HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Barnstable Village Charmer--Walk to Village and Harbor!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 6

Historic 6A, Exciting Contemporary two level home with Pond views, 3 bedrooms and 3 baths with Central A/C ~minutes to Barnstable Harbor & Village / sidewalk into this charming Village w/Sturgis Library, Old Tavern, & The Comedy Club~ Features gas fireplaced living room with wide pine floors, private master suite, brick patio w/privacy for outdoor dining, gorgeous stone wall w/garden & a hammock for relaxation~ Hear the train whistle as it crosses train bridge over 6A on the scenic rail way.~Sleeps 6, $1800 per week in summer~Off Season Rates Available~

Keywords: house, cottage, beach house, Cape Cod rental, summer home

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 October, 2017

About The Owner

We grew up coming to the Cape and this has always been our favorite spot. We were thrilled to find the perfect vacation home here.

The Owner purchased this house in 2011

Why The Owner chose Barnstable

We chose this location because of the charm of 6A and Barnstable village. Lots of restaurants, whale watching,great new Barnstable Market and coffee and gift shops. Easy access to beaches and close to many quaint Cape Cod tourist attractions. The house is situated on a beautul lot with lots of privacy with a view of Hinckley Pond. It is just a short walk to the ocean for an evening stroll with gorgeous sunsets.

What makes this house unique

Enjoy this home with plenty of room for relaxing with family and friends. Private backyard great for entertaining. We love to walk into the village for our morning coffees and the newspaper. We also love our evening walks to the water to view the beautiful sunsets. Great upscale market in town to meet all your needs without going into traffic. Begin your fun now!

Guestbook comments from the owner

My family of 6 stayed here a fall visit. Lovely house with lots of room and a high quality level of household items. All supplies needed were provided for a wonderful lobster dinner! A great village within walking distance, charming coffee shop.
Oct 2015
  • 1 of 1

Location

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Hyannis
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Barnstable Village
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Hyannis Steamboat or Hyline
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Hyannis
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Barnstable
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Millway
Car: recommended

Wonderful house in perfect cape village, No need to go anywhere else. Walk to village for coffee,ice cream, or dinner. Wonderful market and lots of restaurants. Beach choices are many and beautiful sunsets a pleny. Go to Millway beach and watch a beautiful sunset with a picnic or the many great restaurants for a perfect dinner.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Barnstable Village in Barnstable

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • near the sea ...
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Two sinks
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • swimming
Notes:
A boat launch less than a mile down the road, Unique Cape Cod village with restaurants ,ice cream stand and all amenities, Wonderful coffee shop within walking distance.Close to all that Cape Cod offers!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Barnstable Village Charmer--Walk to Village and Harbor!
average rating of 4.875 based on 9 reviews
5

Wonderful house that suited our needs.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much. We needed to house a number of people, make some meals, and be able to wash up (including washing salty clothes) at the end of each day, which was easy to do at this house. Friendly owners too.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being wonderful guests! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Cape Cod. Happy sailing!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic place.

  • 5 of 5

I want to start this off by saying every year I go on vacation and rent a property all over the country and reviews are usually the deciding factors in the place I choose. With that said this house was absolutely perfect for what we were looking for. I went to the cape with my wife, parents, and another couple and searched for a place that would give all of us enough space where we wouldn't be on top of each other and this house was perfect. My parents had the master bedroom, which was huge and beautiful, on the main floor which was on the second level. The other two bedrooms were on the first floor with a huge bathroom in between and more then enough room in each bedroom. The kitchen and dining room had way more than enough space for us to eat dinners comfortably and the kitchen was supplied with everything we needed to cook pretty much whatever we wanted. Then the living room where we all sat and watched a movie one of the nights sat us all in couches comfortably. The house was extremely clean and everything worked properly. Last but not least the price was as good as any I could find for what you get. When I plan vacations I exhaust every option possible to get the best bang for my buck and this property nailed on paper first than in person. Thanks very much for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home and hope to come back again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Mike. We love our house and are glad you did too! We work hard to keep it in tip top shape. Thank you for being such a great guest!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for large group

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 2 families that consisted of a total of 4 adults and 4 kids. the house was perfectly laid out to accommodate the families.

We were pleased as we pulled up the driveway, there was plenty of parking for our vehicles. Once we entered the house we were all very excited for our weekend away. The house was very clean and nicely decorated. All of the appliances worked perfectly and made for great memories, as we cooked in every night we were there. The outdoor patio was a great area for us to crack some lobster claws and share laughs. The best part of our stay was, even though we came as a group the house was big enough that we were never on top of one another. If some of the kids went down for a nap, they were away from all the commotion in the common areas- it made for a tear free and stress free stay. It was even better when shower time came, with 3 full baths there was no long wait to get into the bathroom.

We look forward to staying at this house again for a family retreat.

-Amanda

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amanda, We are so happy you had a good stay. Thank you for taking such great care of our home! It is unusual to have 3 full baths!!! Looking forward to hosting you again, Cindy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very mixed.

  • 4 of 5

This is a beautiful, spacious, tasteful home. A gracious note and bottle of wine to welcome our arrival. All the rooms are quite large including living room, dining room for 8, kitchen with extra long lay out and counter space. The 3 bedrooms are also spacious with sitting areas. The back yard is wide and narrow with a beautiful patio, comfortable umbrella table with seating for 6. Pretty in the morning sun.

There were two major flaws with this rental for us. There was no internet. In this day and age it was a shocker. Obtaining information about the community, beaches, restaurants, etc was impossible. Cell signal was weak to nill. So be prepared for no access. #2. The outdoor gas grill on the patio was a disaster. To begin with it was quite small. It had two burners about 18" long. One burner did not fire. The heat output was quite small to begin with but loosing 1 of 2 burners on top of that cooked the deal. Plus a previous grill user had left burnt charcoal ash in the burners blocking gas flow. It had to be cleaned out by us to try to fire it up. We couldn't cook outdoors ... a major disappointment and inconvenience. Make sure that's corrected if you care.

Some minor items: all the kitchen knives were no sharper than ordinary butter knives making cooking quite an unpleasant challenge, the kitchen faucet's operation is just plain weird and really hard to figure out ( for 3 college graduates with careers), there is no box grater and no citrus squeezed so bring your own, the master bedroom's bed is a double while the other smaller bedroom's bed is a queen - go figure.

A lovely home in a great location with some annoying flaws, and for the money, not acceptable. We would check on the grill and the internet before returning.

1 more. Barnstable saltwater beaches are small with very limited parking...but the village IS cute.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oops, you did not mention there is a internet connection with a cable option and a " "hotspot" tablet available upon request. Previous renters have praised the wonderful high quality of the kitchen supplies. It has everything you need for a wonderful gathering of a large family or friends.. William and Sonoma lobster pots and all!!! There is a new gas grill that works wonderfully!! Please let us be aware of special requests and we will try our best to meet them. It is a lovely house in a great village. A delight to stay in.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Troy Oh
5

Perfect home for a stay on Cape Cod!

  • 5 of 5

This was a fantastic place for us to vacation on the Cape. I brought my son's family with me, so we had 3 adults and two teens and a 10yr. old. This house had great space for all of us. The décor was in a tasteful beach theme. The kitchen was fully stocked with the things you would need to cook great meals. My sister lives in Cotuit, so it was easy to get to and from for visits. We enjoyed a walk down Scudder Lane to the beach Sunday followed by trip to Barnstable, a wonderful quaint village. We went out to Sampson's Island and were able to use the beach chairs the owners had available. The week was full with a Whale Watch, campfires on Sandy Neck Beach, Trip to National Seashore and P-Town, and a trip to Boston. Took in a few Cotuit Kettleers Baseball games and the Patriots training camp. This house was perfect for all our plans. The only downfall I have, was not having WIFI with everyone using the internet. Actually I wasn't able to connect to the land line, but Sturgis Library saved the day to make return reservations. Also having linens available has always been a common practice with other VRBO's. Bringing towels and bedding, etc. Was a bit of an inconvenience. Over all the experience of being in this location on the Cape and in such a nice home was wonderful! Thanks for letting us experience this great vacation home! Dana

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Massachusetts
5

spacious and lovely home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with our two grown daughters and a boyfriend -- all of us had our own comfortable space, with privacy, and also lovely spacious shared rooms for hanging out and dining. The decor was delightfully Cape-focused (blues and greens, many lovely seashells and woven baskets). Everything was spotless, comfortable mattresses, every kitchen appliance you would need, quality dishes and silverware - truly a cut above the usual Cape house rental's amenities.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Barnstable Village, Cape Cod

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
off season
5 Sep 2017 - 21 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£379
for 2 nights
From
£190
 
 
August
28 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£569
for 3 nights
From
£190
£1,213
£4,852
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
£455
for 2 nights
From
£227
£1,478
£5,687
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £56.87

Year Round $1800 a week Sat-Sat ( contact us for off-season rates) Damage deposit required $250.00 (refundable) $1800 a wk

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable