HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Clean and Comfy Cottage & Close to all!! . Enjoy our quaint mountain town!

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wireless Internet
  • Barbecue

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedroom, 2 Full Bath, (Sleeps 5)

Two bedroom/ TWO full baths (yep, TWO); lusciously comfortable & relaxing space. Air Conditioned. Wi-Fi. Centrally located in the Beautiful Black Hills, close to all local area attractions. See the sights all day and come back and you are only a short and wonderful walk to shop & dining (who wants to cook on vacation?) if you do, we have a new grill and well stocked kitchen at your disposal. Don't miss the atmosphere this location offers...it truly is the best of both worlds!

A super cozy, super fun place to hang your hat while exploring all the Hills have to offer.

The Winston offers all of the comforts of home and the convienence of being close to all the major attractions. Did you forget something, walk to the market....still want that fun trinket you saw earlier at the store.....take an evening stroll and pick it up before its gone.

Simply relax and enjoy!

Keywords: House, Black Hills, Custer, Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, Crazy Horse, Wind Cave, Jewel Cave, Cabin, Cottage, Hill City

More Details

Owner
Julie Beer
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
15 May, 2017

About Julie Beer

We are a family that has hospitality in our blood. I was raised in a family resort setting in Northern Minnesota and fully understand and desire to give a great guest expierinece here in Custer. We fell in love with South Dakota and the Black Hills 8 years ago while on a family road trip. We had stayed on this property and the rest, as they say is history.

Julie Beer purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Julie Beer chose Black Hills

We love the convenience that Custer has to offer. We originally vacationed in more remote settings but really loved the proximity to all the must see/must do's the Hills has to offer. On a short stay this location makes more of them possible....oh, and the ability to get items that we forgot at the store etc..

What makes this cottage unique

Clean, Comfortable, Cozy and CloseCloseClose to Everything!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Custer in West Custer Township

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Full size tub/shower, toilet, sink and vanity on both levels!
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2) Futon (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski
  • Snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(39 traveller reviews)

Clean and Comfy Cottage & Close to all!! . Enjoy our quaint mountain town!
average rating of 4.717949 based on 39 reviews
Northern CA
5

Charming and Cozy Cottage that made our 4 night stay in Custer a pleasure!

  • 5 of 5

The Winston Cottage has a welcoming atmosphere and just the right amount of decor. The kitchen is well appointed with very good pots & pans etc. Being The Cook of our group, the kitchen equipment is high on my priority list and this kitchen gets top marks. Julie has a decorators eye and is focused on making certain you are comfortable and enjoying your stay in the cottage, as well as your visit to Custer. Cottage lets you walk into town and explore the shops and restaurants. A pleasure to return to the cottage after a day of hiking the trails or visiting the monuments and pour a glass of wine and sit on the little patio. Our Grill Master did a delicious planked salmon on the Charbroil grill. I seldom give a 5 star review but Winston Cottage deserves one!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location for a trip to the Black Hills!

  • 5 of 5

It was clean and warm for our winter stay, had everything we needed. It became our home base for a week of adventures all around the Black Hills.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint, lovely home close to everything

  • 5 of 5

We arrived after dark and the hosts checked in (via text) to make sure we arrived safely. Custer is cute. It is very quiet this time of year and many of the restaurants, shops are closed. We loved the Sage Creek Café. The visitor center is very helpful for regional attractions. We went to Custer State Park, MT. Rushmore, and Deadwood. A special treat was Sylvan Lake, great for family picnic.

The home itself looked newly remodeled, cute décor, loved this house for our family of 5!! They had a pack and play, so I didn't need to bring one. Washer/dryer on site was nice.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Clean, Comfortable, Convenient

  • 3 of 5

The Custer Cottage was exactly as described. Very comfortable for two travelers, extremely clean and well kept, and convenient to all the Black Hills have to offer. I gave our stay only three stars and not five for just one reason. The listed price was totally misleading. After the addition of a cleaning fee and Home Away's take and taxes, the price increased significantly. Then came the clincher - a Security Fee. Not a security deposit, a security "fee". That fee alone added significantly to our rate. And, for what, I still do not know. I would have been happy to pay for a refundable security deposit which would have been returned to us since we took excellent care of the cottage. But a "Fee"??

A nice place to stay and we were happy with the accommodation, just shocked and disappointed when the actual nightly cost was almost double the listed price.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for agreeing that our cottage is extremely clean and well cared for. As for the rate, HA takes our on and off season rates and averages them for their display ad, we have no control over how that is used. We have reduced our nightly rates to compensate for the HA service fee that most of us do not like since we also pay to list on HA. The security fee of $45 is a damage insurance policy that covers both of us AND is cheaper than refundable deposits when you factor the expense incurred to take and then refund that deposit which costs every time you do it. We work very hard to keep costs down while still being able to provide an extremely clean and well cared for cottage for our customers. All pricing is presented up front and you have to agree before a reservation can be made. Hope this helps and thank you for caring for our cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Centennial, CO
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

This cozy house had plenty of room for us and our two year old, is impeccably clean, and in a perfect spot for all of South Dakota's amazing sites. It is walking distance to everything in the quaint little town of Custer and close driving distance to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy horse, and Custer State Park.

The owner is very responsive and accommodating. Whenever we get back to South Dakota, this is where we will stay!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Central location, great spot to stay.

  • 4 of 5

The house was just right for 4 adults, nice and clean with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms: 2 kitchen tables upstairs with lots of kitchen supplies gave us plenty of room to prepare meals and with a BBQ out back, with a table and chairs, provided for relaxing dinners in the evening sun after a day of touring. Since the house is situated just off the Main Street it was nice to be able to walk into town in the evenings for an ice cream treat.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
51 Miles
Rapid City Regional Airport

Mt Rushmore 20 minutes

Crazy Horse 5 minutes

Sylvan Lake 20 minutes

Custer State Park 8 minutes

Fun and Frolic Already there

Also, WInd and Jewel Cave 20 mins

Mammoth site 35 mins

Wild Horse Sanctuary 50 mins

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Custer, South Dakota

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
High Season 2017
21 May 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£556
for 3 nights
From
£152
£1,012
 
 
Sturgis Rally Week 2017
6 Aug 2017 - 12 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,342
 
 
Shoulder Season
1 Oct 2017 - 23 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£269
for 2 nights
From
£84
£609
 
 
High Season 2018
24 May 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£556
for 3 nights
From
£152
£1,012
 
 
Sturgis Rally Week 2018
4 Aug 2018 - 10 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,342
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£406
for 3 nights
From
£102
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £57.98 + Tax
Damage Protect. to $750 £34.79 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals