HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

(Special Offer 19-26 AUG) Sea view 5 star standards 5 mins to harbour & beaches

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,184 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Relaxing apartment close enough for coastal walks and all beaches.

In its enviable landmark position, Pentowan Penthouse is in an ideal location to to reach Newquay's and Cornwall's range of sights and attractions. Set in the quieter part of Newquay but near enough to walk to the facilities. A short walk in any direction will take you to any one of Newquay's fabulous beaches, the harbour, the headland or the town centre. our free parking makes Pentowan Penthouse a great base for exploring Cornwall. Family Holidays or just for couples everyone enjoys staying in the Penthouse.

An apartment for all seasons, Pentowan Penthouse part of historic Pentowan House situated above the Harbour, is a wonderful place to experience sun soaked days or enjoy the unbeatable views fishing boats in and out of the harbour, seals looking for food or relax by our windows and watch the power and beauty of the Atlantic ocean,

More Details

Owner
Rob or Alison Higgins
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 October, 2017

Why Rob or Alison Higgins chose Newquay & St Austell area

My wife Alison and I rented this property in 2012 with our teenage son and two of his friends and had a wonderful relaxing holiday here.

We had been looking for a holiday home for several years and could not quite frind the right property that ticked all the boxes we wanted. Great location and views, plenty to do from surfing, sailing, golfing, walking or just relaxing. We are close enough to Newquay to benefit from the facilities when we require them but positioned in the quiet part of Newquay with our own car parking space. Everything is in walking distance and we can enjoy the great restaurants and beaches etc throughout Cornwall using Newquay as a base. We use this property ourselves and the standard of furnishings and fixtures reflect the standards we would expect to see in a property such as Pentowan. We have relaxing weekends with friends enjoying the wonderful beaches and sea, great restaurants and fantastic views and walks. There is plenty to keep the children active from surfing to exploring the beaches.

What makes this apartment unique

Location, car parking and unsurpassed views. Great surfing beaches or safe 'bucket and spade beaches' and Golf course within walking distance. Great restaurants in the region.or just look out of the windows at the views. Explore Cornwall - Eden Project, fantastic scenery traditional Cornish fishing towns and wonderful bays and beaches. Plenty of water sports,Golf or relaxing walks and nature trails.

Location

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Newquay
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
The Red Lion
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Plymouth
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Newquay
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Newquay
Nearest Motorway
9 Miles
A30
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Various
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Towan
Car: not necessary

Set on the coastal path, a short walk will take you to any one of Newquay's fabulous beaches, the harbour, the headland or the town centre. The views, facilities and location of this apartment are very hard to beat.Newquay is the perfect base to explore Cornwall and see its numerous attractions such as the Eden Project.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Newquay in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1184 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bedroom 1 En-Suite - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , En-Suite
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Extra put-up Bed If Required
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
North Cornwall has an abundance of great restaurants, picturesque villages and towns. Pentowan House is one of the best locations in North Cornwall for views facilities and allows you to partcipate in various activities or simply relax.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
21% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
(Special Offer 19-26 AUG) Sea view 5 star standards 5 mins to harbour & beaches
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 33 reviews
Worcestershire
5

What a view !

  • 5 of 5

There are many occasions in life when things don't quite live up to expectations.

We had high expectations of this apartment due to the photographs we saw online when we booked. I am happy to say this property exceeded ALL our expectations and is quite simply fabulous.

On arrival we were met by Bill who was our welcoming committee and key holder. He took us up to the penthouse and spent time explaining how everything worked and gave us useful information about the area, a nicer guy you couldn't wish to meet.

On walking into the apartment the first thing that hits you is the view and wow what a view it is. If you remember one thing make sure it is your binoculars, I can asure you the TV is not needed.

The apartment is really funky and the decor very modern, it was right up our street and instantly made us feel at home. The really clever part is the floor to ceiling windows which not only make the apartment really light and airy but obviously gives you access to the stunning views without getting up off the sofa.

We took our two children, Josh (6) and Freddie (18 mths) and they could not have been happier. It is very child friendly with an Xbox and TV to keep them entertained.

I really can't think of a negative about this place and we have already booked to go back and we can't wait!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

VERY IMPRESSED

  • 5 of 5

WE HAD A FAB TIME AND WERE LUCKY TO SEE THE SEAL LION ON THE FIRST AND LAST DAY OF OUR HOLIDAY. THE APARTMENT WAS ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS AND IN A GREAT LOCATION

THANKS PAUL

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect !

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is awesome, modern as well as tasteful. Furthermore there is a greatful view on the beaches. In conclusion we can warmly recommend this apartment and we are happy about our stay there. Thanks !

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

F n Cox.

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic appartment with amazing views. Loved it. Only the weather let it down. The views from the appartment are gorgeous rain or shine. Very well equipt. Couldnt want for anything.x

  • Review Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Luxury apartment with truly stunning veiws

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely beautiful fully equipped luxury apartment, with the most stunning views you could possibly have , the beds are so comfortable and when we arrived we were stunned by the quality of everything in it.

You could never tire from the views in the master bedroom , and we could never recommend this apartment enough!

Thank you so much for such a lovely few days away...........and we can't wait to return.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had such a great stay. The views are unbelievable. Look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Some decrative TLC required but stunning views and great location

  • 4 of 5

The property gives 5 star views but we were slightly disappointed with the interiors which appeared a bit 'tired', could do with a fresh decor and some TLC. The sofas were very worn and not comfortable to sit on and there were stains on two cream chairs and carpets in both bedrooms. Unfortunately the quality of cleaning was not great, work tops and oven/hob very smeared, white doors had finger prints on that were very sticky to the touch.

This spoils what is a lovely penthouse apartment with stunning views and great location.

However we did enjoy our stay, the views and easy local access to bays, harbour and Newquay town. Lovely walks nearby too.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi we always value any comments - I am afraid that stains and other marks were caused by a recent set of guests who also decided to "sleep" on the sofa and due to bookings there was not time to change the sofas etc but the Penthouse will be redocorated and the repairs and improvements made. Our concierge service have also been advised about the sticky marks. I am glad you enjoyed the conveneient location, secure parking and stunning views from the apartment. Rob &Alison
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Newquay, Cornwall

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
early autumn
4 Sep 2017 - 21 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£345
for 3 nights
From
£115
From
£135
Fri,Sat
£750
 
 
Autumn Half Term
22 Oct 2017 - 28 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
£620
for 5 nights
From
£120
From
£140
Fri,Sat
£850
 
 
Late Autumn
29 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
From
£130
Fri,Sat
£750
 
 
Xmas new year
23 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£786
for 5 nights
From
£180
Sat,Sun
£1,100
 
 
Winter Break
4 Jan 2018 - 10 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£315
for 3 nights
From
£105
From
£125
Fri,Sat
£600
 
 
late winter
11 Feb 2018 - 17 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£345
for 3 nights
From
£115
From
£145
Fri,Sat,Sun
£750
 
 
early spring
18 Feb 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
From
£120
Fri,Sat
£600
 
 
Easter
1 Apr 2018 - 14 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
£675
for 5 nights
From
£130
From
£155
Fri,Sat
£850
 
 
Late spring
15 Apr 2018 - 26 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£345
for 3 nights
From
£115
From
£135
Fri,Sat,Sun
£850
 
 
Early summer
27 May 2018 - 2 Jun 2018
5 night minimum stay
£665
for 5 nights
From
£130
From
£145
Fri,Sat
£900
 
 
Early Summer
3 Jun 2018 - 21 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
£605
for 4 nights
From
£165
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,100
 
 
High season
22 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,700
for 7 nights
£1,700
 
 
late Summer
2 Sep 2018 - 20 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£351
for 3 nights
£820
 
 
Autumn Half term
21 Oct 2018 - 27 Oct 2018
5 night minimum stay
£620
for 5 nights
From
£120
From
£140
Fri,Sat
£880
 
 
Early Winter
28 Oct 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£315
for 3 nights
From
£105
From
£120
Fri,Sat
£750
 
 
Xmas New Year
21 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£880
for 5 nights
From
£175
From
£180
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,050
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

£200 refundable damage deposit. Free secure car parking space for one car. Contact us about late bookings we sometimes discount the price for late bookings subject to availability. the rental rates outlined include all cleaning and linen changes and utilities e.g. Lighting and heating. There are no other charges

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals