Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Award-Winning Luxury Ocean View Condo 275 Yds from the Beach

Bedrooms 9
Space 10,000 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 9 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 10+ Baths, (Sleeps up to 25)

The award-winning Vista De Sirena is located in a quiet and secluded fishing village 15 miles south of Jacó.  The building sits on a hillside just 275 meters from the beach and offers one of the most amazing views of the ocean along the entire western coast of Costa Rica.  Enjoy a short walk to the beach where you can put your feet in the sand, play in tide pools, snorkel, swim or surf.  You can also charter a world-class fishing tour in nearby Quepos or Herradura, or join up with one of the local fishermen right here in Esterillos Oeste.  The waters are teeming with Snapper, Jack and a variety of other delicious fish.  A short scenic drive will lead you to Jacó for shopping, dining, and great night life.  A 40-minute drive in the opposite direction will take you to Manuel Antonio, the most popular national park in Costa Rica, where you can enjoy hiking and swimming and experience a diversity of wildlife.

Each of the building's three air conditioned units has a spacious entry with plenty of room to leave your surfboards or anything else you need to store behind locked doors.  On the right hand side of the walkway you'll find the entry to the main living area, kitchen and dining space.  At the other end of the main living area you'll enjoy the panoramic view of the ocean through the wall of glass with large sliding doors that open up to private balconies. For added privacy, each unit resides on its own floor and has three bedroom suites. Two suites feature king beds; the third suite has a queen bed; One of the bedrooms has a full bed that pulls out from under the king bed for additional sleeping accommodations. Additionally, each bedroom features pillow-top beds with memory foam toppers.  

The rooftop is an ideal place to enjoy the company of close friends and good food while sitting at the palapa bar, lounging on the deck, or swimming in the infinity pool.

The penthouse unit comes with a few added luxuries.  The main living area is considerably larger with more windows to enhance the views and a gorgeous teak-paneled ceiling.  If you want to the enjoy the cover of being indoors and still feel the ocean breeze, the entire ocean-facing wall slides open providing a spacious entry to the balcony.

*Please note: our beautiful condo is located in a quaint, small village in a second world country. Power interruptions can occur.

Keywords: Luxury condo with fantastic views, seclusion, and only 275 meters from one of the best surf beaches in Costa Rica. Rent a 1-bedroom suite or the entire building. Great for family and group vacations. 5 Mbps WiFi available.

Full rates are listed below:


Nov 2-Aug 31 ... $1095/night ... 3 night min ... ENTIRE BUILDING


Sept 1-Nov 1 ..... $775/night ... $5,425/week ... 3 night min ... ENTIRE BUILDING

*Please note that holiday rates are an additional 15%/night (Christmas/New Years).

$1,059 due at time of reservation; remainder due at checkin along with a $1,000 refundable damage deposit.

Cleaning fees are $250 at the end of the stay; less if renting 1 or 2 floors. Daily cleaning is $120/day for the entire building (clean bathrooms, kitchen, sweep, make beds). PayPal also accepted.

Price for the building is for the building only, catering and travel not included. We can refer you to people for those amenities, but we are not responsible for them.

PLEASE NOTE: WE OPERATE ON A FIRST-COME-FIRST-SERVED BASIS. UNTIL WE HAVE A CONTRACT AND A DEPOSIT IN HAND, THE RESERVATION IS NOT FINALIZED. We'll make every effort to let you know that someone else is interested in your dates if applicable.

***We do not offer our facility as a wedding venue. No bachelor parties, female/male escorts on the property.***

More Details

David Payne
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 July, 2018

About David Payne

Photographer from Orem, Utah, USA.

Love to surf and travel.

We've travelled to Costa Rica ever since our first visit in 2000.

David Payne purchased this condo in 2010

Why David Payne chose Esterillos Oeste

We fell in love with Esterillos Oeste when we visited in 2007. Soon after, we bought our first condo and chose to invest in the area. The views from where we built the condo are among the best we've found along the entire Pacific coast. The locals are friendly and easy going. Esterillos is more laid back and tranquil than the busier Jaco and Manuel Antonio tourist areas.

What makes this condo unique

The beach is an easy 275 meter walk down the hill from the building and is easy to reach on foot even carrying a surfboard.

The 3500 square-foot gathering area on the rooftop of the building hosts a pool, bar area with palapa, and incredible views.

The building includes a security system and a full-time manager.

***We do not offer our facility as a wedding venue. No bachelor parties, female/male escorts on the property.***


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Esterillos Oeste in Cantón Parrita

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 10000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 25
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • village
  • Water View
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Garage
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 11 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
    Bathroom 7 -
    Bathroom 8 -
    Bathroom 9 -
    Bathroom 10 -
    Bathroom 11 -
  • There are 3 1/2 baths on each floor and a bath on the rooftop with an outside shower. there is also an outside shower at the entrance of the building.
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 25
  • Sleeping Porch - There's at least one hammock on each level.
    Bedroom 9 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Back bedroom, Penthouse
    Bedroom 8 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Large Double Bed , Second bedroom, Penthouse (faces the ocean)
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Large Double Bed , Second bedroom, floor 2 (faces the ocean)
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Large Double Bed , Back bedroom, floor 2
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Large Double Bed , Second bedroom, floor 1 (faces the ocean)
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Back bedroom, floor 1
    Bedroom 7 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master bedroom, Floor 3 (faces the ocean)
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master bedroom, floor 2 (faces the ocean)
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master bedroom, floor 1 (faces the ocean)
  • King size beds (7), Queen size Beds (5), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Gazebo
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Infinity pool and palapa with bar on spacious rooftop gathering area,On-site manager,WiFi ***We do not offer our facility as a wedding venue.***


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(40 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
Award-Winning Luxury Ocean View Condo 275 Yds from the Beach
average rating of 4.65 based on 40 reviews


  • 5 of 5

It's been just over a week since we left the beautiful country of Costa Rica and this incredible property. It certainly was the perfect place to accommodate our large party of 20+.

This trip was planned well in advance and throughout the process, both Josie and Javi were extremely patient and helpful with all of our questions and believe me, we had a lot of them. Javi, who comes to the property to check in on everyone several times a day was exceptionally helpful and very accommodating. Hope you had a good trip to Boston with your family Javi.

As others have mentioned, the property is located a short walking distance from the beach, which was perfect. There are definitely a great deal of bugs to be seen so if that's not your thing, you can help minimize the experience by making sure you keep the doors closed as much as possible.

The views from the property are incredible. The house is very spacious, highly recommended if planning a trip for a large party.

Thanks again for everything Josie and a big thanks also to Javi for being so gracious to our party!


  • Review Submitted: 27-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Javi was grateful to have such a great group stay as well. We cannot recommend you enough as guests. Grateful to have made a friend out of a great group of guests. Hope to have you again! Pura Vida! -Josie & Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

This house is beautiful. I had an amazing time there! The view from the terrace is undescribable. Also, the moon light reflected on the ocean take your breath away! Simple amazing.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Do not get please

  • 1 of 5

Owner is rude. House full with bugs. I suggest nobody to get this property, the picture can’t very deceiving. F- RATING

  • Review Submitted: 19-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: To clarify the situation, this guest rented for two days. Within 24 hours, had busted 2 huge holes in the walls, busted handles off of drawers, scratched custom teak wood, destroyed 2 sets of bed sheets. Most importantly, they broke our 0 tolerance policy for bringing prostitutes to our family-friendly establishment, (this policy is clearly stated on our website) and reinforced by our property manager upon guests arrival. When our property manager reported these violations, the guests were asked to leave. The guest begged to stay and never had any complaints until this review was posted. If you were intending to behave as these guests did, then our property is definitely not for you. As far as bugs, this building is set in a tropical jungle. If you were intending to rent this building and expecting no bugs to be around, it may not be wise for you to rent a building near the beach in Costa Rica. If you have further concerns regarding this review, I am more than happy to provide pictures.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pictures do not represent the condition of the property!

  • 1 of 5

Me and 16 of my closest friends traveled to Costa Rica for what we thought was going to be a luxurious vacation. We arrived onsite to find the outside conditions of the home difficult to navigate and in poor condition. In addition, the home was not cleaned to standards, mold in the lower areas, bathrooms not properly kept up, bugs found in two of the beds and a broken air conditioner system in one of the rooms. After speaking with Javi he informed us the owner had not kept proper upkeep and this was not the first complaint. In addition, we spoke with the homeowner who promised a refund that we never received. I would not recommend this property. I have pictures and videos as proof! I hope others have a better experience.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry this guest had a poor experience. We want all our guests to experience the beauty and comfort of our building in Costa Rica. If a guest encounters an issue, we have a manager that will address any issue as fast as humanly possible. We were more than willing to take care of Ms. Ross' concerns, despite her companions wanting to stay and enjoy our building as well as our reassurances and offer of compensations. In regards to the outside of our building, the guests arrived at 11:00 at night in complete darkness, on a road with no street lights, and made an inaccurate judgement about the upkeep of the outside of the building. Despite our trying to immediately address her concerns, she made the decision to leave after being on the premises for less than an hour. Our beautiful building is located in a quaint fishing village that most guests find charming. This town is in the middle of a rainforest and close to the ocean, and so wildlife is sometimes part of the experience. This guest would've definitely been better suited for a resort-hotel, and we are a privately-owned condo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Time in Esterillos Oeste

  • 5 of 5

We had a full house for our wedding party between Feb. 25 and March 2 this year and it was fantastic. The home is absolutely beautiful with amazing views and secure gates in case you want to feel that extra security. The kitchens had everything we needed to cook full meals and the Super Sol down the hill had pretty much anything you would need to do some grocery shopping. If you needed more there was a Maxi Pali (grocery store) about 15 minutes south of Esterillos Oeste. Javier was very helpful and available when we needed him which helped to make everything less stressful during our stay. The pool and roof top 'deck' area was awesome and the kids loved being able to swim until they dropped. There were washer and dryers available which was helpful so we didn't have to over pack. I did have a couple of marks left on some of my clothing from the upstairs washing machine, but nothing that I couldn't try to get out later or live with. Everyone felt like they could be together but also feel separate if they needed their own space. If there were to be a down fall I would say the water pressure wasn't that great. But the shower upstairs was huge with a beautiful view of the ocean. There are several places to try eat at in this little community, 2 surf shops to get boards from with very helpful people that are always willing to answer questions. There is also a local baker at The Village Bakery, just down the hill, that can set you up with breads, rolls, and smoked meats which were delicious. And if you need a photographer for your wedding or any other event I would look up Beau Maisel Photography because he is amazing. Overall my experience working with David the home owner was very good and he was able to keep in touch with me for my many questions. Javier the house manager is kind and helpful. I highly recommend staying here any time during the year for the house, the community, and the beach. - M

I forgot to add, if you want just a great local meal or someone to cater your party Los Almendros in Esterillo Oeste was amazing, professional, and DELICIOUS!!!

  • Review Submitted: 22-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Aesthetically Beautiful; Mechanical Nightmare

  • 2 of 5

Beautiful property. Javi is wonderful. He tries his best to accommodate needs. (If he gives you a ride anywhere, be sure to keep a ledger and receipts of payment) The listing says 24 people and there were not even 24 face towels on the property. Yet if you mess up any of their towels, its $25 per towel! Unrealistic expectations being next to a beach. One towel was used to clean up vomit, I understand. However, the other towels David claimed we reuined were used to dry off from beach. We then had to use those same towels to wash our faces. We were then accused of stealing pillows and bathroom mats! Not to mention the first night the power was out at their sister property whice we also booked. Dave took one day off the charges and offered an apology with things “we could have done differently.” (Yea rented a different property) Then after our wedding, which the venue was perfect for by the way, the power went out at the property. Javi got it to work but told us not to use the washer and dryer. So tell me again how we were supposed to wash the “soiled” towels? Every issue, the owner tried to turn back on us and we found that to be unprofessional and not worth the amount of money spent for this property. I personally walked through every single room upon arrival and at departure. The mats we were accused of stealing werent even there. They were eventually “found on the roof” with a hint of an accusatory tome as if we moved the mats up there. Why on earth would we do that? Prior to booking, I asked several times if holding my wedding there was fine and they insisted yes. There were barely 23 people in the house at once and only 16 actually stayed on property. So power outages should not have occurred. There should have been enough towels. I initially informed Dave I wouldn’t write this review, but after he nickel and dimed me on towels when there werent enough to begin with. Deducting it from my deposit and Javi lying and saying he wasnt paid $50 for a trip to Jaco, here you have it. We are currently about to book another trip to Costa Rica but will be staying at a resort with proper amenities and a tad bit more professionalism. The only reason this even gets 2 stars is because my wedding was beautiful on the roof top. So if you are looking to hold a small ceremony on the roof, this property is perfect! Josie is great! She is personable and always looking for ways to work things out. Communication slacked at times but shes a student so I get it.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry our guest had an issue paying for the towels that he and his party damaged beyond repair with vomit, alcohol, makeup, and other unknown substances. We are not a hotel, we are a privately-owned condo and we don't have a linen service. We want to provide our guests with the most comfort possible, which means that we have to bring our white, nice towels from the United States. Upon request from the manager, we have other towels and supplies that may be used for cleaning, but this guest chose not to do so. Our guests are informed of our towel policy upon arrival. Despite the power interruption being a city issue, our manager was able to find a temporary solution so that the discomfort of our guests was minimal. He also went above and beyond his job description to ensure that their stay was optimal. Until the guest was informed that he would need to pay for the damaged towels, he expressed to us how much he and his guests enjoyed their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Manuel Antonio National Park
About 45 minutes to the south of Esterillos Oests. Great place to see wiildlife. Be sure and...
Our go-to spot for casual food while in Jacó. Just off the main drag in the middle of town. ...
Los Alamendros
Just west of the soccer field in Esterillos Oeste, Almendros offers some Tico fare, but are ...
El Chiringchingo
Los Alamendros
Just west of the soccer field in Esterillos Oeste, Almendros offers some Tico fare, but are ...
Brett's Board Rentals and Surf Shop
Brett is an awesome surf instructor.
Nearest Airport
80 Miles
SJO - Juan Santamaría International Airport
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Los Almendros
Nearest Beach
250 Metres
Esterillos Oeste
Car: recommended

Local activities:

Surfing (5 surfing beaches nearby)

Horseback riding (Discovery Horse Tours)

Ziplining (Chiclets or Vista Los Sueños)

Fishing (William from the village is great!)

White water rafting (1 hour south in Quepos/Manuel Antonio)


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Esterillos Oeste, Costa Rica

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Holiday 2018
17 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Building Cleaning Fee £190.35
Refundable Damage Deposit £761.4
Property Damage Protection £44.92

Daily cleaning can be arranged for a fee of $120/day for light cleaning (make beds, sweep floors, clean bathroom and kitchen).

Any taxes are included in the fee.

Rentals are not confirmed until the deposit and a contract are received.

Please Note: A Property Damage Protection policy of $59 is mandatory. We also require a refundable damage deposit of $1,000, due upon entry.

***We do not offer our facility as a wedding venue.***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals