HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Play By Belfast Bay !

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom Spacious Apartment That Accommodates Visitors Of All Ages

This turn of the century home, overlooking Penobscot Bay, has been recently remodeled. First floor access allows for guests with limited mobility to enjoy their stay in our city of Belfast.

The ship building history continues, so walk the water front and enjoy beautiful boats and yachts anchored in the bay and others being refurbished in dry dock! Downtown is a short walk away, offering shopping and eclectic dining.

The Belfast Commons is a stone throw's away from the house and The City Park is also within walking distance where a beautiful playground that was designed for energetic children, too.

More Details

Owner
Brent Macleod
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Spanish, My wife speaks Spanish - emails only
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
14 July, 2017

About Brent Macleod

My parents bought this home in 1959 and it has been passed on to the next generation. I have been in the construction business for 30 years and have worked on various homes in the Belfast area. As a result, I have become acquainted with many very interesting people through my work and I'm looking froward to meeting many more through my rental properties .

I currently live in Freedom, where many people have moved to establish sustainable farms and share their passion to preserve our environment and beautiful state. My wife and I enjoy puttering around our home in the woods, but appreciate Belfast for what if offers us when we want to get a taste of "city life".

Brent Macleod purchased this apartment in 1959

Why Brent Macleod chose MidCoast - Penobscot Bay

VERY quiet and private with outdoor space to enjoy.

This roomy area accommodates four people, comfortably.

What makes this apartment unique

First floor/ single floor living area.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Belfast in Waldo County

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • The bathroom has a double bowl vanity and bath tub/ shower unit.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Room for a roll-away bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Large master bedroom has direct access to entry porch. The 2nd bedroom is bright and cozy.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The house is one block from the bay and within a short walk to historic Belfast, including shopping and wonderful restaurants! Belfast was one of the finest ship building cities in the mid 1800's and many of the homes were built with many of the techniques and tradesmen of that era. Walk through our town and enjoy interesting, period architecture.

Reviews

4.6/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Play By Belfast Bay !
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
So Egremont MA
5

Wonderful porch and location.

  • 5 of 5

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Had coffee ont the porch every morning and spent wonderful afternoons there too.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Belfast Bliss

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I totally enjoyed our two week stay. The house was spacious and comfortable, and our hosts could not have been more accommodating and helpful. It is but a 5 minute walk to the heart of the commercial district with shops and restaurants, but the surrounding neighbors are very quiet and reserved. When we come back next year to Maine, this home will certainly be on our list!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

My wife and daughter and I really enjoyed our stay. The flat is the first floor of a renovated two-story historic home. The second floor was unoccupied during our stay. The flat provided plenty of space to stretch out, a well equipped kitchen, good views of the water, and easy walking access to the waterfront and the shops and restaurants on Main Street from a pleasant neighborhood.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased to have shared our family home with the three of you, and that you were able to enjoy a comfortable stay in Belfast!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very clean, could use another bathroom and more privacy.

  • 3 of 5

The house was very clean and the porch was lovely. Unfortunately during our stay a house was being built across the street, this was noisy. The house sleeps six, but be aware that one of the beds is a futon in the living room with no privacy. This room is contiguous with the kitchen. This means that the people sleeping there are exposed to all the household doings day and night. Also there is only one bathroom, which can translate into a lot of waiting. I was disappointed that the owners charged us sixty dollars out of our two hundred dollar deposit for a dirty bath mat (which could have been thrown in the washer) and a shower liner that costs about four dollars.

On the bright side Belfast has a lovely little downtown with lots of cute shops and restaurants.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Firstly, we never agreed to having 10 (ten) people stay, at any time, in the apartment; we were, frankly, stunned to encounter so many family members when we came to greet you the morning after your arrival. Overuse of the space was confirmed by the seven thirty- gallon trash bags that were left for us to dispose upon your departure. Furthermore, where we are proud to offer a clean and sanitary residence, so we could not, in good faith, reuse a urine soaked bathroom rug. Our apartment is advertised exactly with what was offered on the site.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Fantasic location - wonderful view

  • 5 of 5

My elderly parents grew up in Belfast and this rental was the perfect way to bring back wonderful memories. The location was perfect -- great view of the bay from the beautiful porch. Walking distance from shops & restaurants downtown. House was beautifully furnished, kitchen well stocked -- lots of room. Will definitely be returning.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really enjoyed meeting you and your parents and sharing old stories of people we know from our past, as well! I'm glad you were comfortable in the family "homestead" and relaxed looking over the bay from our favorite porch. We hope to see you in the future, too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Bangor International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Rollie's Bar and Grill
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Lincolnville Beach
Nearest Golf
4.5 Miles
Northport Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Delvino's
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Camden Snow Bowl
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
1 block
Car: recommended

This house is located very close ti Belfast inner harbor and within walking distance to all Belfast has to offer!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Belfast, Maine

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£990
for 7 nights
£990
£2,854
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £58.29
Damage Deposit £155.44

Because we do not have free curbside garbage pick-up in Belfast, we will offer to cover two, large garbage bags of trash per week. Over that amount, we will charge $5.00/bag, which will be paid at the time of departure from the property.
The rental space is available from Friday to Friday, only

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable