HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Talkeetna Eastside Cabins - Family Owned, Quiet Neighborhood, Walk To Downtown

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
People
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cabin in Talkeetna - Talkeetna Eastside Cabins

Talkeetna Eastside Cabins - Family Owned, Quiet Neighborhood, Walk To Downtown

The Talkeetna rental cabin has two private bedrooms upstairs. One bedroom has a queen and twin bed, the other bedroom has a full bed (fold out twin available if needed). Downstairs is the living room, kitchen and bathroom. The kitchen has a stove top, refrigerator, sink, microwave, dish stock and coffee pot. Other amenities include WiFi and Roku T.V. (internet television). Guests also have access to the barrel sauna. Talkeetna Eastside Cabins is located in the residential area of Talkeetna, two blocks from the airport and 3 blocks from Downtown.

The house is approx. 800 square feet (400 sq. ft on both floors)

Pricing

Summer Season: May-September

$170.00 for 1 or 2 persons

$20.00 for each additional person

Max capacity 6 people

Winter Season: Oct-April

$150.00 for 1 or 2 persons

$15.00 for each additional person

Max capacity 6 people

Talkeetna East Side Cabins LLC is family owned, offering nightly lodging in Talkeetna. We are located in the residential area of East Talkeetna, 4 blocks from downtown Talkeetna’s Main Street where there are many restaurants, pubs,art galleries and gift shops. There is public transport - refer to handout in binder, or Google Sunshine Transit or call 733-9279. We are 2 blocks from the airport and 4 blocksfrom the railroad depot. We offer four unique private accommodation options, The Cabin being one of them. All rentals and prices include, coffee pot, refrigerator, private shower and bathroom, internet and internet television (provided by Roku Boxes). All units have kitchens. In the summer months you can relax in our spacious backyard, or on our unique octagon deck. We are 2 blocks away from miles of cross country ski trails for winter fun, and our barrel sauna is available by request for guest use year round. Please contact us with questions either about Talkeetna or about Alaska in general. We would be happy to assist with itinerary planning, Being lifetime Alaskans we can offer many suggestions and info on how to best enjoy your time in the Talkeetna area.

Cabin renters - Due to the thick cabin walls, the wifi is best from the computer station set up by the window. The T.V. is operated by Roku. The Roku box must be on the window sill behind the t.v. and the remote must be directly pointed at the roku box.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
marne gunderson (owner) mary gunderson (manager)
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
6 December, 2016
Call Owner

About marne gunderson (owner) mary gunderson (manager)

Talkeetna Eastside Cabins has been a dream in progress. The Cabin is one of 4 rentals. We are long time Alaskans (1976) and our daughter, the owner, was born here in Talkeetna. We are a family run business with everyone working hard to make your stay comfortable and family friendly.

marne gunderson (owner) mary gunderson (manager) purchased this cabin in 2005

Why marne gunderson (owner) mary gunderson (manager) chose Alaska

Our goal is to provide affordable, comfortable, family friendly accommodations. We are in a quiet, wooded neighborhood within walking distance to downtown Talkeetna - the best of both worlds.

What makes this cabin unique

Private, homestyle living with cooking accommodations, picnic tables, community bbq grill, fire pit, bikes and sauna.

Please respect the quiet hours of 10 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Cabin renters - Due to the thick cabin walls, the wifi is best from the computer station set up by the window. The T.V. is operated by Roku. The Roku box must be on the window sill behind the t.v. and the remote must be directly point at the roku box.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

Talkeetna Eastside Cabins - Family Owned, Quiet Neighborhood, Walk To Downtown
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
4

Talkeetna - the views of Denali AWESOME

  • 4 of 5

The cute cabin in the woods was a nice place for us to stay over night in Talkeetna. It was clean and had plenty of room for our party of 4 (could have slept more). There were multiple mirrors available outside the bathroom for everyone to get ready at the same time. It was also great to have the option of the downstairs bed since we were traveling with older adults. The only recommendation I have is to travel to Alaska with your own DVD's since cable is not as available as in the lower 48. Cable is not important to me but some people think you have to have entertainment available in a square box. Enjoyed Talkeetna! We were blessed with sunny skies and an AWESOME view of Denali! Make sure to visit the museum in Talkeetna and the Birch syrup store.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay and had an chance to check out some of the local offerings. You are correct, cable is not available in the Talkeetna area. We do have Roku T.V. which offers movies, news etc. We are in the process of getting satellite T.V. Hopefully if you should return to Talkeetna we will have our satellite t.v. up and running.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oregon
5

Great for adults and older (stair/open shelving safe/cleaning product avoidant) children

  • 5 of 5

The Cabin is adorable and the owners very responsive to questions. Arrival is very easy as is checkout. The Cabin has a great selection of eclectic books and games. No lie that wifi is very patchy except at windows but that is made very clear up front. It was VERY nice that there was coffee! We would suggest some kind of bar on the bathroom door to keep it closed during use (which would also solve the finger pinching problem).

If you plan to come with children be aware there may be a few issues. The shelving is open so little explorers will necessitate putting everything in top few. The cleaning supplies are under the sink and would also need to be put up. If you can only use the kitchen from the waste up there is not a whole lot of space. There is no barrier in front of the heater and lots of exceptionally attractive buttons to push, and of course the stairs are also open at top and bottom. Our little one also caught his fingers in the bathroom door (accordion style) more than once.

Overall even with a toddler the cabin was a great place to stay for our one night in Talkeetna, but for a longer stay watching him so carefully might have been too much.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed the cabin. We are in the process of improving the wifi situation. Sorry the little one pinched fingers. I would agree that the rentals are not baby proof.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy Cabin

  • 5 of 5

We stopped in Talkeetna on our way to Denali. It was a short stay and wish we'd had more time. The accomodations at Eastside Cabins was perfect. Very clean and comfortable for our group of four. Happy that coffee was provided.

Owner has a book with suggested restaurants and things to do which was nice. Very prompt replies to my questions.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, comfy cabin in a great location...

  • 5 of 5

We only had the opportunity to stay for one night on our way from Seward to Denali, but the cabin was a nice stop along the way. It was clean and comfortable and offered everything we needed. WIFI was a bit sketchy, but it worked if you sat in the right place.

Location is also great - walking distance to flightseeing tours, Mahay Jetboats and small downtown area with restaurants/shops.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The property was much larger for people to stay than we anticipated. It was so cute, great location.

  • 5 of 5

My entire family was up and we rented two condos from Marne and Mary. It was amazing, they were so accommodating and helpful. Everyone in our party was delighted with the accommodations. It was everything we needed and more. I would definitely recommend any of these cabins to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the nice review. You and your family were wonderful guests, leaving the rentals in great shape. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and quiet. Just what we were looking fir

  • 5 of 5

Nice place wuth wverything we n=ded. Enjoyed ur.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: recommended

Denali ZipLine Tours

Scenic Flights

Riverboat Tours

Bike Rentals

Saturday Market

Free outdoor concert every Fri. at 5 during the summer season

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Talkeetna, Alaska

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
standard
12 Sep 2016 - 30 Apr 2017
1 night minimum stay
£130
for 1 night
From
£118
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £12 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
1 May 2017 - 10 Sep 2017
1 night minimum stay
£146
for 1 night
From
£134
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Extra guest £12

The first two children 15 and under are free. After that the reg. additional guest fee applies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Talkeetna, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski
Notes:
No pets allowed on the premises or in the rentals. No tents or overnight cambering/campers. There are campgrounds within walking distance from our rentals.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties