HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Secluded Forest Cabin: Relaxing Mountain Retreat

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Max 4 adults/4 children)

Spend your Vacation or holiday in the San Bernardino mountains!!! Cozy, large 'Chalet' cabin, nicely appointed, fully furnished with wireless I-net, BBQ, wrap around porch, fully appointed kitchen, stone patio area, remote views of Lake Gregory (when foliage and breeze allows); feels secluded but within a mile of Crestline Village, 15 minutes from Lake Arrowhead, 20 from Snow Summit, 40 from Big Bear. Biking, Hiking, boating, fishing, Nature at its best with unlimited outdoor forest adventures and wildlife. Sleeps up to 8 (4 adults /4 kids): but XTRA PERSON (over 4) CHARGE APPLIES (additional persons over 4 adults 4 kids requires special request) with 2 full baths (2 bedrooms: master w/ Q, guest w/ Q Futon and KID bunks plus huge living room) with large fireplace/hearth and vaulted ceilings. Spend an economical week or getaway for the whole family near the posh resorts without the hassle and expense, with easy access to Lake Gregory, Lake Arrowhead and Big Bear Lake. Relax around the fireplace with the family, walk, bike, swim, boat, ski, snowboard, and fish around Lake Gregory - Kids will love the water slide on the Lake, or sledding in the snow. Weekly rates available at a discount. Inside pets OK with extra fee, but no fenced yard.

PLEASE REVIEW SAMPLE RENTAL AGREEMENT CAREFULLY! Property requires that you provide ALL your own bedding, towels, & paper products and that you clean the property THOROUGHLY when you leave ('turn-key ready' for the next guest) and that you dispose of your own trash upon check-out (take it with you). Also requires provision of a CREDIT (not debit) card and DL/ID (by scan & email or photo text) in lieu of damage deposit OR purchase of VRBO insurance. Please do not inquire about this property if you do not have the ability to provide all of the above.

STRICT NO PARTIES POLICY, for example property is NOT to be used as the 'Hang-out" for extra guests before or after events.

PLEASE NOTE:

While Owner/Host makes every effort to maintain property and appliances in a clean, working order, guest recognizes this is a SHARED HOME (Not a resort), and that regular cleaning, “turnover” and maintenance services are NOT provided or available. Additionally, there is no guarantee, implied or otherwise, that malfunctions in systems, appliances or property will be immediately resolved. Hosts rely on cleaning and malfunction reports by guests, and each guest is responsible for making sure the property is ready for the next guest, or that items in need of maintenance are reported to host immediately. Guests acknowledge that in the event of a failure, maintenance and/or repair may not be immediately available. Refunds and credits will be issued to guest ONLY in the event that a failure renders the property uninhabitable, evacuation is ordered due to fire, or roads are closed for ALL vehicles due to weather.

Keywords: Well appointed, all mod cons, I-Net TV, I-net with wireless, sleeps 4 adults/4 kids, near Big Bear, Lake Arrowhead, Snow Summit skiiing, lakes, boating, fishing, rock garden patio, wrap-around porch, beautiful mountain retreat

More Details

Owner
Helen Lopez
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 August, 2017

About Helen Lopez

We worked for the county 10 years and lived in this piece of paradise during the week - now retired and can't bear to give it up! We use it too, and share it when we can't - our home is El Centro and we also have vacation property in San Felipe and Rosarito Baja Mexico so we can't be everywhere all the time....Your advantage!

Helen Lopez purchased this chalet in 2005

Why Helen Lopez chose Inland Empire

It's a house that feels like a cabin - but a very well appointed one! !!

It's cheaper than most at in the area, because it's "Self Serve" so guests provide their own bedding, paper products, cleaning, and trash service. Its not for those looking for a "RESORT" vacation, it's for those who want a reasonably priced place to share and are willing to take the responsibility of day to day upkeep. Truly a "Home Away from Home"

What makes this chalet unique

Its the best deal on the mountain for this luxury property type - hands down - read our reviews we have many many return customers. If you are willing to put in the effort to do your own cleaning, and bring your own linens and paper, this is the place for you. If you treat our little house right you can come back at a discount.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Crestline in San Bernardino County

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
  • rural ...
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , attached to master BR
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Hall bathroom
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Must provide your own linens and blankets
    Living Room - Room for cots OR kids on couches (2)
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Child Bed , KID bunks (sleeps 2 kids under 100 lbs);
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1 set KIDS UNDER 100 lbs ONLY)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Parasailing
  • Racquetball
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
rock garden patio, wrap around porch, all kitchen modern appliances

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(79 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
12% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded Forest Cabin: Relaxing Mountain Retreat
average rating of 4.822785 based on 79 reviews
5

Comfortable cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay and the cabin is very comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked and Helen goes to a lot of effort to make sure all instructions are clear throughout the cabin. Fun time!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks a million! Come back any time and remind me for our "friends & family" special deal!!! Welcome to our cabin's "Trusted Guest" club!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We rented the house so we could attend a family reunion in Crestline. Eagle's Nest is right around the corner from my sister in laws, so it was perfect. The driveway is very steep, so not sure we'd stay during winter, but everything else was great!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Vacationers

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our stay very much. A screen on the patio door would have been nice, but, we understand how one could be damaged by renters. The washer & dryer were a plus. Loved staying at this cabin.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This is a beautiful home away from home

  • 5 of 5

The "cabin" turned out to be a lovely home. Since this was the first time we stayed here - I brought with me everything but the kitchen sink - I didn't need anything - This home had it all. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation and would recommend this cabin to all - Just bring your linens, paper goods and food - then relax and enjoy!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious and quiet

  • 4 of 5

Loved the open kitchen, dining room and living area as you come in! It provided large space for kids and pet to run around. Just a few repairs needed for items here and there and a little TLC, but overall a sweet house to stay in. Also great location to get to Lake Gregory's water play (5 mins away by car). Can't beat the price and very responsive owner.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, as we say in the description there's a few projects we need to work on but as u say it's nothing that detracts from guests enjoyment, and we are pretty clear about existing issues on the check-in list.....thanks so much for staying!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy cabin in quaint town of Crestline

  • 4 of 5

Pros: The house was very nice for our family of four. It is very conveniently located, just a short drive to town and lake. The kitchen was stocked very well, and had what appeared to be a very nice BBQ, though we didn't use it. Had it not been so dreadfully hot, it would have been pleasant to sit out on the wrap around porch to enjoy the beautiful scenery. The living room and dining area is very comfy.

Cons: as the owners description states, the twin bunk bed is not for anyone over 100 lbs. I felt like I was going to break it by climbing up to put the sheets on. And the futon really shouldn't be counted on as a bed, as it is horribly uncomfortable. But my 6' son was comfortable sleeping on the couch, which he liked better anyway because that was the only room with a tv. We had some other minor mishaps due to the last guests, but nothing too dreadful. And the driveway is no joke. It's really steep and narrow, a bit scary to back down. Can't even imagine what people do in the winter time with snow on the ground.

Overall, the house was near to perfect for our little getaway. The only thing I really wish it had was AC, but that is basically because it was stifling hot during our stay. Can't win them all!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review. Yes, unfortunately the guests prior to you were not as respectful of the property as most all of our guests are, and (as stated in the rental agreement) since we have no regular "turnover" service, and rely on each of our guests to leave the house ready for the next ones we apologize that it was not perfect for you. We appreciate that you were flexible and tolerant, and reported the issues (garbage disposal, wrong key left, trash left outside that had been torn into by racoons) so that we were able to take care of them right away. Because we are not local, we DO have back-up plans in place, and were glad you were able to take advantage of them and not complain too much - not the same as walking into a perfect setting from the start, but with your patience and help it all worked out in the end. The bunk beds are for kids as you said, and the futon is - well - a FUTON, not a bed, about the same as most pull out couches. My 20 YO grandkid has no issues with it, but my 65 YO self would not chose to sleep on it for sure, so there it is. Thanks for staying with us, and thanks for working with us to get the "kinks" worked out. As we stated, if you come again, you have a free night on us for your troubles. It WAS very hot, not just in Crestline but everywhere in So Cal over the 4th weekend. Hardly anyone has AC in the mountains, and we do have many fans as you know. But is was a heat wave, no doubt about that. Which of course is another thing we have no control over!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Ontario International
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Bearclaw
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Lake Arrowhead
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Metrolink
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
various
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Lake Arrowhead - Snow Summit - Big Bear
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Lake Gregory
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Arrowhead
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Gregory
Nearest Point of Interest
Big Bear Resort Area
Car: necessary

Lake Gregory is within a mile, walkable if you are not carrying a lot of stuff. Parking at the Lake is about $10. Entrance fee to beach area, but lots of walking areas outside beach area. Beach has swimming with lifeguard), boat rentals, fishing, a water slide (separate admission tickets). Open appx Memorial Day to Labor day. Skiing & Snowboarding @ Lake Arrowhead, Big Bear and Snow Summit

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Crestline, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Thanksgiving
19 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
£416
for 4 nights
From
£104
£582
£1,496
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£416
for 4 nights
From
£104
£582
£1,496
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
JULY 4TH
1 Jun 2018 - 8 Jun 2019
4 night minimum stay
£416
for 4 nights
From
£104
£582
£1,496
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£166
for 2 nights
From
£83
From
£96
Fri,Sat
£499
£1,455
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Additional Guest Fee £15.54 per person per night
Pet Fee £19.42

Renters must provide own bedding, towels, paper products. BBQ grill propane and firewood may be available but is not guaranteed. Must clean property thoroughly and remove all trash on departure, provide CREDIT card and ID by scan & email or pix & txt (in lieu of damage deposit) in addition to payment. NEW: NOW ACCEPTING BITCOIN/OTHER CRYPTOCURRENCY ON REQUEST;PLEASE INDICATE IN COMMENTS ON INQUIRY

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals