Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

4/2 Country Escape On 30 Private Acres, Pet Friendly!

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8-10

My comfy country escape is yours to enjoy year-round, for a weekend, week or month at a time. The 4 bedroom, 2 bathroom private home can accommodate 8-10 people, with 1 King, 2 Queen, and 1 Full size beds. It's a remote nature lover's paradise just 26 miles from Gainesville and University of Florida Campus & Stadium.

There is a kitchen bar, brick fireplace, oversized bath in the master suite, full laundry, 6-person dining room table, a piano, lots of open windows, a back porch and flower garden. Pet friendly, and has a chain-linked fence on the back of the home so your pups can play! When the home is rented, I stay with my fiance a few miles up the road, so I am always available to answer questions or help with anything you need!

Melrose is known for its many lakes and water activities. We also have several art galleries and wonderful antique shops. If you need any restaurant or other recommendations, please do not hesitate to ask!

The home is located 26 miles from Gainesville and UF, and less than an hour from Saint Augustine beach. We also have great little towns to explore all around, including Keystone Heights, Palatka, Starke, and historic Micanopy.

You do not need to worry about noise. I want my guests to use the space as if it were their own! Please leave the home in the same condition you found it, and smoke only outside.

If you need anything at all, I am just a few miles away!

More Details

Heather Lee
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 August, 2018

About Heather Lee

I was born and raised in North Florida, about an hour northwest of Melrose on the Suwannee River. After spending 7 years up north in Chicago and Philadelphia, my love for nature brought me back home. I now have a small law practice and enjoy painting, playing piano and guitar, and gardening on my little country paradise, Forest Hills Estate.

Heather Lee purchased this house in 2013


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Melrose in Florida

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
Location Type:
  • rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • limited accessibility
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
4/2 Country Escape On 30 Private Acres, Pet Friendly!
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews

Nice home quit and clean little in the country but I live in the country

  • 5 of 5

House was clean and had everything we needed to sleep and cook and eat would stay again if available when I’m back in the area

  • Review Submitted: 18-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property was clean and just as described. It was a little more remote than we had expected, but.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. We had everything we needed and were very comfortable. The owner was very responsive.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

stay in melrose

  • 5 of 5


  • Review Submitted: 21-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, The extra blankets are in the big chest in the back guest bedroom. The hot water in the kitchen does work, but when the new sink faucet was installed recently, the hot and cold were switched, so you have to turn the faucet all the way to the right for hot and to the left is cold. I'm sorry I didn't warn you about that... I wish you would have told me about these issues during your stay. I will have someone re-connect the hot/cold properly. Also, I returned your security deposit on the day of your check-out. I believe it takes a few days for VRBO to process it to your bank account. Thank you for staying, and please come back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Owner accuse us for things we didn't break so that she can put deposit to herself

  • 1 of 5

First of all house is not as described. Its very old and dirty with some kind of smell. They won't let us use the garage. She says that we broke her steam cleaner and towel hanger which we didn't. We didn't even touch them during our stay. Looks like she want to replace her old cleaner for free so that she can use our damage deposit by accusing us. We were 10 people stayed for 2 days so that we used more towels. She even had problem with that too. She only provided us 6 trash bags ( She told that she will provide them but didn't told us the count) . We used all those 6. She says all those trash bags were filled with beer bottles and pizza boxes. Seriously?. Now she doesn't want to eat pizzas at her house that we were renting? All these things she made up just to avoid refunding our damage deposit. I wouldn't suggest this property and I'm not happy with vrbo for not helping me in this case.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Guest left a negative review because I was forced to withhold his security deposit. Upon arrival, Guest sent a message saying "Heather, we just checked in and everything looks perfect." Guest did not have a single complaint during the stay. Now, only after causing damage to the home and losing his security deposit, Guest claims the house is not as described, old and dirty with some kind of smell. This is absolutely not accurate. Please see other reviews (all 5 star reviews until this Guest left a 1 star review) for accurate reviews of the home. It is not old (it's a modern home built in 2004) and it is definitely not dirty. It is thoroughly cleaned between each stay, and in fact, most tenants rave about how exceptionally clean it is. The reason for withholding the security deposit is because Guest had what looked to be a new years eve party which led to someone ripping the towel hanger in the master bath suite completely off the wall, my $200+ steam cleaner was used to clean up a spill and it was slammed into something (possibly a piece of furniture) and cracked in the front, so it must be replaced. There was something red (food?) splattered on the bathroom wall, all the furniture had been moved around, all towels and sheets in the house were used so I suspect there were more than the approved # of guests, tons of trash, pizza boxes, beer bottles etc. (which I told the guest was not a problem... I only mentioned it in the context that it appeared they threw a party and had more guests than reported). I wish HomeAway would not allow reviews after a complaint/security deposit situation, because it is obvious that the only reason Guest left a negative review is because of the consequences of the damage they caused to the home. In the 4+ years that I have rented my property regularly, I have only had to withhold a security deposit on very few occasions when damage needed to be repaired. I would not and do not withhold security deposits unless it is absolutely necessary. With few exceptions, I have had wonderful experiences with guests taking excellent care of my home. Unfortunately, this was not the case here.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Atlanta, Georgia

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

The description is accurate. The house is gorgeous, spacious and comfortable. The view of the stars at night was incredible and the privacy was much appreciated. We had no problems finding the location. Would definitely stay again!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Very Accomodating

  • 5 of 5

We had to check in early and there was no problem accommodating this request. The house fit our needs for the few days we needed to be in town.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
22.4 Miles
Gainesville Regional Airport
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Tangled Oaks Winery
Nearest Restaurant
6.8 Miles
Blue Water Bay (Seafood)
Nearest Beach
49.6 Miles
Saint Augustine Beach/Crescent Beach
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Melrose, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £154.5
Pet Fee £38.63
Cleaning Fee £77.25

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals