HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Presidential Retreat, Washington, DC

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Silver Spring - Garden Suite, Wash DC, MD

Minutes from the top monuments, museums, galleries, historical Sites In The USA!

Newly REMODELED— A sweet suite suited for discriminating guests.

"Minutes from the top monuments, museums, galleries, historical sites and entertainment, restaurant venues in The Country."

Follow a welcoming rose shrouded, brick walkway to the keyed, screened wooden Apt. entrance door.

Book the entire, architecturally designed, lower-level of this vintage, center-hall, colonial; a minutes walk to D.C.'s Red line/downtown metro; neighborhood shops, restaurants, parks, tennis, jogging/bike trails, playground abound; delve into a plush, grand, quilt covered bed. A side, folding, rolling sleep-chair may also be accessed for repose. Abundant closet, shelving space abounds.

Wall-to-wall, classic ceramic tile is a delight everywhere underfoot. A grand picture window shrouded in philodendron, framed in Ipswich Pine floods the interior in sunshine. An apple play/Wk. station connected to "ultra" high-speed Fios Internet is a sweet suite perk. A shower stall enclosed period, porcelain claw-leg tub is a pleasing way to soak up your stay.

A glistening stacked, washer-dryer, a nearby, backyard picnic table, pawley island hammock and all-new hot tub in a wooden privacy fence are included amenities.

A Stainless Steel, fully equipped cozy, galley kitchen make dining in as good as dining out.

The flat, of course, is centrally heated & thoroughly air-purified & conditioned.

The apartment comfortably accommodates 3 to 4 adult guests.

Ample, “Free” Curbside Parking is regularly available.

An abundance of herbs, wildflowers, fruit trees and rambling raspberry bushes blanket the grounds.

Immaculate. Peaceful. Picturesque.

An artistic, pet, nature lovers, on the go, visitors haven!

Special consideration is given to expressive "Global Warming" advocates.

Official Occupants' ID's (Passports/Driver's licenses, etc.) required.

Check in time: after 4pm ( late check-in convenience fee of $50 after 9 pm)

Check out time: by 10 am ( convenience fee of $50 for later checking-out )

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Property Manager, Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Russian, Polish, Finnish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
15 November, 2016

About Property Manager, Owner

Hosts: Pratt Alumnus, Creative Director, Michael Enfield; Anna Karewicz, Registered

Architect, LEED AP

Hosts seriously hope to accommodate guests of the highest caliber

w/impeccable taste and savoir faire.

Property Manager, Owner purchased this apartment in 1999

Why Property Manager, Owner chose Maryland - Washington DC

Location. Location. Location: "A Country Like Setting Minutes From Washington, D.C.; Located In Affluent, Peaceful Southern Montgomery County, Maryland."

What makes this apartment unique

Close Proximity To The Capital, An Abundance Of Globally Recognized, Historical, Late, Great And "Happening" Visitor Attractions.

Visiting The Nation's capital is a given, natural "right of passage" to all guests and citizens of the USA!

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

Presidential Retreat, Washington, DC
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
5

A complete sweet suite for my five day stay

  • 5 of 5

I really enjoyed my stay here as a home away from home while I attended a professional course in downtown Silver Spring. It only took me about 10-15 minutes to drive downtown and park, which was very convenient. I liked coming home to Leo the outdoor cat greeting me on the front walkway. The hosts have friendly, beautiful dogs too that were upstairs and well behaved.

The place was spotless, and has a very nice yard. Even though this is a lowest level apartment, the screen door and window bring in fresh air and light.

I am sorry I didn't get a chance to enjoy the hot tub.

I found the decor very pleasing, and the bed was comfortable for me.

The kitchen is well-equipped and had everything I needed to make some meals.

Anna the host had placed fresh herbs around the apartment and a large chocolate bar too! She paid attention to my needs and was very outgoing and friendly.

Wi-Fi and a large computer is provided, but no television, which did not matter to me as I do not watch television.

I would recommend staying here and will probably return myself in February for my next training course!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
4

Convienent Basement Apartment

  • 4 of 5

This is a comfortable basement apartment. Everything was as described in the listing. Michael and Anna were easy to work with. Unfortunately we had to leave 2 days early due to illness in my family, but the owners were very kind and gracious. They did call 2 days before our arrival and let us know they have 2 puppies which were not at all a problem, but if you are looking to sleep in, note that being a basement apartment, when the owners get up in the morning, there are foot step noises from the home above. It was not a problem for us, as we were getting up about 6 every morning ourselves. It is a 10 minute walk to the Metro and then about a 25 minute ride to DC for the usual tourist attractions. Also note, that there is no television in the apartment. Usually we don't watch much TV, but since we were traveling from Florida, we were anxious to see what was happening with Hurricane Matthew There is a computer and we were able to get information there.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Really cool house great people

  • 5 of 5

Cool house and yard, fresh vegetables and berries growing. Nice jacuzzi out back. Great little basement living area with industrial kitchen. Owners of house are artists and super down to earth and nice.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious Basement Apartment

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I recently stayed at this charming basement apartment. It was a great place to stay during a trip to the Washington DC. The hosts, Michael and Anna were welcoming, nice and thoughtful. The room had plenty of space and the kitchen had enough to make some meals (though we only used it for breakfast). Located within walking distance from shopping, groceries and the metro. The Metro was a great way to experience the city and had a friendly staff to assist us to our destinations. We used it to access down town Silver Spring where we enjoyed its restaurant and went to a farmers market. Also, we used it to travel into DC to do some sightseeing. The whole process was very convenient and it was nice to not have to worry about parking!

One of our favorite stops on the trip was to The National Museum of Health and Medicine located in Silver Springs. The Free museum was off the beaten path and full of fascinating medical advancements and oddities. Well worth a look and only a short trip drive from the house.

There were two dogs that were very well behaved and made occasional but minimal noise.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Noisy cellar with little natural light

  • 1 of 5

This rental is three finished and decorated rooms in a cellar, with two small below-ground-level windows, a separate back entrance down a narrow set of stairs, and an interior set of stairs up to the first floor (presumably used by the owner when the rental is not occupied). Noises from the first and second floor are easily transmitted down into the rental. The owners keep several dogs on the first floor of the house. The owner pictures appear to have been made using a fish-eye lens and a significant amount of professional lighting.

Based on the published pictures and description, I booked and prepaid, thru HomeAway, for nine nights over the Thanksgiving holiday. I informed the owners that I would be checking in late, and agreed to pay the convenience fee for doing so. While getting ready for bed, it became evident that the owners kept several dogs on the first floor. I would hear the dogs begin to bark, and then to yip as the owners worked to quiet them down. I put in ear plugs, but was still woken up at 4:00 AM by loud barking. At around 7:00 AM, the dogs became much noisier. I could clearly hear the dogs' intermittent barking, and running thru the house. It appeared that the owners had stopped attempting to quiet the dogs. Later, one of the owners admitted that they use shock collars in an attempt to quiet the dogs. I found the amount of noise disconcerting, and the rental an uninviting place to remain.

That morning, I discussed my concerns with the owners, and informed them that I would be checking out that morning. They agreed to mail me a refund for only half of the rental fee, and I received a HomeAway e-mail indicating that the reservation had been updated to a shorter, four-day stay.

In response to an e-mail inquiring about the status of the refund, the owners, citing alleged damage (and furniture re-arranging?) and referring to "your self initiated and perpetuated misadventure", informed me that they no longer intended to send a refund.

Renter beware.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After last speaking with you, we hadn't had the opportunity of inspecting the premises that you occupied and then, so unexpectedly, prematurely vacated. However, shortly after your departure, my wife & I had the opportunity to do so. Upon our inspection, what we found was a thorough surprise. •The ironing board affixed to the bathroom door had been ripped off and left afloat in our kitchenette. When you broke this appliance off the door you seriously, perhaps irreparably damaged its frame. •The furniture in our suite had been dramatically rearranged; left in a state of perplexing disarray. Former HomeAway quests have always left our Suite in much the same way that they found it. • Upon your "after-hours" arrival (11:30pm) you dragged your travel gear down the entranceway of our apartment and, egregiously chipped our brick steps. Their restoration will be very costly. We urge our guests as we did you to arrive during daylight hours to prevent, among other things, any comparable exterior damage from occurring. We are sorry that you didn't find the apartment accommodating and, hope that you found suitable quarters elsewhere without going to much trouble. However, you have blatantly breached the broadcast terms and conditions of your HomeAway contract as specified by these 5 Star hosts of theirs. You agreed to this reservation month's earlier and therefore prevented us from entertaining alternative inquiries during this charged, Thanksgiving, travel time of the year. Sometimes, things happen that we are not always happy about. Albeit. We will not, given the clear scope of this matter refund any money to you relating to this, your self initiated and perpetuated misadventure.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 6
5

Alles super!

  • 5 of 5

Sehr nette und hilfsbereite Leute! Suite war Top und hat eine klasse Anbindung zur metro und ist direkt neben einem Supermarkt und einem großen Shopping-Center!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Reagan, BWI, Dulles
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Clydes Of Chevy Chase
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Great Falls, Harpers Ferry
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Congressional, Indian Spring Golf Clubs
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Union Station
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Capital Beltway
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Panera Bread
Nearest Ski
75 Miles
Whitetail Resort
Nearest Beach
45 Miles
Chesapeake Beach Near Annapolis, MD
Car: not necessary

Washington, DC, Silver Spring, Annapolis, MD:

LOCAL Attractions:

Arts & Culture

All Attractions

Family-Friendly

Free Attractions

History & Heritage

Monuments & Memorials

Museums

Tours & Sightseeing

Zoo, Parks & Nature, Lake & Creeks

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Silver Spring, Maryland - Washington DC

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£382
for 3 nights
From
£106
£795
£2,424
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £39 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

cleaning £63

Check-In after 3 pm and no later than 8 pm ( convenience fee of $50 after 8 pm )
Check-Out 10 am

All quest are expected to leave premises in the same condition as found; to respect our property as if it were their own.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Silver Spring in Maryland

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Monument View ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
  • Jump from a vintage, shower-stall enclosed, clawfoot tub into bed after sightseeing you’re pants off! The Suite features a grand, plush queen bed beside a mixed-use warm, perfumed loo and washroom. You’ll sleep like a baby and dream of your day’s faraway new discoveries. With good luck, the subtle chirp of a garden cricket will help you drop off.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • The warm living room is finished in wall-to-wall shimmering, white porcelain tile. Its expanse comfortable accommodates two to three quests; a great, plush Ikea bed aside a designer, rolling, folding sleep chair insures the finickiest of sleepers a sound night of peaceful repose.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
"Minutes From The Most Important Monuments, Museums, Galleries, Historical Sites And Entertainment, Restaurant Venues In The Country."

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties