HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Vacation Rental Apartment

People6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom /1 Bath 1000 sq foot

Beautiful apartment located in historic Smithfield, Virginia. Only 45 minutes from Williamsburg and the historic battlefields of Yorktown.

Fully furnished 1 bedroom apartment features a full kitchen, laundry facility, private entrance, rear deck with gas grill and in-ground pool. Private off street parking also available.

Large sectional couch as well as air mattresses are available for large families. Maximum occupancy is limited to 6 people.


Owner
Kenneth Bates
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 November, 2017

About Kenneth Bates

We are a professional family of four, Ken is an Marine Engineer and Sheila is an Elementary School teacher.

Kenneth Bates purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Kenneth Bates chose Smithfield

Our property has a guest apartment, which was built for when our parents visit. They only come to Virginia once or twice per year, so we want to share it with travelers who can enjoy the country setting while traveling to historic sites like Williamsburg and Yorktown.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Smithfield in Isle of Wight County

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • resort ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Large bathroom with washer/dryer.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size bed, 36" flat screen TV.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
12% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Vacation Rental Apartment
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
4

Smithfield Culture

  • 4 of 5

This was our last stop of a journey from Washington, to Virginia Beach, Myrtle Beach, Outer Banks and the Carolina's. It was a lovely apartment and had everything we could have asked for, although was a tad dark and could have done with some extra lamps instead of having the big main lights on all the time.

It was well located for us to travel to other parts, and Smithfield's Main Street was lovely, with cafes and eateries, and plenty of little shops to visit, and some historical buildings too. We particularly liked Fort Boykin and spent our last day there.

Sheila and Ken were really nice people and extremely helpful. The only real downside was the pool was off limits as Ken thought the weather was too cold, but for us Brits anything over 70 degrees is HOT, and for a couple of the days when we just wanted to rest up there was no pool to sit by and as it was in the description it was a little disappointing, for this reason we have rated it 4 Stars. However, we would recommend this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m sorry to hear you’re dissapointed with the pool! In Virginia, pools are typically winterized at the end of September in preparation for the winter. When you arrived I explained that we had added winterizing chemicals and that the pool was closed. It also states so in the property description under amenities. It was a pleasure meeting you, and safe travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and Relaxing...we loved it!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time, the Bates are amazing family and now our Family for life, beautiful and clean home, would definitely recommend it to everyone, my family and I felt home away from home...The O'Neil's 9/6/17

  • Review Submitted: 05-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dillsburg, PA
5

A VERY FAMILY FRIENDLY, QUIET, RELAXING AND STRESS FREE GETAWAY...

  • 5 of 5

Let me start by saying as a last minute, and totally impromptu vacation with my wife and kids, we were 100% happy with everything! Starting with Ken & Sheila helping us book the rental because the site was not functioning and finishing with them giving us a bag of ice to keep frozen goods cold for the ride home!

Everything about this rental and the family hosting was totally ideal. Ken and Sheila were exceptional hosts as they told us about many local spots that we used, visited and tried out. This location is centrally located to a variety of venues and attractions including the Williamsburg/Jamestown/Yorktowne triangle, Busch Gardens, Virginia Beach, downtown Smithfield farmers market and so much more. The rental has a quaint back patio/deck with your own private grill to use. unfortunately the grill wasn't working properly so Ken cleaned his personal grill and allowed us to use it instead! They even have a very nice and very clean pool in the back yard that you are allowed to use at any time as part of your rental...we loved that!

The apartment has everything you need and is fully functional for your entire stay, and there is even a "community" cabinet that in case you forgot something for the kitchen, it just may be in that cabinet. We left a bunch of extras behind for the next renters.

I would have to say that one of the coolest things about the stay was that even your TV viewing is all inclusive also, with Netflix & an Amazon Firestick at your disposal. Not that we watched much TV, but when we did, we were able to watch anything we wanted, and that is great with teenage kids.

Finally, I will note and suggest that anyone that has taken the time to read this entire review, should have already booked this rental by now! It is a total pleasure to meet the Bates Family, and they are as helpful and friendly as you could possibly imagine. Our 5 day getaway was a total retreat, and the Bates Family played a huge part in that.

Thanks to you both for all your hospitality, and we will see you again next year for sure!

C.W.

Dillsburg, PA

Stayed August 15-20, 2017

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

At first I felt a little weird when I learned that the apartment was attached to the house. But after learning how awesome the family was and we had our own privacy it was amazing. Ken and his wife was extremely nice and asked all the time if they could make our stay better. When we first arrived we was extremely late in the evening before arriving at the house it was around 9:30 Mr. Bates still came showed the apartment to us and made us feel comfortable about being late. I'll differently be staying with the Bates family again.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Very nice. The Bates were very friendly and helpful. Hope to return soon.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Ken and Shelia were very accommodating and friendly hosts. This place was perfect for the six of us. There was plenty of room and it was very clean and comfortable. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to Smithfield.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Newport News International Airport
Nearest Beach
40 Miles
Virinia Beach Oceanfront
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Smithfield, Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£245
for 3 nights
From
£67
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £44.34

If Guest wishes to terminate rental after arrival, the rental fees will be refunded as follows:

1. No refund will be given if original rental period was 2 weeks or longer.
2. 50% refund If original rental period was 2 weeks or less.
3. Homeowner has 14 business days to process refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals