HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Jamestown Conanicut Island Retreat - The Island Life!

Bedrooms 2
Space 950 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bath Sleeps 4

The Village 59 second floor unit was recently remodeled with everything brand new! We have new granite counter tops, appliances and furniture! Village 59 is situated in the heart of the Village of Jamestown, RI walking distance to all the village has to offer, shopping, restaurants, Newport Ferry (seasonal), fishing, bike and kayak rentals, the beaches.

* Fully Stocked Kitchen

* All Linens, Paper Products and Towels provided

* Laundry room with new LG washer 2015 and and dryer

* Hair dryer and Ironing Board

* Beach chairs and beach towels are provided

* Sleeps up to 5 guest comfortably with 1 twin bed and two queen beds.

* Space for additional air mattress is available. (not provided)

* 2 Samsung LCD TV with Blue Ray DVD/Blue Ray players (movies provided)

* Convenience Store and Redbox located about one block away

* Grocery Store about 3 blocks away

* Closest Airport TF Green (PVD) about 20 miles next closest Boston about 65 miles

Things to do in the area:

* Village 59 is located in the middle of the Southern New England Winery Tours

* Great central location to Boston, Cape Cod and NYC

* Closest Beaches Mackeral Cove and East Ferry both within 1 mile

* 2 Beautiful Rhode Island State Parks Beavertail and Fort Wetherill within 2 miles

* Newport Mansion tours begin just 3-4 miles away

* Kayak, Jet Ski and Bike rentals within 1/2 mile.

* Lots of Shopping along historic streets of Newport and Jamestown

* Jamestown Fire Station Museum

* Hiking trails of Beavertail State Park (3 miles away)

* Newport Walking trail be sure to visit the Cliff Walk

* Sailing aboard a private boat or be a guest aboard the Madeleine (Newport)

* Jamestown Golf Course about 1/2 mile away for Golfers who bring clubs

* Public & Private Tennis Courts about 1/2 mile away.

A limit of no more than 5 adult guest are allowed overnight.

We know you will enjoy your stay in this beautifully updated unit and we look forward to having you as our guest.

Strict NO SMOKING And NO PET policy.

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

More Details

Property Manager
Paul Sylvia
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 June, 2017

About Paul Sylvia

Paul was born and raised, in his early childhood, in Jamestown. He later moved out of state and has continued to return to visit family and friends. The home has been in the family for many years being handed down generation after generation. It was his goal a few years ago to refurbish the 2nd floor unit and continue the tradition of returning to the home each summer with his family. The owners just recently began to offer it available to friends and other guest.

Paul and Kimberly enjoy returning each year to the quiet historic town to visit the many fine restaurants, bakeries, shops in the area. They also enjoy hiking trails, kayaking, fishing, sailing, golf and relaxing at the local beaches. In addition to the many things to do close by, they sometimes take road trips to nearby Boston and New York City. The owners are confident you will enjoy the accommodations and the beautiful town of Jamestown.

Please feel free to contact Paul regarding any questions you may have and we look forward to you staying in our home away from home in one of the best kept secrets of New England, Jamestown, RI.

Why Paul Sylvia chose Newport - Aquidneck Island

Our vacation rental recently had a complete remodel with all new furnishings and kitchen. This property is also in the best location close to the town center (Village) and walking distance to playground, shopping, Jamestown Ferry, and all of the restaurants in the village. A Cumberland Farms convenience store is located less than 500 feet away from the unit to pick up items during your stay. The unit is within 2-3 miles to two of the most beautiful State Parks you will find in the state of Rhode Island.

What makes this apartment unique

Our central location in New England to New York City, Boston and Cape Cod is a huge plus. All three locations make a drivable day trip.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Jamestown in Newport County

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • near the sea ...
  • village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom is a full bath with shower, tub, sink and toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 1 has one Queen. Bedroom 2 has two Twins and room for an air mattress for a 5th guest. Air mattress is not supplied
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

Jamestown Conanicut Island Retreat - The Island Life!
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews

Super duper!

  • 5 of 5

This is a such a nice home, well furnished and great location. The owner was exceptional, great to work with. He takes great detail to make sure things are nice. Bedrooms are spacious. Great front porch sitting area, we enjoyed that a lot in the mornings especially. Very nice convenience store within walking distance for food/snacks. Easy walk to restaurants and ocean. We would go back! It was a comfy & fun stay!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay as much as we do when we are there. We look forward to your future visits! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Great location, quaint!

  • 4 of 5

My 2 teenagers and I enjoyed staying here. This is a second floor apartment of a house. It has a great location near Jamestown main drag with restaraunts and Harbor. It is also a 10-20 minute drive to Newport, although main summer holidays could take longer getting over the Pell Bridge (toll $4 each way).

There is ample room for 3-4 people. Beds are comfy, a renovated bathroom and fully stocked kitchen, and is appointed with nice IKEA furnishings and New England-style deckr. There are a washing machine and dryer in a shared laundry room outside adjacent to the downstairs unit. Street noise was minimal and the neighbors are quiet. There are window AC units in the bedrooms if it gets humid.

What's missing is WiFi, and the surprise fees and end of stay self cleaning / linen laundry requirement turned out to be a hassle. Instead of enjoying a final morning breakfast, I'm writing this review while waiting for the towels and sheets to dry to avoid a hefty cleaning service fee. Be sure to allow plenty of time to get to your flight if you stay here. All in all, a great stay.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your positive review and for booking your stay at "Village 59" in Jamestown. We are considering adding WIFI to the unit for our future guest next season. However, free WIFI is available at almost every restaurant and also at the library located about 300 feet away all day. Most guest do not use WIFI because they are sight-seeing or they use smart phones to establish a hot spot with their cell phones to use lap tops or ipads. If we added WIFI it would drive up the cost of the rental and we are trying to keep the unit affordable to our guest without adding to additional cost. We do not have any "surprise fees" I am not sure what you meant by this. However, I am assuming it is related to booking fees or the online booking agent in which we have no control over. The cleaning fees are what our local cleaning service charges and unfortunately, things are expensive in this area of the United States and we do not determine the rates charged by the local cleaning services also not within our control. It seems the standard fee is around $149 for cleaning and that is what we charge if a guest request a cleaning service before their stay. It may be a "hassel" to wash and dry the linens but worth saving $149 in my opinion. We also provide the washer, dryer and laundry supplies making this simple and easy for our guest. Having the option to clean yourself or hire the cleaning service will always be an option to our guests. We hope that we can continue offering it as an option unlike most rentals. If our guest are driving into town we also suggest bringing their own towels and sheets so they do not waste time doing laundry before they check out and this works really well allowing our guest to have that last breakfast and relaxation before checking-out. Yes, we agree with you on return home flights our guest need to book late afternoon flights to ensure the unit is cleaned and allow enough time to return a rental and catch flight. I also suggest flying into PVD (TF Green) rather than Boston (Logan) if possible since it is a much closer airport. Thank you again for your stay and the positive view.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect Place in Jamestown!

  • 5 of 5

This second story apartment is the perfect place for a Jamestown stay. It's location is very central - right by the library and Jamestown Art Center. A gas station with a great convenience store, Island Scoop and the best wood-fired pizza on the island (Village Hearth) are all just a block away, and the East Ferry Village is an easy walk (less than half a mile) or bike ride away. The central location cannot be beat.

The apartment itself is very well furnished. There are plenty of dishes, pans, towels, etc. If you need it, it's here! The kitchen has beautiful cabinets, granite counters and the appliances all look like they're brand new and are far nicer than what I have at home. The decor is very classic/modern with a Jamestown nautical theme. We stayed in August during a New England heat wave and the window AC units and ceiling fans (one in each bedroom and living room) kept us cool and the humidity at bay. The laundry room is a huge benefit, and again, the washer and dryer are large and look brand new.

PJ, the owner, is the best I've ever worked with! He is very responsive and extremely helpful. We are so happy that we stayed here, and can't wait to come back sometime!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

very nice apartment

  • 5 of 5

Very nice apartment.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! You are welcome anytime! Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved our stsy here!

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is in a great location. It is with in walking distance to downtown. Lots of things to do/see on the island.(ask Paul to give you his list of must sees). We also spent a lot of time in Newport and visited Marthas Vineyard. The apartment was exactly as pictured. Beds are comfy & kitchen has everything you need. Although there is only one bathroom we had a group of 4 adults and managed fine. Looking forward to going back next year!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for choosing our place for your visit to Jamestown! Martha's Vineyard and Block Island are two destinations that are visited by our guest frequently. As many times as I have visited Jamestown with my family and so many things to do in the immediate area such as the local vineyards along the Southern New England Winery Tours, beaches, mansion tours, shopping, restaurants, sailing, digging for clams, kayaking, visiting the two State Parks I just forget about those places but they are on my bucket list. :) Thank you for making Village 59 your short term home! We welcome you back anytime. - Paul & Kimberly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Central Island Location, Easy Access to All Area Sights

  • 5 of 5

This is a fantastic rental. The owner is so thoughtful and organized with notes, maps, etc. The condo is great if you have children--they have their own bedroom and the layout affords privacy for the grown-ups. It is well-appointed and furnished. We used it as a base for a short stay to hit Naragansett, Newport, & Block Island and rode our bikes everywhere. I highly recommend it!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our vacation home and selecting us as your place of stay on the island. So, glad you had a wonderful experience and thank you for taking care of our home as your own. It is always nice to have guest like you and your family. Please keep our place in mind for your future visits. As our preferred guest you will receive a discount off your future bookings and a referral credit for each guest that books a stay with us. Please contact us for more details. Thanks again! Paul and Kimberly
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
TF Green
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
The Narragansett
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
East Ferry
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Jamestown Country Club
Nearest Train
10 Miles
North Kingstown
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Many to chose from within walking distance
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Mackeral Cove
Car: necessary

Just a short walk away you will find shopping less than a half mile. Grocery store 2 blocks away. Convenience store with fuel less than one block, public library with playground one block away. This area is loaded with things to do in the immediate surrounding area being located on an island with beautiful scenery from the southern end of the island where you will find one of the oldest lighthouses in the United States Beavertail Lighthouse. Tanning on the rocks at Beavertail State Park during the summer months or just sitting there listening to the surf crash against the rocks is so relaxing for the soul. If you are adventurous enjoy a swim in one of the coves. Tour the mansions of Newport or a winery tour in Middletown. Visit Sweetberry Farm to pick fresh fruit from the farm. Walk downtown into the Village to enjoy the small shops or fine restaurants. Kayak, snorkle, scuba from Fort Wetheral. Just a short drive to Boston or the Cape with this centrally located unit. These are just a few things to do in the area. If you would like help planning your trip to Jamestown we will be glad to help!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Jamestown, Rhode Island

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Summer Peak
17 Jun 2017 - 6 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
Early Fall
7 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Reservation Processing £45.61
Refundable Damage Deposit £193.26
Tax Rate 8.0%

Our cleaning fee is $0 because it is a leave it as you found it listing. However, cleaning services are available upon check out for $150 if scheduled 10 days in advance of your stay. Guest are expected to complete regular cleaning task before checking out: wash linens, towels, dishes, take out trash, remove items from fridge, clean tub and sinks. A check list is provided for our guest. Many of our guest bring there own sheets and towels and this is an acceptable option if you are a guest that is driving into town to save on laundry. The unit is supplied with all cleaning products for shower, sinks, a mop, swiffer and vacuum for the floors. A cleaning fee of $200 is charged if unit is not cleaned after check out. Your booking is not complete until the rental agreement is signed and returned to property management.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals