HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Down town, renovated historical home, parking, wifi, 3 bed, 3 bath

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Summerhill House is located in the very heart of old town, steps from Queen Street with its shops, restaurants and theatres, Summerhill House is a post-beam style house - circa 1827. The house has been lovingly decorated and furnished to offer guests a comfortable and relaxing stay in historic Niagara on the Lake.

Summerhill House is one of the top rated and most popular vacation homes in Niagara! It was recently renovated making it the perfect vacation home rental for a family of six or 3 couples! The renovations included the kitchen, all bathrooms and complete restoration to expose some of the architecture that gives the old world charm.

Summerhill House has a welcoming covered front porch set up and ready for you to relax and enjoy a favourite beverage! Enter in the front door to Summerhiill House's living area with a big comfy 'L' shaped couch and a sitting chair, with a TV. Also in this room is a large dining table perfect for cards, games or crafts! Also off of the living area is a 2 piece bathroom. Go through to the back and enter into a large spacious kitchen and dining area. Perfect for those who love to cook and for those to like to watch others cook (but not get in the way!). The patio doors lead out to the back yard with a deck that has a patio table and chairs, bbq/grill and a garden area.

Upstairs at Summerhill House are where all the bedrooms are located. Each of the 3 bedrooms feature luxurious bed linens and each has its own en-suite bathroom. The master bedroom with the king bed is located at the rear of the top floor. The middle and front bedrooms are queen beds. The front queen room has a walk out to the balcony that has comfortable seating overlooking bustling King Street with its horse-drawn carriages.

The laundry facilities at Summerhill Ouse are located on the lower level with a large play room.

Location Location Location, Summerhill house is just one house away from the Prince of Wales hotel (known for its high tea!), so enjoy their facilidites or for the best coffee in town , Balzac's coffee shop is across the street!

Summerhill House's kitchen is equipped with the basics (pots, pans, cutlery, glasses, plates, kettle, coffee maker, and the all important wine glasses!). The bed linens are included and we set up Summerhill House with 6 face clothes, 6 hand towels and 6 bath towels. Basic cleaning supplies are also included (dishwasher soap, dish soap, hand soap, body wash, t towels, sponge, broom, paper towels).

The closest intersection to Summerhill HOuse is King and Queen. You can walk to the shows at Shaw Festival's theatres, stroll along Queen street and shop, or select one of the many restaurants but you have to sample the beer at the Brewery and don't forget the Wine Country Store. Ther are lots of little food shops and a grocery store right on Queen St. If you enjoy walking or biking the trails are just steps away and you could walk to have brunch at Riverbend Inn, or a beautiful meal at Pellar Estates ( the walk there and back will keep you in shape !).

Book Summerhill House and lets start planing your get away,

Your Host,

Janet, Eric and the hard working crew at Niagara Holiday Rentals

More Details

Owner
Janet Trogdon
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
27 July, 2017

About Janet Trogdon

We are a husband and wife furniture retail and interior design team who moved to beautiful Niagara on the Lake two years ago and fell in love with the town. We love to restore properties and felt that Summerhill House, with it's enviable location, was the perfect place to enjoy a visit to our town and so decided to open it as a holiday cottage rental. We have tried to make it a comfortable 'home from home' and exactly the kind of place we would choose for our own family getaway.

Why Janet Trogdon chose Niagara-on-the-Lake

We chose our location because there is so much for people to do in the area. We are very close to all the Shaw theatres, which offer excellent entertainment from April to October. We also love the fact that the horse-drawn carriages pass by our front door all year round. Niagara on the Lake is also famous for the quality of it's many wineries and we are well-positioned near to the companies offering tours and bicycle rentals. We feel it is a great area for everyone to have something to do during the whole lengh of their trip.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Janet

My girlfriends and I loved our stay at the Summerhill House! We were very happy with everything. All of us would rate all of your criteria with a 10: value, location, staff and property. The property was as described on the website and very easy to book.The house was very clean, we loved the location being right in the middle of town, parking space was perfect, anywhere we wanted to go was either walking distance or a 15 minute drive. I can't say enough how happy we were with this house. We spent a lot of time on the balcony off the front bedroom, loved it! Between 6 women we had two suggestions: would have liked more towels (had to do a load of towels) and the bathrooms were missing counter space or some sort of cabinet to accommodate our toiletries. Other than that it was Perfect!!

Jacqueline
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Historic Old Town in Niagara-on-the-Lake

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining Room
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
i-pod docking stations in each bedroom, private verandah off master bedroom ovelooking King Street

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Down town, renovated historical home, parking, wifi, 3 bed, 3 bath
average rating of 4.909091 based on 23 reviews
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5

This is our second time at Summerhill House. Great location, lovely home tastefully finished and comfortable for 3 couples.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great house! Amazing location!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent a weekend in Niagara-on-the-Lake at the stunning Summerhill home. The house was perfect for my husband and me plus two other couples! Bedrooms were spacious and they each had their own bathrooms which I find to be an incredible bonus when traveling with friends. The house was clean and the location was amazing - within walking distance to all of the shops, restaurants, and sights NOTL has to offer! We will definitely be renting this house again in the future!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a review! We love hearing from our guests. We are currently revamping our on line guide book that will help you plan your next stay. Keep in touch and we'll get you a link to a copy! take care, Janet, Eric and the hard working crew at Niagara Holiday Rentals!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Excellent location for a stay in NOTL ~

  • 4 of 5

My friend & I recently rented the Summerhill House for an five day stay at Niagara-on-the-Lake.

The location was excellent ~ right in the middle of the Historic District .... easily capable of walking to Lake Ontario, Fort George and all the darling shops, restaurants & cafes on Queen Street. We were however somewhat disappointed in the cleanliness of the house. And also, some of the furniture in the photos on VRBO are not what is actually in the house. (?) We were surprised by that as we have rented from VRBO in the past and have never come across this before. Again, the location is highly desirable and cannot be beat. Would stay here again, but doesn't in my opinion, deserve a five-star rating.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In Niagara-on-the-Lake we have a number of 5 star hotels, Inns and spa's, to me as the owner of Niagara Holiday Rentals, its really important that we maintain the same standards. If anything wasn't up to this standard, then this falls on my shoulders because I made a mistake during my pre inspection of the house before a guest arrival. My apologies to our guest. I live in town and we encourage all our guests to notify us of anything so that we have a chance to rectify and make it right. If we aren't given the opportunity to correct something during your stay, then we can't make it better. Nor can we learn from our mistakes! I have also looked at our pictures and compared them to the contents of the house. Tables, beds, couches , chairs, lamps, TV's etc are all in the house. We have rearranged the furniture a little. In addition we rotate the bedding between guests so it may be that different bedding gives a different feel to the room? We have had to replace decorative pillows as they tend to receive a lot of wear and get stained (especially the out door ones on the upper balcony). We also have slip covers for the furniture that rotate as well (both are cream coloured). I have reached out to the guest to learn more about her concerns, but have not received a response. We hope that you will return to one of our houses so that you can see we took your comments to heart! Janet, Eric and our hard working crew at Niagara Holiday Rentals!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Summerville house

  • 4 of 5

Lovely comfortable house with all amenities. Located right in the tourist hub, close to the theatre, and restaurants.

Main bedroom has a beautiful balcony veranda overlooking the bustling street. Great entertaining space on main floor. But master bedroom has a beautiful "double" bed, just a little small.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 11, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to give us a review! I just would like to clarify the bed configuration. The Master bedroom is at the back of the house and has King bed. The middle bedroom is a queen bed and the front bedroom with the balcony is a queen bed. Both the master and front bedroom are very spacious bedrooms with lots of natural light. All the bedrooms have bathrooms and there is an addition 2 piece bathroom on the main floor. We are always happy to hear from our guests and we hope that you will come back and see us soon! Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Saugatuck, MI
5

Charming, Comfortable, Clean, Convenient

  • 5 of 5

Summer Hill has the convenience and comfort of "home", very clean, comfortable beds and plush linens. Perfect accommodations for 3 couples. The ladies walked downtown to shop and the guys walked to the Pub. Great coffee shop across the street and the food was wonderful at the Irish Harp Pub, also directly across the street. Highly recommend this house.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 1, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Summerhill House! Hope you come back and stay with us again soon! Every year, there is something new and exciting. The big new outlet mall has a Bass Pro Shop the is packed to the gills with outdoor stuff! take care, Janet Janet
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful home with A+ amenities

  • 5 of 5

Not only is this home located in an excellent location in NOTL, but it has the look of a luxury hotel. The kitchen is well equipped and the appliances worked well. We had a wonderful time exploring the town and walks along the water.

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Point of Interest
Prince of Wales Hotel
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Notes

  • From $295/nt
  • Canadian Dollars
  • High Season - May 1st - October 31st $450 plus hst per night *
  • Low Season - November 1st - March 31st $350 plus hst per night **
  • April - $395 plus hst per night
  • * 3 night minimum stay during high season
  • ** 2 night minimum stay during low season
  • 50% deposit required with balance 30 days prior to check-in
  • $25 cancellation fee if cancelled before 30 days prior to check-in, thereafter 50%
  • of total booking price unless we can re-let entire length of cancelled dates.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals