HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

4/2 Country Escape On 30 Private Acres, Pet Friendly!

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8-10

My comfy country escape is yours to enjoy year-round, for a weekend, week or month at a time. The 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom private home can accommodate 8-10 people, with 1 King, 2 Queen, and 1 Full size beds. It's a remote nature lover's paradise just 26 miles from Gainesville and University of Florida Campus & Stadium.

There is a kitchen bar, brick fireplace, oversized bath in the master suite, full laundry, 6-person dining room table, a piano, lots of open windows, a back porch and flower garden. Pet friendly, and has a chain-linked fence on the back of the home so your pups can play! When the home is rented, I stay with my fiance a few miles up the road, so I am always available to answer questions or help with anything you need!

Melrose is known for its many lakes and water activities. We also have several art galleries and wonderful antique shops. If you need any restaurant or other recommendations, please do not hesitate to ask!

The home is located 26 miles from Gainesville and UF, and less than an hour from Saint Augustine beach. We also have great little towns to explore all around, including Keystone Heights, Palatka, Starke, and historic Micanopy.

You do not need to worry about noise. I want my guests to use the space as if it were their own! Please leave the home in the same condition you found it, and smoke only outside.

If you need anything at all, I am just a few miles away!

More Details

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Melrose in Clay County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
4/2 Country Escape On 30 Private Acres, Pet Friendly!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
1

Owner accuse us for things we didn't break so that she can put deposit to herself

  • 1 of 5

First of all house is not as described. Its very old and dirty with some kind of smell. They won't let us use the garage. She says that we broke her steam cleaner and towel hanger which we didn't. We didn't even touch them during our stay. Looks like she want to replace her old cleaner for free so that she can use our damage deposit by accusing us. We were 10 people stayed for 2 days so that we used more towels. She even had problem with that too. She only provided us 6 trash bags ( She told that she will provide them but didn't told us the count) . We used all those 6. She says all those trash bags were filled with beer bottles and pizza boxes. Seriously?. Now she doesn't want to eat pizzas at her house that we were renting? All these things she made up just to avoid refunding our damage deposit. I wouldn't suggest this property and I'm not happy with vrbo for not helping me in this case.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guest left a negative review because I was forced to withhold his security deposit. Upon arrival, Guest sent a message saying "Heather, we just checked in and everything looks perfect." Guest did not have a single complaint during the stay. Now, only after causing damage to the home and losing his security deposit, Guest claims the house is not as described, old and dirty with some kind of smell. This is absolutely not accurate. Please see other reviews (all 5 star reviews until this Guest left a 1 star review) for accurate reviews of the home. It is not old (it's a modern home built in 2004) and it is definitely not dirty. It is thoroughly cleaned between each stay, and in fact, most tenants rave about how exceptionally clean it is. The reason for withholding the security deposit is because Guest had what looked to be a new years eve party which led to someone ripping the towel hanger in the master bath suite completely off the wall, my $200+ steam cleaner was used to clean up a spill and it was slammed into something (possibly a piece of furniture) and cracked in the front, so it must be replaced. There was something red (food?) splattered on the bathroom wall, all the furniture had been moved around, all towels and sheets in the house were used so I suspect there were more than the approved # of guests, tons of trash, pizza boxes, beer bottles etc. (which I told the guest was not a problem... I only mentioned it in the context that it appeared they threw a party and had more guests than reported). I wish HomeAway would not allow reviews after a complaint/security deposit situation, because it is obvious that the only reason Guest left a negative review is because of the consequences of the damage they caused to the home. In the 4+ years that I have rented my property regularly, I have only had to withhold a security deposit on very few occasions when damage needed to be repaired. I would not and do not withhold security deposits unless it is absolutely necessary. With few exceptions, I have had wonderful experiences with guests taking excellent care of my home. Unfortunately, this was not the case here.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

The description is accurate. The house is gorgeous, spacious and comfortable. The view of the stars at night was incredible and the privacy was much appreciated. We had no problems finding the location. Would definitely stay again!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Very Accomodating

  • 5 of 5

We had to check in early and there was no problem accommodating this request. The house fit our needs for the few days we needed to be in town.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Nice with lots of space

  • 5 of 5

Heather was very accommodating and the house was very clean.

The house is secluded yet easy to get to.

Will stay again.

Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Weekend Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Great location for star gazing among friends and a beautiful and spacious house. Sad we couldn't stay longer. Easy to communicate and work with the owner!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Nov-2015
  • Date of Stay: November 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5

The house was very nice and roomy we had 5 adults and 3 children and did not feel cramped at all. The outside space was very spacious. We didn't get a chance to explore close by as our business was in Jacksonville but it was not to far of a drive to lots of places. All and all we had a great time and would go back again.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed the home! Thank you for being wonderful guests and also for leaving a positive review! Please come back any time :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Owner

Heather Lee
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
19 February, 2018

About Heather Lee

I was born and raised in North Florida, about an hour northwest of Melrose on the Suwannee River. After spending 7 years up north in Chicago and Philadelphia, my love for nature brought me back home. I now have a small law practice and enjoy painting, playing piano and guitar, and gardening on my little country paradise, Forest Hills Estate.

Heather Lee purchased this house in 2013

Location

Nearest Airport
22.4 Miles
Gainesville Regional Airport
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Tangled Oaks Winery
Nearest Restaurant
6.8 Miles
Blue Water Bay (Seafood)
Nearest Beach
49.6 Miles
Saint Augustine Beach/Crescent Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Melrose, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£130
for 1 night
From
£76
From
£115
Fri,Sat
£512
£1,582
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £53.58
Pet Fee £35.72
Refundable Damage Deposit £142.88
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals