HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

PITTSBURGH UPDATED FULLY FURNISHED HOME - 3BR 1.5BA W/ 3 SEASON ROOM & TIKI BAR

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Air Conditioning
  • Barbecue

Overview

About the property

SUPER NICE SINGLE FAMILY HOME SLEEPS 8 - 3 BR 1.5BA 1600 SQ.FT ESSENTIALS INCLUD

A lovely, privately owned, Single Family Home situated in a middle-income residential neighborhood in the EAST HILLS OF PITTSBURGH. Enjoy this lovely fully furnished 'Home Away From Home!' UNIVERSAL HOME is located minutes from the Penn Hills Exit off Interstate 376, a major auxiliary route within the Allegheny Plateau of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Quick access to many Pittsburgh Locales!

*Exceptionally Clean and Semi-Remodeled

*Lovely Fully Furnished Single Family Home

*3 Bedrooms; 1 and 1/2 Baths

*Comfortable Living Room

*Large Open Dining Room

*Huge updated Kitchen Fully Equipped Including Dishwasher

*Charming Sunroom With Tiki Bar looking out onto a Private Lush Backyard

*Cozy Downstairs TV Room with Queen Size Pull-out Sleeper Sofa

*Laundry Room - Fully Equipped with Washer & Dryer

*Central Air Conditioning/Heat

*Single Car Garage with limited height restrictions and Driveway parking with up to 2 spaces. (steep short driveway and caution is needed to back out of it!)

*House is situated on a main moderate traffic road.

*Fire station up the road with periodic sirens.

*Backyard is expansive and abuts the woods which may draw wildlife into yard.

*Low ceiling juncture in stairwell leading to basement. Please use caution so you don't bump your head.

*Walkway leading to front door is slightly uneven in places. Please watch step.

*Home is regularly maintained (every 2 weeks) for pest control.

*All mattresses

*Rate includes all utilities, cable tv, and high speed wireless internet

UNIVERSAL HOME features:

3 BEDROOMS

-All 3 bedrooms are fully furnished with 'lovely comfortable surroundings' the number one objective. Each bed is made with freshly laundered linens in preparation for each guest's arrival. Freshly laundered towels can be found in linen closet.

-Master Bedroom has a Queen Size Bed with a Mirrored Dresser, Wardrobe, and 1 --Night Stand as well as flat screen wall mounted Cable TV. There is also an integral hanging closet.

-Guest Room #1 has a Queen Size Bed with a Mirrored Dresser, Nightstand and flat screen wall mounted Cable TV, as well as an integral hanging closet.

-Guest Room #2 has a Full Size Bed with a Mirrored Dresser and a small dresser-top TV, as well as an integral hanging closet.

Downstairs TV Room has a Queen Size Sleeper Sofa

FULL BATHROOM PLUS HALF BATHROOM

The main level Bedrooms share a beautiful ceramic, semi-remodeled bathroom that features a Bathtub with Shower. In the hallway between the bedrooms is Linen Closet with freshly laundered bath towels, hand towels and wash cloths. For added convenience, a Half Bath is located downstairs between the TV Room and Laundry Area..

SPACIOUS KITCHEN

Warm colors with a new ceramic floor, cupboards, and new countertop creates a beautiful and welcoming kitchen that is quite roomy. It is also fully equipped with everything you need; microwave, coffee maker, toaster, dishes, glassware, silverware, cooking utensils, pots and pans, serving dishes, etc.!

INVITING LIVING ROOM

This lovely Living Room is furnished with super comfy micro-fiber furniture and nicely decorated with a softly lighted, warm ambiance to create the perfect harmonious mood. Enjoy the cable tv options, and other amenities this nicely decorated space will provide you and your family.

FORMAL DINING ROOM

A nice sized dining room table and 7 chairs provides a lovely eating area where your family can gather for meals. It is a wonderful gathering area as it is open to both the Living Room and Kitchen.

BASEMENT TV/FAMILY ROOM

A lower level TV/Family Room provides another space for playing games or watching tv. Sofa pulls out into queen size bed.

LARGE WINDOWED SUNROOM

Includes a charming Bamboo Tiki Bar with 6 Stools, an artificial Lighted Palm Tree, and comfortable loveseat, swivel/rocker Wicker Chairs and Glass topped Bamboo Tables. This is a wonderfully private seasonal room where you can be close to nature while viewing the lush backyard without a neighbor in sight! Don't be surprised if you see families of deer cavorting in the back yard. Also, the backyard is the home of a groundhog couple that have been named Mr. & Mrs. Pittsburgh Pete!

HUGE MANICURED BACKYARD

Find serenity and peace by stepping outside the glass Sunroom doors and onto a huge regularly manicured back yard surrounded by lush greenery that provides cooling shade and complete privacy. Especially nice for pet owners! (though it should be noted that the backyard is NOT fenced-in but there is plenty of room for a pet stake and provides lots of roaming room)

A note to guests considering this home: THIS HOME IS PERFECTLY IMPERFECT. In our experience over the years we have learned that there is a small percentage of very discerning guests who require absolute perfection and there is nothing wrong with that - to each his own. If you fall in that category, then this lovely home may not be a good fit for you, and we encourage you to look elsewhere or even go with one of the many hotels in the Pittsburgh area. We truly want all of our guests to have a positive experience and we do our best to facilitate that. We know that it begins with an accurate description on our part which will inspire reasonable expectations on the part of the guest. The photos and detailed description of this home have been assessed and are very accurate in our opinion. With that said, for our more adaptive guests, this just might be a wonderful choice at a great value for you and your family to call your "Home Away From Home" while visiting Pittsburgh. Overall what we do offer and can control is an updated, nicely furnished, comfortable and clean home that is fully functioning. What we cannot offer or control is someone's unique experience of it. What some may perceive as flaws, others may perceive as character charm. It truly is in the eyes of the beholder and the majority of our guests have found it to be a great home at a great value, that fit their needs exceptionally well.

More Details

Property Manager
Barbara Dawson, Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 May, 2017

About Barbara Dawson, Property Manager

Russ and I are the owners of Universal Home. A series of life-changing events led us to this venture of providing Furnished Short Term Lodgings. While some of the events may have been difficult, we are forever grateful for the doors that were opened and believe God has always been guiding us! We are focused on providing a clean, beautiful and comfortable home for you and your family. We will do everything we can to meet your expectations. If you have any concerns or questions, please feel free to contact us at 412-403-266. We believe you are guided and protected as well. Hope to see you soon! Barbara & W. Russell Dawson

Barbara Dawson, Property Manager purchased this house in 2013

Why Barbara Dawson, Property Manager chose Pennsylvania

We absolutely loved this home the moment we walked through the front doors. The huge welcoming kitchen and downstairs sunroom are our favorite rooms! We were so excited to furnish it and share it with Pittsburgh travelers. We love how it is literally minutes from Interstate 376, so it's easy access to just about anywhere in Pittsburgh. And right at the top of the street is a huge shopping plaza where just about everything you need is can be found, including a grocery store. It's so close you can walk there!

What makes this house unique

We've had many guests comment on the deer and other wildlife they've been able to observe in the backyard from the sunroom that is basically 3 walls of windows.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The house was very neat and the owner was very helpful. The host, Barbara, responded to msgs and requests quickly. Also, the location was very convenient. It was close to grocery shops, restaurants and not far from downtown area. The nice thing about the property was we got to use the garage and it added a lot ease for entry and exit. However, it would be more handy for guests if the owner could leave a hairdryer in the bathroom and some aluminum foils in the kitchen. Overall, we had a great stay there.
Feb 2015
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Penn Hills in Allegheny County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
  • The full bath is newly remodeled with ceramic floors and walls. It also has a beautiful unique opalescent pedestal sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Basement TV Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • All 3 bedrooms are beautifully decorated with quality sheets and comforters and an abundance of pillows. There is plenty of dresser, wardrobe and hanging closet space. The downstairs TV Room provides additional sleeping space with a Queen Size Sleeper Sofa.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf pass optional
Notes:
This home also has a wonderful and completely private Sunroom that sports a Tiki Bar and comfy rocker/swivel chairs. This sweet room sits alongside the gorgeous backyard where deer and other small wildlife have been observed.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

PITTSBURGH UPDATED FULLY FURNISHED HOME - 3BR 1.5BA W/ 3 SEASON ROOM & TIKI BAR
average rating of 4.173913 based on 24 reviews
5

Past Guest

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 5 days and had a great time! We took advantage of the BBQ and the Tiki Room during this time. One of the things we enjoyed was seeing all the wild animals run through the the back yard , deer, fox and some animal we could not make out, at dusk. The place was very clean and comfortable. I like the fact there was a "throw" blanket to cuddle up with in the living room. We were able to prepare our meals, as there was ample cookware and dishes. We never had to purchase anything during our stay. Shopping was very close, for whatever our needs were.I liked the fact, even though there are TV's in every bedroom and living room, I could go down to the family room, turn the TV on early in the morning, and not bother anyone. I would totally recommend this home for those that want "A home away from home". It was very nice that the property manager left a "welcome letter" giving all info needed to stay or questions we might have. I would recommend this property .

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the glowing review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the home and it's amenities! Thank you also for leaving the home in such pristine shape! I am thinking perhaps the animals you saw at dusk that you couldn't identify may have been our groundhog couple that have been dubbed by our guests as Mr. & Mrs. Pittsburgh Pete. Hope to have you back in the near future!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very comfortable and accommodating owner

  • 5 of 5

This was my second stay at this residence and I must say it is a great home with a great owner. Barbara, on both occasions, has been very accommodating to my timing needs. Here are some points of interest:

• The three bedrooms were all used and spacious enough for those traveling with me.

• Bathrooms were stocked with the proper necessities. Though there is only one shower, the hot water was plentiful for my group of four.

• Kitchen was full of appropriate dishes and cookware.

• Sunroom is a very relaxing place to hang out when warm outside and the backyard is very spacious.

• The living room space up and downstairs offers room for your group to spread out into their own space.

• Cable TV in every room and living space.

• Grocery and other stores are within a half mile and some fast food should you desire it. There are many restaurants in the area that deliver as well.

This is a great home to grab if in town. Be sure to communicate with the owner should you need anything out of the norm as they have been a pleasure to work with.

Be warned of the steep driveway. A spotter may be needed backing out but the ongoing traffic is very courteous to the people trying to get out of the driveways. The hill is steep.

I certainly recommend this location and plan on future stays.

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful experience and the house was amazing

  • 5 of 5

This was an amazing experience. Highly recommend this property. House was beautiful and more than we could have hoped for. We had a great vacation and wonderful time.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice for the price

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in this nice home. The bedrooms were small and only one bath on main floor. The kitchen was a nice size. We couldn't enjoy the tiki room as much as we had hoped because of the very cold weather, but very cute and lovely view of the backyard/woods. If we rent this property again we will definitely come during summer as to utilize all the rooms.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Pittsburgh

  • 1 of 5

Listing says the owner replies to inquiries within one hour. After 9 hours, I inquired again only to get a snippy response. Should have heeded that.

Driveway is steep, in roofer terms it is about a 5 - 12 pitch. Bushes on both sides of the driveway, right at the road so vision is not possible and it is a busy street. A spotter for the traffic was required for safe exit of the driveway. Walkway is broken and uneven, not what you want your elderly relatives trying to negotiate.

We were glad to have the bleach wipes with us for light switches, doors and drawers. Oven was last clean at the factory. Plastic tape over the ventilation window in the shower. Electric junction box covers held in place with masking tape and drywall mud in one bedroom. "Vintage" woodwork throughout the house. Noises inside the walls of the bedrooms interrupted sleep for all of us each night. Organic waste was found on floors. (have pics of that and the oven)

It was weatherproof, and warm in most rooms.

All in all, not a good experience, nor an owner I'd choose to do business with again. A star rating is required by this site so one is given.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The majority of these claims are unfounded and retaliatory because this guest's original request to book was denied because of his inflammatory remarks that I did not respond within an hour. To all future guests, if you are interested in a fully functioning, beautiful, updated and comfortable home that is very clean and regularly maintained, and you can overlook minor flaws inherent in every home, then I welcome you to book with us. Priced very affordably for less than the price of one average local hotel room, we offer an entire 3BR 1.5BA single-family home that sleeps up to 8 guests, plus many many more amenities. Please know we are always happy to assist our guests in any way that we reasonably can and strive to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible. P.S. The driveway is steep and requires caution backing out. All of our previous guests over many years have maneuvered it skillfully without any problems at all!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Gambrills
5

charming house Pgh suburbs ....

  • 5 of 5

close to city ....and Turnpike etc .....good location ..Barb was great to work with ..very kind .....professional, etc .....

  • Review Submitted: Dec 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Penn Hills, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£394
for 3 nights
From
£107
£710
£1,727
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £77.3
Cleaning/Linen/Towel Fee £73.44
Pet Fee £7.73
Tax Rate 7.0%

Once booking has been confirmed, you will receive a "Welcome Letter" that includes pertinent information about the property such as address, personal passcode to the front door, internet passkey, garbage dates, etc.

NO DAILY HOUSEKEEPING SERVICE – While linens and bath towels are included in the unit, daily maid service is not included in the rental rate.

PLEASE NOTE: The $85 cleaning/linen/towel fee that you pay is to prepare and disinfect the home, linens and towels PRIOR to your stay. It does NOT INCLUDE cleaning up after guests post stay. Any extra time required by our cleaning crew to prepare the home for our next guests, due to uncleanliness, furniture moving, excessive garbage removal/bagging, dirty dishes/counters, etc. will be deducted from your security deposit at the rate of $25/hour/cleaning crew member. Please understand that to clean the entire home as well as prepare linens and towels for a 3BR 1.5 single family home costs much more than the cleaning fee that we are charging. In order to continue to keep this cost low for our valued guests who value our property, additional cleaning required to restore the property post stay will be charged to the party who left it as such. This is rarely a problem and we thank you for the care you take with our property and furnishings.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals