HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Claudio or Kahina

Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Dutch

Big Victorian Charmer w/Waterviews. Steps to Beach, Town & Ferry.

People10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday home in Oak Bluffs - Big Victorian Beach House

Waterviews, 5 bedrooms, 2 full baths, Big porch, Private Yard - Sleeps 10

Old vineyard classic full of authentic/rustic cottage charm (original Victorian cathedral windows and doors) but with a brand new (2016) kitchen, bathrooms (2016) and side deck (2016). The location is ideal just across from the Inkwell beach and situated in the heart of the Copeland historic district. The classic 1851 Victorian beach cottage has 5 bedrooms and comfortably sleeps 10 people. The porch has ocean/inkwell beach views and outdoor seating for 10 - outdoor breakfast nook (4), rocking chairs (2), wicker sofa (2) and wicker chairs (3).

Our private side lawn is perfect for family and friends to gather, grill and play. We have croquet set, and various games on the property for relaxing summer play.

The renowned inkwell beach is steps away with the charming oak bluffs harbor, ferry and quaint main street (restaurants, shopping) just a 5-6 minute stroll way. The house is on a quiet street in a central location with newly rebuilt Niantic park tennis courts, new playground and basketball courts right down the street. The Big Park (Waban Park) is right behind the house perfect for flying kites on the ocean breeze or kicking around a soccer/football. The spacious house has 5 bedrooms with high speed internet, DVD and Cable TV.

In addition, for larger parties, there is a guest cottage on the property next door available for rental that has a separate high-speed wi-fi, shower, kitchen, laundry and outdoor seating and perfect for 2 people who want a small retreat. Video of interior available.

Outside Dining & Porch: If your family and friends love living outside and walking back and forth to the beach then look no further. The house is literally 50 steps away from Inkwell beach. We have plenty of lounge areas - our side yard (afternoon sun) includes a large outdoor table (seating for 10) with a large umbrella, lounge chairs, porch breakfast table with morning sun, porch sofa, porch rockers, beach chairs, beach towels and comfy lawn adirondack chairs. The large porch wraps around to allow shade seekers on the porch to easily converse with sunbathers in the garden. There are beds of roses, hydrangeas and rhodendrums to enjoy. In addition, there is a gas grill. In 2016, we have all brand-new appliances in the kitchen include gas stove with electric convection baking oven, extra large double door fridge, extra large washer & dryers. With a brand new on demand hot water heater and new electrical wiring in 2015-2016, everyone can take hot showers while doing laundry and the dishwasher. In addition - TV, DVD and Wi-Fi on the property.

Sleeping Well: While we believe it is the ocean breeze that gives you such a good nights sleep here, we also have high quality mattresses, pillows, blankets and linens in all the bedrooms. In the two master bedrooms, the pillow-top mattress are covered in 600-1000 count cotton sheets for maximum comfort. In addition, each master bedroom has an iPOD/iPHONE *adapters for the new iPhone 6 available* music docking station for those of you who want to hear your favorite tunes while you drift off to sleep or get up early to watch the stunning ocean sunrise.

This is our home and we are happy to invite you to enjoy the house. We ask you to treat this home like your own, with care and appreciation as one of the oldest homes in Oak Bluffs.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Claudio or Kahina (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Dutch

About Claudio or Kahina

We are a family of four with two young children. I grew up in New England, and the vineyard was always a magical summer place for me. My husband grew up in the mountains of Italy, but once he came to the vineyard, he also fell in love with the island spirit. When we walked into this house, we knew our search for our family summer home was complete. We are pleased to share the laid-back charm the vineyard has to offer with a few select families each year. The Copeland / Inkwell neighborhood has a rich history. It is a friendly neighborhood, with families that have been "summering" for generations. It is a house best suited for families or close groups of friends looking to enjoy a beach holiday with the unique charm of summer vineyard living. A change of pace from busy modern life.

Claudio or Kahina purchased this house in 2011

Why Claudio or Kahina chose Martha's Vineyard

We were looking for many years to buy a house that had retained it's original architecture -- and a place where you could literally smell the ocean. The moment we walked into this house, we knew it was the right place for us. We could feel the warmth of joyful beach days over the generations. We take great pride in keeping the original feel of the place but are happy to make it very comfortable for our family and guests. The kitchen and bathrooms has been completely remodeled in 2016, with all new appliances. All updates were carefully planned with a renowned local architect and approved with the historic commission to ensure a modern update that would respect the original design of the house and the neighborhood. As one of the oldest homes in the district, the house is a living treasure and monument to the seaside charm and the resort days of Victorian New England

The island is a place to refresh, renew and retreat from the modern life and pace of the main land. There are no Starbucks, no chain restaurants, no traffic lights. It reminds us of a slower time when we found the time to connect with each other and the beautiful nature around us. The house has been with only a handful of families since it was built and we consider ourselves proud caretakers of a tradition that will be around for many more generations to come. It is quintessential rustic vineyard cottage living and we hope you love it as much as we do.

What makes this house unique

You can wake up and see/hear the ocean from the master bedroom. The porch is big and welcoming for afternoon chats. The yard big enough for big lunch/BBQ/teatime with your guests. In minutes, walking through the historic district or along the beach, you can fly a kite or get an ice cream or play a game of tennis. The water and sunrise is an important element of the backdrop, as you live your whole day under the blue skies. The location allows for a morning stroll to the harbor along the beach, or a 10K bike ride in between the sand dunes, or a quiet moment to sit on the big rock and watch the ocean horizon. For us, it is the hard to find, perfect in-town location, friendly neighbors and right at the beach. It is quite simply - our favorite place to be.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)
Big Victorian Charmer w/Waterviews. Steps to Beach, Town & Ferry.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
5

Spacious, comfortable, convenient!

  • 5 of 5

We spent an early season week here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was perfect -- steps from the beach, blocks from town, an easy bike ride to Edgartown, all on a quiet street. All the bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. Beautiful, comfortable front porch! The kitchen and bath were new this year, including high quality applicances. The house was spotless and charming, with thoughtful touches everywhere. The owners were quick to respond to questions and very helpful. My only suggestion: the bedrooms need window shades to keep out the streetlights and sun. We will be back!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Henry, Thanks so much for your visit and your kind words about the house. We invest a lot of love, energy and time in the house are happy when guests can enjoy their time here. We are looking forward to having you back :) Yes, I am putting blinds in all the upstairs bedroom windows this Fall - great suggestion!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

No Communication

  • 3 of 5

We booked this property in January for a week this summer, but haven't received any response to emails and calls to one domestic and one foreign telephone number placed repeatedly over the last three months. We have paid in full, but are very worried about the lack of response. Can anyone who has rented this property in the past give us any reassurance that this is normal for the owners?

  • Review Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I don't think its fair to us or future guests to review the house (with our worst rating) before you even stayed in it. We just spent considerable investment upgrading the entire house with high end kitchen, bathrooms and laundry room. It would be appreciated if you actually reviewed the house instead of using this channel to voice your complaint. Since your family successfully stayed in our home, it would have been nice to update your rating with an actual review of the house. What is true, is that our family moved from the UK to USA during the beginning of this year and our mobile number changed. There was trouble reaching us during our family move. This kind of review is really unkind after we spent so much effort making the house comfortable for everyone, because you didn't get enough response in time. Hope you find another home and another family next year that better suits your communication expectations. This is not a business, it is our family home and we expect & give kindness and respect from those who visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I recently spent a week at this house, and we all enjoyed it greatly. The rooms are clean and bright, the kitchen is roomy (a feature that can be hard to find in a vineyard rental), and we especially liked the side yard with grill. The location couldn't be better; the beach is just down the street and the town is about a 5 minute walk. We had a lovely vacation, and hope to rent this property again next summer.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you had a great vacation! Looking forward to welcoming you back next year.. In 2016 we are totally renovating (and expanding) the kitchen next year so you will be able to walk right into the side yard from the kitchen. The best of outdoor/Indoor dining with beach breezes. Thanks again for visiting!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome location and a charming house

  • 5 of 5

My wife and daughter stayed at this home in the summer of 2014 and we couldn't have had a better time. We were joined by another couple with 2 small children and the house was the perfect size to accommodate us all. Great restaurants, the carrousel and beach are only 5-10 minutes away max.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Oak Park, IL
4

Great location, however...

  • 4 of 5

The home is in a perfect location. You really don't need a car since everything is a 2 -10 minute walk. The beach, bike paths, restaurants and shopping right at your doorstep! I thought the home could stand to be given a little TLC. The house was clean, the beds were clean & quite comfortable and there was ample room for the 5 in my party. The stairways have narrow treads & risers which may not be great for the elderly or small children. Small, inexpensive repairs or just attention to detail would dramatically improve the overall guest experience. Here are two examples, there is a wonderful glide rocker in the living room which squeaks very loudly every time you glide or rock. A $3.50 can of WD-40 could easily alleviate this issue. The noise created by the chair is annoying when you're trying to have a conversation or just watching a bit of television. If you like to cook or like to cook while on vacation, don't make any grand plans to do so while renting this home. The pots & pans and prep ware are not so good. Anyone who considered themselves a "real cook" would be very disappointed. I attempted to use a garlic press that looks like it was manufactured in the 1940's!! That didn't work out so well. Once again, a quick trip to TJMaxx or Marshalls for a decent set of pots, pans & cooking utensils, would have improved my guest experience. Despite these situations, I really enjoyed my vacation. It's really a wonderful house, I just wish the owners / care takers maximized the potential of such a lovely space in such a great location.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the your feedback, we have passed it on and will get that rocker sorted out quickly. We are very happy you enjoyed your vacation at our home. We are undergoing major TLC updates this fall and winter, as we do every year. The house does have some vintage pieces of cutlery and tools (lobster pot is probably 30 years old;) that we find charming and can't bear to toss out. However, we do buy new appliances, pots and pans every year for our guests to use. This year we had a new fridge, new stove, new blender, new coffee machine, new table cloths, glasses and silverware. I will make sure we add a garlic press to the list for next season, and we hope to have you back again. Just a note for families with small children. We have two year old twins, and it is true you need to be careful with the children on the stairs, especially the back stairs. There is a baby gate in the laundry room for guests to use. We have many families with small children who love the house, and we have two high-chairs and baby-cots that we leave for guests to use. It is a family-friendly beach home, meant for sandy feet and evening chats on the porch. We appreciate the time you took to give us feedback. We hope you will visit us again. We will continue to invest in the house each season, as it grows with us and our family. We are happy to share our family beach home with you and all our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

Beach house had everything to make our stay comfortable. Loved that this house had linens and plenty of towels/beach towels. A nice surprise was the A/C in all the upstairs bedrooms. Quick walk to town, beach was right out the front door. Nice side yard , clean, manicured, we brought an inflatable pool and had plenty of room! The house could use some TLC - bathrooms, screens, exterior doors,laundry room- but one of the better rentals for the price.

Pictures accurate, homeowners great to deal with. Close to everything- many great restaurants! Can't wait to go back!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Donna, thanks so much for your review and kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time, and look forward to welcoming you back to the island. Look out this fall for a major TLC project which will make the house even more comfortable for your next visit. Happy summer and hope we have made a true Inkwell Beach / Copeland Historic district fan. See you soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Location

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Martha's Vineyard Airport
Nearest Ferry
700 Metres
Woods Hole / Oak Bluffs Steamship Authority
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Inkwell
Car: not necessary

Old Victorian Seaside Charm - Sit on the big porch and gaze at the famous inkwell beach (just steps away!) Wake up in the Master Bedroom (King Size Bed) with direct ocean views from your bed or private balcony. Nestled in the heart of the historic district and just a few minutes walk to town, shops, harbor or the ferry. There are five bedrooms in the Main House with a full bath downstairs, a newly renovated full bath upstairs, a newly renovated kitchen/laundry room and bathroom. A large outdoor shower is just off the lawn. There is a small studio cottage next door available for an guest-overflow for an additional weekly rental fee. The cottage next door has it's own private outdoor seating, separate grill, full bath and kitchen. The beach bike path starts right at our doorstep - with windsurfing, kayaking, clamming all nearby. Just up the street are the neighborhood tennis courts, basketball court and playground. High speed Wi-FI for both properties, as well as extensive book library, DVD and family board games. We welcome you into our home to truly enjoy life at the island pace. Follow/Like us @ Facebook.com/inkwellhouse

Golf just a few minutes away: Golf the links while overlooking the Nantucket sound. Challenge your swings with the ocean breezes and the incomparable beauty of the the island.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Last Minute September 2016
28 Aug 2016 - 8 Sep 2016
4 night minimum stay
£1,926
for 4 nights
£3,228
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£3,987
for 7 nights
£3,987
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £759
Cleaning £190

Studio Beach Cottage (Sleeps 2) available next door to main house for larger parties. Please ask for availability if you are interested in renting both properties.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Oak Bluffs in Massachusetts

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • city centre
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • town ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full Washroom w/Shower - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs in back of house past kitchen and laundry room
    Outdoor Shower - Outdoor Shower , Large family size outdoor shower to wash off sand & sports
    Upstairs Bath & Shower - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Upstairs a newly renovated bathroom with a shower (May 2015)
  • A full bathroom downstairs off of a laundry room with a washing machine and dryer. A full bathroom upstairs serves the upstairs bedrooms. There is an additional full bath with a shower in the guest cottages and additional laundry facilities.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Garden Sunrise Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Delightful cathedral ceilings and ceiling fans
    The Loft Room - 2 Single Bed , In the middle of the house perfect for kids
    Low Garden View - 2 Single Bed , A direct garden view, just off the dining area downstairs
    Nantucket Park View - 1 Large Double Bed , Quiet hideaway in the back with great light and facing park
    Master Bedroom w/Balcony - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Oceanviews from Bed and Balcony
  • Main House - 4 Bedrooms upstairs, 1 Bedroom downstairs. The large master bedroom benefits from a King size bed, private balcony with ocean views, rocking chair, bookshelf, iPOD docking station, walk in closet, alarm clock and. The garden bedroom (high garden view) room upstairs has Queen Size Bed, cathedral ceilings, a full closet, iPOD docking station and a ceiling fan. The 3rd bedroom (loft room) upstairs has two single beds suitable for children or young adults. The 4th bedroom (nantucket park view) upstairs has a queen size bed and is quietly located at the back of the house, with sun all day. The 5th bedroom downstairs has two twin beds, with a ceiling fan and dresser. All bedrooms have air conditioning units. The studio beach cottage next door is suitable for up to 2 people for additional rent. The beach studio is on a separate lot, has a private, fenced-in seating area with a gas grill. The house library has a wide selection of children and adult games, books and DVDs
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties