HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Contemporary Apartment near the beach with a sea view on North Devon Coast.

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,076 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom luxury apartment, sleeps 5, balconies magnificent sea view.

Number 20 Nautilus is a duplex apartments in a luxury development of 28 contemporary apartments adjacent to a magnificent sandy beach at Westward Ho! This holiday apartment is owned and furnished by the architect. In 2005 the building won the only Royal Institute of British Architects annual award for architecture in Devon and Cornwall. It has been featured in numerous publications. The apartment is exceptionally spacious, the sculptured roof creates an exciting interior with huge windows to make the most of the sea view. There are three balconies including an external sea facing terrace on the living level with table and chairs for 'al fresco' dining and to enjoy the magnificent sea view and sunsets. The apartment interior has been repainted, May 2016 to maintain the fresh modern design.

Golf course 5 minute drive, approx. 10 min walk.: This is The Royal North Devon Golf Club which is the oldest golf course in England and very attractive.

Entertainment for children: There is plenty to keep children amused, the apartment is fully equipped for families including WiFi, DVD, digital T.V., board games, next door to Nautilus there is a free indoor soft play zone. Nearby there are many local attractions such as Big Sheep theme park(approx.5 - 10 mins drive), The Milky Way Adventure Park, Combe Martin Wildlife and Dinosaur Park, Lundy Island Marine Nature Reserve (by boat), RHS Rosemoor Gardens, Tepely Park and Arlington House (National Trust properties). For those who enjoy cycling you can hire bikes in Instow or Bideford to explore the Tarka Trail. Westward Ho! is full of beach activities for children and horse riding on the beach is also possible. Appledore is an attractive fishing village 10 mins away. There is a fast coastal road for access to the magnificent North Devon coast Woolacombe, Croyde, Braunton,Saunton, Clovely and Bude in Cornwall.

Visitors book: Oct 08 'Apartment absolutely wonderful and much appreciated'

Sept 08 'Great Apartment and so well kitted ou! Fab views. Enjoyed the break immensley especially the beach'

Aug 08 'Thanks for a great apartment. enjoyed our break very much. Great walks, great views'

July 07 'Couldn't think of a better way to spend a fortnight with our 13mth old daughter - fantastic apartment with stunning views to match'

More Details

Owner
Annabel Greenfield
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 September, 2017

About Annabel Greenfield

My husband, Architect Guy Greenfield designed Nautilus Apartments and won the RIBA award for this building in 2005. I am an artist and enjoy the inspiring sea views, our two children love staying at 20 Nautilus, being so close to the beach, convenient for the town, there is always plenty to do and we all enjoy the amazing sunsets.

Why Annabel Greenfield chose Torridge

Amazing position, across the road from the beach. Outstanding sea views. In the centre of the town restaurants, Pubs and shops only a few minutes walk. Interior designed by the architect.

What makes this apartment unique

20 Nautilus is in the centre of the development and therefore has the best, uninterrupted sea views.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Westward Ho! in Torridge District

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1076 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 17:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Baby Gate
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , 1 single sofa bed
  • The master bedroom has a sea view and balcony as well as an ensuite bathroom. The apartment sleeps five, there are large double beds in each bedroom and there is a single sofa bed in the second bedroom. Bed linen and towels are supplied, but please inform us of the number of guests so the correct number of beds are made up before arrival.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There are two flights of stairs which would make the apartment unsuitable for wheelchair access and severely disabled visitors. However there are handrails on the stairs.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
4% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Contemporary Apartment near the beach with a sea view on North Devon Coast.
average rating of 4.6 based on 25 reviews
5

Wonderful apartment

  • 5 of 5

This is the second time we've stayed at Nautilus, first time in this apartment. The view is absolutely spectacular, which is great when you have small children who need to be in bed early - you can still enjoy the sea even though you can't get out.

The location is ideal and the apartment is furnished very nicely, with comfortable beds and sofas. The kitchen had everything we needed. There were even a few sand toys for the kids and a number of DVDs to watch. We brought our own HDMI cable and were able to watch Netflix on the big screen from our laptop :).

I'm pretty sure we'll be back - our children loved it as much as we did, so they're already asking...

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your two week stay at our apartment. We look forward to you returning again soon. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Lovely apartment with great outlook, let down by a few niggles

  • 3 of 5

Unfortunately the great views quickly disappeared due to the salt spray on the glazing ... by day 4 of our week we had 'frosted glass' and, as it was too wet to venture out, we could no longer sit and enjoy the views (not helped by the blown double glazing on the terrace door).

The intrusive noise levels from adjacent apartments was also a problem. We could hear next doors television in the evenings in the lounge and in the bedroom during the night we were subjected to very load water noise from the other sides apartment every time their toilet cistern refilled.

There was no hand towel in the family bathroom and the toilet flush didn't work properly.

The bar stools were too high and impossible to sit at the breakfast bar.

The sign at the entrance asked for outside shoes to be removed but the floor matt as too small, the space cramped and nowhere to leave wet shoes.

Crows were leaving bird mess on the kitchen terrace so not a pleasant place to sit on the sheltered morning sun.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a shame that you had some wet weather, It has been unusually wet for this time of year. We have looked at the double glazing and are going to replace this as soon as possible. We have never had any complaints about noise from neighboring apartments, I am sorry you experienced this. We always endeavour to sort out any problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Appartment was beautiful with fantastic sea views. High spec finish.

  • 3 of 5

The main issue was the stairs. We have a 10 week old and although the apartment was well equipped for a baby ( travel cot etc) carrying him up and down was a constant worry. The wooden stairs were sharp and slippy. There wasn't anywhere to leave the buggy and we had to put it in the car because it was too heavy to keep taking it up and down the first flight of stairs. Since the lounge was upstairs I couldn't hear the baby cry so once he was in the cot I had to stay in the bedroom. I wish I'd known the layout before hand. I wouldn't recommend this for a family with a small baby or small children. Sorry!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We do have stairgates on both stairs and we have equipped the apartment with a high chair and cot. All previous visitors with babies and young children have been happy with the apartment, I am sorry that you had some problems. Pushchairs do need to be stored in the car, but the proximity to the beach and the convenience of being able to take a pushchair on the beach are convenient. Also, there is a soft play centre for babies and toddlers next door and several playgrounds near by. Travelling with young children can be tricky, but we have tried to make the apartment as child-friendly as possible with board games, a few DVD's, some beach toys etc.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Bit damp outside but a clean tidy property

  • 5 of 5

Very nice, we shall be back.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay despite the weather being damp at times. Thank you for booking yet again, for next year. I think this is your fourth visit to 20 Nautilus, as you said in your text message "it feels like home". Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nautilus 20

  • 3 of 5

Nice views and the location is great, but a little disappointed as the hot water in the apartment was a constant problem. When you pay a lot of money for a rental you don't expect problems.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful apartment with stunning views

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I plus our boys aged 15 and 18 visited this wonderful apartment. We were completely blown away by the spectacular views and enjoyed many an evening watching the surfers whilst playing cards on the balcony. Westward Ho! is great location with many restaurants and lots to do in the surrounding area. We can thoroughly recommend the mountain biking in Haldon Forest and the Kayaking in Bideford. This holiday will live long in our memories, thank you.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
65 Kilometres
Exeter
Nearest Ferry
5 Kilometres
Bideford
Nearest Train
15 Kilometres
Barnsataple
Nearest Motorway
40 Kilometres
M5 Junction 27
Car: recommended

Westward Ho! is a seaside town a few miles from Bideford and ten miles from Barnstaple, North Devon's main town. Westward Ho!'s main attraction is the ten mile beach which gained 'blue flag' status five years ago. It is host of a range of water and beach sports such as surfing, windsurfing, sand yachting, kite flying and of course swimming to name just a few. The North Devon coastal footpath is accessible from the town and not far away are the picturesque villages of Hartland and Clovelly. A slightly longer drive takes you to Exmoor unbeatable for walking, riding, fishing etc. Famous coastal towns such as Lynmouth, Ilfracommbe and Porlock are also found there. Westward Ho! has all the usual facilities such as supermarket etc. and it has many pubs and restaurants serving good fresh food and the fish and chips are excellent. Instow and Barnstaple have a variety of restaurants and for those seeking something special, The Masons Arms, on Exmoor (michelin star) is well worth the journey.

Other Activities: Blue Flag beach, particularly well known for surfing,Kiteing and sand yachting ,

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Westward Ho!, Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Autumn
16 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£650
 
 
Autumn
30 Sep 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£650
 
 
Autumn Half Term 2017
21 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£770
for 7 nights
£770
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£910
for 7 nights
From
£130
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £100

Deposit of 50% of total price to be paid to secure booking. The balance is due eight weeks prior to arrival. For bookings arriving within eight weeks payment must be made in full. Only Saturday to Saturday bookings are accepted for August. Short breaks minimum of three nights are accepted at other times of year, last minute short breaks may also be available outside the dates above.
Payments are not refundable. If cancellation occurs the owner will endeavour to re-let the property and if this is possible the cancellation fee will be refunded minus £75 to cover administration. We recommend that you take out holiday insurance in case of cancellation. Bank charges are the responsibility of the holiday tenant. Thank you.



Fir

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals