HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautiful, renovated, 1-bedroom apartment steps to Lido Beach

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 550 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 27 nights

Overview

About the property

"Sandy Toes"

Come enjoy these sparkling, newly renovated and furnished units just a half-block to beautiful Lido Beach! Island Dreams Vacation Rentals is a 4-unit beach complex. This listing is for my 1-bedroom "Sandy Toes" unit. Step right into this first-floor rental. The soothing green and blue decor will put you in the island mood the moment you walk through the door! It features the largest living area of the one-bedrooms, with plenty of kitchen cabinets and a convenient dishwasher. The bedroom has a queen bed and large closet for all of your storage needs. The living room has a queen pullout sleeper sofa to allow up to 4 guests.

Location, location, location! We are perfectly centered on this intimate island, and you can have it all for a fraction of the price of staying at a pricey resort. The beach, pavilion and concession stand, public pool, and Lido Beach Resort (with its popular tiki bar and restaurant) are all located just a half-block down our quiet residential street. Paddleboarding, kayak rentals, and the trails and picnic areas at South Lido park are also just a quick walk south. Famous St. Armand's circle - with its eclectic shops and delicious restaurants - is a 10-15 minute stroll to the north through the island's charming paths. And!, Lido is the closest island to downtown Sarasota - with all of its cultural attractions and amenities - just a quick drive over the beautiful Ringling bridge. It doesn't get any better than this!

All units at Island Dreams have recently renovated kitchens, updated baths, flat-screen TV's, beautiful beach-themed furnishings and fully stocked kitchens. There is laundry on site, assigned parking, free wifi and satellite TV, and all beach supplies and towels. Simply everything you need for a relaxing beach vacation!

Please see our other listings and great reviews (all on the same property) at: www.vrbo.com/915968, www.vrbo.com/915792, and www.vrbo.com/915624. We offer a 2-bedroom owner's unit sleeping up to 6 people, and 2 additional one-bedrooms sleeping up to 2-4 people. 2 units are pet friendly.

More Details

Owner
Julie Chambers
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 June, 2017

About Julie Chambers

I purchased this property in 2011, after a roundabout path through several cities and professions. It was long my dream to own property by the beach, hence the name Island Dreams, and I look forward to sharing it all with you! Julie

Julie Chambers purchased this apartment in 2011

Why Julie Chambers chose Florida South Central Gulf Coast

I visited Sarasota for the first time in 2010, and immediately knew I wanted to make it my home. This charming small city has all of the benefits of a big city - culture, restaurants, events - along with stunning beaches, friendly people and an amazing quality of life. And Lido Key encompasses all of it. It has a quiet and laid-back, yet sophisticated, beach atmosphere, and its proximity to downtown Sarasota can't be beat.

Guestbook comments from the owner

After canceling my Flipkey/TripAdvisor listing, I copied the reviews over here to VRBO for your review. Julie



5 STARS

Left on Nov 20, 2012 for a stay in Oct 2012

5 people found this review helpful

Great location, just a half block walk to beautiful Lido beach. The beach is wonderful for long walks, shelling and watching spectacular sunsets. Property is newly renovated and nicely decorated, very clean. The owner Julie who lives on site was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Julie provides beach chairs and towels for use. The free washer and dryer was nice to have and the kitchen well equipped. South Lido Park is a short walk away with trails to walk and a boat launch site. We meet I Kayak there for a fun tour of the area seeing manatee and dolphin. St Armand's Circle is also within walking distance with lots of shops and restaurants. We had a wonderful stay at Island Dreams and would highly recommend staying here. Thanks Julie for making our stay a special one!



This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 10

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in the Lido Key in the Sarasota

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 550 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Sandy Toes has granite counters in the renovated bath, with a tub/shower combination.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Sandy Toes has a queen bed in the bedroom with a large closet. There is additionally a pullout queen sleeper sofa in the living room, allowing up to 4 guests.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

Beautiful, renovated, 1-bedroom apartment steps to Lido Beach
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 22 reviews
5

Great little escape

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here with my wife for a short mini vacation on the heels of a work trip to Orlando. It was in a perfect location a block off Lido beach and a few blocks from St. Armand's circle. The place was clean and perfect for what we needed. The AC comes from two window units, one in the main room and one in the bedroom. I only mention that because they can be a bit loud if running full out on hot days but for me the white noise is perfect to sleep. Overall, it was a great experience and we would definitely stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location; Clean & Comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay here- just wish it had been a little longer.

We appreciated having beach chairs, beach umbrellas and beach towels available for our use as we flew in and were not able to pack these things. There were umbrellas available as well and those came in handy for an evening downpour.

The bed was very comfortable, and the place was very clean when we arrived.

The walk to the Lido Key beach really is literally 2 minutes- and the property is conveniently located.

We liked that this area is slow paced, a bit more quiet and less crowded than Siesta Key Beach- but we recommend visiting that beach for sure- only a 30 minute drive and beautiful. Turtle beach is nice as well (lots of bigger sea shells!) and less crowded than Siesta Key beach.

Mangrove tours were awesome - and a short 5 minute drive. We were able to see starfish and dolphins.

We enjoyed dining at Owen's Fish Camp - worth the wait!

We'd only recommend that the AC be colder upon arrival - it was a little warm when we arrived. And we'd suggest that security locks be added that unlock only from the inside. We definitely felt like we were in a safe area and those weren't deal breakers- we'd definitely come back. But those are a couple things that could have made us feel a little more comfortable.

Still 5 stars! Thanks Julie :)

  • Review Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hull, MA
5

Looking forward to returning to Sandy Toes

  • 5 of 5

This past April was my fourth year staying at this wonderful property on Lido Key. It is a perfect location to the beach and close to St. Armand’s Circle with many restaurants and shopping. During my most recent trip, I stayed in the Sandy Toes unit. I found Sandy Toes to be perfect our week long vacation and really well maintained. We loved the lay out of the unit. The large living area was spacious and perfect for relaxing after a day at the beach. The décor throughout the unit has a cute beach theme. The owner takes a lot of care in maintaining Sandy Toes and the overall property. I was so pleased with the bedroom. I slept so well while on vacation. The mattress was very comfortable. I have been home a month now and have not slept as well as I did while at Sandy Toes. I will just have to plan a return trip! :) I was so happy with the accommodations. Also, there is a large closet and plenty of storage space in the bedroom. I look forward to my next visit to Sandy Toes. It is a really special place to me. I feel like it is truly a home away from home. Don’t hesitate to book here.

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Three star at best.

  • 3 of 5

This is actually a very nice and well maintained property with just a few problems that need to be resolved . The bed is either broken or has completely worn out and needs to be replaced. I traveled for my job for over forty years and this was the worst bed I have ever slept on. Faucet in bathroom was loose so when you turned on the water the entire faucet rotated. Blinds in living room were very inexpensive and did work well and when we arrived looked like the were broken. The blinds do not stop the light and impossible to sleep after the sun comes up. Should be some type of light blocking curtains over the blinds. Other that these issues nice location well maintained and managed.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Bill, I am sorry to hear about the issues you encountered with your rental. I am glad you noticed that the property was so well managed, and I just wish you had notified me of these issues while you were staying here, so I could have rectified them earlier. It appears from your profile that this was your first vacation rental by owner experience after staying in hotels for 40 years. It is not for everyone, but I can assure you that owners want to know about these issues and will remedy them promptly if you give them a chance. I am a local, hands-on owner, and as you can see from my past reviews (all 5-star, for all four of my units, since opening 5 years ago), I go out of my way to make sure my guests are happy and the units are well taken care of. I truly welcome any and all feedback from my guests (I think room darkening curtains are a great suggestion!), and I will continue to work to provide fabulous rentals at affordable rates in this million dollar location. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Two wonderful stays at Sandy Toes!

  • 5 of 5

My mother (age 92) and I had a wonderful time staying at Island Dreams. We first stayed in Sandy Toes in August of 2015, and then returned again this year. Julie went out of her way to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. The location cannot be beat - a hop, skip and a jump from the beautiful ocean, where I walked every morning - and several blocks from the shops and restaurants at St. Armand's Circle. The unit was cozy and cute, and had everything that we needed, and we were able to eat in for most of our meals, which was what my mother wanted to do. We really hope to return to Island Dreams again next year!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Carmelo

  • 5 of 5

We rented two units for 8 guests. Four adults and 4 children (11-16) Sandy Toes and Cozy Cottage. Both are first floor units. The accommodations are very clean and the amenities are like being at home. The beach is literally a half block away. Very easy walk. St. Armand's circle is about a half mile away. A pleasant walk. Plenty of shops and restaurants to please any taste. Definitely recommend. This was our first experience with VRBO and couldn't have been more pleased. Julie set the bar high. Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in the Lido Key, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer 2017
1 May 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£312
for 3 nights
From
£104
From
£117
Fri,Sat
£649
£2,078
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Jan/Feb 2018
1 Jan 2018 - 28 Feb 2018
27 night minimum stay
£2,571
for 27 nights
£2,857
 
 
March 2018
1 Mar 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£909
for 7 nights
£909
£3,117
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£286
for 3 nights
From
£95
From
£108
Fri,Sat
£606
£1,905
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £193.26
Tax Rate 12.0%

Fourth of July has a weekly minimum, and Sandy Toes rents for $900/2 people for the week.

Christmas has a weekly minimum, and Sandy Toes rents for $950/2 people for the week.

All rental rates include cleaning on stays of 4 or more nights. There is an additional $60 cleaning fee on 3-night stays.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals