HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

The Harwood Cottage at Historic Macon, GA

Bedrooms 6
Separate WC's1
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house


About the property

Recapture the 1920's Jazz Era in the heart of Macon's Historic Dis


Welcome to The Harwood Cottage. This 1920's Georgian home is in the center of Macon’s Vineville Historic District.


The Harwood Cottage has six bedrooms with four king beds, one queen bed and one full. All are traditional box spring and mattress (with the Eudora Bedroom offering a King sized Swedish Memory Foam option). Additionally, we have a seventh and eighth bedroom options utilizing the fully private (locking) Music Library with a Full Sized two person Sleep Sofa and our fully private (locking) Conservatory with it’s Twin (single), Daybed. We also keep two tall queen premium inflatable beds on hand for use, as needed. Beyond these, there are four very large sofas throughout the many rooms. (All in, traditional beds in private bedrooms accommodate six couples, additional available bed options accommodate 3 more couples and a single and finally available couch options may be used to add four additional singles to reach a very workable maximum of 23 guests. Please note that a whole house rental assumes a standard compliment of eight guests included. We ask for a modest $19/night gratuity per additional guest beyond this standard eight, in order to cover the additional variable costs and additional breakfasts. Children under seven are not included in this count as we welcome them and most pets, free of charge.


Regarding our standard 'whole house rental', it automatically includes accommodations for up to eight (8) ‘standard' guests with your nightly fee. Additional guests are welcome but after your standard maximum of eight, we ask that you plan on a $19/night gratuity for each additional person to cover their additional variable costs. These include: additional daily breakfasts, additional linen services & prep, additional towel services & prep, additional electrical & gas usage, additional internet increased volume isp breaks & fees, additional hot & cold water services, additional heat and air conditioning generation as needed, additional cleaning services both before and after and added overall maintenance.


This is a 1923 Georgian home on an avenue of large historic houses. As a highly visible part of the Vineville Neighborhood Historic District, the property is protected by both the United States Department of the Interior and The National Trust for Historic Preservation. It is named for Ms. Blanche M. Harwood, who lived here. In her memory, this place is dedicated to honoring courageous area women and their contributions throughout history, to discovering the many inspiring women writers of the American South and finally to recapturing the lost stories in every family by encouraging the discoveries in your maiden name genealogies.

We welcome each guest upon arrival at the old back porch off the rear motor court with a quick, five minute orientation & safety tour. We also a special ‘historical tour’ which goes deeper into the house, art pieces, artifacts, area and the families who have lived here. It starts at the front gate on the avenue where Gone With The Wind was set and ends at the back gate where the secret entrance to a hidden subterranean Cold War bunker awaits.

This home and it’s history are at the heart of a grand neighborhood built on a once stately Plantation. The legacy of the many who lived here is being preserved through a schedule of discreet interior & exterior projects to bring it back to her full potential. Most of our guests have truly embrace the special living and learning experience they share with their families here. Many leave their own mark by sharing their ideas and vision, too. We are not perfect but with each passing week we get closer to that ideal so we price our fees fully expecting you to see at least one restoration project of some kind under way. We think that is part of the experience as long as it doesn’t impede but if price is your only consideration with little interest in the advancement of women or historic preservation; you may actually find a better fit at another location.

We are not the Ritz Carleton. (That nearby option is available at 10x the price). Still, if the things that matter to us matter to you, you will have a significant experience here and like so many wonderful folks have, write a glowing review. We thank you in advance for such kindness. If not, then you may be prone to say uncharitable things to which we can only say, “Bless your heart”. So, come with your best intentions and of course we’ll greet you with ours, too! You have a place in the heart of Georgia where you can learn things you never knew you never knew.

Our Winter 2017 Focus:

Music: George Gershwin

Literature: Flannery O’Connor Projects: Interior: Maxfield Parrish & Magic Stairs. Exterior: The Amazing Disappearing Irma.


Three full baths, one half bath with garden access, indoor conservatory, Viennese palace grand piano, 6 bedrooms, classical, jazz & contemporary music library on vinyl, tape and digital media, extensive sheet music library, rare book collection including inscribed first editions, full gourmet kitchen, media lounge with core DVD collection, pay-per-view, Roku, Amazon Fire and/or AppleTV options for broadcast, subscription, cable, on demand and free media offerings; projection tv and 16:9 letterbox viewing in media lounge, unlimited high speed internet access on private network, large two person en suite private Jacuzzi Master bath, special Ritz Carleton shower heads, indoor hot tub on garden level, off-street lighted fenced in parking for up to seven vehicles with additional off street, lighted event parking for 70 additional vehicles just steps away, wide front verandah, private ballet and yoga studio, full laundry facility with complimentary detergents, fenced in dog run, workshop, bicycle storage, entertainment deck, CharBroil infrared gas grill, outdoor dining, evening garden illuminations, several garden settings (formal, secret, kitchen border and sunken); second floor balcony with private lounge area, original art and antiques(including Asian, American, European, African & Middle Eastern works from 1500 CE to present), 2 gas fireplaces with remote control features, zone heating & air conditioning, walking distance to select dining, shopping and historical sites with a short (less than a mile drive to most others), bronze Historic property designation plaque, steps from the Allman Brothers Big House Museum, end point on the Antebellum Trail of pre-Civil War Plantations.


During our restoration year, we are pleased to offer our guests a 30% discount off comparable market pricing. We also offer an additional 20% off our standard nightly rate for stays of a week or more (7 consecutive nights or more). We offer an additional 30% off discount on monthly stays (30 consecutive nights or more).


Many of our guests have large families looking to share a home together or are in town for a wedding, graduation or other special event. We welcome such groups. If you are planning to host a big gathering, here are some things to keep in mind:

A. Everything is included in your guest fees for a comfortable stay. However, if you are planning to host a party or additional event on the property during your stay, there may be an event fee requested. We consider an event to include at least five individuals not staying with you who are invited to visit for a get together of over one hour on the property. All events on the property should be pre-approved in writing at least 24 hours in advance. We welcome such events and in such cases we ask for a nominal event fee to cover wear and tear on the property as well as clean up. The minimum charge for an on-site event is a $25 fee which may vary based on size, duration and scope.

B. Planning your sleeping arrangements: Please use the following accommodations list to plan your guest accommodations during your stay:

1. Eudora: Swedish King, Private Balcony, Fireplace, Master Bath with Jacuzzi, Sleeps 2, 2nd Floor:



2. Sidney: Traditional King, Private Lounge with 20 ft. Round Sofa, Montaigne Bath with Tub/Shower, Sleeps 2 (with possible third on sofa), 2nd floor:




3. Zelda: Traditional Queen, Shares Master Bath, Henredon Furnishings, Sterns & Foster Mattress, Darkest Room, Sleeps 2, 2nd Floor:



4. Laurence: King Bed and room for One or two available Premium Full/Queen Tall inflatables (Ideal for Slumber Parties), Shares Montaigne or Master Bath, Sleeps 2, 4 or 6! 2nd Floor:







5. Margaret: Antique French Full Bed, Bright cozy adolescent style bedroom with a great view of the neighborhood, Sleeps 2:



6. William: Traditional King, Private Entrance, Limited Handicap Access, Few or No Stairs, Shower Only Bath, Sleeps 2, 1st Floor:



7. Music Library: Full Sleep Sofa Grand Piano, Fully Locking, Shares William Bath, Sleeps Two, 1st Floor:



8. Conservatory: Single Day Bed, Bright Garden Room with Large Sofa for possible second Guest, as well. First floor location. Sleeps one or two!



9. Media Lounge Sofa: Very Comfortable, Extended Round Leather Sectional, Direct TV Access, Perfect for the Night Owl, Sleeps One, 2nd Floor:


10. Drawing Room Sofa: Faces Main Fireplace, Can be closed off at all doors for privacy, Sleeps One, 1st Floor:


11. Portable Inflatable Intex 22" Queen Bed #1:



12. Portable Inflatable Intex 22" Queen Bed #2:



Thank you for your interest! If you have additional questions, we’re here to help!

John C.

More Details

John Cappelano
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 January, 2018

About John Cappelano

I am an eclectic individual who loves the contradictions that make life interesting. I have reached the middle of my life, living in Macon, GA but the son of a Mayflower Mom and a first generation Italian dad. I love the arts, painting, music, writing but I have made most of my money over the years on Wall Street. I haven't made that much though because I have chosen to be honest in a game that doesn't pay the honest very well. I love old houses and new cars. I believe in tradition though I am totally iconoclastic. I love to travel but I could be totally happy never having to leave Harwood Cottage again. I am a hometown boy who finds himself traveling over 3,000 miles for work, frequently. I am a Cancer (zodiac wise only). I am single. I am over 50. I am nostalgic.

John Cappelano purchased this house in 2006

Why John Cappelano chose Macon

This property was chosen by my parents many years ago as their ideal place to retire. It was found by chance on a historic homes at Christmas tour in the Macon Historic District. The house became loved by both of them because of its first floor suite with private full bath and the Music Library which could be used as an extension of that suite. They loved the many sets of pocket doors and access between rooms on every floor allowing for an endless configuration of open or semi-open floor plans. The old back porch allows for access to the kitchen just steps from the William Suite (their first floor suite), bedroom. Though they didn't have much money, they did their best to honor their favorite Southern writers and the literary history of the people of Macon. My dad passed a few years ago and several months ago, my Mom joined him. My nephew and I are currently restoring the home back to the glory of my folks early retirement and then some. Our guests have even helped us with ideas on projects like the secret garden and the Chinese Dining Room. Each week, something new is completed and it's all because if people like you! All in all, the house is very ingenious given the 1920's era when it was imagined. Come visit and live the life of a Southern Novelist of The Jazz Era with all its quiet romance, boisterous bravado and faded hints of tawdriness.

What makes this house unique

Unique benefits include free high speed internet access and 5G iphone or smart phone access. Full towel service and premium bedding. Full kitchen access. Available continental breakfast. Off street, lighted, fenced in, secure parking for seven vehicles. Use of the film, music, sheet music and instruments in the music library and media lounge. Private full baths in three suites. Spa tub with jacuzzi in Master Suite. Two parking garage bays. Gas Outdoor Grill. Kitchen Aid, Whirlpool and Cuisine Art Appliances. Two full China Services (one breakfast and one dinner). Components include Royal Worcester, Royal Daulton, Gorham, Channel and others. Access to original works of art by Remington, Manet and others as well as period pieces from 17th, 18th and 19th century Asia, Europe and The Americas. Access to the 1886, Viennese Grand Piano. Access to the Conservatory with its wide variety of indoor plant specimens. Access to the Southern Gothic Writers' Literary Collection. Access to a total of six beds sleeping a total of 11 guests. Use of all kitchen facilities. Access to the fenced-in, indoor/outdoor dog run. All trash and garbage collection included. Walking distance to The Allman Brothers' Big House Museum, Vineville Historic District sites and Georgia School for The Blind.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Macon in Georgia

Property Type:
  • house
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 13:00
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • village ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 3 -
    Laundry, Craft, Yoga & Spa bath. - Toilet
    The Parisian Bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower , French accessories & art, ooh la la!
    The Master - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi , Two person jacuzzi, Ritz Carlton Shower Head, Tea Lights...
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • The Sidney Suite - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Sunny, large, private lounge, stained glass reading nook
    The Eudora Suite - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Swedish Memory Foam, Fireplace, Private Terrace
    The Zelda Suite - 1 Large Double Bed , Henredon Furnishings, William MorrisTextiles
    The William Suite - 1 Double Bed , 1st Floor, Private Bath, Antique Bed
    The Laurence. Suite - 2 Double Bed , Dormitory Style, Two Inflatable High Fulls
    The Margaret - 1 Double Bed
    The Music Library - 1 Single Bed , Sleep like Mozart with visions of a grand piano to dream by!
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
Quality & Standards Grounds: Pre-arrival walk through to remove litter branches and obstructions, sweep within front & back entrances, remove allmaintenance items, stow trash, arrange outdoor furniture along with routine average home owner yard & garden maintenance with on-going restoration and expansion (Possible special requests: special plantings, decorations, leaf blowing, lawn mowing, outdoor furniture, decor and amenities). Interior Public Spaces, Sweep or Vacuum, Dust or Polish, Straighten& Declutter. Quarterly Window Washing and Rugs Steam Cleaned along with on-going maintenance and improvement projects secured in progress during visits. (Possible special requests: Deep cleaning by outside service, lights lit upon arrival to match requested scheme, fireplace lit, climate & music request, fresh floral request, kitchen appliance request, exercise equipment request, party set up, in house catering, room configuration, china service, special access to spa room, laundry, yoga stud


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
15% Complete
The Harwood Cottage at Historic Macon, GA
average rating of 4.2105265 based on 19 reviews
Sylva, NC

Beautiful old home with wonderful furnishings. Loads of room to spread out or gather together.

  • 5 of 5

It was just what we were looking for the family attending a wedding. Really enjoyed the nostalgia of the home and neighborhood. Host was most accomodating and very welcoming.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Steve, Thank you, so much for that great review! You, your wife and your entire family were a joy to host and I have given you a well deserved five star review across the board, as well. You definitely will always have a place in the heart of Georgia. Happy holidays to you and your family! Best, John C. The Harwood Cottage At Historic Macon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing stay! Incredibly helpful host!

  • 5 of 5

Staying at the Harwood was incredible! We had a large group and filled the whole house over our wedding weekend. John was very responsive and went to get any supplies or clean bedding and towels as needed. We also hosted two great parties at the house.

Outstanding stay and we would highly recommend the Harwood Cottage!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What can we say? This was an amazing family to host. Great in so many ways that the words were hard to find but find them we did. Try: thoughtful, polite, conscientious, fun, pleasant, cheerful, engaging, inclusive, welcoming, understanding, charitable, charmingly gregarious, never cold despite the circumstances or weather, beautiful, interesting and a stunning couple atop the cake on New Year’s Eve made this New Year’s wedding one for our keepsake book. The stay was wonderful. The parties were meticulously managed, the property was left exactly as we expected it to be. We coukdn’t Be more impressed with a guest or the large group of well wishers who joined them here on their big day. A lifetime of happiness with a 2018 full of adventure should await this incredible couple!!! We were truly honored...J
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spacious & well kept!

  • 5 of 5

The entire property was in incredible condition and the staff was attentive and helpful in many ways. I highly recommend, especially for the value!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Zack for your review. We gave you a solid five star review, as well. It was so nice to end the summer season and head into the holidays with such a great guest and friends. You all were so honest, respectful and straight forward that we’d forgotten how great it could be when wonderful guests turn out to be appreciative of how hard we work to deliver a solid venue at a really good value. It restores our faith and gets us energized to work even harder! Thanks again, John C. The Harwood Cottage At Historic Macon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dirty facilty

  • 1 of 5

Nothing good to say. Dead roaches. Disgusting refrigerator. Oven with apparent years of grime. Dirty floors, hairs in bathroom, trash in drawers, Etc, etc.

I never left a bad review for ANY facility in my life but this was beyond belief.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Doctor. That was nice of you. We communicated to you when you arrived that we had worked nonstop since the last hurricane victims left at 1pm, that day. We mentioned we had 55 people sheltered between Hurricane Irma and your arrival. Your response was, "Why didn't you kick them out a day earlier?" which makes sense except they literally had no place to go. On our walk through I mentioned we sprayed the property inside and out. We found one bug on that tour. Later, at your request we revacuumed the entire 30 rooms and found two more (that happens when you spray). We said, "If there is something we didn't get clean enough, just tell us and give us one hour to improve it!" You agreed to that and we stayed on 24 hr. call for your stay. Your first list was: four extra sets of keys, revacuumed closets, empty the refrigerator and clean it top to bottom. All completed in two hours but sadly, not a nod From you. Next set: Continental breakfast set up, clean the main oven, vacuum the floors again, bring up an extra bed and more towels and linens. Once again all completed in two hours along with cleaning all other ovens, several more baskets of warm, freshly laundered towels, flags hung and flowers installed, more hurricane debris removed, kitchen cleaned along with all pots and pans and all trash removed with new bags. When you returned you said, "You really did a great job and have worked hard to get it all done. I am satisfied and have nothing else for you!" We thought you were being sincere when you said that. You also said that you and your daughter, as Doctors, were a bit 'fastidious' about clean. Knowing that, you could have requested the outside professional cleaning company of your choice which we offer to our guests upon request. We offer a 30 room, eight bed, house that can accommodate a large, budget minded family gathering of 8, 10, 20 or more for $298/night. My nephew and I work alone and very hard doing the best we can to keep that price affordable. For those blessed of means, we also suggest the cottages at the nearby Reynolds Plantation, which also offers accommodations for eight (without the antiques, piano or 24 hr. on call cleaning crew), for $2,250/night (including tax). Yes, we sustained hurricane damage and we apologized over and over for it. However, we were there to open a private underground shelter for you and your family as the next storm hit. Sadly, you didn't give us a nod for that either... With malice toward none... J
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Same terrible experience as Carl B. House not ready, filthy, in disrepair, owner excuses, aggressive

  • 1 of 5

Told owner about stains, leak, he went batty, emailed bill for $930, said we were a “pack of wolves”. We filed complaint with Vacation Rental by Owner (VRBO) customer services department, included owner’s email, our response, photos contrasting website house to real thing, and showing issues below. VRBO dealt with owner, removed charge from our account. Even $250 charge for “obvious malicious behavior amounting to a de facto house arrest of the Owner in his property as Guests became interlopers”; fearful Owner was “dissuaded from attempting to leave the Garden Level of the mansion and essentially was trapped there (even for meals) for over 22 hours.” VRBO reviews do not allow pictures or links. VRBO removed false charge and will keep in owner’s permanent file, my photos and story about what happened. Carl B June 1, 2017 review said they slept “fully clothed”. Our linen and bedspread had stains, 2 were gross. We covered bed, slept on top. All bedding in house and closet were old smelling, worn, some with stains, holes. Read Nat and Roo’s Dec 10, 2015 review, they got same. Carl B saw “a sock plugging a hole”; we saw water damage on wall and 5 ceilings. It rained and roof leaked. Owner showed no interest; we put bucket under dripping. No smoke alarms anywhere. Opened dishwasher door, old unit fell 4 inches from wall, dirty plates rolled out. Stink of stagnant water and food. Refrigerator crisper drawers held limp food in water. Broken coffee maker (blamed on us). We swept floors, cleaned food off stove, washed tacky feeling pans. Missing or burned out bulbs throughout house. Wife unable to put on makeup by light in bathroom. Broken window, fallen tree on neighbor’s fence; she left note for him to clean up. Nephew (lives with owner in basement) yelled at neighbor. During check-in, owner left before explaining “continental breakfast”, next morning, expecting something, called twice, emailed, no answers; so went to basement looking for “Garden Level Family Residence”, it’s dark, see trash, dirt, junk in “hot tub” and “yoga room”, worse than most garages, take a week to clean up; knocked on unmarked door, nephew answered, yelled “Go away, you can’t be here.” If want breakfast, must dig through mess, make yourself; we bought our own food. This is just part of what I sent VRBO; they saw our proof, sided with us. House is not as shown, website is not true, owner tells tall tales. He is over the top, just like his “reviews” shown here. Are they realistic?

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hogwash! We recently became a Homeaway top ranking destination, for this region. With that honor has come increased visibility which has made us an easy target for scammers who extort hosts by threatening a "poison review". This is in response to one. Hosts in regional leadership positions have reported a pattern of this type of criminal behavior. Those who cooperate and stay silent lose legitimate earnings and become accomplices in their own victimization. Those who fight (like us), have their reputations and livelihoods destroyed. We are currently cooperating with regional law enforcement in a couple of these cases, (this one references the other). The FBI warns guests that these scams depend upon you to make the threat real. Don't let scammers and cyber bullies plan your next vacation! You can help in the following ways: 1. Read each review from every listing at every site where the property lists: Percent positive and negative? Weed out the unbalanced ones and those that cite other guest reviews for credibility. 2. Learn to spot a poison review. Negativity which seeks to hurt or damage? Lack of any positive elements? Facts omitted? Tiny details as if from a home inspector's list? Not even a basic "thank you" for opening your home to us. 3. Follow the money. Is the guest at the center of the host's attempt to collect money he is owed? Does the reviewer offer a compromise?does he even recognize it or does he seek to trivialize it? 4. Ask for a tour of the property. Is the host willing? 5. Communicate with the owner. Does he make himself available? Understand your important concerns? Seek to prioritize your concerns? Allow for a joint plan of action? Execute or attempt to reach a mutually agreeable solution? Commit to writing? We seek to build a community of trust between guests and hosts. By joining forces we can create a stronger, global sharing economy. Join with us. Don't let a criminal plan your next vacation. Stay informed. Communicate your legitimate expectations. Form relationships of trust and get it in writing. Peace, J. (Note: This guest's stay resulted in our having to fight to get paid for goods, services, damage and property rules violations stemming from their visit. All of our claims were in fact, legitimate. The same is true of the others he cites. Extensive reports on each, covering the misleading and false reviews, amounts lost on each and the more questionable details of their individual stays are each available.)
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Extreme case of false advertising! The property was filthy, unkept and in desperate need of repair.

  • 1 of 5

My family and I booked the Harwood Cottage in Macon for 5 nights during the week of Memorial Day. Based on the property description, photos and reviews we expected to arrive to a majestic property. After 14 hours on the road we were very disappointed. The check-in time was suppose to be 4pm. We arrived approximately 8:30pm and after a long drawn out history lesson about the owners family (45mins) we asked him to show us to our rooms. He stated the rooms weren't ready yet. When we asked if we could put our luggage in the rooms until they were ready he said, "I can't let you do that. You never get a second chance to make a first impression." Although this seemed odd, we were tired and hungry. So we went out to eat and returned later to dimly lit rooms that smelled like mildew. We decided we'd talk to owner next morning and we all went to bed fully clothed. The next morning we did a full inspection and found black mold around the air vents and leaky ceilings in multiple rooms. One room even had a sock plugging a hole in the ceiling-- YES, a sock plugging a hole. The kitchen was also filthy. The tea kettle had used tea bags stuck to the inside and the coffee pot had coffee that had been sitting long enough for mold to form on top. My wonderful mother, who was determined not to spoil our family vacation went looking for rubber gloves to scrub the kitchen down. Instead of allowing Mom to do something the owner should have done, we called Marriott to see if we could book rooms there for the rest of our stay. Besides, we couldn't scrub black mold away. I could go on and on about how disgusting this property was, but I don't have enough characters. The property owner had numerous excuses and explanations for the condition of the property, but there is no excuse. Our planned 5 night stay ended after one late night of discomfort and an early morning where daylight shined on the filth that wasn't as obvious in the dark of night. The Harwood Cottage "could" be a beautiful property, but it needs a lot of work and a really, really good cleaning job.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest came from Detroit but was raised in Macon, GA. He gave us a firm ETA of 9:30pm then arrived nearly 2 hours early as fresh towels were being dried. He chose our 'optional' historical tour which he, as a person of color, might have appreciated with its focus on women and the marginalized beyond the few references to the previous owners. His children were oddly pretentious and dismissed us as the help. They called my Yale graduate degree in the Music Library, bogus. When I politely corrected their information, they grew rude and angry. My nephew sought to welcome them with a fresh pitcher of iced tea. In the scramble of their surprise arrival, he forgot to discard the tea bags.The gourmet Cuisinart coffee maker was fine and there was no sock and no mold in the ceiling but there once must have been in the back bath as we have found a shadow of a former stain as we prepped a corner of that ceiling to be painted going into that weekend (a simple fact not an excuse). There was a one time leak in Ms. Harwood's (my mother's) bath stemming from the morning she passed and erasing her last mark here, is something I have put off, I know. We also experienced a roof leak from a storm the weekend before which the adjuster was working on. What we find odd is he chose to take our historical tour. He chose not to mention a single one of these issues so we could either confirm or fix. He chose to give an ETA allowing us to plan for it then break it without consideration. He chose to let family members degrade my education. I chose not to be made inferior by consenting. He chose to leave without a word leaving us so in the dark that after 24 hours we called Home Away's emergency line. Consideration is a two way street. We worked our hearts out to give consideration and welcome this man at his chosen ETA. He did not return the favor on any of his counts. Yes, he's come a long way from good 'ole Macon, GA but even in the sophisticated, clean, modern corners of Metropolitan Detroit, people are considerate and expectations are communicated. We have not seen his house in Detroit or even his mother's house, here. We do not know his expectations nor are we mind readers. We do know this property was not dirty (and certainly not by Ietroit standards). For all we know they may have decided to head to Disneyworld on a whim and are now confronting the over zealous credit card statement that follows. Either way, in Detroit or Macon, nothing gets fixed without confronting issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1


Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Atlanta Hartsfield Jackson International Airport
Nearest Motorway
0.9 Miles
I-75, GA Route16
Nearest Beach
186 Miles
Tybee Island
Car: recommended

Historic Hay House

Canonball House

International Cherry Blossom Festival

Georgia National Fairgrounds

Ochmulgee National Monument

Georgia Music Hall of Fame

Georgia Sports Hall of Fame

Atlanta Motor Speedway

Harriet Tubman Museum

Children's Museum

Museum of Science and Industry


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Damage Insurance £42.59

Let's discuss.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals