HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Prime Location - Four Season Maine Getaway; WIFI

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Space 950 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome


About the property

3 Bedroom, 1 1/2 bath located minutes from snowmobiling and skiing

Charming cottage style house with garage storage for your sleds. Pull right in off the ITS trail into the garage and cozy up in our three bedroom retreat. Cable television and WIFI with stove, refrigerator, washer and dryer; this home is completely remodeled inside and has 1.5 baths. Accommodations up to 8 people. We provide all linens, pots and pans, dishes.

Located in the Sunday River Area Maine, 15 mins from Sunday River ski resort and Mt Abram,15-20 mins from Black Mountain Ski resort and 1 hour away from SaddleBack Mountain Ski resort and Rangeley lakes area activities. Winter activities include ALPINE skiing,X-C SKIING,snowshoeing,snowmobiling. Summer- Fall activities include fishing,canoeing,mountain biking, golf and hiking through breathtaking Grafton Notch STATE PARK .

Located 15 mins from historical Bethel and all its 4 season activities,restaurants, and festivals. Excellent outlet shopping available in nearby North Conway.

**Please note that the house does not have air conditioning

More Details

Riquie and Kevin Boutin
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 February, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Rumford in Rumford

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , sink
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Flat Screen Television with Cable and DVD Player
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Queen Size Pull Out Couch (NEW) w Flat Screen Television
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain climbing
  • ski


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

Prime Location - Four Season Maine Getaway; WIFI
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
Exeter, NH

Cute, comfortable place within a half hour from Sunday River

  • 4 of 5

This is a quaint, cozy place that is decorated really comfortably and tastefully in the interior. There were two families, each with 2 kids, so 8 people total. The kitchen offered all the amenities and utensils you would need to make your own meals. We also appreciated having salt, pepper, oil, saran wrap, baggies, and dishwashing detergent to make cooking in easier. We could adjust our heat to make it quite comfortable in the winter. There are two bathrooms, but only one has a shower. Quick showers are recommended due to the size of the hot water heater. Downstairs featured a kitchen, bathroom, living room, and bedroom with twin beds. It also featured a washer and dryer, 3 good sized televisions, a large assortment of DVDs and a DVD player. The upstairs featured a small bathroom with toilet and sink, a good size loft style living area with queen futon, a bedroom with king size bed, and bedroom with two twin beds. The upstairs had baseboard heat, while the rest was forced hot air. The Boutins had a nice supply of toilet paper, tissues, and hand soap, for the bathrooms (bring your own shampoo and bath soap). There's also a hair dryer. Everything looked very clean and well cared for. Hannafords was about an 8-10 minute drive in Rumford. Location was about a 30 minute drive from Sunday River. There's a terrific, large porch to enter through, which would be great to hang out in during the warmer months.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the wonderful feedback! Appreciate that you enjoyed the house and found it to be comfortable. We hope to see you again in the future. Warm Regards, The Boutins
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Berlin

Very nice place.

  • 5 of 5

Inside of the house has been updated. Very nice. The only thing that could make it perfect is a dishwasher. There were 5 adults and a dog. Our dog loved your porch. Stayed outside on porch all day. Stay was lovely. Jan & Don Salamon.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay Janet. We hope to see you again in the future. Happy New Year to you and your family. The Boutins
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Louis, MO

Buyer Beware

  • 2 of 5

My mom, a friend of mine, and myself stayed at this house when we were in the area for a wedding. It seemed that the owners were great about responding to our request to rent the house during our stay. My mom and I arrived at night, and it was difficult to find. Our GPS took us in circles so it took us extra time to find the house. We appreciated the cleanliness of the house and enjoyed the decor and spaciousness. However, the upstairs area was sweltering! We attempted to lower the temperature on the thermostat but we were unable to because it was locked. Our friend called and left messages on both numbers she was provided with. No one ever called or e-mailed back so that was extremely disappointing. The sleeping conditions ended up being somewhat uncomfortable due to the temperature in the house. We were also unable to figure out how the televisions worked, and there weren't instructions on how to operate them. My mom felt the stairs weren't "up to code" and was uncomfortable using them because of how steep and narrow they were. My friend mentioned that there were issues with the toilet she was using. The owners have a book upon entry for you to write comments about your stay. We noticed that pages were ripped out so we wondered if others had shared unfortunate experiences and the owners ripped them out intentionally, keeping only positive reviews for guests to see. Overall, the house is lovely but we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Appreciate your review Erika, as we find all criticism and comments helpful in making our future guests stay more comfortable. I apologize that your GPS did not bring you directly to the doorstep, you are the first guest that has had any problems that we have been made aware of. Possibly the reception of the GPS was sub par due to the remote location of Rumford. In response to heat and air conditioning issue and your assumable lack of communication from our end. The listing clearly states that there is no air conditioning in the house. Apologies that you overlooked this when booking the house. And just so that you are clear and so are the people reviewing your wonderful "Buyer Beware" message; we did return your call in regards to the alleged locked air conditioning as soon as we received your first message on my phone to no avail because your friend did not answer her phone and a message could not be left due to her voicemail box being full. We then immediately sent you an emailed response in regards to your air complaint. See below a copy of the email: • Replied Erika I did get your message and tried calling back but your voicemail is full. There is not central air in the house, typically we rarely rent in the summer and only stay there ourselves so use the fan in the master in the evenings. I apologize for the inconvenience. We will definitely make sure that there are clearly written directions on how to use a television for future guests; I can see where that would be a problem for most people. The issue with the downstairs television however, was that it was simply unplugged. A detailed and observant person such as yourself, I am surprised that you did not see that. I can assure you that our registry has not been tampered with; would not make sense since renters see if only after they have paid in full for the rental of the house and have arrived at the property already. Comment - home not being up to code; pretty brash assumption on your part. We will have a notice of occupancy from the code officer clearly posted for future guests; appreciate pointing this out. Lastly, the toilet. Your friend mentioned that there was something wrong with the toilet because she clogged the toilet drain with feces and toilet paper to the extent that it would not flush; the bathroom floor was covered in her droppings. We sincerely appreciated cleaning that up after your friend. We can recommend the Blue Iris motel for any future stays in the area!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

From the outside it could use some cleaning up, not super visually appealing, BUT inside is great

  • 4 of 5

Sleeping space is great. Can comfortably fit many. Beds are very comfortable as well.

Very clean. Everything easy to find. Loved the DVD collection.

May want to express more explicitly where towels are located, struggled to find them. Also more recommendations for what is around (we found the Deluxe Diner which had awesome breakfast)

Had trouble w/ upstairs toilet at times, also heat in bedrooms was left on prior and hard to locate leaving some spaces very hot.

These are all very small little issues, overall, GREAT HOUSE, great experience, fun time and area. Hope to be back.



  • Review Submitted: Feb 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to spend a winter vacation

  • 4 of 5

Six of us enjoyed spending the weekend of New Year's Eve in the Rumford house. It is located about 30 minute drive from Sunday River. The drive is scenic and there are lots of ski shops on the way. The house is complete with pretty much all you will need. The only thing missing in the house is a dish washer but if you don't mind doing dishes by hand, it is no big deal. There are plenty of televisions spread out around the house for your entertainment. The house looks small from the outside, but it's plenty spacious. The living room could use some additional sitting arrangements as it was tight at some points for our group of six. Overall it was a great experience and we would recommend renting it. Riquie maintains a very clean place. We were running late at check-out when Riquie arrived to prepare the place for the next party. We tried to rush getting out, but she was very understanding and didn't seem to be bothered by our delay.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Rented for the weekend to go skiing at Sunday River. Great place to stay, very clean, lots of room to spread out and located close to stores and only 30 minutes from the hill. Would definitely rent it again

  • Review Submitted: Mar 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Ski
21 Miles
Sunday River Ski Resort
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Rumford, Sunday River

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £48
Cleaning Fee £60

Rates are based on two people; $12.00 per person charged per night over two. No air-conditioning in warmer months. LONG TERM professional rentals are welcome.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot