HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

The Harwood Cottage at Historic Macon, GA

People16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

Recapture the 1920's Jazz Era in the heart of Macon's Historic Dis

WELCOME...

Welcome to The Harwood Cottage. This 1920's Georgian home is in the center of Macon’s Vineville Historic District.

ACCOMMODATIONS...

The Harwood Cottage has six bedrooms (including: four king beds, one queen bed and one full bed; with an additional fold out full sofa bed in the Music Library and a twin day bed in the conservatory (both of which can be secured for nightly conversion into private seventh & eighth bedrooms). In addition there are four sofas and two stored, queen sized premium inflatable beds, on hand. We have comfortable accommodations in beds for up to 7 couples and one individual throughout our many bedrooms. (However, we've been called upon in the past to accommodate even more, on a few occasions.. (With the recent arrival of Hurricane Matthew & one recent university convocation we were able to provide accommodations for up to 23).

DETAILS...

Our standard 'whole house rental' includes accommodations for 8 'standard' guests included in your basic nightly fee. Additional guests are welcome but we ask that the guest of record hosting additional individuals plan on a $19/night/per person gratuity to cover the variable cost of hosting each additional guest above that first eight. These additional costs include: added continental breakfast, linen, laundry & towel service as well as incremental electric, gas, internet and water utilities. Children under seven are free.

PROPERTY FEATURES...

This is a 1923 Georgian home on an avenue of large historic houses. Please note that this beautiful property is named for Blanche M. Harwood, who lived here and we are dedicated to honoring her along with women in history, female writers of the South and the pursuit of maiden name genealogy. Our focus on the important role that women have played here, is in part because this is the very street where the first woman's college degree in world history was earned. We offer an optional 30 minute historical tour which provides very interesting details on this and more. We also offer a quick, five minute home safety orientation as the alternative. We are also committed to bringing The Harwood Cottage to its full glory through a well-planned series of discreet interior & exterior projects to get us there. Most of our guests truly embrace this combination of both these areas of focus and see them as the reason their stay here was special. Many of our guests leave their mark through their own talents, advice and ideas, shared with us. We price our rental to be affordable for everyone, especially working families. This is important to us but if price is your only consideration or you have little interest in the advancement of women or historic preservation; you may actually find a better fit at another location. You see, we've found that those seeking a low budget real steal generally don't get us. They come looking for the Ritz Carleton at a Motel 6 price and that's just not us. We are not perfect. There is work still to do but if what matters to us matters to you, you will have a significant experience here. ( This is why we have a dichotomy of reviews). Come with the right intentions and you will learn things you never knew you never knew. Our Summer 2017 Focus: Music: Etta James & Benny Goodman Literature: Maya Angelou Projects: Interior Stair Hall & Built-Ins. Exterior Entrances & Outside Piano Deck.

Physical Plant: three full baths, one half bath with garden access, indoor conservatory, Viennese, palace grand piano, 6 bedrooms, fine classical, jazz & contemporary music library on vinyl, tape and digital media, extensive sheet music library, rare book collection including inscribed and first editions, full gourmet kitchen, media lounge with extensive DVD collection, pay-per-view, Roku, Amazon Fire and/or AppleTV options for broadcast, subscription, cable, on demand and free access media offerings; unlimited, free, high speed internet access on private network, large, two person en suite private Jacuzzi bath, Ritz Carleton shower heads, indoor hot tub on garden level, off-street lighted, monitored, fenced in, secure parking for up to seven vehicles, off street, lit free lot parking for another70 vehicles just steps away, wide front verandah, private ballet and yoga studio, full laundry facility with complimentary detergents, fenced in dog run, workshop, bicycle storage, entertainment deck, CharBroil institutional, infrared gas barbecue grill, outdoor dining table, evening garden illuminations, several garden settings from formal to secret to traditional kitchen garden to a native sunken garden, second floor balcony and private lounge, original art and antique collection including Asian, American, European, African & Middle Eastern works (1500 AD-present), 2 gas fireplaces with remote control features on both floors, zone heating & air conditioning, walking distance to select dining, shopping and historical sites with a short (less than a mile drive to most others), historic bronze house marker as part of the notably significant Vineville neighborhood, architecturally protected by The National Trust under U.S. Dept. of the Interior guidelines, starting point for the Cherry Blossom Trail with highest concentration of Cherry Trees in the world, steps from the birthplace of Southern Rock and the Allman Brothers Big House Museum, end point on the Antebellum Trail of pre-Civil War Plantations.

DISCOUNTS...

During our restoration year, we have offered our guests a 30% discount off comparable market price. We also offer an additional 20% off our standard nightly rate for stays of a week or more (7 consecutive nights or more). We offer a 30% off discount on monthly stays (30 consecutive nights or more).

EVENTS...

Many of our guests have large families looking to share a home together and are in town for an event. We welcome such families. If you are planning to host a large group, a special event or a wedding weekend, here are some things to keep in mind:

A. An event on the property is any get together held at the property where at least five individuals not staying at The Harwood Cottage are invited to visit the property for a scheduled pre-planned, get together of over one hour on the property. All events on the property should be pre-approved in writing at least 24 hours in advance. We ask for a nominal event fee to cover wear and tear on the property. The minimum charge for an on-site event is a nominal $25 fee which can vary based on size, duration and scope.

B. Planning your sleeping arrangements:

Please use the following accommodations list to plan your room arrangements for your guests:

1. Eudora: Swedish King, Private Balcony, Fireplace, Master Bath with Jacuzzi, Sleeps 2, 2nd Floor:

a.)

b.)

2. Sidney: Traditional King, Private Lounge with 20 ft. Round Sofa, Montaigne Bath with Tub/Shower, Sleeps 2 (with possible third on sofa), 2nd floor:

a.)

b.)

c.)

3. Zelda: Traditional Queen, Shares Master Bath, Henredon Furnishings, Sterns & Foster Mattress, Darkest Room, Sleeps 2, 2nd Floor:

a.)

b.)

4. Laurence: one King Bed and room for Two Air Full Sized Mattresses, Ideal for Slumber Parties, Teen or Young Adult Sleep-Overs or just a needed make shift dormitory, Moroccan Styled Theme, Shares Montaigne or Master Bath, Sleeps Up To Four, 2nd Floor:

a.)

b.)

c.)

d.)

e.)

f.)

5. Margaret: Air Full Bed, Children's themed, tree house-like feel, lots of windows and high view of neighborhood, Sleeps 2:

a.)

b.)

6. William: Traditional King, Private Entrance, Limited Handicap Access, No Stairs, Shower Only Bath, Sleeps 2, 1st Floor:

a.)

b.)

7. Music Library: Fold out Full Sofa Bed, Grand Room with Piano, Fully Locking, Shares William Bath, Sleeps Two, 1st Floor:

a.)

b.)

8. Conservatory: Single Day Bed, Bright Garden Room with Large Sofa for possible second Guest, as well. First floor location.

a.)

9. Media Lounge Sofa: Very Comfortable, Round Leather Sectional, Direct TV Access, Perfect for the Night Owl, Sleeps One, 2nd Floor:

a.)

10. Drawing Room Sofa: Faces Main Fireplace, Can be closed off at all doors for privacy, Sleeps One, 1st Floor:

a.)

11. Portable Inflatable Intex 22" Queen Bed #1:

a.)

b.)

12. Portable Inflatable Intex 22" Queen Bed #2:

a.)

b.)

More Details

Owner
John Cappelano
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 October, 2017

About John Cappelano

I am an eclectic individual who loves the contradictions that make life interesting. I have reached the middle of my life, living in Macon, GA but the son of a Mayflower Mom and a first generation Italian dad. I love the arts, painting, music, writing but I have made most of my money over the years on Wall Street. I haven't made that much though because I have chosen to be honest in a game that doesn't pay the honest very well. I love old houses and new cars. I believe in tradition though I am totally iconoclastic. I love to travel but I could be totally happy never having to leave Harwood Cottage again. I am a hometown boy who finds himself traveling over 3,000 miles for work, frequently. I am a Cancer (zodiac wise only). I am single. I am over 50. I am nostalgic.

John Cappelano purchased this house in 2006

Why John Cappelano chose Southern Georgia

This property was chosen by my parents many years ago as their ideal place to retire. It was found by chance on a historic homes at Christmas tour in the Macon Historic District. The house became loved by both of them because of its first floor suite with private full bath and the Music Library which could be used as an extension of that suite. They loved the many sets of pocket doors and access between rooms on every floor allowing for an endless configuration of open or semi-open floor plans. The old back porch allows for access to the kitchen just steps from the William Suite (their first floor suite), bedroom. Though they didn't have much money, they did their best to honor their favorite Southern writers and the literary history of the people of Macon. My dad passed a few years ago and several months ago, my Mom joined him. My nephew and I are currently restoring the home back to the glory of my folks early retirement and then some. Our guests have even helped us with ideas on projects like the secret garden and the Chinese Dining Room. Each week, something new is completed and it's all because if people like you! All in all, the house is very ingenious given the 1920's era when it was imagined. Come visit and live the life of a Southern Novelist of The Jazz Era with all its quiet romance, boisterous bravado and faded hints of tawdriness.

What makes this house unique

Unique benefits include free high speed internet access and 5G iphone or smart phone access. Full towel service and premium bedding. Full kitchen access. Available continental breakfast. Off street, lighted, fenced in, secure parking for seven vehicles. Use of the film, music, sheet music and instruments in the music library and media lounge. Private full baths in three suites. Spa tub with jacuzzi in Master Suite. Two parking garage bays. Gas Outdoor Grill. Kitchen Aid, Whirlpool and Cuisine Art Appliances. Two full China Services (one breakfast and one dinner). Components include Royal Worcester, Royal Daulton, Gorham, Channel and others. Access to original works of art by Remington, Manet and others as well as period pieces from 17th, 18th and 19th century Asia, Europe and The Americas. Access to the 1886, Viennese Grand Piano. Access to the Conservatory with its wide variety of indoor plant specimens. Access to the Southern Gothic Writers' Literary Collection. Access to a total of six beds sleeping a total of 11 guests. Use of all kitchen facilities. Access to the fenced-in, indoor/outdoor dog run. All trash and garbage collection included. Walking distance to The Allman Brothers' Big House Museum, Vineville Historic District sites and Georgia School for The Blind.

Location

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Atlanta Hartsfield Jackson International Airport
Nearest Motorway
0.9 Miles
I-75, GA Route16
Nearest Beach
186 Miles
Tybee Island
Car: recommended

Historic Hay House

Canonball House

International Cherry Blossom Festival

Georgia National Fairgrounds

Ochmulgee National Monument

Georgia Music Hall of Fame

Georgia Sports Hall of Fame

Atlanta Motor Speedway

Harriet Tubman Museum

Children's Museum

Museum of Science and Industry

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Macon in Bibb County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 13:00
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 3 -
    Laundry, Craft, Yoga & Spa bath. - Toilet
    The Parisian Bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower , French accessories & art, ooh la la!
    The Master - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi , Two person jacuzzi, Ritz Carlton Shower Head, Tea Lights...
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • The Sidney Suite - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Sunny, large, private lounge, stained glass reading nook
    The Eudora Suite - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Swedish Memory Foam, Fireplace, Private Terrace
    The Zelda Suite - 1 Large Double Bed , Henredon Furnishings, William MorrisTextiles
    The William Suite - 1 Double Bed , 1st Floor, Private Bath, Antique Bed
    The Laurence. Suite - 2 Double Bed , Dormitory Style, Two Inflatable High Fulls
    The Margaret - 1 Double Bed
    The Music Library - 1 Single Bed , Sleep like Mozart with visions of a grand piano to dream by!
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Quality & Standards Grounds: Pre-arrival walk through to remove litter branches and obstructions, sweep within front & back entrances, remove allmaintenance items, stow trash, arrange outdoor furniture along with routine average home owner yard & garden maintenance with on-going restoration and expansion (Possible special requests: special plantings, decorations, leaf blowing, lawn mowing, outdoor furniture, decor and amenities). Interior Public Spaces, Sweep or Vacuum, Dust or Polish, Straighten& Declutter. Quarterly Window Washing and Rugs Steam Cleaned along with on-going maintenance and improvement projects secured in progress during visits. (Possible special requests: Deep cleaning by outside service, lights lit upon arrival to match requested scheme, fireplace lit, climate & music request, fresh floral request, kitchen appliance request, exercise equipment request, party set up, in house catering, room configuration, china service, special access to spa room, laundry, yoga stud

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

68% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
18% Complete
The Harwood Cottage at Historic Macon, GA
average rating of 4.0625 based on 16 reviews
5

Great place for a family get together!

  • 5 of 5

Our family was enticed to visit Macon by the hope that the 300,000 Yoshino cherry trees would be in bloom during the Cherry Blossom Festival in March. We wanted to linger far longer because of the incredible hospitality of our host, John, and the historic yet comfortable nature of the home and furnishings. A visit to Macon and a stay at Harwood Cottage are well worth your time and I highly recommend both.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well, thank you! We are so humbled by your kind words especially after being such incredible guests. We so enjoyed opening The Harwood Cottage to you and helping you to enjoy your vacation. We wish that every family who comes to visit could be as engaging, fun and contentious as you have been. When that happens it sure makes it easy to tell you that y'all will have a special place here, in the heart of Georgia...whenever fond memories call you back down these country roads! Best, John C.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Dirty facilty

  • 1 of 5

Nothing good to say. Dead roaches. Disgusting refrigerator. Oven with apparent years of grime. Dirty floors, hairs in bathroom, trash in drawers, Etc, etc.

I never left a bad review for ANY facility in my life but this was beyond belief.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Doctor. That was nice of you. We communicated to you when you arrived that we had worked nonstop since the last hurricane victims left at 1pm, that day. We mentioned we had 55 people sheltered between Hurricane Irma and your arrival. Your response was, "Why didn't you kick them out a day earlier?" which makes sense except they literally had no place to go. On our walk through I mentioned we sprayed the property inside and out. We found one bug on that tour. Later, at your request we revacuumed the entire 30 rooms and found two more (that happens when you spray). We said, "If there is something we didn't get clean enough, just tell us and give us one hour to improve it!" You agreed to that and we stayed on 24 hr. call for your stay. Your first list was: four extra sets of keys, revacuumed closets, empty the refrigerator and clean it top to bottom. All completed in two hours but sadly, not a nod From you. Next set: Continental breakfast set up, clean the main oven, vacuum the floors again, bring up an extra bed and more towels and linens. Once again all completed in two hours along with cleaning all other ovens, several more baskets of warm, freshly laundered towels, flags hung and flowers installed, more hurricane debris removed, kitchen cleaned along with all pots and pans and all trash removed with new bags. When you returned you said, "You really did a great job and have worked hard to get it all done. I am satisfied and have nothing else for you!" We thought you were being sincere when you said that. You also said that you and your daughter, as Doctors, were a bit 'fastidious' about clean. Knowing that, you could have requested the outside professional cleaning company of your choice which we offer to our guests upon request. We offer a 30 room, eight bed, house that can accommodate a large, budget minded family gathering of 8, 10, 20 or more for $298/night. My nephew and I work alone and very hard doing the best we can to keep that price affordable. For those blessed of means, we also suggest the cottages at the nearby Reynolds Plantation, which also offers accommodations for eight (without the antiques, piano or 24 hr. on call cleaning crew), for $2,250/night (including tax). Yes, we sustained hurricane damage and we apologized over and over for it. However, we were there to open a private underground shelter for you and your family as the next storm hit. Sadly, you didn't give us a nod for that either... With malice toward none... J
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

Same terrible experience as Carl B. House not ready, filthy, in disrepair, owner excuses, aggressive

  • 1 of 5

Told owner about stains, leak, he went batty, emailed bill for $930, said we were a “pack of wolves”. We filed complaint with Vacation Rental by Owner (VRBO) customer services department, included owner’s email, our response, photos contrasting website house to real thing, and showing issues below. VRBO dealt with owner, removed charge from our account. Even $250 charge for “obvious malicious behavior amounting to a de facto house arrest of the Owner in his property as Guests became interlopers”; fearful Owner was “dissuaded from attempting to leave the Garden Level of the mansion and essentially was trapped there (even for meals) for over 22 hours.” VRBO reviews do not allow pictures or links. VRBO removed false charge and will keep in owner’s permanent file, my photos and story about what happened. Carl B June 1, 2017 review said they slept “fully clothed”. Our linen and bedspread had stains, 2 were gross. We covered bed, slept on top. All bedding in house and closet were old smelling, worn, some with stains, holes. Read Nat and Roo’s Dec 10, 2015 review, they got same. Carl B saw “a sock plugging a hole”; we saw water damage on wall and 5 ceilings. It rained and roof leaked. Owner showed no interest; we put bucket under dripping. No smoke alarms anywhere. Opened dishwasher door, old unit fell 4 inches from wall, dirty plates rolled out. Stink of stagnant water and food. Refrigerator crisper drawers held limp food in water. Broken coffee maker (blamed on us). We swept floors, cleaned food off stove, washed tacky feeling pans. Missing or burned out bulbs throughout house. Wife unable to put on makeup by light in bathroom. Broken window, fallen tree on neighbor’s fence; she left note for him to clean up. Nephew (lives with owner in basement) yelled at neighbor. During check-in, owner left before explaining “continental breakfast”, next morning, expecting something, called twice, emailed, no answers; so went to basement looking for “Garden Level Family Residence”, it’s dark, see trash, dirt, junk in “hot tub” and “yoga room”, worse than most garages, take a week to clean up; knocked on unmarked door, nephew answered, yelled “Go away, you can’t be here.” If want breakfast, must dig through mess, make yourself; we bought our own food. This is just part of what I sent VRBO; they saw our proof, sided with us. House is not as shown, website is not true, owner tells tall tales. He is over the top, just like his “reviews” shown here. Are they realistic?

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hogwash! We recently became a Homeaway top ranking destination, for this region. With that honor has come increased visibility which has made us an easy target for scammers who extort hosts by threatening a "poison review". This is in response to one. Hosts in regional leadership positions have reported a pattern of this type of criminal behavior. Those who cooperate and stay silent lose legitimate earnings and become accomplices in their own victimization. Those who fight (like us), have their reputations and livelihoods destroyed. We are currently cooperating with regional law enforcement in a couple of these cases, (this one references the other). The FBI warns guests that these scams depend upon you to make the threat real. Don't let scammers and cyber bullies plan your next vacation! You can help in the following ways: 1. Read each review from every listing at every site where the property lists: Percent positive and negative? Weed out the unbalanced ones and those that cite other guest reviews for credibility. 2. Learn to spot a poison review. Negativity which seeks to hurt or damage? Lack of any positive elements? Facts omitted? Tiny details as if from a home inspector's list? Not even a basic "thank you" for opening your home to us. 3. Follow the money. Is the guest at the center of the host's attempt to collect money he is owed? Does the reviewer offer a compromise?does he even recognize it or does he seek to trivialize it? 4. Ask for a tour of the property. Is the host willing? 5. Communicate with the owner. Does he make himself available? Understand your important concerns? Seek to prioritize your concerns? Allow for a joint plan of action? Execute or attempt to reach a mutually agreeable solution? Commit to writing? We seek to build a community of trust between guests and hosts. By joining forces we can create a stronger, global sharing economy. Join with us. Don't let a criminal plan your next vacation. Stay informed. Communicate your legitimate expectations. Form relationships of trust and get it in writing. Peace, J. (Note: This guest's stay resulted in our having to fight to get paid for goods, services, damage and property rules violations stemming from their visit. All of our claims were in fact, legitimate. The same is true of the others he cites. Extensive reports on each, covering the misleading and false reviews, amounts lost on each and the more questionable details of their individual stays are each available.)
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
1

Extreme case of false advertising! The property was filthy, unkept and in desperate need of repair.

  • 1 of 5

My family and I booked the Harwood Cottage in Macon for 5 nights during the week of Memorial Day. Based on the property description, photos and reviews we expected to arrive to a majestic property. After 14 hours on the road we were very disappointed. The check-in time was suppose to be 4pm. We arrived approximately 8:30pm and after a long drawn out history lesson about the owners family (45mins) we asked him to show us to our rooms. He stated the rooms weren't ready yet. When we asked if we could put our luggage in the rooms until they were ready he said, "I can't let you do that. You never get a second chance to make a first impression." Although this seemed odd, we were tired and hungry. So we went out to eat and returned later to dimly lit rooms that smelled like mildew. We decided we'd talk to owner next morning and we all went to bed fully clothed. The next morning we did a full inspection and found black mold around the air vents and leaky ceilings in multiple rooms. One room even had a sock plugging a hole in the ceiling-- YES, a sock plugging a hole. The kitchen was also filthy. The tea kettle had used tea bags stuck to the inside and the coffee pot had coffee that had been sitting long enough for mold to form on top. My wonderful mother, who was determined not to spoil our family vacation went looking for rubber gloves to scrub the kitchen down. Instead of allowing Mom to do something the owner should have done, we called Marriott to see if we could book rooms there for the rest of our stay. Besides, we couldn't scrub black mold away. I could go on and on about how disgusting this property was, but I don't have enough characters. The property owner had numerous excuses and explanations for the condition of the property, but there is no excuse. Our planned 5 night stay ended after one late night of discomfort and an early morning where daylight shined on the filth that wasn't as obvious in the dark of night. The Harwood Cottage "could" be a beautiful property, but it needs a lot of work and a really, really good cleaning job.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest came from Detroit but was raised in Macon, GA. He gave us a firm ETA of 9:30pm then arrived nearly 2 hours early as fresh towels were being dried. He chose our 'optional' historical tour which he, as a person of color, might have appreciated with its focus on women and the marginalized beyond the few references to the previous owners. His children were oddly pretentious and dismissed us as the help. They called my Yale graduate degree in the Music Library, bogus. When I politely corrected their information, they grew rude and angry. My nephew sought to welcome them with a fresh pitcher of iced tea. In the scramble of their surprise arrival, he forgot to discard the tea bags.The gourmet Cuisinart coffee maker was fine and there was no sock and no mold in the ceiling but there once must have been in the back bath as we have found a shadow of a former stain as we prepped a corner of that ceiling to be painted going into that weekend (a simple fact not an excuse). There was a one time leak in Ms. Harwood's (my mother's) bath stemming from the morning she passed and erasing her last mark here, is something I have put off, I know. We also experienced a roof leak from a storm the weekend before which the adjuster was working on. What we find odd is he chose to take our historical tour. He chose not to mention a single one of these issues so we could either confirm or fix. He chose to give an ETA allowing us to plan for it then break it without consideration. He chose to let family members degrade my education. I chose not to be made inferior by consenting. He chose to leave without a word leaving us so in the dark that after 24 hours we called Home Away's emergency line. Consideration is a two way street. We worked our hearts out to give consideration and welcome this man at his chosen ETA. He did not return the favor on any of his counts. Yes, he's come a long way from good 'ole Macon, GA but even in the sophisticated, clean, modern corners of Metropolitan Detroit, people are considerate and expectations are communicated. We have not seen his house in Detroit or even his mother's house, here. We do not know his expectations nor are we mind readers. We do know this property was not dirty (and certainly not by Ietroit standards). For all we know they may have decided to head to Disneyworld on a whim and are now confronting the over zealous credit card statement that follows. Either way, in Detroit or Macon, nothing gets fixed without confronting issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

Wonderful place for a large group

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time with our students at the Harwood Cottage. It was a lovely place for our group and we all felt comfortable and welcome. The students enjoyed the history tour presented by John. We also really appreciated him working with the numerous allergy concerns we had in our group. Thank you for all of your work to make our stay a memorable.

From the students:

"The beds were really comfy."

"John was so nice!"

"Beautiful bonsai tree ;)"

"The sofas were comfortable"

"We enjoyed having the breakfast John provided."

  • Review Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys were so wonderful! It was a pleasure hosting each and every one of you. Thank you for letting me share some history with you and take you underground to the Nuclear bunker. I really feel better about America's future knowing each of you bright shining stars will be a part of it! You have a special place in the heart of Georgia!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Just What We Wanted

  • 5 of 5

We were in town for our daughter's wedding and wanted to spend time with family the week before the ceremony. This worked great. Could not have asked for anything better.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You know, as owners we seem to spend an inordinate amount of time on less than stellar reviews, often forced to play James Carville on Fox News, basically tasked with swatting down each sideways glance that is cast upon us. We become highly charged in the defense of a sterling reputation. While we could not be more pleased with this guest's review, we wanted to focus on them as we would on a poor review because this family was so much more worth it. This is where I bear witness to the truth which is, this guest couple and their family are hands down the finest large group we have ever had the honor to host. They were the cleanest, smartest, most thoughtful, self-sufficient, pleasant, appreciative, kindest family we've ever had in residence. I was left dumbfounded by the dichotomy between this family and one or two of the others by way of comparison. Blanche Harwood, for whom the Ha rwood Cottage is named, used to say, "There is a spirit in this place. When good people come here it becomes like Heaven but there are a few monsters out there who can at times, make this place something far less. Well, she was right and we thank this guest for the slice of heaven they brought to Macon. Many happy returns! J
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Damage Insurance £44.73

Let's discuss.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals