HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

"THE NEST" ~ Charming Conch Cottage Close to the Beach and Duval w/Pool & Grill!

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 28 nights


About the property

2B/2Ba Cottage in Old Town with Dip Pool, Parking & Updated Kitchen/ Baths!


The perfect location for guests who want to walk and bike to everything Key West has to offer. Modern cottage with Old Town Key West charm. Nestled on a hidden lane one block from Duval, you will find The Nest, a hidden Gem.


Spacious Master Bedroom with cozy and comfortable queen bed, ensuite bath with twin vanities and shower for two. The second Bedroom has twin beds and full bath is shared.


Beautiful bamboo flooring provides warmth and a tropical feel. Beautiful blue sky and Key West sunshine fill the rooms with natural light from the many windows. Every amenity has been thoughtfully added for your comfort to provide a true home away from home experience. Tropical Decor with pops of color remind you of your island vacation at every turn. Spacious open floor plan includes gourmet kitchen for casual dining, living room with flat screen TV and French doors to the delightful outdoor space. Heated plunge pool is great after a day of playing in Paradise. Off Street parking for small car is provided, but at this location, you can stroll or bike to all Key West has to offer.

More Details

Property Manager
Best of Key West Rentals Team
Speaks English, Czech
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 April, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Old Town in Key West

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , En Suite
    Guest Bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 Large Double Bed
    Guest Room - 2 Single Bed
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


3.5/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
"THE NEST" ~ Charming Conch Cottage Close to the Beach and Duval w/Pool & Grill!
average rating of 3.5 based on 2 reviews


  • 2 of 5

My fiancé and I stayed at the home for the month of June. The location is perfect. It's located on a cute little side street off of Duval and you can walk to pretty much everything on the island. We brought bikes with us but only used them twice since everything was so close. The home itself is in desperate need of updating. Within the first few days of our stay we had to request that the rug be removed because of the strong dog pee smell coming from it. Brian with the management company was great. He removed the rug immediately and took it to the cleaners. Unfortunately not everything could be addressed that easily. The home is advertised as being able to accommodate 6 people. This is borderline false advertising in my opinion. We had guests stay with us for a few nights. After the first night on the sofa bed, our guests were in so much pain that they bought an air bed to sleep on. Besides for the sofa bed being completely useless, there is obvious wear on the couch that over time has caused the "leather" to flake off and create a hole. If you sat on that area of the couch you would have to pick the leather flakes off of you when you got up. This is not something that I was expecting to see for the amount of money that we paid. The mattress in the master bedroom needs to be replaced, you can feel the springs and the bed dips really bad in the middle. After our first night we ended up buying new sheets for the bed because they were so worn out and scratchy. Towards the end of the month my fiancé and I had such bad back pain that we slept in the room with the twin beds. Overall the location made any issues that we came across somewhat tolerable, however, if we were in high season and paying any more for the home, we would have left and disputed the charge. The attention to detail just isn't there. The grounds really need to be tended to and cleaned up. We had to clean up old cat poop from the side of the pool when we arrived and had to constantly shake out a tarp covering the owner’s bicycle every time it rained so that it wouldn’t become a breeding ground for mosquitos. We were told that the owner had recently stayed at the home which, to be honest, was a complete shock considering all of the issues. I truly believe that if the home was updated and more attention was paid to the details this home would be great. Hopefully in the near future the owner will properly update the home and grounds but for now we will not be booking an additional stay.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your honesty and details regarding the issues you found to be unacceptable. We are sorry to hear that you did not feel the rental met your expectations. However, we are surprised by your account of the home as we have had a full calendar year filled with guests who have decided to return. The last review before yours, 5 stars, is from guests who had booked the entire peak season at the highest rate and have already signed up to return next season with a rate increase. I'm glad Brian was able to help you immediately with the rug and he would have done the same in terms of the sheets had you let him know of the issue. We do not feel that the home was misrepresented because the pictures are up-to-date and a great representation of what the guest can expect. In general, sleeper sofas are not known for their exceptional comfort and are used for a temporary stay for extra guests when the space is need. The home is represented as having two bedrooms with a sleeper sofa for extra guests when necessary. The owner has agreed to replace the sofa due to the finish beginning to flake off so this will no longer be an issue. We have never had a complaint or any guest mention an issue with the queen mattress and we had guests right before and after your stay. So, we are looking into this due to your complaint but mattresses are very much a personal preference and cannot be a perfect fit for each guest. We are sorry you found animal waste on the deck but Key West is fraught with stray cats and iguanas that roam free and use the island as they please. We would love to say we can prevent them from this yard specifically but that is not a realistic notion. We are also surprised by your account of the grounds, as there had just been a deep clean by the landscaper two days before your arrival. We pride ourselves in providing accurate pictures and descriptions of the home so that guests feel comfortable booking from afar, as sight-unseen bookings are the most common situation we encounter. We do not take lightly that our guests are spending their hard-earned money on a vacation in Key West so we want to exceed their expectations and offer an incredible rental home/ experience. Again, we are sorry to hear that this was not the case for your stay. We urge our guests to let us know if they find issues with the home so that we have the opportunity to try and remedy the situation and exceed expectations. We cannot address problems after the fact.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Outstanding location, property, and site manager!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second stay in Key West and our second rental. We rented "the Nest" for three months and have already signed on for three months next year as we absolutely love this place. First reason is the location - it is situated on a small lane off of two popular streets - Duval and Whitehead. Every day we walk and it is only a 15 minute walk to Mallory Square to watch the ships dock in the morning and the sunset in the evening. We are only one block off of Duval - ten minute walk to Faustos for food, around the corner from the Green Parrot Bar and liquor store as well as spas within a block. Second, the cottage is beautiful and the owners created a place that is quite efficient. When you see the square footage, you might think that it is too small but it is so open and efficient that you do not feel closed in. I love the new appliances and everything in this place matches a décor of palm trees and Key West living. It is tastefully decorated and has what you need. Last year, I brought everything down and this year decided that I would just come and not bring stuff to make it personal. It was a great decision as they had everything I needed here. The only thing I bought was a garlic press as I loved all the serving bowls, dishes, etc. The bedrooms are decorated beautifully and tastefully. It is very comfortable for four people whether you eat inside at the counter or outside. We had six people for three days during our stay and it was workable although I think four is just perfect. I love the outside deck and dip pool. The deck is enclosed with palm trees and bamboo - the only noise we hear is the singer from the Rum Runner at night which is good for us as we like the music and you never hear it late at night. Amenities are great and the location is really quiet. We are only four blocks from Blue Heaven, Santiago Bodega, and Six-toed Cat restaurants which are great. We are around the corner from Charlie Mac's, Frita's Cuban Burgers, and only one block from Mangos restaurant and Aqua - which is a great drag show every night. Willie T's has great music and it is on the other block. So great location, great cottage that was clean and well-maintained when we got here and it is managed by Brian, who is outstanding. He is the site manager that works with us if we have an issue. I loved having this service as everything has worked smoothly. Would recommend this place to everyone. Kudos to the owners and Truman & Co. for a great place!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are thrilled to have you both back and to hear how you enjoyed The Nest! It is greatly appreciated that you took the time to write this beautiful account of your stay filled with complements and positive feedback! Your description of the location, local attractions, restaurants and activities will be so helpful to future guests! Brian is a wonderful addition to our team and he has had countless compliments, so I am not surprised he offer great service during your stay! Thanks for mentioning his efforts! He has truly enjoyed working with you and we are all excited for you to return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Key West International Airport
Nearest Ferry
0.9 Miles
KW Express
Nearest Beach
0.8 Miles
Fort Zachary Taylor
Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Old Town, Lower Florida Keys

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Late Season 2018
1 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
28 night minimum stay
for 28 nights
Spring/ Summer 2018
1 May 2018 - 15 Aug 2018
28 night minimum stay
for 28 nights
Late Summer 2018
16 Aug 2018 - 14 Oct 2018
28 night minimum stay
for 28 nights
Fall 2018
15 Oct 2018 - 30 Nov 2018
28 night minimum stay
for 28 nights
Early Season 2018-19
1 Dec 2018 - 15 Jan 2019
28 night minimum stay
for 28 nights
Season 2019
16 Jan 2019 - 31 Mar 2019
28 night minimum stay
for 28 nights
Spring/Summer 2019
1 Apr 2019 - 15 Aug 2019
28 night minimum stay
for 28 nights
My Standard Rate
28 night minimum stay
for 28 nights

Additional pricing information

Exit Clean £142.04
Pool Heat - Upon Request £106.53
Mid-Stay Clean £142.04
Pet Fee £177.55
Damage Insurance £31.96
Reservation Fee £142.04
Tax Rate 12.5%

***Please see property manager's website, bestofkeywestrentals.com, to view the most accurate calendar and review our policies and procedures!

Early Season and Season Bookings
Arrival: 1st Day of Month / Depart: Last Day of Month

We reserve the right to deny requested dates if they decrease the optimum booking layout for the property's calendar.

All guests must be at least 25 years of age to be considered. All guests under 25 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian. Spring break groups are prohibited and eviction strictly enforced with no refund.

A booking fee will be added to each reservation.

50% is due upon reservation with the balance due 60 days prior to arrival.

Guests are strictly prohibited from hosting a party or event at the rental property without written permission from our company.

***We highly recommend waiting to book flights until you have fully secured a reservation; meaning you have received the email confirmation and have made your deposit payment.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals