HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Pet Friendly Vintage Beach Cottage, Non-Smoking, Big Fenced BackYard

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 840 sq. ft.
Property type cottage

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Our Old Florida style cottage has a retro look with modern conveniences. Relax with your morning beverage in the sun on the south-facing super sized deck and enjoy the view of the native grasses and trees in the large backyard. If you bring your canine friend, he will appreciate the room to roam. (Dog owners please read pet policy, below)

Take a book and an umbrella over to the beach, or one of our boogie boards to enjoy the surf. When you return, there is an outdoor shower on the deck, and a hammock in which to slowly while away the rest of the day.

Dine in the dining room, at the spacious kitchen bar, or out on the deck. Master bedroom has a queen bed, and the second bedroom has a full size bed, both with new mattresses in 2016. The bath with tub and shower is steps away off the hall.

A large screen TV or library of books is available for evening entertainment, or take a pleasant stroll in the friendly residential neighborhood. It's just a short block to Baby Beach on the Sound.

YOU HAVE CHOICES ON HOW TO RESERVE THE COTTAGE. You can either book directly online with VRBO (be aware: there is a booking fee if you do it this way) or you can email me through the website or telephone me. I do prefer that you use email if possible. After you email me or call me me, I will forward your request to our local property manager on the beach so that they can contact you to take your payment and make all arrangements with you for your stay. Rates stated on this site are for estimates only; rates do vary with the seasons and are also subject to change at any time.

Pet Policy: please be aware there is a fee for bringing your pet into our home. Please don't neglect to inform us if you are traveling with your pet. All dogs are expected to be licensed and up to date on their shots, and have flea protection. Last year the Florida fleas were immune to the product called Frontline, but we understand that Frontline was re-formulated for this season. If your dog is on Frontline (again, we are requiring that you do use some sort of flea protection) you might want to check with your vet regarding his experience with its current effectiveness in Florida, as we switched our dogs to another product, we can't vouch for it. We don't want your friend to pick up any hitchhikers on those nice long walks (or leave any behind:)

Keywords: Single story house, Baby Beach, covered parking, deck, patio, quiet, short walk to beach, Old Florida, cozy, kid friendly, retiree friendly, non-smoking, no stairs

More Details

Property Manager
Lynne Compton
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 October, 2017

About Lynne Compton

I am a fine art photographer, and my husband is an urban planner. We love the unspoiled vibe of our beach community. We currently have a 12 year old lab mix who has been enjoying our place at the beach his entire life. We like to travel with him, and appreciate how difficult it is to find a pet friendly rental house. That is the reason we are offering our home to dog lovers!

Lynne Compton purchased this cottage in 1985

Why Lynne Compton chose North West Florida

This has been our family home since 1985, and even though we move away now and then, we always come back. We have nurtured the house and flower-filled yard with love and dedication over the years.

What makes this cottage unique

We love our huge back deck and think it is the best addition we have ever made to the property. Half of it is shaded and half of it is sunny, making it ideal in any season. We like the fact that we can walk to the Sound or to the Gulf and the grandchildren can hunt crabs or shells and play in the water on either side of the island.

Location

Car: recommended

Gulf Islands National Seashore, Fort Pickens, Historic Pensacola Village, Naval Aviation Museum, excellent antique malls

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Pensacola Beach in Escambia County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 840 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 17:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Cancellations prior to 60 days with a refund of deposit are subject to a $50 cancellation fee.
Location Type:
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • Miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Reading library, friendly residential neighborhood, natural landscaping, large fenced back yard, 2 blocks to churches and playgrounds, 1 mile from central commercial area, low traffic street

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Pet Friendly Vintage Beach Cottage, Non-Smoking, Big Fenced BackYard
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews
5

Great experience! Would do it again.

  • 5 of 5

Fun ,comfortable little house ,not fancy but we are not the type to hang around inside .Felt like we could make ourselves at home.Great location ,off the main Street but convienently located ,short drive or bike ride to shops and food or beach .Nice quiet neighborhood.Safe, closed in back yard for dogs.

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so delighted that you felt at home!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Vintage means dirty, lack of maintenance - don't book this house

  • 1 of 5

I booked this house for a 4 day 3 night family vacation. Ended up leaving after 2 nights because we did not want to get back to the house anymore. First night when we were ready to sleep, my kids found lots of hair on the sheets in bed. Apparently it was not changed. It was late so we put beach towel on it. Turned on the light in bathroom at night, ton of small bugs ran for cover. Killed a couple with the towel. Second night, ready to shower after a day out. Oops, no hot water. At this point, we are done. Left the next morning. Talked to the property manager for refund for 1 night when we checked out and was promised a call back the next day. Never got a call. Called him a day later, told me he did not find any issue with the house. Guess he just wanted us to leave quickly when I complained.

In summary, dirty, lack of maintenance and need pest control.

Will contact VRBO to see if they are more professional than the property management of the property.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were shocked to receive this review from this guest; we have never had complaints about our cottage. This guest wanted to check out early and receive a refund for the remainder of his reservation but when he was told by our management company that was not possible, it appears that he tried to base his leaving on alleged conditions in the house which he had not complained about during the previous two days of his stay. Our manager told me that he went to the cottage within the hour after the guest came to check out to inspect it, and was unable to find any evidence to verify that any of the things the guest had complained about were true and he did let the guest know that. Our management is very professional and would have responded immediately if the guest had expressed any concerns at the beginning of his stay. In response to this unfortunate review, we would like to assure all who read it that our house is professionally cleaned and supplied fresh linens after each guest and inspected before another checks in, routinely receives pest control and never lacks for an abundance of hot water as it is a total electric environment. Our management company receives many compliments and we hope that our guests who have enjoyable experiences when they vacation with us will take the time to share their views, which we greatly appreciate.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Rogers, Arkansas
5

Vintage beach cottage

  • 5 of 5

Great pllace close to almost private beach. Had everything in unit we needed. Comfortable beds and clean linen and towels. Shower could use upgrade, but otherwise loved it.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent Rental

  • 4 of 5

We are from the NorthEast and wanted a warm weather 2 week stay - including our beagle. We selected this cottage from the comments and reviews and crossed our fingers. Well, it was as good as everyone said and even better for the dog - she loved the yard and walking around the neighborhood. It was literally, PERFECT.

The rooms were well kept and clean, everything working, no concerns. We enjoyed it a lot and will boopk for next winter again. Could not have been happier.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Havertown, Pa.
4

Clean, comfortable beach cottage!

  • 4 of 5

We rented this house for a week to visit with our daughter and Navy son in law. It was perfect! Their little pooch came to visit and he enjoyed the backyard, we said he looked like a lion in the wild Sea Oates and grasses! I cooked up a storm and had everything I needed! We walked to the Santa Rosa Sound at the end of the street every evening to look for stingrays and cranes and to watch the sunset. We swam in the warm, beautiful aqua green clear ocean everyday and even found a dog beach a few minutes car ride down the main road! This is a great little house for small family to enjoy! Would be 5 stars if some of the grass was cut back!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
16 2
Lafayette, LA
5

Cottage away from Home

  • 5 of 5

Our fav place to stay! Cozy. Close enough and far away enough from everything. Great deck. Our dog approves too! Thanks.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 17, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Pensacola Beach, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Fall
12 Aug 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
1 night minimum stay
£275
for 1 night
From
£127
£909
 
 
Winter
1 Nov 2017 - 28 Feb 2018
1 night minimum stay
£249
for 1 night
From
£101
£757
 

Additional pricing information

linens and cleaning £94.78 + Tax
Pet Fee £75.82 + Tax
damage waiver £37.91 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

Rates shown here are for estimates only and are subject to change. There is a minimum stay for festival weekends and a damage deposit is required. No boats or RVs are allowed on the property.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals