HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Waterfront Home of Captain Nat Herreshoff Bristol Harbor

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Space 4,000 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, ( great for children) 3.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6)+

Water Front Historic Home built by Captain Nat Herreshoff, yacht designer and builder of Five America's Cup boats.

Beautiful surroundings with accomodating living rooms, all with water views. Outstanding porches overlooking Bristol Harbor facing west for viewing sunsets. Perfect patio for relaxing outdoor dinners. Back yard commands amazing passages of boats into Bristol Harbor, great yacht watching.

All bedrooms are private and have luxurious baths and showers.

Master suite on own floor, and two other bedrooms with baths on seperate floor along with a Den and balcony overlooking Bristol Harbor. 4000 square feet of living space to enjoy with family or find a perfect nook to read, swim, relax and soak up the sun. House has multipe levels. Works perfectly for 2 couples, or small family.

Keywords: Perfect for America's Cup races and Tall Ships this Summer! Magnificent waterfront home with many amenities. Walk into town and enjoy the seaside village of Bristol with its many lovely resturants, museums,parks and wedding venues. Newport is just an 18 minute drive from Bristol where you can enjoy Newport's famous Ocean Drive and Mansions from the Guilded Age. Bristol is a perfect locale for a family gathering with many activities available. This house is within walking distance to Blithewold Gardens, Mount Hope Farm and Linden Place. The Herreshoff America's Cup Museum, is located across the street from this famous home.

Roger Williams University is also nearby as is Brown University, Salve Regina University and the Naval War College.

More Details

Owner
Carol Smith
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2018

Why Carol Smith chose Bristol

beautiful home with amazing views and sunsets. All the Harbor activity takes place by our front door and views from every window captures all the sailing and yachting activity on Narragansett Bay.

What makes this condo unique

Perfect for 3 couples or family with children

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Bristol in Bristol County

Property Type:
  • condo
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • city centre ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • village ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • Shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
House is Water Front on Narragansett Bay, sailing, canoeing, swimming, boating , all water sports at your door step. Amazing sunsets. Fabulous kitchen with commercial appliances and waterfront dinning areas. Beautiful bathrooms with steam shower, and jet bathing tub. All bedrooms with private bathrooms, accompanied with beautiful linens.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront Home of Captain Nat Herreshoff Bristol Harbor
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 15 reviews
5

Unbeatable experience!!

  • 5 of 5

My stay at "Love Rocks" in Bristol was incredible and exceeded all expectation. I found it to be the loveliest of all vrbo homes I've visited. The VIEWS are spectacular with expansive ocean views and amazing scenery from every window. I travel to the Bristol/Newport area often and will never stay anywhere else again. I was in town for a family event and it was convenient to Downtown Bristol and neighboring Newport, yet very private... you feel like you're on your own little island! The house is so romantic and has tons of history. All living spaces, bedrooms and baths are feel very updated and beautiful. Although I didn't use it much, the kitchen had everything a gourmet chef would want with amazing views of Narragansett Bay. I only wish my trip was longer (and that it was in the middle of summer). I could only imagine how spectacular that would be! We will be back!

  • Review Submitted: 22-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at Love Rocks, and so happy it met all your needs. I look forward to your return . Carol Smith
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Incredible Water front home! best sunset i've ever seen

  • 5 of 5

This house is perfect! I recently organized a family gathering for an important birthday and this home was just a delight.

Amazing accommodations for 3 couples with spa-like bathrooms and amenities.

The owner was very accommodating to our dates and arrival time and described the house perfectly....The photos do not do it justice. Breathing-taking views of Narragansett Bay from every window, even the master shower (I can only imagine what the summer months might showcase) and a great 20min walk into dtown Bristol.

Great gourmet kitchen, beautiful art throughout the home - most of it I was told from the owner was done by RISD professors and students, and lots of private comfortable areas to relax and enjoy the views. I'm hoping to make this an annual event. Thanks a lot Carol!

B M

  • Review Submitted: 15-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi , so pleased that your visit to Bristol and the house was to your liking ! It is indeed a special place. I hope you can make plans to come back in the future when you can see the summer scene from Love Rocks. Best, Carol
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Waterfront CONDO

  • 4 of 5

This property is the bay side half of an older house that has been divided into condos. It is very cozy and lovingly decorated by the owners who have left in place all of their personal effects and décor items. We celebrated Christmas there with our group of 2 couples and 2 singles and had a lovely time. Bristol is charming and the house was warm during a very cold week. The pictures online are accurate. We would give it 5 stars except for the following minor drawbacks: 1. the condo is somewhat awkwardly laid out, the kitchen is in the basement and the main gathering space/tv room is on the 3rd floor - we ended up using our phones to communicate back and forth between these two main areas!, and 2. the kitchen is not quite as fabulous as it was when it was put in maybe 25 years ago - for the price of this place the kitchen appliances ought to be updated.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind 4 star review. I'm happy that you were all warm during a very cold week in New England and that you enjoyed your stay in Bristol. I truly was suprised to hear your thoughts regarding the kitchen as everyone who has ever been in the kitchen/ dinningroom of my home have been overwhelmed by the breathtaking views and sunsets ( and the ceramic mural of the hosue) and there has never been a mention of the appliances. The appliances have always been sufficient for me, (I ran a professional food buisness for 25 years). I want to clarify the following for future guests: The refrigerator is two years old -double door combo, dishwsher is approxmately 5 years old. There is a new toaster oven (never used) and bread/bagel toaster. Yes, the South Bend 6 burner commercial stove was installed years ago but works as well as the very first day I purchased it. Commercial Stoves last a lifetime. There is an additional electric oven also old that I use for cooking when necesary, but it also works perfectly and the temp.is accurate. Microwave works. I make every effort to explain to guests that the layout offers different areas for TV, entertaining, eating and dinning. There is a livingroom with fireplace noTV, the kitchen, den and master bedroom have TV's. During the winter months the living format changes the way the house is utlized. The kitchen/dinningroom (not basement) opens up to Narragansett Bay and offers a beautiful outdoor terrace for dinning that is obviously not used during the winter months. During the winter we usually head upstairs and use the family room/areas. Please note the summer/fall months are glorious at this house. I will review my description on the VBRO site to make certain to note that this home has multi-levels. ( this is always addressed when I speak to renters).
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

While the property is breathtaking, the restrictions are not welcoming

  • 2 of 5

The house and grounds are just beautiful. But, upon arriving, we were told we could not go down to the water, use the dock, use any of the upper decks, or entertain visitors. The only bathtub was broken, and there was no nighttime parking. The housekeeper (who does not clean when there are guests) apparently lurked about reporting to the owner any violations. When she found a cigarette butt, she called me and screamed at me (I'd asked the smoker in my party to pick up any trash--butts--from the open space next to the house--a public park--and dispose of them). I can only guess that she dropped one. As a reformed smoker myself, I cannot tolerate the smell and would have immediately known if there was smoking in the house. I could not understand the phone call from the employee (not the owner) and her rude and angry accusations, insinuating that someone had put out a cigarette on the front hall table (my husband and I scoured the place before we left and would have seen such a thing).

It is a lovely place, but not worth the stress and ugly behavior.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Totally surprised by this review. This is a spectacular property that so many guests have enjoyed. One factor is that my housekeeper is always available to help out with any questions or help if so desired. I texted the renter the day of her departure to thank her and her reply was it was "the best". The contract states that the Dock is prohibited for liability reasons. ( I own the dock with 3 other owners). Guests are certainly welcome to walk in the yard that belongs to me along the water. The contract states that there is no smoking. Upon arrival my housekeeper reviews the house policies as the house is an Historic Home built in 1883 in a quaint New England town . Her introduction is meant to be helpful and informative. There is parking available on the street . There are certain idiosyncrasies that comes with a Codo , all reasonable and to ensure everyone's privacy. The contract states that there are no large gatherings , events or parties allowed. Also, no additional guests may stay other than the number agreed upon stated in lease. I checked the issue regarding the bath tub. The spa drain is working it just wasn't turned properly. ( this was never mentioned) . My housekeeper would have been glad to assist if asked. My housekeeper was not lurking around , she was staying next door whlie my neighbors were away, taking care of their pets, she also never called me. Unfortunately, she was upset when she cleaned and found cigarettes butts and ashes in the dinning room. As smoking is prohibited there are no ashtrays. She called the renter without notifying me, she was not rude just upset. She is a wonderful gal and has made many friends with guests over the years. She was understandably concerned about smoking in the house and I respect that she is responsible about this wonderful property. Im sorry that it made this renter uncomfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Seattle, WA
3

Beautiful Setting; Difficult Owner

  • 3 of 5

We (seven family members in total) rented this house for six nights in September to celebrate our parents’ 50th wedding anniversary with them.

First, let me say that this house is lovely with terrific views. Photos in the rental listing provide a good sense of the home’s décor and ambiance. And the owner's caretaker, who was housesitting close-by, couldn’t have been more helpful during our stay.

But all did not go smoothly, as explained below, and the owner has been intransigent from the moment we first brought a significant issue to her attention within hours of our arrival: the house, even with all windows open, was oppressively hot all day long for our first five days.

Yet the owner, despite her otherwise good-faith intentions and actions, seems incapable of acknowledging that her home could be anything but magnificent in every respect. The owner's initial reaction and ongoing antipathy has been beyond disappointing.

Should you take my word for it? Of course not. I am happy to provide the email exchange between myself and the owner, our subsequent communications with HomeAway, and detailed photos including several with indoor temperature data from all main rooms. Please, decide for yourselves whether our expectations as renters were unrealistic and Carol’s response perfectly appropriate.

In this forum, I am leaving out the exasperating details. Why? To avoid a “he-said-she-said” back and forth with the owner that likely would leave you bewildered if not bored to tears. It’s all available for the asking should you be so curious. Feel free then to contact the owner with any or all information provided. Personally, I prefer not to continue banging my head against the proverbial wall with this owner. Remember what Einstein said is the definition of insanity?

I leave you with two important take-aways whether or not you inquire further: 1) It may prove useless for you to bring deficiencies or other problems to this owner’s attention with an expectation of her taking any responsibility; and 2) HomeAway is powerless to intervene in disagreements between an owner and renter; you are 100% on your own.

David R.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Prior to renting my home I have lengthy conversations with prospective renters to make certain that my home is a perfect fit. After being informed that the house did not have central air conditioning ( built in 1883) the renters felt that this would not be an issue , as there were bedroom a/c units and they would be sufficient . I have lived in my home for over 35 years and the stiff breezes from Narragansett Bay have more than been accommodating during the Summers. The day before their arrival there was a hurricane about to hit RI , fortunately ,it not interfere with their travel plans . Instead, the storm left behind a week of glorious sunny warm weather for 10 days . Most guests would count their lucky stars and rejoice. New England can be tricky weather any time of the year but as a result of the warmer ( than usual ) weather this family wanted a partial refund for the unexpected heat wave. What if it rained for a week? I did not refund any money that was requested . It is a beautiful home with many respeat clients who I cherish .
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
5

Beautiful home in an amazing location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this beautiful home for 10 days with our two teenage children, and had a fabulous time. It helped that the weather was just about perfect.

Communication with Carol (the owner) and Dottie (the housekeeper) was really good, and Dottie met us at the house on the first day and showed us the various items of equipment etc. The house feels like a home, rather than an impersonal holiday destination, and we felt comfortable right away. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped. Parking is easy. The house is beautifully decorated - the only thing to be aware of is that there is a lot of going up and down stairs!

Bristol is a lovely little town, which doesn't feel too touristy, but having said that, there are some great restaurants and cafes there. The place has a very relaxed feel to it, and locals seem fairly laid back: Bristol does not have a hectic city pace. It's an easy walk into the town - we walked in just about every day we were there. Roger Williams University is nearby, which means that there's a slight collegey vibe as well. The best meals we had were at Christian's and the Sunset Cafe. Leo's Ristorante was good (the melon sangria is dangerously drinkable), and we had one good and one OK meal at the Thames Waterside Bar and Grill. The meal at the DeWolf Tavern wasn't so great. We got a pizza delivery from Papa Joe's wrap shack which was great (and they found the house OK). The pizzas are enormous.

The house is on the main bus route between Providence and Newport and bus service is fast and reliable. Although a car is recommended, you could easily visit without one. In particular, if you have teenagers who want to explore by themselves, the bus would be a great way to do this. We took the bus to Providence one evening to see WaterFire (google it - it's well worth the visit if it coincides with your stay), and another time took the bus to Newport. We went to Newport a few times - to try out the restaurants, take a harbour tour and to look at the mansions. The Marble House is magnificent, and there's a display about the Americas Cup, which of course mentions Nat Herreshoff. (In fact, a book about him, available from the Marble House gift shop, describes Love Rocks in the first paragraph).

There's plenty to do in the surrounding area. We spent a day in Boston (and wished we had more time).

The internet is super-fast and covers the house well.

All in all, this was one of the best vacations we have had.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Wonderful Historic House built by Nathaniel Herreshoff in 1883. Bristol is a beautiful seaside community centrally located between Newport and

Providence and Cap Cod to the East/

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £142.86
Damage Insurance £56.43
Damage Deposit £357.15

Please call to confirm rate and time of stay, it is possible to have shorter stays.
Please note there are no wedding parties or ceremonies permissible.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals