HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Pet Friendly Condo in beautiful Cape San Blas

People5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 4 - 23 nights

Overview

About the property

Best Deal on the Cape in pet friendly condo and pet friendly beach.

The perfect little nest for snowbirds in the winter Season or for a small family to enjoy the beach. This is a very nice one bedroom town home plus it has a bunky room that sleeps 2.The rental has all the amenities of home. Comfortably furnished and well maintained. Relax on the back deck over looking the pond from the first floor or the pool and gulf from the second floor. This town home is just a short walk to the beach (approximately 100 steps on boardwalk) and the Gulf front pool and clubhouse. The Cape is a secluded beach reminiscence of old Florida. There is a 3 story limit which means no high rises. The cape was preserved to maintain its natural beauty, it is not uncommon to see bobtail wildcats, foxes, deer, eagles, owls and other wild animals. The fishing off the surf is amazing. The state park offers miles of unspoiled beaches on both the gulf and the bay side and all of this is within walking distance. High Speed internet is available. Bring your entire family, this home is pet friendly! This home has free long distance!!!!!!!!!!


Owner
Gary Brown
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
27 July, 2017

About Gary Brown

My wife and I live in Kentucky and enjoy our time we get to spend in our condo on Cape San Blas. We have 5 children and hope to retire in Florida one day. We our dog lovers and welcome anyone who would like to bring their dog with them on vacation.

Gary Brown purchased this townhome in 2009

Why Gary Brown chose North West Florida

We love Cape San Blas due to the natural beauty and 2 story limit on construction . We enjoy the outdoors and seclusion, the cape offers the best of both of these things. They left all the vegetation as possible which give the old tyme florida feel. The beaches are uncrowded and dog freindly. The state part is in walking distance and offers miles of unspoiled beaches on both the gulf and bay side. Fishing is amazing.

What makes this townhome unique

Peace and quiet, unspoiled beaches, location to state park.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in Port St. Joe in Gulf County

Property Type:
  • townhome
Building Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Lakefront
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bunky Room - 2 Single Bed , No adults in Bunky room top bunk.
  • 1 Large Master bedroom and a bunky room for the kids.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • bay
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

37% Complete
12% Complete
37% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Pet Friendly Condo in beautiful Cape San Blas
average rating of 3.75 based on 8 reviews
Mattoon.Illinois
5

Marvelous

  • 5 of 5

We love staying at Barrier Dunes. It has become our spot to just relax away from the worries of the world. Our dogs just love coming with us and it is such a blessing to be able to bring them along with. I hassles. Thank you to Gary and Tasha for providing such a wonderful place for us to stay.

Happy in Illinois

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

cheap but not the best

  • 3 of 5

This is our second stay at the condo. He has made many improvements since our first stay a few years ago.

Love the flooring on the main floor. Its a wood look smooth floor -easy to keep clean with outdoor area rugs. There is laminate in the upstairs bedroom but it looks like it will be replaced soon. The towels were new, bedding and bed comfy. Good pillows. This time there was liquid soap at each sink and more spices including salt and pepper. Even basket coffee filters and some leftover coffee. I'm not sure if this is normal for the rental now or if it was left over from long term renters. The fridge/freezer is large with a working ice maker and there are also ice trays if you need them for some reason.

The cons are that there are still small annoyances. The TV channel up and down button does not work, volume up down works but not the channel changer. You can type in the channel number and it will change. Hard to open the dishwasher as the fridge is in the way. The couch/loveseat are both wicker outdoor furniture with cushions so not as comfy as a couch and you would not be able to sleep anyone there. The sliding door handle & lock was broken and the only way to "lock" it was to use a stick in the rail to keep it closed. In fact it would stay about an inch open unless closed with the stick. There was no handle on the outside. The cleaner/repair person said a new door is on order. Outdoor patio chairs are on their last legs - one was cracked and another broke while we were there. The alarm clock upstairs seemed not to be working. No steak knives. Only 2 tiny wine glasses.

FYI for future renters There is no gate on the porch, for people with dogs bring an x pen or baby gate to use. For people considering using the "bunk room" bunk beds - its a converted closet IN the master bedroom. The louvered door knob would not stay on so you had to grab the top of the "door" to open it. The shower has great pressure but the tile grout is permanently stained.

I really appreciate how easy it is to keep floors clean and I don't worry about my dogs there as nothing is super fancy. Also no extra charge for the dogs and low fees compared to other places in the complex. But you do get what you pay for. When we had an issue with a noise in the closet he did have his people come promptly to look into the problem. Nice view over the pond and short walk to the beach.

  • Review Submitted: May 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very Cozy and relaxing!!!

  • 5 of 5

Very relaxing and Cozy! We had 2 small dogs with us, the condo is pet friendly and beaches too! Make sure to do find places to eat that have outside patios and are Dog friendly. We found several places that state they "Are pet friendly" but upon arriving we find out they are not. Indian Pass Raw Bar is NOT pet friendly, but, one of the best places for Oysters, A must is to drive about 45 minutes to Appalachicola, best oysters and Oyster City Brewing Co. Very good, also, lots of places to shop. We also visited St. George's Island lighthouse 10 minutes from Appalachicola. Restaurants to go to that are Pet friendly. Dockside Grill, Ronnie B's Steak and Seafood, and Triple Tails Raw Bar(bring cash or check to Triple Tails) they do not accept credit cards.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Flintstone, Ga
2

Cape SAN Blas

  • 2 of 5

Condo had not been cleaned. Owner said he would refund my cleaning fee. He will not answer my emails or messages. Second time we stayed in this condo, first no problems.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
3

OK Condo In A Great Community

  • 3 of 5

Staying at Barrier Dunes was a wonderful experience. The pools are both nice, clean, and have bathrooms close by. The beach is just a short walk away. My only criticism about the community is the step off the boardwalk to the beach was huge. It's almost like there were steps missing. Cell service for phone calls was fine but texts were not always sent immediately. This is because of the remote area and maybe depends on your carrier. I have Verizon. I don't mind the spotty texting because it ensures work does not bother me. I will definitely stay in the Barrier Dunes community again.

This property has a very nice kitchen and living room. The kitchen had everything needed to make meals. It is advertised as having a "bunky area". This is a closet off the bedroom that was modified to be a bunk bed. The doorway is a small closet door that my athletic 15 year old daughter was not comfortable getting through. I think it was about half the width of a standard door maybe less. The couch in the living room is not comfortable enough to sleep on so my daughter ended up staying in another unit with family. The furniture in the living room is fine for sitting but being wicker is not made for sleep. The mattress on the king size bed is very firm. If this is what you like you will be fine. The cleaning people need to pay more attention to cleaning the shower. There was some mold on both the shower curtain and in the grout. The sliding door off of the living room did not operate smoothly and the handle was broken. Since there was only one key provided to the unit my guess is someone locked their key inside and then had to break in to get back inside. The AC unit works well and kept the entire condo nice and cool. The washer and dryer were replaced during my stay so those are brand new. Overall the condo was nice and well maintained. I would recommend this unit to someone with smaller children that may not mind sleeping in a closet but if you have bigger or older kids I would not recommend this unit. The owner responded quickly to all of my messages.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Cape San Blas is beautiful

  • 3 of 5

A few details kept this from being four stars. There was no info regarding the wi-fi password when we arrived. The cel service in the condo is spotty so we had to drive down the road so we could contact the owner to get the password. The dryer was not working. We also could not use the ceiling fan in the master as it was covered in dust. The bunky room IS a closet.

On the up side, it was a short walk to a beautiful beach. The rest of the condo appeared clean. Kitchen was very useable with everything we needed. Condo stayed cool on a very hot week. I would stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review and your stay. The wifi password was sent via the guest email that is sent through VRBO. We apologize if you did not get this. Unfortunately we have no control over the cell phone service but most providers do work in the area. The dryer did go out sadly, but we replaced it with a brand new unit immediately. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back again. Thanks Gary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Panama City
Car: necessary

The perfect little nest for snowbirds in the winter Season or for a small family to enjoy the beach. This is a very nice one bedroom town home plus it has a bunky room that sleeps 2.The rental has all the amenities of home. Comfortably furnished and well maintained. Relax on the back deck over looking the pond. This town home is just a short walk to the beach (approximately 100 steps on boardwalk) and the Gulf front pool and clubhouse. The Cape is a secluded beach reminiscence of old Florida. There is a 3 story limit which means no high rises. The cape was preserved to maintain its natural beauty, it is not uncommon to see bobtail wildcats, foxes, deer, eagles, owls and other wild animals. The fishing off the surf is amazing. The state park offers miles of unspoiled beaches on both the gulf and the bay side and all of this is within walking distance. High Speed internet is available. Bring your entire family, this home is pet friendly! This home has free long distance!!!!!!!!!!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday townhome in Port St. Joe, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer
21 May 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£939
for 7 nights
£939
 
 
Late summer/fall
20 Aug 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
£579
for 5 nights
£768
 
 
Nightly Rate
9 Sep 2017 - 9 Sep 2017
23 night minimum stay
£2,267
for 23 nights
From
£94
 
 
Late summer/fall
10 Sep 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
5 night minimum stay
£579
for 5 nights
£768
 
 
fall/early winter
4 Nov 2017 - 29 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£448
for 4 nights
From
£85
£683
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£448
for 4 nights
From
£85
£619
£1,046
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning and Linens £95.3 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals