HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Monarch Apt within 5* Cinnamon Grand Hotel Complex, Colombo City

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
5
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
4 - 5 nights

About the property

Sea View Monarch Apartment Within 5* Cinnamon Grand Hotel Complex, Colombo City.

LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION!

HEART OF COLOMBO CITY CENTRE - CBD AREA

FABULOUS OCEAN VIEW (FLOOR-to-CEILING GLASS)

Situated in the 5-star hotels enclave.

Spectacular Sea View Luxury Monarch Condominium (built in 2009) is located within the 5* Luxury Cinnamon Grand Hotel Complex, 77 Galle Road, Colombo 3, Sri Lanka.

Surrounded by beautifully landscaped tropical gardens overlooking the Indian Ocean.Luxury service apartment has spectacular sea view from living room and both bedrooms.

Fully furnished to a high standard with 5* facilities including gym, large swimming pool, 24 hr security, business centre and underground parking.

Complex include 5* Luxury hotel, Luxury SPA and exclusive Shopping Mall.

Galle-Face Green (Esplanade), American Embassy, British Embassy and number of 5* hotels are all located within 5 minutes walking distance.

The complex is located in the heart of City's business, diplomatic, shopping and entertainment centre. One of the most prestige's location in Colombo.

Suitable for short-term or long-term occupancy. Ideal place for ex-pat community.

Swimming pool, Gym, Sauna / Business Centre: The Monarch ' (03rd floor)

The swimming pool, gym and sauna are open to all Monarch residents between 7.00 a.m. and 9.30 p.m.

Business Cerntre:

For all your photocopying, printing needs and Internet / E-mail access. Open during office hours only.

Sea VIew Luxury Monarch Condominium, Prestige's Location in Colombo 3

Keells Supermarket: The Keells Supermarket is located in the basement of the Boulevard, next to the Food Court. This is the one stop shop for all your grocery items. They also sell stationery, cleaning products, toys and games, liquor, cakes and pastries and certain other items.

Nearby Restaurants:

Sri Lankan:

Raja Bojun - Seylan Towers, 90 Galle Road, Colombo 3,.

Palmyrah - Renuka Hotel, 328 Galle Road, Colombo 3,.

Banana Leaf - 86 Galle Road, Colombo 3,.

Thai:

Tulips - 383 R. A. De Mel Mawatha, Colombo 3

Vegetarian:

Shanmuga's - 53/3 Ramakrishna Road, Colombo 6.

Sea Food:

168 Seafood Palace - 8 Sea View Avenue, Colombo 3.

Beach Wadiya - 2 Station Avenue, Colombo 6.

Monarch Reception Desk Open 24 hrs/ Car Park: The Monarch (02nd floor)

The Reception Desk is operational 24 hours a day. Residents can contact the Reception for any assistance they may require.

Car park

The Monarch (basement level)

All residents are permitted one car park per apt.

More Details

Property Manager
Luxapartlet
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
15 January, 2017

Why Luxapartlet chose Colombo

Located in the most prestigious location in the heart of Colombo City Center.

30 Floor Luxury Monarch Tower is located within the 5 * Cinnamon Grand Hotel Complex, with direct walk way access.

Direct access to Crescat Shopping Mall, Food court and Keels Supermarket.

Ocean view Swimming pool & gym.

Panoramic Ocean view luxury apartment with free Wi-Fi.

Free Parking

24 hrs Security and Reception.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

Monarch Apt within 5* Cinnamon Grand Hotel Complex, Colombo City
average rating of 4.4615383 based on 13 reviews
3

Great Location - Disappointed with condition of apartment

  • 3 of 5

We booked the Monarch apartment so that we would have more room than a hotel room for the duration of our stay.

We were staying at the Cinnamon Grand Hotel located next to the Monarch apartment from December 15-23, 2016, then checked in to the apartment December 23-January 3, 2017.

When we arrived to the Monarch we noticed there is a terrible smell in the corridor that leads up to the unit - a combination of old cooking smells, musk and garbage, the windows in the corridor are always open but there doesn't seem to be great air flow.

When we opened the door to the apartment we were disappointed with how dirty it was. There was dust and grime everywhere, hair in the showers and bathtubs, the toilets were not clean, old razors, toothbrushes etc. We immediately called the property manager, he said he would call us back, we didn't hear back from him, even though we tried calling him 3 more times, there was no answer. The property owner was easily reached but with him being in the UK there wasn't much he could do. There was a leaking faucet, one of the air conditioner's in the living room would not turn on, cracks in the wooden floor, stained couches etc. We kept being told from the property manager and the crew that came to fix the leak and sort our other issues that the owner didn't have an account to fix these items.

The towels were old and therefore we had to borrow towels from my sister staying at cinnamon grand. There were 2 hangers in each closet, therefore we had to buy plastic hangers to hang our clothes.

While the location is one of the best, the unit is aged and is not being properly maintained. If the cost of the unit was less then perhaps my expectations would not have been so high.

The property owner was very helpful though, and wanted to ensure we were ok, but unfortunately the property manager was not as concerned. This apartment would be ok for two adults only, or two adults and 1 or 2 kids.

For those looking for good location this unit does not disappoint - the amenities within the cinammon grand hotel and crescat mall are excellent. And the location makes it easy to get in and out and visit all the other desirable areas within Colombo.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your original complain to me was the apartment cleaning was not high standard and there were some dust behind the bed and one of the bathroom faucet was dripping water. The cleaning company that I have employed recently, did not perform the cleaning as should have been. This is mainly due to Christmas holiday period and their regular cleaners were on holiday. The company employed temporary cleaning staff and they did not perform to the required standard. After, your call I immediately terminated the contract with this company. I instantly recruited a reputable company who has been recommended by other apartment owners. The following day, I Offered you a full cleaning. You did not want the new cleaners on the same day and requested them to come the next day. I called you and you told me the new company did a very good job and you were issued with brand new white cotton linen and towels. I only use Cinnamon Grand laundry and buy the linen from the same supplier, as the hotel. In the bathroom leaking faucet was replaced with a new unit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable and spacious apartment

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this comfortable and spacious apartment over the New Year and for the first weeks of January 2016. With all the amenities and comforts provided, it was just like being at home. This meant that we could turn all our attention to enjoying ourselves, visiting family and friends and exploring Colombo. The whole Monarch complex is maintained to a high standard of cleanliness and repair. Security is also efficient, with door persons at the entrances to the complex checking the identity of unfamiliar faces. Add to this the bonus of the shopping mall, Keells supermarket and a food hall in the basement, which is accessed directly by lifts within the Monarch apartment complex, and one has the perfect place to stay for an enjoyable and relaxing holiday.

The owner of the apartment was most helpful during the booking process and provided extensive information to ensure our stay was comfortable. He also telephoned us the day after our arrival to check that everything was OK for us, which we greatly appreciated. His suggestions local restaurants were most helpful.

We thoroughly recommend this apartment as an excellent base to enjoy Sri Lanka.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
5

Beautiful apartment for a good stay

  • 5 of 5

There are a few years, I lived in Colombo, working at the Embassy.

I came back to spend a few days holiday with two friends.

This property is very well located. We have a very nice view.

Sea view, pool view. The Galle Face Hotel is just opposite. We are 10 minutes on foot from Kingsbury Hotel.

The apartment is very clean, it has everything for a good stay. We also have a personal parking. The security service is present.

If we need something, at the reception, they send us someone to do the necessary and quickly.

I would have liked live in an apartment like that during my years in Colombo!

We have a shopping arcade, a small supermarket, restaurants downstairs of our building.

I recommend this apartment for anyone who wants to spend a pleasant stay in the center of Colombo.

The owner is very nice and always makes sure that everything is perfect for our stay.

Conclusion, beautiful apartment!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 20, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0
4

A beautiful apartment very conveniently located

  • 4 of 5

The apartment is located in one of the best locations in Colombo City centre.

Apartment was presented to us in a high standard.

All rooms have lovely ocean view as well as being nicely furnished with solid teak furniture. Beds are very comfy and had clean white bed sheets and new pillows.

Bathroom is very clean and had newly polished floor and good shower.

Kitchen floor was also very well polished and all new kitchen utensils and white dinner set.

Sofa was very clean as well as curtains.

We are very happy to recommend this lovely apartment without any hesitation.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 23, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1
Where do you live?
1

Extremely Poor and Dirty Condition - Totally Misrepresented

  • 1 of 5

I booked this condo specifically from the description that this is a luxury serviced apartment and the 5 star review dated Dec 2012. What I got was a neglected condo!! Upon walking in at 3 AM after a long delayed flight, I was a shock to see a dirty apartment. The couch and chairs had large stains on the fabric. The floor was dirty and scratched. The walls and curtains had stains and mold. The furniture were worn with scratches. The bed linen was stained and looked as it was not changed since the last renter. But at 3 AM and tired from a long flight, I went to sleep for a few hours.

In the morning, I noticed further neglect in this unit. The bathroom had black mold around the tub. The sink was loose and leaked. The kitchen was greasy with dirty pots and pan. There was an extra mattress pressed up against a window as storage. This apartment has not been cleaned or any maintenance done in a year at least. That was enough, I packed up and checked into a hotel that morning. I called the local contact person but he was not in town. I contacted the owner and his excuse was there was a recent water leak. He was arrogant when I described the poor condition of the apartment and even called me "cheeky".

The pictures shown in this VRBO listing are now 5 years old. The current condition of this condo and the furnishings is poor and dirty. The experience of renting this condo is best described as a disaster. I took pictures of the problems in this unit but VRBO reviews do not provide for photos. In another travel site I also submitted a review and my pictures can be viewed there.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comment. First of all, I am fully aware of the circumstances that you had to post this detail comment. You advised me that you initially booked this apartment for your stay in Colombo and subsequently, you wanted to travel with your friend who has already pre-booked a tour. Later, you wanted to abandon the apartment and join with your friend traveling various parts of Sri Lanka on a tour. Hence, you wanted to terminate the stay (at Monarch) at the last minute. Some of your comments are very valid and I appreciate your feed back. All guest who book the apartment get a very details instruction regarding the apartment including apartment number, duration of stay, number of people etc. You arrived at the reception at 3.00 am without any evidence of booking confirmation or apartment number. As you know, the complex is located inside the HSZ and security is always very tight and I can only sympathize with you that the security did not hand over the key. They called me 3.00 am in the morning to verify your identity. I mange to answer the call early hours of the morning and made arrangement with the security to let you inside the apartment. Unfortunately, the previous stayers had 3 young children and I was informed by the cleaning staff the apartment had lots of melted chocolate stains all over the sofa, beds and curtains. They did clean wherever, is possible to remove the chocolate stains. However, the cleaners recommended a dry clean of blankets, curtain and shampooing the sofa. Due to back to back booking, it was not possible to undertake all the maintenance work. Please be advised that I have offered you a complete cleaning of the apartment including shampooing the Sofa the next day. However, you have declined my offer. I was aware of the 2nd bathroom water leak. It was brought to my attention the previous week of your stay. Monarch maintenance department was notified and they have scheduled to undertake the work in the following week. They requested 4 hrs during day time to complete this task. I am sorry, this has to be done during your stay due to the nature of the maintenance. I was prepared to compensate for this inconvenience. I am pleased to inform, a major maintenance work was undertaken to rectify the water leak and a full dry clean was done on all the blankets and curtains. The Sofa was shampooed. Please be advised that I only use Monarch (Cinnamon Grand Hotel) approved official cleaning company and use hotel laundry.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 15
Buckinghamshire UK
5

Superb apartment – highly recommended

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is a home from home and certainly lives up to expectations.

Food-court and supermarket in basement of the same block, certainly is a plus.

Thiru, the owner, was a star, with advice on all things – from airlines to restaurants etc.

Sri Lanka was magnificent, with friendly people and great sight-seeing.

Colombo was much better than the guide books suggested, with many hidden gems – If you only open your eyes.

We used - taxis, tuk tuks, trains and local buses – all do-able and certainly worth the effort for the experience.

Missing the mad Galle road and 30c – arriving back to -1c.

Thiru - thanks for all your help and hope to use one of your other apartments at some stage.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 6, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
29 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Colombo International Airport
Nearest Barpub
30 Metres
Cheers Pub at Cinnmon Grand Hotel
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
Colombo
Nearest Golf
25 Kilometres
Royal Colombo Golf Course
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Fort
Nearest Restaurant
20 Metres
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Restaurants
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Galle Face
Car: not necessary

Location! Location! Location!

Colombo City Center - Central Business District Area.

Luxury Monarch Apartment Complex (Built in 2009) is strategically located in the Center of the Capital Colombo (within 5* Cinnamon Grand Hotel Complex) and surrounded by number of 5* Hotels and Embassy's - the most prestige's area in the middle of the business, diplomatic, shopping and entertainment center..

Direct walk-way link to 5* luxury Cinnamon Grand hotel with 7 top class restaurants, bars and coffee lounge, Also, Angsana Spa Keels Supermarket, Bank and exclusive shopping mall (Crescat Boulevard).

Nearby attractions include Galle-Face Green (Esplanade) American Embassy, the historic Galle Face & Regency hotel.

2 bed luxury air-conditioned apartment with spectacular Ocean view from living room and both bedrooms. Fully furnished service apartment in Colombo 3, Sri Lanka is an Ideal place for ex-pat community.

Located 35 Km from the International Airport, Colombo. Sri Lanka.

Other Activities: Galle-Face Esplanade, Museum, Lighthouse Tower, Victoria Park, Shopping Center and Royal Colombo Golf Course

Photos

Prices & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £100
Cleaning & Laundry £25

1. Standard Check-in Time 14.00 hrs and Check-out Time 10.30 hrs.
2. Electricity and Water is charged as per consumption at cost price.
3. Security deposit US$150, AUS$150, £100, €100 is payable at check-in and it will be refunded at check-out, subject to handing over the apartment in the same condition.
4. Stays less than 4 days, additional US$50.00 applies.
5.5th Guest would pay US$10.00 per day

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Kollupitiya in Western Province

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 11
Floor Area:
  • 110 m²
Location Type:
  • beach
  • city centre
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Marble flooring
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Marble flooring
  • Marble flooring in both bathrooms. Modern and high quality white bath/toilet units. Towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , King size bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Single beds
  • Main Bedroom is furnished with King bed and built-in wardrobes and a dressing table. 2nd Bedroom has 2 single beds and built-in wardrobes. 5th Person sleeps in a very comfortable 100% Natural Lytex mattress - floor based.. Solid teak wood flooring, floor to ceiling glass with full sea view. Towels provided.
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The following are easily accessible from the apartment block Cinnamon Grand Hotel - Taprobane Restaurant In addition, the hotel offers a wide selection of restaurants such as ' The Lagoon ' - for seafood, ' The London Grill ' - fine dining, The Echo' - Italian, ' The Cheers Pub ' - typically British, ' The Coffee Stop' - for desserts, sandwiches, ' The Tao', ' Breeze Bar'.. etc.... Crescat Boulevard - Food Court The Food Court at the Crescat Boulevard has a number of restaurants to cater to a variety of palettes. ' Sri Lankan', ' Indian ', Korean', ' Malaysian' , ' Chinese', ' Japanese' to name a few, and there's even an outlet offering western favourites such as ' fish and chips'. Crescat Boulevard - Shopping Mall The Boulevard has a range of shops offering exclusive designer wear / perfumes / shoes / jewellery and watches, hairdresser, beauty saloon etc.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties