HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

17th Century thatched cottage close to Exmoor, Devon sleeps 4

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

A self catering rental with pretty cottage gardens,outside seating and barbecue.

This Grade II listed thatched cottage is in the small working village of Bishops Nympton,home to wildlife photographer and presenter Johnny Kingdom. It featured briefly in the recent series 'Johnny's New Kingdom'.

Surrounded by beautiful countryside,The Pottery sleeps 4.The ground floor is open plan with lounge,dining and kitchen areas. There is an open fire.TV with freeview,video and DVD. The Kitchen has an electric oven and hob,fridge and microwave.Stairs to first floor. 2 bedrooms,both with double beds,wardrobes and chests of drawers.Bathroom with shower and bath. Electric storage heating throughout. Enclosed rear cottage garden with patio area(table & 4 chairs and lighting).Up one step to further garden with colourful flower beds,built in barbecue and more seating..Close to Exmoor and North Devon beaches

Available for holidays/ romantic weekend breaks . One small dog allowed.

3 miles from the market town of South Molton.

More Details

Owner
Viv and Tony Killeen
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
28 August, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in South Molton in North Devon District

Property Type:
  • cottage (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Pretty cottage bathroom providing toilet,washbasin and large bath with shower over.There is a bathroom heater. Hand towels and bath towels are provided
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • 1 - 1 Double Bed , There is a travel cot
    2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Both bedrooms are light and airy with quaint cottage windows and window seats. The floors are carpeted in both rooms. Bedroom 1 has a pine double bed,bedside tables and lamp,chest of drawers,wardrobe,dressing table and television. Bedroom 2 has a pine double bed and bedside drawers with lamps, large chest of drawers,chair and hanging space in cupboard. Both rooms have fitted storage heaters ensuring you have a cosy night. Bedding and bedlinen is provided. There is a hairdryer in the bottom drawer of the chest in the bedroom. Mind your head on the beams!
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Radio
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
Notes:
Bed linen and towels are included in the price. You can bring your own if you prefer, and enjoy a discount of £25.00 from the price per booking. Children are welcome but the stairs are quite steep and could prove a problem for the smallest. One small dog would be considered. In addition to the patio furniture, there is a picnic table at the end of the garden. The barbecue is built in. Heating is by night storage heater. There is also an open fireplace in the living room. (Electric alternative available on request - please mention when booking) Internet access for laptop owners etc can be had via BT Openzone / BT Fon - free to many BT internet suscribers who have opted in, at a price to others.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(48 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
17th Century thatched cottage close to Exmoor, Devon sleeps 4
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 48 reviews
4

Quaint and character-filled property

  • 4 of 5

A nice property with low beams and interestingly sloping floors that add to its unique charm and character. The cottage is situated in a friendly, quiet-but-busy village within easy reach of the beautiful Devon countryside and all its many attractions. The Pottery is well and thoughtfully (e.g. torches and nightlight) equipped, with comfortable beds and furnishings. Delicious cream tea waiting for us on arrival was a nice touch. A delightful place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Bad Experience

  • 1 of 5

The photograph of this property bears no relation to how it is now! The photo must be very old as the cottage doesn't look like this. We were very disappointed with the outside and inside , not very clean, smells damp and musty, very dark and dingy inside with hardly any natural light (hampered by the climbers outside downstairs windows and upstairs bedroom). Garden is virtually non-existent (again, doesn't look like photos) is overgrown and does not look cared for.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh dear! We are very sorry that the Pottery did not live up to your expectations. I wonder if it was not what you were looking for? It was built in the 17th century, and cottages then were not built with big windows. We do keep the windows as clear as we can of climbers, but allowing for the glorious display the campsis puts on in autumn. The garden is a cottage garden, with three distinct areas, not a lawn. By coincidence, I had taken some photos of it before I read your comments, and have updated the pictures on the website.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Southampton
2

Pretty cottage and comfortable sofas and beds. Ok for just sleeping there.

  • 2 of 5

Very pretty cottage and looks lovely from the outside. However upon entering the cottage we found it to be covered in dust and cobwebs. The bathroom needs a good clean or updating, as the bath looked like the dirt was ground in and we removed the bath mat as it was dirty. The kitchen was much smaller than expected but nothing can be done about this. The oven is in need of a good clean as we wanted to use it. The garden was pretty but again couldn't be used as all the furniture was dirty. Shower wasn't working but have to say the owners rectified this promptly with no fuss. The cottage was adequate overall just a few issues letting it down. Quite disappointed as it was a holiday for my mum in laws 65th birthday and to see it outside it looks lovely.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not feel the cottage was clean - you will see from previous reviews that despite the problems posed by a 17th century thatched cottage, we pride ourselves on our standards of cleanliness. We have investigated the oven. There are four separate places to sit in the garden. Although it is out in all weathers, the furniture was thoroughly cleaned when it was fetched out of store in April, and is cleaned between lets. I am surprised that there were any significant problems. We ask that all problems are notified to us immediately, so that we can deal with them. As you noted from the issue with the shower, we deal with anything raised at once. (As it turned out, there was nothing wrong with the shower, which simply needed a few moments rest between uses.)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Lovely thatched cottage with exposed beams in picturesque village

  • 5 of 5

This was a last minute booking and the owners were very helpful with our queries. The cottage is well looked after and we had everything we needed for our stay. The garden is a delight, long and narrow with wonderful views at the end of it. The town of South Molton is nearby for tea shops, pubs and small shops, and Exemoor is not far away.

  • Review Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful thatched cottage - well worth a stay!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage itself is beautiful. It is very clean and well equipped with everything you need. We loved sitting in the garden enjoying the view and had a couple of BBQ's too.

We also made the most of the open fire as the week we were there wasn't fantastic weather wise but this just made it even more cosy in the evenings. Tony and Viv gave us some fab information before we went and didn't mind us contacting them briefly to ask a question whilst we were there. The village is lovely too and everyone seemed really friendly. If you take a dog with you, there is a dog walk we were told about - look out for the VW bonnet 5 mins drive from the village - it takes you through some woods and to a stream. Any local would be able to direct you.

I would highly recommend and we can't wait to go again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words - we try hard, and it is great to know that we are doing things right! We will pass on your recommended walk to future guests. We try to inform our guests of what beautiful North Devon has to offer, and we are glad our amateur guides helped you. And we would never mind someone ringing to ask a question - although as you know, mobile phone reception when driving across Exmoor can be a bit hit and miss! We look forward to seeing you again at the Pottery. Tony and Viv
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything you ever imagined about an English country cottage.

  • 5 of 5

This is a darling little cottage in a chocolate box English village. Didn't get a sun tan so lit the fire in the evenings. Very cozy. Low beams so remember to duck! Owners have obviously put a lot of thought into making this a lovely experience with lots of nice little touches. Village church very welcoming if you like that sort of thing. We will definitely book again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing us, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Pottery! The beams are a nice feature, but still catch me out now and again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

The Stags Head Inn
Nearest Airport
23 Miles
Exeter
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Mill Inn
Nearest Ferry
85 Miles
Plymouth
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Kings Nympton
Nearest Motorway
19 Miles
J27, M5
Nearest Beach
18 Miles
Instow
Car: recommended

Located in the beautiful countryside of North Devon,Bishops Nympton is a working village near the market town of South Molton.The village has an excellent village shop and post office 400 yards away, by the new village hall . It has a church,St Marys which dates back to the12th century.You can often enjoy the peal of church bells.There are plenty of walks nearby and Johnny Kingdom runs his Exmoor Safaris from the village.A Devon Cream tea is a must during your stay and local ones are well advertised.Market days in South Molton are Thursdays and Saturdays where you can purchase vegetables,dairy produce,meat,fish and various country craft items.Barnstaple is only 10 miles away for more shopping.There are many houses and gardens to visit nearby including Arlington Court,Knighthayes Court,Rosemoor and even Dunster Castle.The nearest beach is Instow with Appledore across the water.Clovelly is quaint. Surf beaches are a little farther on at Saunton Sands,Croyde and Woolacombe.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in South Molton, Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£195
for 3 nights
From
£65
From
£90
Fri,Sat,Sun
£450
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £50

A deposit of 1/3 of the total price is required to secure a property. The balance is due six weeks before arrival.
For bookings arriving within 6 weeks, payment must be made in full. Contact the owner for payment details.
Short breaks (min. 3 nights) are accepted where shown. There are no hidden extras.
Shorter breaks over Easter and Christmas may be available - call the owner to discuss

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals