HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lake Champlain Cottage

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Lakefront 3 Bed/1 Bath Cottage With Breathtaking Views Of Lake Champlain

This spacious cottage is deceptively large as it was once two separate cottages that we joined together. The three bedroom configuration is unique with two of the rooms furnished with queen beds and the middle bedroom with a twin over full bunk bed and twin trundle. The cottage includes a canoe for cruising the lake and two hammocks to take it down. Enjoy a large deck on the lake or screened in porch to relax. There is also an expansive back yard with a golf net and plenty of room to play outdoor games.


Owner
Chris Poulin
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 September, 2017

About Chris Poulin

We are two hard working professionals in the physical therapy and sports performance industry. We travel a lot ourselves and take many of our experiences to continue to improve our guests experience while they stay in the cottage. We grew up in Vermont and currently live in North Carolina but return to our cottage frequently to enjoy all that it has to offer.

Chris Poulin purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Chris Poulin chose Lake Champlain Valley

This cottage as been our family retreat since we bought it in 2006. We have poured time, money and a lot of heart into this cottage. We moved our family to NC in 2012 and now we want to share our private escape with others. You will leave your cares behind the moment you step foot onto "Poulin Shores". May you love this place as much as we have. Looking forward to having you back every year.

What makes this cottage unique

The cottage is on a historic piece of property that has been enjoyed by families for generations. Nearly all of the properties are occupied by their owners due to the great community feel and family friendly atmosphere. We want you to make memories and try to include as much as we can for you to do that.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The picutures are accurate and the camp is wonderful. It was everything we were looking for and more. It's in a very desireable place along Lake Champlain and I highly recommend it. It was perfect for our family of five with a dog. Chris was so easy to communicate with. It was obvious that he loves his property and he is happy that others get to share it. You will be provided with everything you need and it's a short drive for groceries. I've stayed at a number of different places along Lake Champlain in Vermont and this was my favorite by far. The combination of location, space and friendliness of those around you are perfect. We will be back again for sure and I'm already missing the view.
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 8

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Saint Albans Town in Franklin County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • On day of departure sweep clean, take the sheets off the beds that were used and return the cottage to the condition that you found it.
  • Please park in the designated parking area or on the lake side of the road.
  • Trash pick up is Friday morning so please roll the recycling and trash bins to the side of the road Thursday night and return them to the back
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Front Bedroom facing the lake
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , One twin over full bunk bed with a twin trundle
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Back bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Our spacious cottage gives you the feeling that you are on vacation from the moment you arrive. Enjoy lounging in one of the two hammocks, fishing from the dock, paddling in the canoe or make day trips to Burlington and beyond. Be active and social or relax in the privacy that Samson Point in known for.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Champlain Cottage
average rating of 4.5 based on 22 reviews
5

Amazing stay, will be back for sure!!!

  • 5 of 5

Myself and a friend spent 3 nights and had an amazing time. When we first arrived we met the cleaning crew (we were 4 hours early) and they were without a doubt the most amazing people I have met in some time. Cabin was excellent, perfect location about 7 min from town. Right on the lake!! I have no complaints and look forward to many more vacations at this cabin. Chris is an outstanding host and is very quick to respond to emails or phone calls. Honestly the best place to vacation if you have a family and a boat because the fishing at St Albans Bay is phenomenal!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you had a great time Chris and hope to have you back sometime soon. I hope you saved some fish for the rest of us :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to get away!

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at this camp. It's right on the lake and very quiet - a perfect getaway. Chris is an excellent host. The house is rustic but comfortable. The beach is great (with 4 chairs provided), though water shoes are a good idea. The water was a bit too rough for canoeing most of the time we were there, but a canoe is provided. Boats can also be rented on the calmer bay side at Kill Kare State Park a few miles down the road. Sunsets are amazing. It was just what we were looking for in terms of a calm family getaway.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Grasonville, MD
4

Lovely Spot

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the cottage for three nights in early June. It's a beautiful spot and a nice quiet location, yet still close to St. Albans and not too far from Burlington. Great bird-watching and fishing in this area. We would do it again!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful Lake View!

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful lakeside location with access to amenities in town. Loved hearing the loons at night! Cabin is spacious and clean. Suited our needs perfectly. Chris checked in regularly to make sure we had everything we needed. Will visit again.

  • Review Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Troy, NY
5

Spacious house, great view, easy to be here

  • 5 of 5

Only a quiet gravel road separates the house from the shore. You're on a tiny little spit of land on a quiet corner of Lake Champlain (at least at the end of November; there's almost no one here.) From the main living space (dining, living, kitchen) one looks out the front windows through the screen porch, across the road to the deck with benches and chairs built above the gravel slope down to the water, and from there west across the lake. There's a place on the shore for a bonfire, tho we had too much rain.

Lots of room indoors for 2 adults, 2 dogs, 2 teens and a pre-teen. I taught my kids to play Scrabble and there are decks of cards, crayons and games for little kids.

Heat, air conditioning, washer-dryer, well-equipped kitchen -- we came for Thanksgiving and could have cooked and carved our turkey here instead of at home. 2 refrigerators. No dishwasher; plenty of dishes or bring paper. 2 kinds of coffee makers, no popcorn maker but there's a microwave.

Remember to drink the bottled water (provided), but the filtered lake water is just fine for washing, bathing/showering, making coffee, boiling potatos, and giving the dogs to drink. The water pump in the back utility room is barely noticeable and the rest of the house is very quiet. So is outside.

Big back yard has a nice tie-out for a dog, and you can reach it out the back door without stepping off the low back deck, which also has gas grill and the trash and recycling cans. Front bedroom (queen) has view of the lake, sliding doors, and ceiling fan. Middle bedroom (bunk beds) has sliding doors to a little raised deck in the back. Back bedroom (queen) has a side window facing south.

Wifi, limited TV (glad enough not to turn it on). Sheets, towels, pillows and lots of blankets provided. Bring soap, dish detergent, laundry detergent if you're staying that long, spices, oil and vinegar, salt pepper and sugar--there may be some, but it depends on what others have left behind. Plenty of cleaning supplies should you need them.

Chris was attentive (via HomeAway messages) and made sure we had the info we needed before arriving and leaving. Answered questions quickly.

Would we come back? You bet!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

A great cabin for the fall season

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was clean and well equipped including washer/dryer. We were 3 senior guys and lacked for nothing. Wonderful view of Lake Champlain from the deck at the edge lake.

Good value and responsive owner.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Location

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
BTV
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Bayside
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Plattsburg
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Champlain Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Bayside Pavilion

You have access to a private beach and bon fires are allowed but please bring your own wood free of nails etc. There is a washer and dryer on-site.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Saint Albans Town, Vermont

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 22 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£202
for 2 nights
From
£64
From
£83
Fri,Sat
£599
 
 
Thanksgiving weekend
23 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£341
for 3 nights
From
£89
 
 
Nightly Rate
18 Jun 2018 - 21 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
£252
for 2 nights
From
£89
From
£89
Fri,Sat
£599
£2,012
 
 
Nightly Rate
22 Jun 2018 - 25 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
£922
for 7 nights
From
£121
 
 
Nightly Rate
26 Jun 2018 - 28 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
£922
for 7 nights
From
£121
 
 
Summer 2018
29 Jun 2018 - 2 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
£1,205
for 7 nights
£1,205
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£219
for 2 nights
From
£73
From
£101
Fri,Sat
£599
£2,012
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £74.08
Pet Fee £18.52
Damage Deposit £148.16

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Seasonal rates apply June July and August.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable