HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Family & Pet-friendly Upscale Beachfront home newly available at Salt Island

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
5 - 7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Westbrook Center - Upscale Beachfront Home 3 flrs

3/4 BR, 2.5 BA on sandy beach with panoramic views of LI sound

Enjoy beachfront living don't lug your gear to the beach, just open the door and step onto your private patio. Enjoy fabulous sunsets from all 3 floors or your 3rd floor deck, explore Salt Island at low tide or stroll down the beach to Water's edge. The 2nd flr Master bedroom has great views and a private granite bathroom. Third flr has 2 bedrooms one with a 10'x18' deck. Gourmet granite kitchen, dining area and spacious living room. Flat screen TV's, DVD player, Bose Surround sound, California closets, Granite bathrooms.. Not a typical beach cottage. Luxury abounds with gorgeous views on direct waterfront.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Lisa Carlson
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
30 October, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

Family & Pet-friendly Upscale Beachfront home newly available at Salt Island
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
5

Lovely Beach Stay

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this home in Westbrook for a family gathering in Connecticut for the Thanksgiving holiday. Was the perfect accommodation for our family of 6 and one dog. Fully equipped kitchen gave us all necessities for breakfast & lunch and evening board games. Loved walking on the beach and had beautiful weather to enjoy the patio one afternoon. Master bedroom had nice touches to make it cozy with candlelight and soothing sound of waves rolling on the shoreline. Wonderful dining options in the Westbrook community. We travelled heavily with holiday plans but loved having a quiet retreat for mornings and evenings. Would definitely love to visit during warmer weather and enjoy more of the patio and deck. Thanks for sharing your treasure!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Property

  • 5 of 5

We live in Connecticut and love being able to drive to "The Little Jewel". This is the second consecutive year that we have been welcomed by owners, Steve and Lisa. They are gracious and mindful owners of this beautifully located and well maintained property. We enjoy the peacefulness of the area (including many fantastic dinners in the lounge of Cafe Routier) and so enjoy walking the beach. During low tide you can walk out to Salt Island. In addition to being able to walk right off the patio on to the beach, the most amazing aspect of this home is the third floor deck. The views are spectacular!! Spending time there is the perfect way to start and end each day. We find the accommodations clean and comfortable; truly an excellent value! We look forward to our 2017 vacation at "The Little Jewel" !

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Christine. You are always a pleasure to have. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not accurately portrayed and over priced

  • 2 of 5

Although the proximity of the property to the water was beyond expectations, the property itself left much to be desired. Just to list a few areas that were most obvious; there was food left on the BBQ grill from the previous renters, pots and pans all had to be scrubbed and scraped to remove baked on food, there was sand on the inside of the window sills, the covers to the heating system were rusted and dirty, the chairs in the dining room were torn on both the backs and the seats as if they had been shredded, there was an insufficient numbers of pots, pans and glasses for wine, the upstairs bathroom was not even shown in the VRBO pictures and it was easy to see why. The bathroom was gross, the positioning of the toilet made it impossible to sit facing forward. We had to sit sideways on the toilet in order to use it. The garbage can had a hole in the bottom which allowed food and liquid from the previous renter to leak out causing an odor and a swarm of bees right by the front entrance. The bathroom in the master bedroom was off limits to use as a bathtub and could only be used as a shower. Pictures had been removed from the walls and just the devices for hanging remained. Finally, in the kitchen was a huge EMPTY fish tank that was an eye sore and the tank in the living room was completely covered with algae on the inside with one poor fish swimming inside. This house was not worth the price that was charged. We believe that the pictures are misleading in regards to the condition and decoration of the home. Very disappointed!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is completely unfair and unexpected. Before their stay they contacted us numerous times. Unfortunately we did not receive any contact about complaints or concerns during their stay, where we could have had the opportunity to address them. We have the house professionally cleaned and we inspect it between renters. Our house is fairly priced and has many features that are simply not available at other beach homes in this area. Please read our other reviews including the one other negative one (due to construction next door) and you will understand that this person is clearly one of those people that love to complain and are never happy. It's truly unfortunate to have no notification of a problem until we are blindsided by a negative review.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay they call this house the little jewel and I can see why its location is perfect you are minuets away from great restaurants and grocery stores or if you just want to stay home this house is loaded with everything you need the kitchen has plenty of room to entertain .we loved the deck just a few steps down to a refreshing swim the owners even left a kayak for us to use after a full day of swimming kayaking and exploring salt Island you can go to the upper deck and enjoy the most spectacular sunset I have ever seen we took lots of pictures it was amazing we will definatly come back !

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manchester Center, VT
5

Perfect location.

  • 5 of 5

We Live in Vermont, but grew up on the" Island of Long," that is right across the sound, from the CT shore ;--) . So when I starting looking for a house, on the CT shore, this one caught my eye. It sits right on the water, with steps to the water at high tide. and a wonderful beach at low tide. The three bedrooms worked perfectly, for us, 5 adults and my two grandchildren. The kitchen is well equipped, plenty of space for dining, and the living room sofas were very comfortable. There is also great outside seating. I took advantage of the outdoor shower, which works well, however it would be nice to have a small enclosure around it.

The best part of this home is the soothing sound of the water against the shore. I loved falling asleep to the gentle, rhythm , that only the shore line provides.

The location is perfect, as it is an easy drive to the grocery store, as well as the many dining options in the area. At low tide, you are able to walk to a sand bar, and also out to Salt Island, which my son and granddaughter, Maggie, who is only 5 did twice! It is an excellent idea to buy and use water shoes, on this shore to protect your feet from the sand crabs and shells, of which there are now less since Maggie took home quite the collection. We enjoyed eating at Bill's seafood, BOOM, and the Old Saybrook Point Inn & Spa. Although the homes on are very close together, I found the neighbors very friendly. Being right on the shore, has so many advantages and joys! We saw crabs, as well as fish jumping out of the water, an osprey dive from the sky for his dinner, and egrets walking the shallows, hunting a meal. Looking for a CT shore line home, this is one you should consider.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Ok

  • 2 of 5

Our first two days were wonderful we were in full relax vacation mode. Then at 8 a.m sharp monday morning and every morning there after we were woken to the sound of hammers ,drills. Men yelling. We were so annoyed. Called owner Lisa she was understanding as was her husband. They tried to offer a few solutions. But our vacation was ruined... With stressful jobs and stressed out college kids we were really needing to relax,. Not knocking the location or house that part was great. But a heads up as to the construction literally five feet away would have been nice. Cut our stay short by a day,and planned day trips to avoid losing it. Looks like it will continue for awhile.. Not the vacation we had expected.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, the construction was a surprise to all of us. Because we felt bad about it and had no control over it, we had offered a much nicer and larger beach and patio for your exclusive use 300 feet down the beach. As you can see by the most recent response, the situation has been rectified. Since you were happy with the location and house, I would discuss another stay, free of charge if you so desire. We have had all 5 star reviews as our tenants have enjoyed the house as much as we do.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Bradley (BDL) Hartford/Springfield
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Bills, Frankie's upper deck
Nearest Ferry
24 Miles
New London
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Amtrak stops in Old Saybrook
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I95
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Cafe Routier one of the best in CT
Nearest Beach
Middle Beach right outside your door
Car: recommended

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Westbrook Center, Connecticut Shore

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Spring 2017
27 May 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,920
for 5 nights
From
£394
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,483
 
 
summer 2017
17 Jun 2017 - 9 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,877
for 7 nights
£2,877
 
 
Fall 2017
10 Sep 2017 - 15 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,483
for 7 nights
£2,483
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £118
Cleaning Fee £118
Refundable Damage Deposit £788

Well behaved pets are welcome subject to approval and additional fee of $150. Please call for pricing. 860-510-2272.
Available for long or short term rental and off season academic rental

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Westbrook Center in Connecticut Shore

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , 1st flr off living room
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi , 2nd flr Master Bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , 3rd flr bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Master Bedroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 3rd flr with water view & deck
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 3rd flr bedroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot