HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Quiet Retreat Back in the Woods

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,300 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Cute home with fenced in yard, let the kids and animals run without worrying. Enjoy this secluded property surrounded by woods and nature. 4 bedroom 1 bathroom vacation home available for daily or weekly rent. Not far from state land, trails, and Wixom lake. Grocery store, gas, and restaurants just a few minutes away.

Amenities: Fully furnished. DVD, movies, tv(antenna) games, Stove, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster. full bath, dishes, silverware, pots/pans, linens, towels, & more. Park style Grill outside so bring Charcoal, Bon Fire Pit, Small window Air Conditioner in Living room, Washer and Dryer on site.

Outside amenities: Fire pit, chairs, grill, .5 acre fenced yard, outside trash can.

More Details

Billie Jo or Lee Schulz
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 April, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Gladwin in Billings

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:30 / Check-out: 13:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Cabin is a get away and unplug, kind of visit, no cable tv, but there is an antenna so you will get local channels, no internet, its time to unplug.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Quiet Retreat Back in the Woods
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 19 reviews

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

Once again it was a wonderful cabin to stay in. Very quiet in the woods. Fire pit, with chairs and picnic table. The charcoal grill is a great asset. Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not so good

  • 2 of 5

The first problem was that the location was not even close to were it shows up on the map. This was very inconvenient for us. Then a neighbor warned us about keeping our eye on the kids as it wasn't the best neighborhood. Seemed true as there were creepy looking trailers all over and heard gun shots one night.

The owner seemed very nice. The house looked pretty clean until we really paid attention. There were cobwebs all over. So I called the owner and she came to clean and spray. She did get a lot of the cobwebs, but there were lots more, especially in the windows. When I wanted to cook the dishes looked okay until I really looked and then had hard food on them.

We have seven people in our family and there weren't enough dishes. The window AC is in the living room. To keep cool all the bedroom doors had to be open, so not too private. The shower is very squealy, no matter what we did. The water was warm though. The washer and dryer were nice to use. Over all felt nicer than camping but would not choose to stay here again. I call homeaway and they put me on hold. After like 30 min. it disconnected. Called again, put on hold, after 15 min or so I gave up. Won't use homeaway again either. Nicer places out there for about the same price.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: PLEASE LOOK AT THE MAP THE HOME IS EXACTLY WHERE IT SHOWS ON THE MAP. We send written directions and provide detailed directions over the phone to help assist in finding the home, some GPS show incorrectly. Sorry that you feel your stay was not good, Please keep in mind that its a cabin in the woods, there are going to be spiders. We have the air conditioning details in the ad and advertis the home as a getaway to socialize with friends and family. For the first couple of years there was no air conditioning. The home is surrounded by state and private land and people do hunt and target shoot in the area, and fireworks are allowed too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Thumps Up!!!

  • 5 of 5

Property was nice clean 4 bedroom. Landlord was pleasantly informative on the area, I would give this property and stay a thumps up!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house in the woods

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous time. The house is very clean and the owners are accommodating. This was the perfect location for us visiting family. Everything was there for linens and other items you wouldn't want to drag with you. I am grateful for the washer and dryer, we didn't have to pack as many clothes. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to having you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Clean & Cozy

  • 5 of 5

Great little house that was super clean and cozy - perfect for our Fall Leaf trip overnight...and we were able to bring our dogs too. Great outside space for dogs and people - wish we had more than just the 2 of us!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very clean, very nice owners, private.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a week to hunt with our English setters. The home was clean and very comfortable, the dogs really enjoyed the freedom of the fenced yard instead of a chain gang. We would highly recommend this place and are thinking of coming back next year.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Welcome Inn Restaurant serves alcohol
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Welcome inn and Melting Pot
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
lake access at end of each road


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Gladwin, Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Memorial Weekend
24 May 2018 - 29 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
4th of July
1 Jul 2018 - 9 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Labor day weekend
30 Aug 2018 - 4 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add £7 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £17.94
Refundable Damage Deposit £143.54

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals