HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Waterfront 2-Story Log Cottage, Decks,Beach, Canoe & Firepit

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Steffen Log House on North Bay is a beautiful waterfront restored log home with private beach. It is complete w/large kitchen, dining room, l. room, two private decks, large bath, & 2 second-story bedrooms. This historic home has been featured on the cover of COUNTRY HOME MAGAZINE w/complete pictures & story re. North Bay & Door Co. This waterfront cottage offers outstanding views of sunsets over prIstine North Bay.

North Bay Barn Guest House is a remodeled log & frame barn with fireplace, kitchen, living room, loft bedroom sleeping four (4).

Both Steffen Log House & North Bay Barn Guest House are decorated in antiques and comfortable sofas, chairs, and amenities.

Truly Old World charm with modern conveniences.

Woods, lanes, beachfront with over 400 ft. to back lot and more woods, wild flowers, & natural escarpment. A walk to Gordon Lodge!

Keywords: RESTORED MODERN LOG HOUSE WITH CHARM,ANTIQUES,WOODS, YARD, BEACH,& DOCK DOOR COUNTY, WISCONSIN

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
11 March, 2017

About The Owner

We are antique dealers, teachers, B&B owners who love Door County and North Bay!

Our kids were raised in this cottage & loved every day they spent here.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 1977

Why The Owner chose Door County

North Bay is the most pristine & lovely bay in Door County. White swans, pelicans, herons, egrets, ducks, fish of all kinds abound here.

What makes this cottage unique

Hiking, walking, canoeing, kayaking, boating, fishing,sailing, biking, etc. from this area is great. Cana Island is very close. Ephriam is 4 miles away. Quiet times for reading are treasured. (It is always quiet; however, shopping is only 10 minutes away!)

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Baileys Harbor in Door County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 3 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

Waterfront 2-Story Log Cottage, Decks,Beach, Canoe & Firepit
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews
5

Quiet little cottage

  • 5 of 5

This is such a cute cottage, tucked away on a dead end road. Our family of five comfortably stayed here (1 Queen and 3 Twin beds). There were decks on both the front and back of the cottage, which came in handy for both breezy and warm days. We opted to skip the $50 linen fee and we brought our own. However, we should've skipped bringing sleeping bags as there were plenty of blankets there to keep us cozy at night. We also should've skipped bringing life jackets as these were also provided. We enjoyed paddling around on the canoe, grilling on the patio and making s'mores at the large fire pit on the beach. There was a small rough jetty that leads out to crystal clear water. We enjoyed learning the history of this property which was once the location of the North Bay Fish Co. The only thing we missed was the use of a washer and dryer, which was located in the barn guest house. (We only rented the cottage and not the barn guest house in the back.) We easily found a laundromat in Sister Bay. Overall, a great stay!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very nice review. We are so happy you enjoyed our log home and beautiful North Bay. Our family has enjoyed the area for over 40 years. The history of the log house and crib help tell the story of North Bay, fishing background, family life, and the sheer beauty of the area replete with heron, egrets, white pelicans, seagulls, and quiet!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
5

Tasteful, quiet, historic cabin.

  • 5 of 5

Our family of three (teenage son) stayed here in June 2016. Our Door County thing is restaurants, kayaking, galleries and a bit of shopping thrown in. Steffen's cabin was a great headquarters for our activities. It is one of the last places on a dead end waterfront road populated with myriad modest cottages. There were not too many other folks in evidence at the time, and none immediately adjacent. The aforementioned house under construction was quiet, visited only briefly by someone. No noise.

The cabin has a history which the owners, who are antiques professionals, have uncovered and documented. There are photos and records of the North Bay Fishing Company from early in the 1900's. The owner's family has been summering here for some 40 years and there is a display of wistful, happy pictures of those days. The furnishings, cabinetry and work that has been done on the place are well chosen and tasteful. Chairs and beds are comfortable. Kitchen is nice and functional.

North Bay is a new-to-us area of Door County. The bay is large and sheltered. Views and sunsets were gorgeous. Our son has been a shallows explorer since he was little and he had fun wading around the shoreline. We had a couple of nice fires at the water's edge. The Gordon Lodge for supper and the historic Cana Island Lighthouse are a couple of local attractions.

We are going back again in 2017. We recommend the place. It's interesting, offbeat and affordable.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. It is so nice to hear feedback from our renters & know that they are making memories for their families, enjoying the convenient location, & all that North Bay has to offer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quaint Cottage. Not a true 2 bedroom! Great for a romantic getaway!

  • 4 of 5

Everyone vacations for a different reason and somethings are more important to others, so I will state the negatives and positives as I saw them. We have vacationed in DC for over 14 years, staying 9 years at the same place. I rely heavily on reviews and have used VRBO to book properties all over the US.

Pros -

Adorable, cozy cottage

Very clean

Great view of North Bay

Great front and back sitting area

Nicely decorated

Close to the water... but not waterfront! See below.

Great for couples! Romantic.

Makes you unplug

Cons -

This is not a true 2 bedroom. It has an upstairs that is divided into two areas.

The master bedroom wall that separates it from the other sleeping space stops at the door jam, so the ceiling is exposed. You can hear everything that is going on on both sides. Not the most private for couples!

Water is across a private road, you might even call it a driveway, but I asked if there was anything in front of the house and the water and the owner said no. The road dead ends at the next house so it was not busy, but you do need to go across the street and down a path to the water about 100 feet. You do have water views from the front and bedroom.

Uncomfortable furniture. This house doesn't have satelite TV(which we knew about) and the living room furniture is uncomfortable after about 15 minutes. There is a narrow couch and (2) wicker chairs. Not the best for lounging and since we go in the fall when weather can be unpredictable, comfy furniture is a must.

Fire Pit is only on the beach, during the fall the winds were blowing towards the house/pit so we worried about getting a big fire going.

Flies, we were greeted by about 20 plus large flies upstairs. We had no idea where they were coming from. A few flies are understandable, but these were large and loud.

Beach is not swimmable at all, plus a neighbors pier broke apart and washed up so the beach was not usable. Chairs were broken and the pier needs to be replaced. Tall grass in the water.Does not look like the picture on VRBO.

October very little sun hit the house and beach. We could not see a single sunset. Maybe in the summer when the sun is higher.

Lots of houses- you are very close to your neighbors. It was fall and we didn't see many people, but in the summer it might get busier.

Construction next door- we didn't have any noise but there is some building going on that could be noisy.

Happy to send pictures, if needed.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Racine, WI
5

amazing get-away location

  • 5 of 5

Romantic get-away for hubby and me. Loved the Log cottage with private beach and amazing sunsets. Great location as we enjoyed the whole peninsula from this home base. Charming house rich with history & hand painted details.. Equipped with all amenities and VERY clean. Would be great place for 2 couples as well with dining area, large living space and kitchen. We would go back here again. Wild flowers abound!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Where do you live?
2

Musty woodsy cabin

  • 2 of 5

MUSTY cabin, with bay view across the street, not what we would ever call beachfront. Uncomfortable furniture & construction noise in back of the house all daytime. We were not informed of this & it would have been a deal breaker, cabin was not the oasis we were expecting. We have been coming to Door County for 25 years & this cabin was the most disappointing. We did not go with unrealistic expectations- I live in a 170

year old home & know old home issues. The curtains are all only 1/2 of window (construction people) & the stairs are a challenge. Would not recommend. My sister & I decided not to complain while there as there

was no way to correct the problems we saw. We reread old reviews & the fact that there are 4 pictures only should have been a red flag. The owner was pleasant when we questioned her about a faucet. Still, we come a long way (1 from Colorado) for annual sisters week & it was disappointing.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you were there the one week the construction digging was going on. However, the site is over one block away. Hopefully, by spring the cottage next door will be finished. The wicker furniture has been replaced by upholstered chairs. Our descriptions did include we are at the end of a dead end road. We walk across this small road to get to the beach. Very little traffic is ever there. Our cottage is at the end as well. Workers were in the selected area next door; our private lots are 150 in beach frontage.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Richfield, WI
5

Historic Cozy Cottage on a Quiet Bay: Perfect for Families

  • 5 of 5

What a perfect place to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary! This cottage is full of history! We stayed here with our 3 children (15, 12, and 8) and had a lovely time! The cottage is remarkably clean and comfortable. We fell in love immediately when we opened the door. Our children enjoyed learning about the history of the North Bay Fish Company. The owners have books in the home that tell the story of the Fish Company along with many historic documents and photographs. It was so interesting! In the evenings we made memories and laughed as we played games and watched the stars! The campfire pit was perfect for telling stories....we may have made up some stories of lost fishermen at sea! Our favorite part of the cottage was the canoe. We canoed around North Bay and enjoyed the solitude of being with nature. We spotted birds nests, deer, fish, birds, frogs, crayfish and more. So peaceful and relaxing on North Bay yet only 4 miles to Wilson's! This cottage is in the perfect location! Special thanks to the Steffen Family for sharing their special piece of paradise with us! We loved every moment of our vacation! (Especially the fresh cut wildflowers!)

  • Review Submitted: Jul 14, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review. We are happy you had so much fun at Steffen Log House. Your family time there reminded us of the times when our children were younger and the things we did with them all day, every day, at that site. It is a natural slice of North Bay and Door County. We are so happy people still come to Door County for a real Door County experience here.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Baileys Harbor, Northern Wisconsin

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring
1 May 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£482
for 3 nights
From
£161
 
 
Summer
18 Jun 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,185
for 7 nights
£1,185
 
 
Fall
4 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£482
for 3 nights
From
£161
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£482
for 3 nights
From
£161
 

Additional pricing information

Tax Rate 11.0%

If your family needs additional space, the Barn Guest House may be rented simultaneously in conjunction with the Steffen Log House for 500.00 per week.
Please call to discuss.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals