HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Algonquin cabin for rent all year round

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin


About the property

Come and enjoy our back-to-nature cabin on the majestic Magnetawan river

The cabin is completely detached from the main house close by. It is a 700 sq ft waterfront cabin situated on the Magnetawan river. There are 3 nice bedroom suitable for 4 people.

This is a comfortable camping environment in an ‘Algonquinesque’ setting.

Without electricity and running water in the cabin, the rental is perfect for a back- to-nature experience.

Be prepared for a fantastic experience out of your comfort zone!

You can still charge your cellphone with a power bar connected to the main house. You need to bring your drinkable water and some water for common uses when the river is not accessible like during winter time. There are outdoor facilities (outhouse) and indoor facilities during winter (humanure composting toilet). An inside shower stall is available.

Also, firewood burned in a wood stove is the only heat source in the cabin so you need to be a pro to keep up with the wood stove especially when it is very cold outside.

Firewood is available on site for the fire pit and the wood stove at extra cost.

Experienced campers preferably. Mature adults, nature lovers and quiet people only. No parties please!

Only 2 cars please allowed per booking!

Dogs are considered. Please ask before you make your reservation.

Please ask for any additional guest before making your reservation.

The cabin and the main house are on a 10 acre lot. There is a lot of forest to explore around the cabin.

The cabin is just 20 minutes North from the historical town of Huntsville and 45 minutes West from the gateway of world renown Algonquin Park.

The rental has its own driveway with a delightful walk through the trees. See lots of wildlife including deers especially during winter time. Other than a brief orientation upon arrival, you will not need to interact with anyone throughout your stay if you wish. Also, you will have access to a beautiful trail on the property along the river.

Cooler available onsite. Some pillows are available. Dishes, pots and cutlery are provided.

Picnic table with a standard gas barbecue to cook up your meals outside and a fire pit to enjoy stars at night. Inside there is a bedroom with a queen-size bed, a bedroom with a double-size bed and a smaller bedroom with a single-bed.

Enjoy fishing, swimming, canoeing and kayaking, hiking, snowshoeing, wildlife, and relaxing lifestyle. Listen to the soothing sound of the majestic Magnetawan river nearby. Enjoy swimming and the spectacular scenery all year round in Brooks falls park near by.

What to bring: Bring your towels, sheets, pillow cases and everything you need as for camping except beds, dishes and BBQ! Bring ice for cooler, water, flashlights, bug repellent and life jackets and snow shoes during winter time.

Things to do around Almaguin & Muskoka

From your rental base here at Deer Lake, it’s a comfortable country drive to:

Local Towns

Huntsville, Burk’s Falls, Kearney, Sprucedale, Katrine, Magnetawan

Regional Towns

Parry Sound, Sundridge, South River

Provincial Parks

Algonquin Park, Arrowhead Park, Ragged Falls Park, Mikisew Park

Summer/Spring/Fall Active Adventures

Horseback riding, canoeing and kayaking, birding and nature viewing, nature photography, golfing, fishing, boating, lake & river swimming, hiking, cycling, geo-caching, Treetop Trekking

Winter Active Adventures

Dog sledding, snowshoeing, down hill skiing, cross country skiing, snow tubing, horse-drawn sleigh riding, snowmobiling, tobogganing, ice skating trail

Swimming and Boat Access

Free public swimming at sandy beaches, in deep drop-off lakes and in rushing rivers throughout the region. Some of our favourites include: Doe Lake, Clear Lake, Long Lake, Buck Lake, Round Lake, Magnetawan River, Big East River

Hiking Trails

The Seguin / Park-to-Park Recreation. Locally and regionally, there are the Discovery Routes Trails, Algonquin Park day trails and Arrowhead Park day trails.

Sights of Interest

Brook’s Falls, Screaming Heads, Dyer Memorial, Lion’s Lookout, scenic spots, municipal parks, fall colours

Events, Arts & Culture

Small town Fall Fairs, Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery, Kearney Dogsled Races, Huntsville Half-Marathon Band on the Run, Algonquin Theatre, Huntsville Festival of the Arts, Nuit Blanche North, Huntsville’s Girlfriends Getaway Weekend, Comics on the Rocks, Muskoka Heritage Place pioneer village and railway, antique shops, yard and barn sales, gift and craft shops, art studios and tours


in Huntsville: 3 Guys and a Stove, The Cottage Waterfront Grill, The Mill on Main, On the Docks Pub, Muskoka on the Rocks, Tall Trees, West Side Fish & Chips, big chains and fast food

in the Almaguin Highlands: Danny’s Justa Pasta and The Bistro (Sundridge), Kearney O' Neil (Kearney), Yetis Pizza (Burk’s Falls)

More Details

Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
11 March, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Emsdale in Armour

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • No parties No excessive noise on the property
  • Please leave the cabin as you found it. Dishes done, floor swept
  • No garbage left on the property
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Books
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

46% Complete
33% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Algonquin cabin for rent all year round
average rating of 4.2 based on 15 reviews

Nice camping-like experience. Lovely cabin.

  • 5 of 5

Nice spot by the river. Washroom on the outside, mostly no electricity but a nice stove to keep you warm, in comfortable cabin. Host was very nice, had a chance to taste some Muskoka beer.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Guillaume for your comment. It was a great pleasure meeting you and your family! Carine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Welland Canada

Could be greatly improved

  • 3 of 5

this cabin could be greatly improved by having a covered area over the BBQ & closer to the door. We had a lot of rain during our stay so cooking was not great because of this. The shower stall has a camping shower hanging from the ceiling with was plugged up from what I assume is sand since the water from the river has a lot of sand in it. Thankfully we had a 4 wheel truck to manage the driveway which is becoming overgrown..more like a path through the forest..my Honda Fit would not have managed this driveway. Although you never see anyone the cabin is right beside the owners house. There is a canoe & kayak but there are rapids in both directions which meant we could not go far..the canoe is also patched with tape!! There was also dirty dishes & the wood on property @ cost of $10 a day which you find out about after booking was terrible so we went to get our own...on the plus side there is a very comfortable bed, quiet place. This property could be greatly improved if the owners put in a bit of work...It would also be very easy for them to run water to the cabin for washing.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My response for you to review - Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the cabin on my property. 1 -The BBQ area is uncovered due to fire regulations. Unfortunately it was raining a lot this year. If you had asked I could have provided you with an umbrella. 2 -Yes the shower bag could plug up with sand. Next time I can clean it out for you. I don't take showers at the cabin so I was unaware it was plugged. 3 -The driveway into the cabin has been used without any issues by several drivers of small and large cars for three years. Perhaps you were inexperienced in driving an unpaved road. 4 -Yes I have mentioned that the cabin was beside the house in the advertisement but as you noted we were not in each others space and remained unseen because of the positioning of the buildings. 5 -I spend an average of 3 hours between renters to make sure that the place and the dishes are clean. Sometimes renters will leave dishes in places that are unusual and I don't see it. Please let me know and I can pick them up. 6 -I always give to my guests the option of bringing their own wood. There are many gas stations or convenient stores around that sell fire wood. 7 -I have purposely not running water in the cottage yet as I find that people enjoy getting off the grid and also appreciate the low rental price. 8 -Water is very accessible as the cabin is located right beside the Magnetawan River. Experienced guests can canoe or kayak both ways on the river. I get lots of positive feedback about being on the river as people enjoy fishing, paddling, swimming or just going to sleep beside running water and a beautiful setting. I appreciate your feedback. I believe it may make sense for you to stay at a cabin that is on the grid which will be at a higher price point. Regards, Carine
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Overall a great experience

  • 4 of 5

Only inconvenient part is the washroom is outside, about 20 meters away from the cabin.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great mini- vacation in the wilderness !

  • 4 of 5

Simple but clean little cabin right on the river. The forest around it is beautiful so is the falls walking distance. The owner greeted us warmly and gave us lots of useful tips. We were able to try some river canoeing!

Thank you Carie .

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Julia, I was very happy to meet your family! I am glad to know that you liked it and you are welcome to come back! Each season is very different and offers a unique experience! Warmly, Carine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Winter Weekend

  • 5 of 5

This little cabin was the perfect spot for a quintessential Canadian winter getaway. Heating the cabin with the wood stove was not a problem, as long as you kept the fire well-stoked. The cabin was cozy, yet spacious enough for the 4 of us staying. There was snow much snow! We had five dear greet us in the morning, which was a delight. Lots of skiing and snow-shoeing nearby. The simplicity of a weekend at this cabin was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice property

  • 2 of 5

We arrived after looking at the property online and booking. We felt a little deceived not advertised as being next door to owners house. We went for total privacy. The Wood stove didn't work properly and after trying to keep it warm every time we closed the door with the damp we on the fire went out. It was like the building was just put there on blocks. The last rustic cabin we rented she had books and the fire was going when we got there. We left disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guests, I am glad that you left me a review as I was a little bit concerned not seeing you after your arrival. I want my guests to enjoy their experience on the property so I am hoping that travelers will read carefully the ad and all the reviews as the place is not advertised as a place with total privacy. The cabin is completely detached with its own driveway but my house is beside it as the ad mentions it. I don’t think that there is something wrong with the wood stove; it is a brand new Drolet certified wood stove who has been installed by a certified professional in September 2015. I had guests last fall and last winter; during the coldest days in February (-40 celsius) for 2 nights and I remember that they said to me that they reached a comfortable temperature inside despite the weather. I would like to let my guests know that damp conditions can alter the start of a fire and patience and dry tinder/kindling and logs are the must in these particular conditions. There are some books on top of the closet in the smaller bedroom. The cabin sits on piers like most of the cabins and there are some pictures on the ad that shows the sitting. Again I am sorry to hear that you left disappointed. In the meantime I appreciate that you left me a comment that could help any future guest to make the right choice for their accommodation. Sincerely, Carine
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Emsdale, Canada

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £6 per night, per additional guest

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals