HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Private, Quiet, Clean and Cute! Studio Guest Cottage

People2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 450 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Come for a tranquil visit to the Hudson Valley!

Situated well off the road in a country setting on a corner wooded and park-like setting of 5 acres, my guest cottage is spacious, (the main room is 18' x 18') fully furnished with a queen size bed, and has a fully equipped separate galley kitchen and bath. The cottage has slate counters and floors in the kitchen and bath, and a working corner wood stove. Located about 7 miles from the center of Rhinebeck or Red Hook, 4 miles from Omega Institute, about 10 - 15 minutes to Bard College, 6 miles to the Taconic Parkway. As a studio, it is really suitable for 1 or 2 guests only. Off street parking, handicap accessible, best bang for your buck in Rhinebeck. My house is also on the property but the angle between the main house and the guest house still allows for very good privacy. Please note that there is a large stand-in slate shower with great water pressure, but there is no tub. There is a beautiful pond on the property as well partially visible from the cottage. Bring your fishing pole for catch and release. The bass in the pond are very cooperative! This is a great area for walking, hiking, biking and driving around visiting the numerous historic sites in the area. Also, there are numerous excellent restaurants in Rhinebeck

More Details

Owner
merri cook
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 September, 2017

About merri cook

We live on the property so are here to assist you with anything you need during your stay. Our house is situated about 75 feet from the guest cottage but because of the angle of the two building's location, there is still privacy between the house and guest house. With Homeaway since March 2015, everyone who has ever stayed in the cottage has loved it.

merri cook purchased this cottage in 1999

Why merri cook chose New York

privacy, serenity, quiet country park-like setting, yet close to the many historic sites in the Hudson Valley

What makes this cottage unique

Enjoy the country quiet while still being close to all of the sights and attractions of Rhinebeck and the Hudson Valley. My property is very pretty and neighboring homes are only remotely visible only in the winter. When the trees fill in, privacy is excellent as I am on a corner wooded lot. There is a nice 5 mile loop on a side road that even has sections where the road is still dirt, not paved! That's the country for you! There are friendly neighbor dogs and cats who we do not allow in the guest house, but who are pleasant visitors.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Rhinebeck in Dutchess County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00 / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • slate counters and floor
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Large Studio
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Perfect location to visit numerous attractions in the area: Rhinebeck Aerodome, Omega Institute, Culinary Institute, numerous historic mansions: FDR, Mills Mansion, Vanderbilt, Montgomery Place, all between 5 and 20 minutes aways

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

56% Complete
32% Complete
4% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
Private, Quiet, Clean and Cute! Studio Guest Cottage
average rating of 4.36 based on 25 reviews
5

Perfect home base in Rhinebeck!

  • 5 of 5

This is a great little cottage, located well off the road in a private setting. It has a really well-appointed kitchen, with a full-size fridge and oven. We were arriving late, and the owner thoughtfully provided coffee fixings, a carton of half and half and even a bottle of wine so we didn't have to run out to the store. The bathroom is updated, and the bed is super comfortable. This is a very thoughtfully appointed guest cottage, the perfect size for two people. There was a sulfur smell to the tap water (as other reviewers have noted), but it just wasn't a big deal to us, and the owner provided gallons of bottled water for us to use. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Claire for the nice review! Glad you enjoyed your stay. The week after you left I installed a tankless water heater in the cottage because I think the old water heater was causing the sulphur smell so hopefully that is solved as well. I hope you'll be back to Rhinebeck!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful. Quiet. Exactly what we were looking for.

  • 5 of 5

What a charming place! The area is quiet and peaceful yet close to many things to do and see. We really enjoyed our stay! Will definitely stay again when in the area! Thanks Merri!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the positive review. Yes, this is a lovely area to visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Unfortunate choice

  • 2 of 5

This cabin could have been a great choice. The interior space is ample and well organized. There was a full set of kitchen appliances. In addition, there is a small outdoor patio. Unfortunately, there were a lot of problems with the cabin the worst of which was the strong smell of sulfur in the tap water. The host provided bottled water but showers and tooth brushing were unpleasant. In fact, following a shower, my skin smelled of sulfur.

In general, things were not particularly clean and many items such as the carpet were in rough shape – worn or frayed. The concrete outdoor patio was in serious need of cleaning. In addition, the flower boxes were full of dead flowers and the front garden was basically all weeds.On top of these things, the driveway had some large potholes.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Joel, Thanks for your honest assessment! I totally appreciate the feedback so I can improve on my future guests' experience. Based upon what you have said, I will have the patio pressured washed and will have pansies put in the flower boxes. You are totally right! I have also purchased a tankless electric water heater in the hopes that it will reduce the sulphur smell. We sort of can't help it, as we are out in the country on a well system in a rocky area. I am also going to rotate my Karastan $2500 rug so that the frayed portion is out of sight. Thank you very much for your feedaback!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Serene; clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful stay. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again or highly recommend it to anyone wantin to visit the area. Within15-30 minutes of great meals in Rhinebeck, Red Hook, and tevoli. Also close to many historic and scenic sites.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much! Enjoyed having you at the guest cottage!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Good location

  • 2 of 5

The cottage is in an ideal location for visiting the area.

We did not find the cottage appealing. It felt like it was leftover furniture and decorations that did not go together.

We also had a hard time with the smell of the well water. I know it can be strong, but you can not leave the bathroom door open due to the smell. We had locked up the place and left the bathroom open for the day while we were sight seeing and we came back to an unbearable smell of sulfur and iron. I wish I had been warned to leave windows open or close the bathroom door. I read note discussing the well water, but that does not describe it.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Regarding the sulphur smell, I brought in a consultant after your review and decided to install a tankless water system which, combined with the existing water treatment system should solve this issue in August 2017. As to your other complaints, no one else has ever said anything other than that the cottage is just as stated: quaint, clean, quiet, and cute. If you read other reviews, I have many 4 and 5 stars, so I am not going to address the fact that the cottage did not charm you. Thank you for pointing out the sulphur issue and it will be addressed right away for future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful, Quaint and Secluded Cottage

  • 4 of 5

The cottage was beautiful, comfortable and quaint. It was decorated lovely and I felt at home as soon as I walked through the door. We enjoyed are stay in Rhinebeck enormously. I would say that the only negative thing was the sulfur water that serviced the cottage. For someone who is not used to the smell of sulfur water, it can be quite overpowering. The owner provided drinking water, but the odor of the sulfur water when you were bathing or washing your hands was a little unpleasant. If you can overlook that, the cottage is a very lovely place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Albany, Newburgh, Westchester, NYC
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Dinsmore Golf Course
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Amtrak Rhinecliff Station
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
Taconic State Parkway
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Lots of them!
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Rhinebeck, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer
21 May 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£215
for 2 nights
From
£93
£585
£1,510
 
 
November 2017
1 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£70
£470
£1,140
 
 
Winter 2017
27 Nov 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£70
£470
£1,140
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£215
for 2 nights
From
£93
£585
£1,510
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £29.6

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals