HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spectacular Telegraph Hill Townhouse (Great views, great location, great value!)

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,250 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 30 nights

Overview

About the property

Enjoy an amazing San Francisco Telegraph Hill experience; views & roof terrace

Newly constructed in 2003 our home is in one of only 2 buildings in Reno Place, a quiet private alley atop Telegraph Hill adjacent to the San Francisco financial district. Tenants occupy the lower level of our building and our home is at the highest point with spectacular views from all levels. The main living areas comprises living/dining & kitchen upstairs is 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms and up another level to the panoramic private roof terrace with panoramic views over Northbeach to the Golden Gate bridge and Coit tower and to the city.

Once in the front door you ascend one flight of stairs to enter the main living level. Tall ceilings ensure spectacular views are enjoyed from the dining and kitchen areas.

Maple flooring throughout with and abundance of natural light and with contemporary design and comfortable furnishings. Each room is tastefully decorated with original artworks. The internal stairs are open powder coated steel with maple runners.

The kitchen features stainless steel appliances including Wolf stove, impressive Azul Macauba granite benchtops, sub-zero fridge, latest F&P dishdrawer dishwasher and everything you need from cutlery, dinner-wear, pots, pans, wine glasses, etc (if you can resist the hundreds of restaurants within walking distance).

The kitchen overlooks the dining area that enjoys panoramic views with a dining table (extendable) that seats 6 and with buffet and rare antique chinese alter. Blinds shield incoming sunlight and offer added privacy.

The lounge room is on the same floor and includes a flat screen TV with Direct TV (satellite TV), inbuilt gas fireplace, leather lounge and sub-zero wine refrigerator. A Bose sound system enhances the TV sound; its Bluetooth receiver allows you to play your own music through the stereo and/or through the ceiling speakers in the dining room.

Upstairs to the bedroom level which has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and inbuilt washer/dryer. The master bedroom at the front features spectacular views and has a queen size bed, inbuilt mahogany panel closet with additional open shelves. There is also Direct TV screen and features an ensuite bathroom/toilet with deep soaking tub/spa bath, fossilized stone walls and marble countertop.

The second bedroom has a double (not queen) size bed, also with inbuilt mahogany panel closet. The second bathroom has 2 doors so can be configured so is private to the second bedroom or if you are entertaining can be opened up for guests such that they do not have to enter the bedroom to use the bathroom.

Upstairs again and you'll enjoy the unique setting of your own private roof terrace at one of the highest points on Telegraph Hill. Slate tiles with terracotta stucco parapet walls for safety you will enjoy spectacular views overlooking Northbeach and Chinatown. Most all the icons are visible; Golden Gate Bridge, Coit Tower, Alcatraz, TransAmercia Pyramid Tower (partially obscured by a tree), Saints Peter & Paul Church (where Marilyn Monroe & Joe DiMaggio were married), Russian Hill & Nob Hill. There is a plumbed gas BBQ and small garden and table and chairs with additional seating.

Being a pedestrian alley Reno Place has no parking however there is street parking and public/valet parking nearby.

More Details

Property Manager
Gower Smith
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Australian, New Zealand and tiny bit of Japanese
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
8 April, 2017

About Gower Smith

My wife Robyn and I live in San Francisco and we often spend time in Australia and New Zealand and we often stop over in Japan and Hong Kong when visiting our home countries. We recently completed building at our California Coastal property and like to spend time there which is why we are making our home available to guests who would love to enjoy an amazing away from home experience in Telegraph Hill.

Gower Smith purchased this townhome in 1999

Why Gower Smith chose San Francisco

When San Francisco was settled in the gold rush days the first bank set up just a block from where the Trans-America Pyramid building is today. The Italians and Chinese arrived and set up camp nearby which is why San Francisco's Northbeach (Italian area) and ChinaTown are 2 of the old established inner city neighborhoods. Reno Place is unique with only 2 buildings and very European in style. You enter the quiet and tranquil small private street under an archway off the main street; most of the city would never know it existed. Once inside you have views to the Golden Gate bridge and overlook both the Northbeach & Chinatown communities which are only a few blocks away down the hill. Northbeach has preserved its neighborhood spirit; we have no Starbucks or chain stores, just mom & pop establishments, but you'll great Italian cafes many historic ones. Our nearest bar has hosted live music most nights of the week for decades and legends including Jimmy Hendrix, Janis Joplin and Carlos Santana played there. You have a great local corner store just 500m away and you're walking distance to Union Square and the downtown area.

What makes this townhome unique

If you want to really live the heartbeat of San Francisco and enjoy a Telegraph Hill lifestyle experience you'll love our place.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in North Beach in San Francisco

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • near the sea ...
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Second Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Doors to configure as ensuite for 2nd bedroom or for guests
    Master ensuite - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi , Walls and floor of master bathroom are natural fossil stone.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Master bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , With ensuite
    Second bedroom - 1 Double Bed , 1 Child Bed , Child bed is a bunk bed. Door opens to adjoining bathroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Notes:
Away from it all yet so close to all the action of the historic Northbeach inner city area.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

Spectacular Telegraph Hill Townhouse (Great views, great location, great value!)
average rating of 4.4210525 based on 19 reviews
5

GREAT LOCATION, FANTASTIC DECOR and VIEWS, VIEWS, VIEWS!!

  • 5 of 5

Upon first arrival, we met Robyn at the entrance to the property and she was friendly as anyone could be. She provided us with a brief tour of her place and went along her way.

The location is superb, literally steps from Little Italy. With ample bars, cafes and eateries around, one will not go hungry. Also, being so close to Coit tower and the Embarcadero, things-to-do are just around the corner.

The inside of her townhome is well appointed with art in every room, comfortable furniture and a kitchen with an unobstructed view of the city. Everything was clean and in it's place and the kitchen is fully stocked!

The best feature is, without a doubt, the rooftop terrace. Beautifully decorated with a center-piece garden and views of St. Peter and Paul cathedral, the Golden Gate and the bay, there wasn't a single morning and evening that I didn't spend enjoying the absolute beauty and charm that is San Francisco.

I've stayed in the North Beach/Coit Tower area several times and each time was a joy. This trip was no exception and if you're debating on whether or not the rooftop terrace is a feature worth considering, take it from me, it made all the difference in the world!

Robyn and Gower were both communicative from the moment of booking to the moment I arrived. Most excellent hosts.

Robyn and Gower, thank you.

Mike

  • Review Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property, great location, great owner!

  • 5 of 5

This property is incredible! It is exactly as displayed in the pictures. It was clean, in nice condition, with comfortable beds and top of the line linens. The kitchen is well oppointed with everything you need for your stay and the Nespresso machine is a nice touch. The views from all the windows (which are floor to ceiling) are incredible. The roof top deck is absolutely stunning, with breathtaking views of the the bridge, Coit Tower and the other tourist attractions. It truly felt like we were staying at a resort!

The owner (Robyn) is an absolute gem and is so easy to work with. She was so accommodating to our schedules and was very responsive. I would absolutely and without any hesitation recommend this property to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Baltimore, MD | New York, NY | Miami, FL
5

Modern, well-appointed, and with beautiful views

  • 5 of 5

Great townhouse! Three separate floors, including a spacious main floor with kitchen, dining room and a very nice living room with a wine fridge, gas fireplace and wall-mounted flat screen TV. Very comfortable couch. Second floor has two large bedrooms and two full bathrooms, again, all very nicely decorated. The top floor is the rooftop deck with a working grill and magnificent views, including Coit Tower which is only a few blocks away. We spent most of our evenings on the roof, with the cool breeze and a bottle of wine.

The owner, Robyn, was a fantastic host. Although we didn't need to contact her with any issues, she provided complete details on how to reach her and her husband, and provided extensive additional information the neighborhood and local activities. She also very graciously allowed us to have some visitors over for dinner and to share in the great views from the rooftop deck.

Although a previous reviewer indicated that there were issues with appliances and the overall condition of the home, we didn't find that to be the case at all. The appliances all worked correctly when provided directions were followed.

This is very much "vertical living" -- the street is actually a quaint alley, and there are about 50 steps to get from the street to the main floor of the house, but the owners are very up-front about that. Pack light, and you'll be fine.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much John for your kind words, I am glad that you got to enjoy our townhouse Just like we enjoy being there when in residence.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

WORST RENTAL EVER! MISREPRESENTED! NEEDS MAJOR REPAIRS!

  • 1 of 5

We rented this place for 8 nights in November. When we arrived Robyn was quite friendly, however met us with a lengthy description of many things that are damaged/ broken in the rental. Here is the condition of the rental as of Nov.17,2016.

1. Gas grill on rooftop terrace not working

2.Sliding glass door to balcony in second bedroom won't open and needs new track

3.Washing machine only works on gentle cycle only using small loads

4.Clothes Dryer is broken! Air drying clothes takes forever and socks and jeans take a whole day!

5.Main light in living room broken

6.Fireplace in living room broken

7.Couch uncomfortably worn with no support

8. Master bedroom window broken

9. Substantial rips, faded, very old red curtains cover that broken window. Owner attempted repairs with staples and duct tape.

10. Master bed has no support at all

11. Master bathroom has no non skid mat for the shower. Very slippery, had to use a bath towel on shower floor for traction.

12. Old, see through blinds in master shower offers no privacy while showering.

13. Second bedroom double bed is worn out

14. No house phone provided as advertised for making local calls.

15.Sub zero fridge had at least 12 sauces, jams, condiments that had expired years ago. Also rusted inside.

16. Three decorative lights above the bar with only one with a working lightbulb.

17. Broken cabinet in kichen

18. Blinds in dining / kitchen area are see through at night so no privacy there.

19.No instructions on how to use the fire escape! NONE! Sliding glass doors off the living room open to a balcony and fire escape. There is a large opening in floor that a child could easily fall through to the ground below. Not safe!

20. Air conditioning means open the windows if you are hot. There are no screens on the windows so the insects come in at night.

21.Stereo instructions for the living room were crossed out in home manual so I think that is broken also.

22.The front door is very hard to open. You don't insert the key and open the door. There is an entire page in home manual on how to open the front door! Very aggravating!

23. Floors on second floor are in poor condition and require refinishing.

We tried to negotiate an early exit after the first night due to the poor condition of the rental. Robyn would not budge at all. Had she been honest about the true state of the rental and told me outside the 30 day window, I would have cancelled my reservation for a full refund.

Home has a nice view when not foggy.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kjel your review is so far from the truth! You arrived and were happy, your girlfriend on the other hand was not happy with the home (our home) you had chosen for your vacation together. I have had absolutely no complaints from anyone else, in fact favorable 5 star reviews. Your huge list of nit picking comments are terrible. Whilst there are a few minor repairs here and there to be undertaken. We have since your visit in November undertaken repair and replacement at our home. And ... all minor things which we could live with, we do reside here for most of the time. We have installed complete black out blinds in the master bedroom. Replaced the washer and dryer. Repaired the large gas log fire, plus provided additional heaters.. We have a new sofa too! Your review is terrible, and anyone could see that you have been on a mission to be over critical, because your friend was not happy, even before she entered our townhouse, she just wasn't happy with maybe your choice of area .. Northbeach. On the hill. Guests like you disappoint owners like us! Robyn and Gower
Did you find this review helpful?
19 0
5

Very nice place to stay

  • 5 of 5

The townhouse is very welcoming and beautifully decorated. the views are gorgeous. Would definitely stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location! Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely gorgeous home,fantastic location! Absolutely believe what they say about the terrain! Some serious hills to climb but doable...loved our stay!!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15.6 Miles
San Francisco International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Grant & Green Saloon
Nearest Ferry
0.9 Miles
San Francisco Ferry Building
Nearest Golf
3.4 Miles
Presidio Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.9 Miles
Montgomery Street BART
Nearest Motorway
1.2 Miles
101 Highway / South Vanness Street
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Many Grant and Green Street Restaurants
Nearest Ski
189 Miles
Heavenly Ski Resort. Tahoe
Nearest Beach
7.4 Miles
Ocean Beach
Car: not necessary

Telegraph Hill is one of the oldest most established San Francisco inner city areas. The Hill is above Northbeach (the historic Italian neighborhood) and only minutes walk to Chinatown. Bound on one side by the San Francisco financial district and the other by Fisherman's wharf you are living in teh city however above all the noise with peace and tranquility and amazing views.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday townhome in North Beach, The Bay Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Winter rates
1 Jan 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
30 night minimum stay
£9,448
for 30 nights
From
£308
 
 
Summer rate
19 May 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
30 night minimum stay
£11,178
for 30 nights
From
£365
 
 
My Standard Rate
30 night minimum stay
£11,178
for 30 nights
From
£365
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £77.12
Refundable Damage Deposit £389.49
Cleaning fee £140.22

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals