HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Hunters Hideaway & Secluded Country Cabin for Family Getaways

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 2 Baths, Sleeps up to 8 (4 beds)

Hunters Hideaway is the last property at the end of a dead end gravel road, secluded from the busy every day things of town. There will be nobody driving by and no neighbors to see. This property is truly a backwoods rustic retreat. The cabin is located on 5.5 acres of mostly wooded land with a small backyard and large turnaround driveway. Hunters Hideaway is a simple cabin with 2 bedrooms; each with a full size bed, closet & dresser on the main floor. Also on the main floor is the full kitchen, living area with gas fireplace, ample seating, and TV/DVD (sorry, no cable or dish). Also on the main floor is a full bath with tub/shower and seperate washer & dryer in the mud room. Off of the living area is a patio window leading to a patio with built in fire pit and a gas grill. In the living area is the stairs leading to an open loft containing two full beds and a bathroom with shower. Outside there is a covered front porch, shed with 3 seperate dog kennels each with barrel and bedding. The kennels are covered and on a slab and properly cleaned between every renter. (Please request to have pets in the cabin)

Hunters Hideaway is geared to hunting parties, it is located in the 'Grouse Capital of the World' with its endless supply of public hunting area just a couple miles drive from the cabin, but is also a great getaway for families and friends that like all the activities country living has to offer. Snowmobile trail access is only a couple miles by sled, river access and canoe landing is a few miles down the road, the woods is right out the back patio and this is the land of a 1,000 lakes ranging from small swimming holes to large lakes with great clean parks, boat landings/docks and enough room to water ski, jet ski and musky fish.

Local Bird Guides:

Northwind Enterprises, LLC

Ann Jandernoa & Skip Souther

715-264-2160

Ides Guides

Terry & JoAnn Ides

715-762-4007

Peter Jesunas

715-820-0684

Keywords: cabin, secluded, dead end, country, rural, getaway, rustic, new, hunting, camping, snowmobiling, dogs, vacation, river, phillips, wi

More Details

Property Manager
Kristin Brockman
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 November, 2017

About Kristin Brockman

I and my husband Corey and daughters Logan and KayCee manage Hunters Hideaway for a good friend of ours, Eddie, that is currently living in Virginia. We live just before the cabin on Aspen Lane, we can almost see the cabin roof from our home.

Corey and I are avid hunters. We both whitetail hunt with gun and bow, bear hunt and of corse bird hunt with Mazzi, our best bird dog ever. Logan, who is 12, has been trying to sit with mom during gun season the last couple of years, but just doesn't have the patients yet, but did get her first deer with the crossbow at 10.

Our favorite pass time is camping! We enjoy sleeping under the stars, tenting it, or using our pop up. We go all over Wisconsin looking for new parks and fun things to do.

I was born and raised and hardly left the Phillips area and my husband was born and raised in Appleton, WI with a small cabin in Phillips, but couldn't wait to move to Phillips after he met me :)

Kristin Brockman purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Kristin Brockman chose Phillips

We built Hunters Hideway from 2009 to 2010 doing most of the work ourselves. Before Corey became a maintenance man at a local factory he owned his own construction/flooring business, primarily doing custome tile jobs. The cabin is conveneintly located near our residence for ease of maintenance and assitance. Hunters Hideaway is located at the end of a mile long private gravel road that is located at the dead end of a 5 miles town road. It doesn't get any more rural and secluded than that. We joke that it is at the edge of the earth. With the nearest town being a 15 mile country drive.

Location

Car: necessary

access to snowmobile trails by sled (no need to trailer), public hunting with in a couple miles, step out the patio into the woods, South Fork of the Flambeau River only a couple miles away, many large and small lakes to choose from, closest towns are Phillips and Park Falls both roughly 15 miles from cabin.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Phillips in Price County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • ski
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
3 furnished/covered dog kennels on slab, covered front porch, fire pit in back patio, large parking area, at the end of a dead end road, loft has 2 full beds & full bath

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(42 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Hunters Hideaway & Secluded Country Cabin for Family Getaways
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 42 reviews
Selmer, Tn
5

Hunt Trip 2017

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was exactly as described. Great location to Public Hunt Grounds. Will diffently be back. Thanks for a great experience. Be sure if its winter months bring a 4x4. During our stay Nov. 3 -11. We got several inches of snow.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding cabin for a hunting trip

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for clean, quite, and comfortable place to stay while visiting northern Wisconsin, look no further. From utensils, cookware, amenities, etc., this cabin has it all, as Kristin and Cory provide everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The cabin is very well maintained, and the managers do an excellent job of making sure everything is well stocked and in working order. They even took the time to bring us more firewood in the middle of our stay. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay during our week long hunting trip, and there is no doubt that if/when we come back, we'll be staying at Hunter's Hideway! Thank you again for everything, Kristin and Cory!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Deceived 0 stars

  • 1 of 5

Things were not as advertise . No grill for fire pit. Gàs fireplace not operational tues when the temp dropped. No answer when called.. After contacting owners weds, was left waiting for 2 hours only to call to see where they were. Man answered and said he knew nothing about it! He was a real jerk about it too which made it worse. When he got there to fix it he continued being an ass and said you can leave by 11 tomorrow and be refunded. So we agreed. The fireplace stopped working that night and it was freezing..... couldn't wait to leave. We get one week a year, and can't believe how disappointing this was. Ended up having to drive home 5 hours Thursday. Kristen was nice enough, but I can only imagine the hell she's living with that prick. Got an email today and they are refusing full refund as we were told. This was simply a nightmare vacation... and we will fight to get our money back. There is more,, but im to angry to write more. Dont rent this place!

  • Review Submitted: 28-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is not the truth and I do hope people reading this will notice the group staying a couple nights later had a completely different view along with every other review. Sometimes there are people that just can't be pleased. We did everything possible to help these renters. We both have full time jobs making it difficult to be at someone's back and call but do address issues brought to our attention timely. My husband did offer them a refund should they chose to leave early which is clearly stated is not the policy but we try to accommodate. When they asked for a full refund he refused and told them it would only be for the two nights they did not stay, which was refunded promptly with an apology. Thank you for considering staying, Kristin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

My father, brother and I had a great time at this beautiful privately owned cabin.

  • 5 of 5

This property was exactly what we were looking for. Located back in the woods it was just like a hidden gem of the woods. Everything about the property was clean and well put together. It was decorated very nicely with everything you need for a weekend get away. I would highly suggest this property for a wilderness getaway!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marshfield, wi
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Very nice cabin. Clean and comfortable. People of Philips were super friendly.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Rustic and peaceful!

  • 4 of 5

It had all the amenities. I was impressed someone came and checked if we needed anything! Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Phillips, Wisconsin

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£189
for 2 nights
From
£76
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £23 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £18.88
Cleaning Fee £37.76

Discounted rates available for larger groups and/or longer stays.
We charge $125 per pet. You will receive $100 back at departure if the cabin is undamaged by the animal.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals