HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

SUMMER AVAILABILITY! Oceanfront Home In The Heart Of The Florida Keys

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

3 Bedroom/ 3 Bath

This property is a duplex, the downstairs portion of the home has one bedroom and one bath and a large terrace overlooking the spectacular Atlantic Ocean. The home has one queen bed in the bedroom and one queen sofa bed in the living area. The apartment has a full kitchen with a 4 person dining table. The bathroom has a shower, toilet, and sink. Front doors overlook ocean giving you a beautiful view from the couch. Make your way upstairs to a beautiful large two bedroom and two bath apartment. It features a large living room with one queen sofa bed and two twin sofa beds. In the master bedroom there's a king bed and in the second bedroom there's two twin beds. There's also a full kitchen and a 6 person dining room.

Special Packages:

Paradise Found.......70.00

-Bottle of wine (merlot, Chardonnay, Pinot noir, etc.) 2 souvenir wine glasses, and cheese plate.


-home decorated with theme of choice: birthday, summer luau, anniversary, honeymoon, thanksgiving, 4th of July, Halloween, Easter, and special requests.

Yacht Club.............200.00

- bottle of Moët Chandon, two souvenir champagne glasses, roses, and half a dozen chocolate covered strawberries.

Special requests please send me a message. If you'd like one of the packages above please allow a month before check in notice, thank you.

More Details

Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
6 February, 2017

About Elizabeth

Hello my name is Elizabeth! I was born and raised here in the Sunshine State by my wonderful parents. I currently attend Florida International University. I come from a mixed background. My mother is European while my father is Latin. I speak two languages fluently: English and Spanish, and can understand a little Russian. I hope I can get to know you and create an unforgettable vacation for you and your family! :)

Elizabeth purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Elizabeth chose Central Florida Keys

From the moment I saw this house I knew it looked familiar, I've seen it in my dreams. This house may be just a couple miles away from my permanent home but going there is like disconnecting from the world. Your worries vanish, stress is no where to be seen, and best of all, I turn my cell phone off. From watching the exotic birds flying around, to just watching boats go by, this house creates a worry free environment.

What makes this cottage unique

This home has a huge terrace up on the third floor with a beautiful panoramic ocean view which is great for nailing that perfect tan you've been wanting. The second floor which is also where your paradise apartment will be also has a huge terrace where you can have brunch with the family in or just sit and relax and watch the boats go by.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Marathon in Florida Keys

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Underwater Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs bathroom
    Aqua Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Upstairs in hallway
    High Tide Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Upstairs inside master bedroom
  • All bathrooms have showers.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Low Tide Bedroom - 2 Single Bed , This bedroom is upstairs.
    High Tide Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Upstairs master bedroom
    Underwater Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Downstairs bedroom
  • large closet in each bedroom, Low Tide has a walk in closet, each room has dresser and nightstand.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Also included: -beach umbrella -portable beach chairs -towels


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

SUMMER AVAILABILITY! Oceanfront Home In The Heart Of The Florida Keys
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews

Accommodating and Convenient

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

The only downside to the property is the beach situation. This was our first trip to the Keys and we didn't realize how little sand and how shallow the shoreline was. Other than that, the location is great. Close to groceries, restaurants, and activities. The house is well furnished, decorated nicely, and very clean.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

First time Florida vacation

  • 4 of 5
Verified Stay

A house large enough to accommodate 10 people was beautiful and well maintained. We had plenty of room, and with the ocean right out the door. Only downside was 2 things it had no beach and sadly a foul smell of sewer here and around the keys. Had no problems with the owners they even bought new fishing poles since previous renters broken them. Did 2 fishing charters, swam with the dolphins, ate at several seafood restaurants. Sad when time to go.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our home we appreciate your time. We are happy you enjoyed your time in our home. Addressing the smell issue: it is due to the nature of the mangroves and seaweed. These are found all over the Florida keys. We also never mentioned a beach on our property. Our home is ocean front not beach front. I am also here to answer any questions you may have about our property and the only question you asked was for a discount. We also told you check in was at 3:30 and you arrived an hour earlier and we allowed you to arrive without a problem. Thanks for the review but for future home reviews, please consider things the owner is in control of and not the nature around it. If in doubt, always call or message the owner. I did receive numerous calls from you for minimal things while you stayed in our home so you had my phone number in hand. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

Spent a week relaxing with my wife and 2 teenage daughters. I have never walked into a cleaner rental house. anything you would need is at the house waiting for you, all your beach needs, towels, cleaning supplies all are provided. Beautiful decor and comfortable, we felt right at home as soon as we arrived. Even though your on the main highway in the Keys noise is at a very minimum and not distracting. Sunsets and Sunrises were the highlights of the days with my wife, just sitting and having coffee watching the sunrise over the clear ocean was amazing. Thank you for letting us relax in your beautiful home, we will be back and have all ready told several friends about it.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beware of Outrageous Fees

  • 1 of 5
Verified Stay

Following what we all considered to be an awesome fishing vacation in the Keys to celebrate our collective 50th birthday, I received by mail my security deposit....well what was left of it. It happens that Elizabeth (owner of the place) decided to charge us the following outrageous fees :

1. $160 for a broken outdoor chair. Message : if you are slightly over 180 lbs, don't sit in these chairs because if they break you pay, regardless how old these chairs are. By the way, screws had previously been added by the owners to many of the chairs highlighting that there was an obvious weakness in these chairs prior to our arrival.

2. $60 for a broken sewer cover. Message: Be very careful where you park, there is a plastic sewer cover hidden in the driveway/grass area on the right . If you accidentally run over it while parking your car, you will pay.

3. $10 broom, This is probably the funniest one. Following an overnight storm that broke some decorative glass items near the spa, we broke the broom while cleaning up the mess. Message : if something breaks, don't clean it up because it may cost you more.

The place was nice and clean and Elizabeth was nice enough to let us check-in early. If it wasn't for these excessive charges, I would have probably recommended the place. I have asked Elizabeth to reconsider some of these charges. Elizabeth obviously refused. Suddenly the nice and polite tone changed to a childish and vindictive one.

Back to the house, the view is beautiful but be aware that you can barely swim in the ocean, bring some water shoes as the bottom is very soft and mushy. You also need to know that at low tide, there is very awful smell making very unpleasant to be outside.

In conclusion, if you weigh less than 180lbs, don't like to swim in the ocean and be outside, this place may be for you.

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good day traveler, we apologize you were not completely satisfied with your security deposit refund but according to the messages shared before, there seemed to be no problems with the ocean or any smells. These problems seem to have been made up due to the issues with the deposit as you mentioned to me you were enjoying your time rather well multiple times. And after asking us to let you check in early multiple times, we did what we cannot do with most guests and we let you check in early. We hold on to a security deposit for a specific purpose: if something gets damaged, the deposit covers it for you automatically. Now, let me explain each deduction for you. The chair: the chairs are only 5 months old, we've sat on them, friends weighing above 250 pounds have sat on them multiple times and they have never broken. The chairs are practically new, everything is new in our home so the claim being made about the chairs being old is false. The screws on the chairs were original screws if that even needed to be explained as I am sure you knew that. There was broken glass everywhere and I understand the wind may have damaged a couple items so you weren't charged for them. We appreciate you sweeping some of the glass but we had to do most of the glass cleaning which is okay because that is our job, however, it's not a reason to make me overlook the damage deposit policy we have. Till you received the security deposit I had only heard wonderful things about our home and its location. Reading this review I'm seeing new complaints about the ocean and how the tides and smell affected your experience. First, I cannot control the tides. The tides are an interesting phenomenon which deal with the gravitational pull between the moon and sun. Sorry but in most places around the world, you will witness high and low tide. The smell is caused by the seaweed which if you didn't get a chance to explore the keys and just stay in our home, you would've noticed there is seaweed everywhere. I am a very professional individual and I appreciate when guests choose my home over any other. I don't think it is appropriate for you to call me childish as calling me those names is childish itself. You emailed me numerous times with threats on posting a negative review if I didn't send you your full deposit back. I don't appreciate when a guest disrespects my home and later threatens me. As you can see with the reviews before you, those guests know how to vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 4

Awesome place!

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

We absolutely loved staying here. On top of the wonderful house, there were constantly fish and birds to watch because of the shallow sea grass that extends from shore out 100-200 yards. There were also a few iguanas that were fun to watch. Having kayaks was great, we used them daily. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you traveler for sharing your thoughts! The iguanas are great we actually have about 4 different ones! They actually have a hiding place under the coral foundation the house is on.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Beautiful Tranquility

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

This place is fantastic. My family and I stayed here for a week and were very comfortable. The place is absolutely beautiful, well located, has plenty of parking, and is well stocked.

We really enjoyed everything this place had to offer, and even took the kayaks for a sunset trip. It was amazing.

The only trouble was that there is only one gate remote which made three families with different itineraries a bit of a shuffle with cars- but was still easily manageable.

The owner is very attentive and helpful. We had no issues getting the most out of this vacation home.

If I'm ever in the keys again, I will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for sharing your review has helped us a lot as we now provide more than one gate remote! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Florida Keys Marathon Airport
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Curry Hammocks
Car: necessary

Many beach options, most of them free. Curry Hammock is the closest and there's a slight fee to get in but they have kayaks you can use. Many restaurants serving great seafood and non seafood. This home is in the heart of the Florida keys so where ever you wish to go, you're in the center of all the action. Duval St in Key West, just 56 miles from home, has many night clubs, bars, restaurants, tours, and museums to go to. Tours including ferry's, parasailing, diving, or just taking a cruise around the islands.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Marathon, Central Florida Keys

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Lobster Mini Season
22 Jul 2017 - 29 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Blue Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £402
Cleaning Fee £201
Tax Rate 12.5%

If you're hosting a special event at our property please notify me as rate and deposit are different from the standard rate. Thank you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot