HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar


9 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday home in Rodanthe

Cottage, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

SOUNDFRONT Waves. Island views and kiteboarding action is what you will enjoy seeing from the decks of this soundfront home. Even the HOT TUB on the second level screened porch has a view of the action. Located in the 'The Slick' of Waves' prime kiteboarding heaven, boarding and windsurfing enthusiasts will find convenient access directly from the pier sound access. Entering the first level of the home you will find a king bedroom with a semi-private bath and easy access from the pool area. The second level has three more bedrooms including two queen masters and one bedroom with 2 single beds all with their own TV. The gaming room makes for a nice little escape with large flat screen TV and play station including sleeper sofa. Just down the hall is the convenient full bath and laundry. The upper level has a master suite with king bed and TV and the great room with spectacular views of the sound, TV, BlueRay and a cozy gas fireplace to warm up to in the off season. The kitchen is FULLY equipped with a seating for 10.

Keywords: Sound front home with great views

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 September, 2016
Call Owner

Why The Owner chose Hatteras Island

The Outer Banks is a great location to vacation with your family. We love to get away from the hussle and bussle and relax and soak up the sun! This is were we want to retire.

What makes this house unique

The house is right on the sound and the sunsets are breath taking! The ocean is a short walk to the beach.


based on 9 holidaymaker reviews

average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews

Great house and Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Great house & Great location. The house was very clean and nicely decorated. Very convenient to some really good places to eat. The Kite boarders were a lot of fun to watch! We took some great photos at sunset. We are definitely planning to rent this home again!

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad your family enjoyed their stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fun in the outer banks

  • 5 of 5

Great view from the balcony of the bay. Kitchen fully stocked with everything you would need for large groups. Loved that each bedroom had its own private bath. When we had a question Lisa always responded right away with the information. She even went out of her way to send back my mothers coat she left behind at house. That's what I call great service. Would recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you and your friends enjoyed their stay! If you ever want another little get away keep us in mind.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely filthy!! Do not deal with this owner!! Buyer beware!! We refused to stay.

  • 1 of 5

My wife, 2 boys and myself booked this place for our family vacation. We rent every summer at the OBX. We were looking for an open place about a week before our arrival date because we have not been able to get away all summer. This was open so I contacted the owner, she sent me a quote and I agreed, then signed contract. We drove 4 hours and heard from the owner by text on the way that the house was ready. It was about 5 pm when we arrived. THIS HOUSE WAS FILTHY!! Feces on a toilet, crumbs and dust on counter tops and tables, small area rugs turned over instead of washed, chips and crumbs on carpeting. My wife texted pictures to the owner and let her know it was not clean. She texted back that she would "touch base" with the cleaner. She offered no help or resolution for this awful situation. I called her cell and got her VM. I let her know it was filthy and asked for a return phone call (which I never got). We had stopped at the grocery store and bought food for the week that needed to be refrigerated and had hungry children. An hour went by and I sent her a text letting her know that we were leaving and would not be staying. She had not been in any way helpful or accommodating to work towards a resolution. She was dismissive and basically did not care. After not responding for an hour she texted back that she had been busy feeding her own hungry children!! WHAT??!! I never received the courtesy of a return phone call or conversation. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS PERSON! Our expectations of a clean place upon arrival are certainly not unreasonable. What is NOT reasonable is her expecting a family to exist in someone else' filth or clean the place ourselves. I called my CC company and told them the situation. They said they would remove the charges from our bill and handle getting the money back. Glad I didn't write a check. She's their problem at this point. After taking MANY pics, we left to find a hotel . We packed the food in ice and managed to find a hotel room. We got on the phone the next morning and a local realty company hooked us up with an AWESOME house they had open. They got their cleaning crew there that morning and when we arrived they were hard at work. This place is not only clean and sanitized(as it should be) it's gorgeous, comfortable and has all we could ask for. After such an awful start, This has turned out to be the best vacation our family has ever had!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I just wanted to start by saying that we have been renting our home for numerous years through VRBO/Home-Away and have had several families as repeat guest year after year for their vacation. If a guest over the past 7 years has had any problem with the home, they email me and it is taken care of within 24 hours. You did notify me that the home was not clean to your standards and I responded back within 3 minutes that I would notify the cleaner and get back to you. Saturday is the busiest change over day on the OBX. I am sorry, but the 45 minutes you gave me before you texted me that you were leaving, was NOT enough time to hear back from the cleaner and resolve the issue by sending someone out to clean those areas. Unfortunately, washing every bath mat each week is not possible during the summer period, they are shaken outside between guest and replaced if dirty. I am glad you enjoyed your vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


  • 5 of 5

Nothing beats the sunset views from the upper deck. That alone makes this house a great stay. Never mind that the beds were comfortable, the kitchen was VERY well equipped and amenities like the pool, hot tub and grill made life so much more enjoyable. My daughter discovered the fun of outdoor showers which brought a smile to everyone's face. In a nut shell: GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Home

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay and it was even better than the first. Weather was up and down but that is what you get in early spring. Warm outdoor shower is ideal for those chilly kite sessions. The kids love the reverse floor plan where they can play and eat while looking out at the sound. Working for Mackiteboarding.com I have the opportunity to travel many places and this always is one of my favorite. Be sure to bring all your kites. I brought 6 kites ranging from 6-18m and used them all in a few weeks. The new Dollar General is less than 50 yards away so those late night snack runs are super simple. Also check out Waves Market for the best breakfast burrito's of your life.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Great spot for families and experienced kiteboarders

  • 5 of 5

Nice home. Perfect spot. The kiteboarding launch is a little mucky without much setup area. You will need to be proficient at drift launches if you ride alone or you will wreck your kite on the reeds. A grass launch or large dock for staging would be a nice addition

  • Review Submitted: Dec 30, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Hatteras Island

Kiteboarding, Paddle boarding


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Rodanthe, Hatteras Island

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
2 Oct 2016 - 21 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
22 Nov 2016 - 27 Nov 2016
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Christmas/New Years
22 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Winter NO POOL
3 Jan 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Off Season
1 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
27 May 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £102 + Tax
Deposit £410
Tax Rate 11.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on Rodanthe on Outer Banks

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Top level - joining with master
    Bathroom 5 - Top level next to kitchen & den
    Bathroom 2 - Hall- middle level
    Bathroom 3 - Private bath joining bdrm #3
    Bathroom 4 - Private joining bdrm #4
    Bathroom 5 - Private, lower level
  • 5.5
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master- top level
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Middle level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Middle level- hottub off of this room with screened in porch
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , Middle level
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Lower level with private bath
    Den - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • King size beds (1) 2 King beds, Queen size Beds (1) 2 Queen beds, Double Beds (1) sleeper sofa, Twin or Single Beds (1) 2 twin beds, Child Beds (1) Play pen and high chair
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
screened porch, fish cleaning table, outside shower, stair tamer(remote luggage and grocery lift)

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties