the appliances worked well. We had a wonderful time exploring the town and walks along the water.

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Angel

  • 5 of 5

Great location and great weekend with friends. Loved the fact that all bedrooms had their own bathrooms. Followed porch light home from pub.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Property under previous ownership / management during this stay
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Point of Interest
Prince of Wales Hotel
Car: recommended

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Historic Old Town, Ontario

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Low Season
1 Nov 2016 - 30 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£602
for 2 nights
From
£241
£1,962
 
 
Spring Season
1 May 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£921
for 3 nights
From
£267
From
£318
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,196
 
 
Summer High Season
1 Jul 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£921
for 3 nights
From
£267
From
£318
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,196
 
 
Late summer rates
5 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£654
for 2 nights
From
£267
From
£318
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,196
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£722
for 2 nights
From
£301
From
£318
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,196
 

Additional pricing information

Booking Fee £17 + Tax
Cleaning Fee £89 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

$450 per night is also on Monday night, however, the rate table in VRBO doesn't allow to input Monday as part of the weekend!
ALL HOLIDAYS AND LONG WEEKENDS ARE HIGH SEASON RATE
July, August and any long weekends or Holidays Christmas, New Years, Labour Day, Victoria Day are at high season rates and a minimum of 3 night stay.
If you book 30 days before your arrival, we may consider a 2 night stay

If your booking is for 14 days or more and you have to cancel you lose all of your deposit unless we can rent it then you get what we could rent it for!

We accept visa, master card,
50% due at time of booking and the balance is due 35 days before your arrival. If you cancel 35 days before your arrival date you would receive all your money back minus 10% administration fee and booking fee. If cancel within 35 days of arrival you lose all of your money unless we can rent it
ALL HOLIDAYS AND LONG WEEKENDS ARE HIGH SEASON RATE

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Historic Old Town, Ontario

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
i-pod docking stations in each bedroom, private verandah off master bedroom ovelooking King Street

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties